Dr Takt on Giacomo Puccini's "Tosca" / Act I, fourth meter before figure 5

Experience the 16th episode of our video series with Dr Takt here.

The opera begins with the three staggeringly brutish "Scarpia chords" B flat major, A flat major and E major, followed by Angelotti's driving "flight motif". In the first scene he seeks refuge in the church of Sant'Andrea della Valle. The music calms down as the scene progresses, but the "Scarpia chords" appear again at the end of the scene, when Angelotti finds the key to his hiding place in his family's chapel: B flat major and A flat major in forte, with E major in pianissimo and strikingly orchestrated as well. Cellos and double basses play with the woodwinds, but only in very deep and very high registers. There is a gap between the big E and the two-line E, while the high woodwinds are placed such that the instrumental colours only slightly intermingle and create a fissure of sound that comes across as imposing and tense despite the pianissimo.

Aus Dr. Takts Aufzeichnungen zu Tosca


News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field



Today in the Foyer: "Christmas Caroling
With the brass section of our orchestra
17.00 h / Parquet Foyer
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission

The brass section of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra invites you to sing Christmas carols in the Parquet Foyer! From the well-known German Advent carol "Macht hoch die Tür, die Tor macht weit" to the classics "Oh Tannenbaum" and "Oh Du Fröhliche" to "White Christmas", a lovely programme awaits you to set the musical mood for the holidays.