The sound of 1961

A chamber concert / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin

Information on the piece

approx. 90 minutes

Share this post
About the performance

What music was brand new when the Deutsche Oper Berlin reopened? Members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin orchestra and ensembles present music from the years around 1961.

Among others, the following will be performed

Igor Stravinsky (1882 - 1971)
Fanfare for a New Theatre

Darius Milhaud (1892 - 1974)
Fanfare op. 400

Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976)
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano op. 65

Dmitri Dmitrievich Shostakovich (1906 - 1975)
String quartet no. 7 op. 108

Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976)
Hölderlin Fragments for tenor and piano

Iannis Xenakis (1922 – 2001)
Herma - Musique symbolique pour piano

György Ligeti (1923 – 2006)
Trois Bagatelles

Our articles on the subject

Serving the arts
An homage to people who care

Our recommendations

Facade projections "60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin"
Fritz Bornemann as an architect of bourgeois cultural life
Between functional building and built art
Who sits where in the opera? Theatre construction and social representation in the post-war period
Grand Opera between the Quest for Happiness and the Twilight of the Gods
Book presentation – Frank Schmitz: „Deutsche Theaterbauten von 1949 bis 1975“
Caretaker's Lounge – An Exhibition by Ina Weber
Future Opera - What Spaces Does Music Theatre Need?


News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field