Im Konzerthaus Berlin

Eine florentinische Tragödie [konzertant]

Works by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Alban Berg, Alexander von Zemlinsky

21,00 - 70,00 €
Information about the work

2 Stunden 15 Minuten / Eine Pause

In deutscher Sprache. Keine Übertitel. Das Libretto liegt kostenfrei und unabhängig vom Programmheft am Veranstaltungsabend aus.

Um 19.15 Uhr findet eine Einführung statt.

Share this post
Dates & Tickets
Program / Informations
Finden Sie hier die Texte zu Alban Bergs Sieben frühe Liedern und zu Alexander von Zemlinskys EINE FLORENTINISCHE TRAGÖDIE Download-PDF

Das Programmheft zum Konzert finden Sie hier als Download-PDF

21,00 - 70,00 €
the content

»Every time I’m in Vienna and walk past the Secession building, I feel the echo of this spirit of departure for modernism, the spirit of the early 20th century. A time associated with names such as Gustav Klimt, Oskar Kokoschka, Albert Einstein and Sigmund Freud. Suddenly, culture was unleashed and inebriated, and art was the controlled space where a new, lustful gaze at the world was given reign.

That is the era we invite the audience to experience when we perform works written between 1905 and 1920 at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. There are the 7 FRÜHE LIEDER by Alban Berg, the suite from VIEL LÄRM UM NICHTS by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, and then the short opera EINE FLORENTINISCHE TRAGÖDIE by Alexander von Zemlinsky. These composers reached for brand-new harmonies and sonic colours, resulting in textures previously unknown. This music radiates a kind of erotomania, especially Zemlinsky. It is about affairs, love triangles, ecstasy. These were happening in the artists’ private lives as well: Alma Mahler, for example, first had a relationship with Klimt, then with Zemlinsky, but also had an affair with Kokoschka. Barriers were breaking down everywhere. You can feel this in the music too.

Artistic imagination of the time appears to be boundless. The music itself is a rodeo ride on a razorblade, now tonal and romantic, now atonal and modern, often oscillating between the two within one and the same work. This is the sound of a time of freedom!« (Marc Albrecht]

Auf dem Programm stehen u. a.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold [1897 – 1957]
Suite aus der Musik zu Shakespeares „Viel Lärmen um Nichts“, Op.11
I Ouvertüre
II Mädchen im Brautgemach
III Holzapfel und Schlehwein (Marsch der Wache)
IV Intermezzo (Gartenszene)
V Hornpipe

Alban Berg [1885 – 1935]
Sieben frühe Lieder
Nacht (Text: Carl Hauptmann)
Schilflied (Text: Nikolaus Lenau)
Die Nachtigall (Text: Theodor Storm)
Traumgekrönt (Text: Rainer Maria Rilke)
Im Zimmer (Text: Johannes Schlaf)
Liebesode (Text: Otto Erich Hartleben)
Sommertage (Text: Paul Hohenberg)

*** Pause ***

Alexander von Zemlinsky [1871 – 1942]
Eine florentinische Tragödie [konzertant]
Oper in einem Akt; Libretto nach Oscar Wildes „A Florentine Tragedy“ in der deutschen Übersetzung von Max Meyerfeld. Uraufführung am 30. Januar 1917 in Stuttgart


News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field