Billy Budd


Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Opera in a prologue, two acts and an epilogue; Libretto by Edward Morgan Forster und Eric Crozier after Herman Melville's „Billy Budd“; First performed on 1. December 1961, London (Royal Opera House); Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 22. May, 2013

In English language with German surtitles

open

Cast

close

Cast

Conductor Donald Runnicles
Stage Production David Alden
Stage-Design Paul Steinberg
Costume-Design Constance Hoffman
Light-Design Adam Silverman
Chorus Master William Spaulding
Children's Chorus Christian Lindhorst
Choreography Maxine Braham
Dramaturge Angelika Maidowski
Edward Fairfax Vere Burkhard Ulrich
Billy Budd John Chest
John Claggart Gidon Saks
Mr. Redburn Markus Brück
Mr. Flint Albert Pesendorfer
Leutnant Ratcliffe Tobias Kehrer
Red Whiskers Jörg Schörner
Donald Noel Bouley
Dansker Lenus Carlson
The Novice Thomas Blondelle
Squeak Alvaro Zambrano
Bosun Marko Mimica
1. Maat Ben Wager
2. Maat Simon Pauly
The Novice's friend Stephen Barchi
Red Whiskes Matthew Newlin
Arthur Jones N. N.
Chorus Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Kinderchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Orchestra Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
open

Information

close

Information

The second of Benjamin Britten's “maritime” operas revolves around the dramatic events on board the warship “Indomitable”. As with PETER GRIMES before it, this story, too, has no truck with oceanic idylls and the image of the jolly sailor. Life at sea is tough, the code of conduct in the male environment unbending. The constant menace posed by skirmishes and the natural environment hardens the souls of individuals and leaves no room for love and affection except in perverted form.

Even though Captain Vere, master of the “Indomitable”, makes no bones of his fondness for the young seaman, Billy Budd, he does not come to his aid when the boy is condemned to hang for mutiny after killing Claggart, the sadistic armourer, in a fit of passion. Edward Morgan Forster and Eric Crozier wrote the libretto based on the novella by Hermann Melville, author of “Moby-Dick”. Britten, a life-long critic of injustice and ostracisation, composed the work in 1950/51 in response to a commission from the Royal Opera House Convent Garden. The opera was first performed on 1st December 1951.

Following on from the successful production of PETER GRIMES in January 2013, also by director David Alden and set designer Paul Steinberg, BILLY BUDD is another visually powerful and musically complex opera by Benjamin Britten to be presented by the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

A co-productionwith the English National Opera and the Bolschoi Theatre. Premiered at the English National Opera on 18. June, 2012
Präsentiert von taz.die tageszeitung, tip berlin and Wall AG.

open

Accompanying Programme

close

Accompanying Programme

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance

Billy Budd


Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Oper in zwei Akten mit Prolog und Epilog. Libretto von Edward Morgan Forster und Eric Crozier nach Herman Melvilles Roman „Billy Budd“. Uraufführung am 1. Dezember 1951 am Royal Opera House in London; Neufassung: 1961. Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 22. Mai 2014.

In englischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln

öffnen

Besetzung

schließen

Besetzung

Musikalische Leitung Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung David Alden
Bühne Paul Steinberg
Kostüme Constance Hoffman
Licht Adam Silverman
Chöre William Spaulding
Kinderchor Christian Lindhorst
Choreographie Maxine Braham
Dramaturgie Angelika Maidowski
Edward Fairfax Vere Burkhard Ulrich
Billy Budd John Chest
John Claggart Gidon Saks
Mr. Redburn Markus Brück
Mr. Flint Albert Pesendorfer
Leutnant Ratcliffe Tobias Kehrer
Red Whiskers Jörg Schörner
Donald Noel Bouley
Dansker Lenus Carlson
Der Neuling Thomas Blondelle
Squeak Alvaro Zambrano
Bosun Marko Mimica
1. Maat Ben Wager
2. Maat Simon Pauly
Freund des Neulings Stephen Barchi
Ausguck Matthew Newlin
Arthur Jones N. N.
Chöre Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Kinderchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Orchester Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
öffnen

Informationen

schließen

Informationen

Die dramatischen Ereignisse auf dem Kriegsschiff „Indomitable“ (Die Unbezwingliche) stehen im Mittelpunkt dieser zweiten „maritimen“ Oper von Benjamin Britten. Wie bei PETER GRIMES ist auch hier kein Platz für Seefahrer-Romantik oder Meeres-Idylle. Das Leben auf See ist rau, die Regeln der Männergesellschaft unbarmherzig. Die ständige Bedrohung durch Naturgewalten und kriegerische Auseinandersetzungen erzeugt seelische Verhärtungen und lässt Gefühle wie Zuneigung und Liebe nur in pervertierter Form zu.

Obwohl Captain Vere, Befehlshaber auf der „Indomitable“, seine Zuneigung zu dem jungen Bootsmann Billy Budd nicht verhehlen kann, hilft er ihm nicht, als dieser wegen Meuterei zum Tod durch den Strang verurteilt wird, nachdem er im Affekt den sadistischen Waffenmeister Claggart erschlagen hat. Edward Morgan Forster und Eric Crozier schrieben das Libretto nach einer Novelle von Hermann Melville, dem Autor von „Moby Dick“. Britten, für den der Kampf gegen Ungerechtigkeit und Ausgrenzung ein lebenslanges Anliegen war, komponierte das Stück 1950 / 1951 als Auftragswerk für das Royal Opera House Covent Garden. Dort wurde es am 1. Dezember 1951 uraufgeführt.

Nach der erfolgreichen Produktion von PETER GRIMES im Januar 2013, ebenfalls von Regisseur David Alden und Bühnenbildner Paul Steinberg, kommt mit BILLY BUDD erneut eine bildmächtige und musikalisch hochkomplexe Oper von Benjamin Britten auf die Bühne der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

Eine Koproduktion mit der English National Opera und dem Bolschoi Theater. Premiere an der English National Opera am 18. Juni 2012
Präsentiert von Dussmann - Das Kulturkaufhaus, taz.die tageszeitung, tip berlin und Wall AG.

öffnen

Rahmenprogramm

schließen

Rahmenprogramm

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts (nicht zur Premiere)