Chamber Music III: Spotlights

Chamber music in an unconventional atmosphere

Information on the piece

approx. 2 hours / one interval

Share this post
About the performance

Musicians of the orchestra play works that are particularly close to their hearts. These can be well-known pieces of the chamber music repertoire, but also trouvailles that are hardly ever heard in the concert hall. This time, too, the "Spotlights" present a varied programme, which, in addition to string pieces by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, is especially dedicated to music of the 20th century.

As a youthful work by Shostakovich, the posthumously published 1st Piano Trio already reveals much of the composer's musical language. Also from the 1920s is Ernest Bloch's "Baal Shem", which draws inspiration from the Jewish current of Hasidism and its mysticism. André Jolivet was also concerned with giving music back its "magical, evocative expression", which is precisely why he reverted to the archaic instrumentation of flute and percussion for his 1965 suite. How versatile the sound of the brass can be was tested by Luciano Berio with bold joy of experimentation in "Call" in the 1980s. The same instrumentation sounds completely different in Derek Burgeois' Sonata for Brass Quintet from 2002, which does not shy away from the solemn tone of the popular brass band.


With their chamber music series, the musicians of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra fulfil a wish: inspired by productions from the opera programme, they put together concert programmes with works that are close to their hearts. The concerts take place in the stage sets of the respective current Tischlerei production.

Ernest Bloch [1880-1959]
Baal Shem (Three Pictures of Chassidic Life)
1. Vidui (Contrition)
2. Nigun (Improvisation)
3. Simchas Torah (Rejoicing)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy [1809 - 1847]
From: Four Pieces for Strings Op. 81
Tema con Variazioni
Capriccio. Andante con moto

Andre Jolivet [1905 - 1974]
Suite en Concert pour flûte et percussion
I. Modéré
II. Stabile
III. hardiment
IV. Calme-Véloce

*** Intermission ***

Luciano Berio [1925 - 2003]
"Call" (St. Louis Fanfare)

Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich [1906 - 1975]
Piano Trio No. 1 in C minor Op. 8

Derek Bourgeois [1941 - 2017]
Sonata for Brass Quintet
Allegro vivace
Andante piangevole
Maestoso - Allegro molto con brio


News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field