Promoting young talent is now even more important to the Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin

For over twenty years, the Götz Friedrich Prize has been one of the most important institutions for promoting outstanding talent in the field of music theatre directing - prize winners such as Stefan Herheim, Nadja Loschky and Sebastian Baumgarten may be mentioned here as representatives. For the 2022/23 season, the directing prize for the best production work, endowed with 5,000 euros, and a studio prize, endowed with 2,500 euros, will again be awarded. After being hosted by the German-speaking Opera Conference in previous years, the Götz Friedrich Prize now returns to Deutsche Oper Berlin, the main venue of its dedicatee. From now on, the Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin will provide organisational support for the organisation of the prize.

In this way, the Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V. is taking on another task in the field of promoting young talent. For years, its financial contributions have enabled young singers to launch their careers and have helped Deutsche Oper Berlin to maintain its first-class ensemble. With the newly founded Talent Circle project, the Förderkreis also wants to build up a circle of supporters who not only financially support young musical talent, but also become a circle of personal mentors. In addition to singers, the promotion of young talent will now also extend to a répétiteur position as well as instrumentalists.

Announcement of the Götz Friedrich Prize of Deutsche Oper Berlin for directing works for the 2022/23 season

Opera directors up to the age of 35 are eligible to participate. The date of the premiere applies. In justified exceptional cases, older participants will also be admitted.

The prize will be awarded to music theatre productions that have their premiere as new productions at a German-language public or private theatre in the 2022/23 season and can be visited by the jury.

In order to gain as complete a picture as possible of the productions that are eligible for application, we are therefore asking all theatres to nominate their new productions for the 2022/23 season that are the responsibility of directors aged 35 or under by 31 August 2022.

An application can be made as soon as it is foreseeable whether the production could be qualitatively considered for an award. The application should include the director's curriculum vitae, the name of the staged work, the dates of the performances and a brief description of the production's concept. Applications are open to the organising theatres as well as to the directors.

Applications should be sent by email to gfpreis@deutscheoperberlin.de.

Dietmar Schwarz,
Artistic Director Deutsche Oper Berlin (Chairman)

Martin G. Berger,
Opera Director Mecklenburgisches Landestheater Schwerin

Ina Karr,
Artistic Director Lucerne Theatre

Andrea Moses,
Opera Director German National Theatre Weimar

Viktor Schoner,
Artistic Director Stuttgart State Opera

Jörg Königsdorf,
Chief Dramaturge Deutsche Oper Berlin

 


The jury decides at its own discretion which productions it will include in the selection. The essential criterion for this selection is that the work sets clearly independent innovative accents in the field of music theatre.

Born 1930 in Naumburg/Saale

After graduating from high school, studied theatre at the German Theatre Institute in Weimar (diploma)

1953 -1972 Member of the Komische Oper Berlin, first as dramaturge and assistant director, later as research assistant to Walter Felsenstein, from 1968 - 1972 head of the theatre.

In the same function from 1973 - 1977 at the Hamburg State Opera, from 1997 -1981 chief director in Hamburg and at the same time principal producer of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London.

Since 1981 General Director and Chief Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. He was also artistic director of the Theater des Westens from 1984 to 1993, and from 1993 was first guest director of the Royal Opera in Stockholm.

Early on, Götz Friedrich also turned to educational work. Since 1973, he has been professor of the inter-university course of studies in music theatre direction in Hamburg, which he founded together with August Everding.

Since his directorial debut in 1958 with COSI FAN TUTTE in Weimar, Götz Friedrich has produced 170 new productions, including at the Komische Oper Berlin, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, in Bremen, Oslo, Copenhagen, Hamburg, Stockholm, Helsinki, in Stuttgart, London, Munich, Zurich, at La Scala in Milan, in Houston, Los Angeles and Tel Aviv, at the Vienna State Opera and at the Bayreuth and Salzburg Festivals. In the process, he has achieved groundbreaking aesthetic solutions, especially with Wagner, Verdi and Janácek, as well as convincing new versions of Italian and French operas. In addition, Götz Friedrich has staged numerous opera premieres, such as works by Siegfried Matthus, Josef Tal, Rudolf Kelterborn, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Luciano Berio, Wolfgang Rihm, Ingvar Lidholm and Hans Werner Henze. By performing rarely performed works, he has significantly expanded the usual opera repertoire, e.g. with "DIE TOTE STADT by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, OEDIPE by George Enescu, LES TROYENS by Héctor Berlioz. Many of his productions have been captured in film and television recordings in Europe and Japan.

Götz Friedrich has published several papers on theoretical, conceptual and practical problems of music theatre. His person and his work have been the subject of several books. He was a recipient of the Grand Cross of Merit of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany as well as a Commander of the Royal Swedish Order of the North Star and the Commander's Cross I. Class of the Order of the Lion of Finland. He was also awarded the Ernst-Reuter-Plakette (the highest honour the state of Berlin can bestow), the Royal Swedish Medal "litteris et artibus" and the Golden Badge of Honour of the Genossenschaft Deutscher Bühnen-Angehöriger, the Adolf Grimme Prize, the Wilhelm Pitz Prize, and many others. Götz Friedrich was a member of the Akademie der Künste Berlin-Brandenburg, the Freie Akademie Hamburg and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music.

Götz Friedrich died in Berlin in December 2000, a few days after completing his directing of Gian Carlo Menotti's children's opera AMAHL UND DIE NÄCHTLICHEN BESUCHER, which he considered a legacy to the opera-goers of tomorrow. The Deutsche Oper Berlin appointed Götz Friedrich posthumously as its honorary member. His memory is preserved by the Götz Friedrich Foundation, which has been honouring the best work of a young director in the field of musical theatre every year since 1995.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Nachwuchsförderung wird beim Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin jetzt noch größer geschrieben

Seit über zwanzig Jahren ist der Götz-Friedrich-Preis eine der wichtigsten Einrichtungen zur Förderung herausragender Begabungen im Bereich der Musiktheaterregie – Preisträger*innen wie Stefan Herheim, Nadja Loschky und Sebastian Baumgarten seien hier stellvertretend genannt. Auch für die Spielzeit 2022/23 werden wieder der mit 5.000 Euro dotierte Regiepreis für die beste Inszenierungsarbeit sowie ein mit 2.500 Euro dotierter Studiopreis vergeben. Nachdem der Götz-Friedrich-Preis in den vergangenen Jahren durch die Deutschsprachige Opernkonferenz ausgerichtet wurde, kehrt er nun zurück an die Deutsche Oper Berlin, die Hauptwirkungsstätte seines Widmungsträgers. Der Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin unterstützt ab jetzt organisatorisch die Ausrichtung des Preises.

Damit übernimmt der Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.  eine weitere Aufgabe im Feld der Nachwuchsförderung. Schon seit Jahren ermöglichen dessen finanzielle Zuwendungen jungen Sängerinnen und Sängern den Karrierestart und helfen der Deutschen Oper Berlin dabei, ihr erstklassiges Ensemble zu pflegen. Mit dem neu gegründeten Projekt Talent-Circle will der Förderkreis darüber hinaus einen Unterstützerkreis aufbauen, der den musikalischen Nachwuchs nicht nur finanziell unterstützt, sondern zu einem Kreis von persönlichen Paten wird. Neben Sängerinnen und Sängern erweitert sich die Nachwuchsförderung ab jetzt auch auf eine Korrepetitorenstelle sowie Instrumentalistinnen und Instrumentalisten.

Ausschreibung des Götz-Friedrich-Preises der Deutschen Oper Berlin für Regiearbeiten der Spielzeit 2022/23

Teilnahmeberechtigt sind Opernregisseurinnen und -regisseure im Alter bis 35 Jahren. Dabei gilt der Zeitpunkt der Premiere. In begründeten Ausnahmefällen werden auch ältere Teilnehmer*innen zugelassen.

Prämiert werden Musiktheater-Inszenierungen, die als Neuproduktionen an einem deutschsprachigen öffentlichen oder privaten Theater in der Spielzeit 2022/23 Premiere haben und von den Juroren besucht werden können.

Um ein möglichst vollständiges Bild über die Produktionen zu gewinnen, die für eine Bewerbung in Frage kommen, bitten wir deshalb alle Theater, bis zum 31. August 2022 ihre Neuproduktionen der Spielzeit 2022/23 zu benennen, die von Regisseur*innen im Alter bis 35 Jahren verantwortet werden.

Eine Bewerbung kann erfolgen, sobald absehbar ist, ob die Produktion qualitativ für eine Auszeichnung in Frage kommen könnte. Die Bewerbung sollte den Lebenslauf der Regisseurin bzw. des Regisseurs, die Benennung des inszenierten Werkes, die Termine der Aufführungen sowie eine kurze Darstellung des Konzepts der Produktion enthalten. Bewerben können sich die ausrichtenden Theater, aber auch die Regieführenden.

Bewerbungen sind per Email zu richten an gfpreis@deutscheoperberlin.de

Dietmar Schwarz,
Intendant Deutsche Oper Berlin (Vorsitzender)

Martin G. Berger,
Operndirektor Mecklenburgisches Landestheater Schwerin

Ina Karr,
Intendantin Luzerner Theater

Andrea Moses,
Operndirektorin Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar

Viktor Schoner,
Intendant Staatsoper Stuttgart

Jörg Königsdorf,
Chefdramaturg Deutsche Oper Berlin

 

Die Jury entscheidet nach eigenem Ermessen, welche Produktionen sie in die Auswahl aufnimmt. Wesentliches Kriterium für diese Auswahl ist, dass die Arbeit im Bereich des Musiktheaters deutlich selbstständige innovative Akzente setzt.

Geboren 1930 in Naumburg/Saale

Nach dem Abitur Studium der Theaterwissenschaft am Deutschen Theaterinstitut in Weimar (Diplom)

1953 –1972 Mitglied der Komischen Oper Berlin, zunächst als Dramaturg und Regieassistent, später als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter Walter Felsensteins, von 1968 – 1972 Oberspielleiter.

In gleicher Funktion von 1973 – 1977 an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper, von 1997 –1981 Chefregisseur in Hamburg und gleichzeitig Principal Producer des Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London.

Seit 1981 Generalintendant und Chefregisseur der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Außerdem Intendant des Theaters des Westens von 1984 – 1993. Ab 1993 auch Erster Gastregisseur der Königlichen Oper Stockholm

Früh wandte sich Götz Friedrich auch der pädagogischen Arbeit zu. Seit 1973 leitete er als Professor den hochschulübergreifenden Studiengang Musiktheater-Regie in Hamburg, den er zusammen mit August Everding gegründet hatte.

Seit seinem Regiedebüt 1958 mit COSI FAN TUTTE in Weimar hat Götz Friedrich 170 Neuinszenierungen herausgebracht, u. a. an der Komischen Oper Berlin, an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, in Bremen, Oslo, Kopenhagen, Hamburg, Stockholm, Helsinki, in Stuttgart, London, München, Zürich, an der Mailänder Scala, in Houston, Los Angeles und Tel Aviv, an der Wiener Staatsoper sowie bei den Bayreuther und Salzburger Festspielen. Dabei sind ihm bahnbrechende ästhetische Lösungen vor allem bei Wagner, Verdi und Janácek sowie überzeugende Neufassungen italienischer und französischer Opern gelungen. Darüber hinaus hat Götz Friedrich zahlreiche Opernuraufführungen inszeniert, wie Werke von Siegfried Matthus, Josef Tal, Rudolf Kelterborn, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Luciano Berio, Wolfgang Rihm, Ingvar Lidholm und Hans Werner Henze. Durch die Aufführung selten gespielter Werke ist ihm eine bedeutende Erweiterung des üblichen Opernrepertoires zu verdanken, z. B. mit „DIE TOTE STADT von Erich Wolfgang Korngold, OEDIPE von George Enescu, LES TROYENS von Héctor Berlioz. Viele seiner Inszenierungen wurden in Film- und Fernsehaufzeichnungen in Europa und Japan festgehalten.

Götz Friedrich hat mehrere Veröffentlichungen zu theoretischen, konzeptionellen und praktischen Problemen des Musiktheaters vorgelegt. Seine Person und seine Arbeit wurden Gegenstand mehrerer Bücher. Er war Träger des Großen Verdienstkreuzes des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland sowie Kommandeur des Königlich-Schwedischen Nordstern-Ordens und des Komturkreuzes I. Klasse des Ordens des Löwen von Finnland. Außerdem wurde er mit der Ernst-Reuter-Plakette ausgezeichnet (der höchsten Ehrung, die das Land Berlin zu vergeben hat), mit der Königlich-Schwedischen Medaille „litteris et artibus“ und dem Goldenen Ehrenzeichen der Genossenschaft Deutscher Bühnen-Angehöriger, dem Adolf-Grimme-Preis, dem Wilhelm-Pitz-Preis u.a.m. Götz Friedrich war Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin-Brandenburg, der Freien Akademie Hamburg und der Königlich-Schwedischen Musikakademie.

Götz Friedrich verstarb im Dezember 2000 in Berlin, wenige Tage nach Beendigung seiner Regiearbeit zu Gian Carlo Menottis Kinderoper AMAHL UND DIE NÄCHTLICHEN BESUCHER, die er als Vermächtnis an die Opernbesucher von morgen betrachtete. Die Deutsche Oper Berlin ernannte Götz Friedrich postum zu ihrem Ehrenmitglied. Sein Gedächtnis bewahrt die Götz-Friedrich-Stiftung, die seit 1995 jährlich die beste Arbeit eines jungen Regisseurs, einer jungen Regisseurin im Musiktheaterbereich auszeichnet.

Spielzeiten 2019/20 und 2020/21
Anna Katherina Bernreitner für PROSERPINA
an der Neuen Oper Wien

Spielzeiten 2017/18 und 2018/19
Nina Russi für TROUBLE IN TAHITI /
A QUIET PLACE
am Theater Aachen

Spielzeit 2016/17
Mizgin Bilmen für CHARLOTTE SALOMON
am Theater Bielefeld

Spielzeit 2015/16
Ute M. Engelhardt für DAS SCHLAUE FÜCHSLEIN
an der Oper Frankfurt

Spielzeit 2014/15
Nadja Loschky für MADAMA BUTTERFLY
am Theater Bielefeld

Spielzeit 2013/14
Yuval Sharon für DOCTOR ATOMIC
am Staatstheater Karlsruhe

Spielzeit 2012/13
Julia Hübner für DIE ERLEUCHTETE FABRIK
am Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar

Spielzeit 2010/11
Benjamin Schad für THE TURN OF THE SCREW
an der Oper Köln, Trinitatis-Kirche

Spielzeit 2012/13
Eva-Maria Weiss für ASCHENPUTTEL
an der Staatsoper Berlin, Werkstatt Schiller Theater

Spielzeit 2009/10
Eva-Maria Höckmayr für PELLÉAS ET MÉLISANDE
am Theater Aachen

Spielzeit 2008/09
Elisabeth Stöppler für PETER GRIMES
am Musiktheater im Revier, Gelsenkirchen

Spielzeit 2007/08
Johannes Erath für CENDRILLON
am Stadttheater Bern

Spielzeit 2006/07
Benedikt von Peter für CHIEF JOSEPH
am Theater Heidelberg

Spielzeit 2004/05
Lorenzo Fioroni für JOHANNA AUF DEM SCHEITERHAUFEN
am Staatstheater Kassel

Spielzeit 2003/04
Philipp Kochheim für TANNHÄUSER
am Theater Heidelberg

Spielzeit 2002/03
Stefan Herheim für I PURITANI
am Aalto-Musiktheater Essen

Spielzeit 2001/02
Jörg Behr für HYPERION
am Freiburger Theater

Spielzeit 2000/01
Sebastian Baumgarten für TOSCA
am Staatstheater Kassel

Spielzeit 1999/2000
Franziska Severin für TEOFANE
am Stadttheater St. Gallen

Spielzeit 1997/98
Michael Schulz für DIALOGUES DES CARMÉLITES
amAalto-Musiktheater Essen

 

Sonderpreis des Opernhauses Zürich

Spielzeiten 2019/20 und 2020/21
Maximilian Berling für DAS MEDIUM
am Gärtnerplatztheater München

 

Lobende Erwähnung

Spielzeiten 2019/20 und 2020/21
Franziska Angerer für DICHTERLIEBE
am Staatstheater Darmstadt

 

Studiopreis

Spielzeit 2017/18 und 2018/19
Kai Anne Schuhmacher für DER KAISER VON ATLANTIS 
am Theater Gera

Spielzeit 2016/17
Anna Drescher für WEISSE ROSE 
am Theater Orchester Biel Solothurn

Spielzeit 2015/16
Alexander Fahima für DER TRIUMPH DES TODES 
am Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar / Kunstfest Weimar

Spielzeit 2014/15
Dorian Dreher für SCHWANENGESANG 
am Nationaltheater Mannheim

Spielzeit 2013/14
Béatrice Lachaussée für JAKOB LENZ
an der Oper Köln, Trinitatiskirch

Spielzeit 2012/13
Anselm Dalferth für DER MÜNDLICHE VERRAT 
am Nationaltheater Mannheim

Spielzeit 2010/11
Tabea Kranefoed für DIE BREMER STADTMUSIKANTEN 
am Theater Erfurt, Domstufen-Festspiele

Spielzeit 2009/10
Elmar Supp für NOAHS FLUT 
am Theater Heidelberg, Hallenkirche St. Albert

 

Sonderpreis Tischlerei der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Spielzeit 2014/15
Maximilian von Mayenburg für XERXES
am Theater Bielefeld

 

Karan-Armstrong-Preis

Spielzeit 2014/15
Martin G. Berger für DIE FLEDERMAUS
am Staatstheater Hannover

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter