Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
06. Dec
The Orchestra:

Songs and Poets

A brief interview with the curator of the series, John Parr
The questions were asked by Jörg Königsdorf

 

This season’s series of Songs and Poets events revolves around Robert Schumann. What makes Schumann’s lieder so singular?
We get an incredible sensation of imagination with Schumann’s art songs. Of all the Romantics, he takes things furthest. Each lied has a mood that rises above everything else and is pushed to its limits. His fixation appears a touch eccentric and it’s not hard to associate it with Schumann’s schizophrenic tendency.

What part does the piano take in these excursions to the edge?
You’re right, Schumann composes his songs from the piano perspective and never focuses solely on melody and accompaniment but always gives the piano its own voice. Schumann’s songs are chamber pieces for two artists on a par with each other.

For the poets presenting their works alongside Schumann’s songs, is the lyrical intensity of the music a hard act to follow?
You could say that. Among the Romantics, none is more literary-minded than Schumann. Not only did he select the very finest poems to base his works on; he also drew on literature as a matter of course. Yet that’s exactly why it makes sense to intersperse his musical arrangements with fresh, modern-day poetry. If you ask me, Schumann would have liked that.

 

Classical art songs and modern poetry
 

Lieder recital meets poetry reading in this series of events organised jointly with the Haus für Poesie Berlin. Each of the four evening events held in the foyer of the Deutsche Oper Berlin will feature a poet reading original works whose themes complement the songs on the programme.

The Orchestra:

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
Das Orchester:

Lieder und Dichter

 

Ein Kurz-Interview mit dem Kurator der Reihe, John Parr
Die Fragen stellte Jörg Königsdorf

 

Im Zentrum von Lieder und Dichter steht in dieser Spielzeit Robert Schumann. Was macht seine Lieder so besonders?
John Parr: In Schumanns Liedern spürt man eine unglaubliche Fantasie. Von allen Romantikern geht er am weitesten. In jedem Lied Schumanns gibt es eine alles dominierende Stimmung, die ins Extrem getrieben wird. Das wirkt in seiner Fixierung oft exzentrisch und lässt sich wohl auch mit Schumanns Hang zur Schizophrenie in Verbindung bringen.

 

Welche Rolle spielt das Klavier bei diesen Extremtouren?
John Parr: Tatsächlich denkt Schumann seine Lieder vom Klavier her und schreibt nie nur Melodie und Begleitung, sondern gibt dem Klavier immer eine eigene Stimme. Schumann-Lieder sind Kammermusik für zwei gleichberechtigte Interpreten.

 

Ist die poetische Intensität der Musik für die Dichter, die ihre Werke im Dialog mit Schumanns Liedern präsentieren, eine besondere Herausforderung?
John Parr: Sicher, Schumann war der Romantiker mit der stärksten literarischen Ader. Er suchte sich nicht nur hervorragende Gedichte aus, sondern fand seine Inspiration generell in der Literatur. Aber gerade deshalb macht es Sinn, seine Vertonungen in Zusammenhang mit neuer Lyrik zu präsentieren. Schumann, hätte das jedenfalls  gefallen, glaube ich.

 

 

Die von John Parr konzipierte Veranstaltungsreihe in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus für Poesie vereint Liederabend und Lesung. An jedem der Abende im Foyer der Deutschen Oper Berlin stellt ein Dichter oder eine Dichterin eigene Werke vor, die in Bezug zu den Liedern des Programms stehen.
 

Werk- und Terminübersicht

Lieder und Dichter: Schumann III

Liederabende im Foyer

Lieder und Dichter für Kinder: Unheimlich

Liedkompositionen aus dem Herbstferien-Musiklabor 2020

Liederabend extra: Doris Soffel

Liederabende im Foyer
Das Orchester: