Cavalleria rusticana / Pagliacci


Pietro Mascagni (1863 – 1945) / Ruggero Leoncavallo (1857 – 1919)

“Cavalleria Rusticana”
Melodramma in one act by Pietro Mascagni
Libretto by Giovanni Targioni-Tozzetti and Guido Menasci, based on an novel by Giovanni Verga
First performance on 17. May 1890 in Rome
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 23. April 2005

“Pagliacci”
Drama in two acts by Ruggero Leoncavallo
Libretto by Ruggero Leoncavallo
First performance on 21. May in Milan
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 23. April 2005

In Italian with German surtitles

open

Cast

close

Cast

Conductor Cornelius Meister
Director David Pountney
Stage design, Costume design Robert Innes Hopkins
Choreographer Silke Sense
Chorus Master William Spaulding
Cavalleria rusticana
Santuzza Waltraud Meier
Turiddu Maxim Aksenov
George Oniani (18.03.2014)
Lucia Ronnita Miller
Alfio Ivan Inverardi
Lola Katarina Bradic
Two Farmers Frank Wentzel
Robert Klöpper (18.03.2014 | 26.03.2014)
Two Farmers Max Stieren
Tomasz Rakocz (18.03.2014 | 26.03.2014)
Der Bajazzo
Canio Stephen Gould
Nedda Inva Mula
Tonio Ivan Inverardi
Beppo Álvaro Zambrano
Silvio Etienne Dupuis
Chorus Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Chorus Kinderchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Orchestra Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
open

Information

close

Information

It can be comforting to know that the tears dropped onstage are fake, the emotions only acted, and that the pains of the performers have not really been endured. Reassurance, however, was not the object of the young Italian composers on the cusp of the 20th century, on the contrary: they wanted to arouse the spectators, involve them in vortexes of feelings, take them by surprise with the comic and tragic turnarounds that their stories, copied from Life, take.

In the literary movement of ‘verismo’ [derived from ‘il vero’ = the True/the truth] they found their concern preconceived, and it is only consequent that Pietro Mascagni chose a novella by the principal interpreter of verismo, Giovanni Verga as a model for his first work. Cavalleria rusticana [the German title is Sicilian Peasants´ Honor] had already proved its stage suitability in a dramatized version, which had also been shown in Livorno, Mascagni’s home town. In 1880, the story had been published in the anthology Vita dei campi, which actually means Life in the Countryside, but it is most frequently translated as Sizilianische Dorfgeschichten, Sicilian Village Stories in the German version, on account of the author´s origin.

In 1888/89, Mascagni´s first work won the composition competition for one-act operas organized by publisher Sonzogno with ease. His extremely successful debut performance in the Roman Teatro Costanzi on May 17, 1890 may be considered the birth hour of musical ‘verismo’. More than two years later, Ruggero Leoncavallo wrote the short opera I PAGLIACCI containing the renowned prologue. The German title DER BAJAZZO correctly names the main character in the singular form, however, the plural form in the Italian original was enforced by the famous singer Victor Maurel, who had to sing the prologue as Tonio and whose role would not otherwise have appeared in the title of the work.

The sung prologue contains the credo of ‘verismo.’ “The artist is a real person who must write for real persons....We are people of flesh and blood, and we breathe, exactly the way you do, the breath of this lost world.” Leoncavallo employs a dialectic trick; in his story that so closely resembles one of the typical newspaper “miscellanies”, the tragedy intensifies exactly because the person who enacts PAGLIACCI performance is no longer able to differentiate between play, and the gravity of the situation.

The combination of these two culmination points of musical ‘verismo’ in the double bill, performed in English under the abbreviation “CAV & PAG”, has established itself since the beginning of the 20th century. Like twins, they closely resemble one another and yet could not be more different: the overture is interrupted by singing, an interlude connects both acts (needless to say, CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA is also two acts long, the competition rules had simply necessitated that ‘in one act’ be written on the title page). Southern Italian ambiance is displayed in the authors´presence, and there are genre choir scenes with descriptions of the scent of oranges, or of ringing church bells. But on the other hand, we find a late Belcanto flowering with Mascagni, Leitmotifs and a diversity of orchestra effects with Leoncavallo; here, a dominance of the church and close-fisted morality comparable to Garcia Lorca, there, full-fledged vitality and the desire for pleasure.

open

Accompanying Programme

close

Accompanying Programme

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance

Cavalleria rusticana / Der Bajazzo


Pietro Mascagni (1863 – 1945) / Ruggero Leoncavallo (1857 – 1919)

„Cavalleria Rusticana“
Melodramma in einem Akt von Pietro Mascagni
Libretto von Giovanni Targioni-Tozzetti und Guido Menasci nach Giovanni Verga
Uraufführung am 17. Mai 1890 in Rom
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 23. April 2005

„Der Bajazzo“
[„Pagliacci“]
Drama in zwei Akten von Ruggero Leoncavallo
Libretto: Ruggero Leoncavallo
Uraufführung am 21.Mai 1892 in Mailand
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 23. April 2005

In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln

öffnen

Besetzung

schließen

Besetzung

Musikalische Leitung Cornelius Meister
Inszenierung David Pountney
Bühne, Kostüme Robert Innes Hopkins
Choreographische Mitarbeit Silke Sense
Chöre William Spaulding
Cavalleria rusticana
Santuzza Waltraud Meier
Turiddu Maxim Aksenov
George Oniani (18.03.2014)
Lucia Ronnita Miller
Alfio Ivan Inverardi
Lola Katarina Bradic
Zwei Bauern Frank Wentzel
Robert Klöpper (18.03.2014 | 26.03.2014)
Zwei Bauern Max Stieren
Tomasz Rakocz (18.03.2014 | 26.03.2014)
Der Bajazzo
Canio Stephen Gould
Nedda Inva Mula
Tonio Ivan Inverardi
Beppo Álvaro Zambrano
Silvio Etienne Dupuis
Chöre Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Chöre Kinderchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Orchester Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
öffnen

Informationen

schließen

Informationen

Es kann beruhigend sein zu wissen, dass die Tränen, die auf der Bühne vergossen werden, falsch sind, dass die Gefühle nur gespielt sind und die Schmerzen von den Darstellern nicht wirklich durchlitten werden. Beruhigung aber ist nicht die Sache der jungen italienischen Komponisten an der Schwelle zum 20. Jahrhundert, im Gegenteil: aufrütteln wollten sie die Zuschauer, sie hineinziehen in den Strudel der Gefühle, sie überrumpeln mit den komischen und tragischen Wendungen, die ihre dem Leben abgeschauten Geschichten nehmen.

In der literarischen Bewegung des ‚verismo’ [abgeleitet aus ‚il vero’ = das Wahre/die Wahrheit] fanden sie ihr Anliegen vorgeformt, und es ist nur konsequent, dass Pietro Mascagni als Vorlage für seinen Erstling eine Novelle von deren Hauptvertreter Giovanni Verga auswählte. Cavalleria rusticana [der deutsche Titel ist: Sizilianische Bauernehre] hatte seine Bühnentauglichkeit schon in einer Dramatisierung unter Beweis gestellt, die auch in Mascagnis Heimatstadt Livorno gezeigt wurde. 1880 war die Erzählung erschienen in der Sammlung Vita dei campi, was eigentlich Leben auf dem Lande heißt, wegen der Herkunft des Autors in der deutschen Übersetzung jedoch meist Sizilianische Dorfgeschichten genannt wird.

Mühelos gewann Mascagni mit seinem Erstling den Kompositionswettbewerb, den der Verleger Sonzogno 1888/89 für Operneinakter ausgeschrieben hatte. Die überaus erfolgreiche Uraufführung im römischen Teatro Costanzi am 17. Mai 1890 darf als Geburtsstunde des musikalischen ‚verismo’ gelten.

Zwei Jahre später erst schrieb Ruggero Leoncavallo die Kurzoper PAGLIACCI mit dem berühmten Prolog. Der deutsche Titel DER BAJAZZO setzt richtigerweise die Hauptfigur in die Einzahl, die Mehrzahl im italienischen Original wurde von dem berühmten Sänger Victor Maurel erzwungen, der als Tonio den Prolog zu singen hatte und dessen Rolle sonst im Titel des Werks nicht erschienen wäre.

Der gesungene Prolog enthalt das Credo des ‚verismo’: „Der Künstler ist ein Mensch und muss für Menschen schreiben. [...] Wir sind Menschen aus Fleisch und Blut und wir atmen genauso wie Ihr den Hauch dieser verlorenen Welt.“ Der dialektische Kunstgriff Leoncavallos ist, dass in seiner den „Vermischten Meldungen“ einer Zeitung ähnelnden Geschichte die Tragödie sich gerade deshalb zuspitzt, weil der Darsteller des Bajazzo Spiel und Ernst nicht mehr zu trennen vermag.

Die Kombination dieser beiden Kulminationspunkte des musikalischen „verismo“ zum Doppelabend, im Englischen mit dem Kürzel CAV & PAG versehen, hat sich seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts eingebürgert. Wie Zwillinge gleichen sie sich und konnten doch nicht unterschiedlicher sein: die Ouvertüre wird durch Gesang unterbrochen, ein Zwischenspiel verbindet die beiden Akte [ja, natürlich ist CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA auch ein Zweiakter, nur die Wettbewerbsbedingungen forderten, dass auf dem Titelblatt ‚in einem Akt’ steht!], süditalienisches Ambiente in der Gegenwart der Autoren, Genreszenen der Chöre mit Beschreibung von Orangenduft oder Kirchenglocken. Sonst aber: spätes Aufblühen von Belcanto bei Mascagni, Leitmotive und vielfältige Orchestereffekte bei Leoncavallo, Dominanz der Kirche und der engstirnigen Moral fast wie bei Garcia Lorca hier und pralles Leben mit Lust auf Zerstreuung dort.

öffnen

Rahmenprogramm

schließen

Rahmenprogramm

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts