Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Annika Schlicht: A place of serenity for my soul … The museum

Mezzo-soprano Annika Schlicht sings Fricka in Wagner’s THE RHINEGOLD. To get into her roles, she looks to classical art for inspiration – and finds characters that exude timeless truths

The Rhinegold
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Derek Welton, Joel Allison, Attilio Glaser, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Judit Kutasi et al. 
From 22 October 2021

Museums are the places where I find respite from the madding crowd. Whatever country I find myself in, I always head for art galleries, collections, contemporary exhibitions. I’m starved of all that at the moment, what with the restrictions of the last year. The minute things began to open up again I booked slots and visited four museums in a week. Museums are places of peace where I can properly zone out. But they’re sources of inspiration, too, and I use them when I’m researching my roles and getting into character.

In 2019 I was Fenena in Verdi’s NABUCCO and spent a lot of time in the Pergamon Museum. Many times I looked up at the Ishtar Gate and got a real vicarious sense of how it must have been for Fenena to walk Babylon’s Processional Way five hundred years before the birth of Christ. At the moment I’m doing stints in the Vaterländischer Hall in the Neues Museum in Berlin. I’ve known the place since I arrived in Berlin in 2009 to study at the Hanns Eisler School of Music. And it’s taken on a new significance for me since I started working on Wagner’s RING OF THE NIBELUNG. The frieze in the Vaterländischer Hall depicts characters and tales from the Nordic »Edda«, a 13th-century collection of Icelandic myths. Wagner drew on the »Edda« for his RING, and I’m singing Fricka, Wotan’s wife, the goddess of marriage, home and household. I stand there surrounded by splendour, looking at the 19th-century murals: that’s Odin, Nordic lord of the gods, known as Wotan in the RING; the death of his son, Baldur; a drinking spree in Valhalla.

EA detail from the Vaterländischer Frieze in the Neues Museum in Berlin: That’s Odin, Nordic lord of the gods, who appears as Wotan in Wagner’s RING © Max Zerrahn
 
 

The frieze shows two Germanic warriors in a burial mound. The adornments that are part of their garb in the artwork are inspired by historical artefacts that were on display when the hall opened. For me, the only element missing from the Vaterländischer frieze – and it’s a big ‘only’ – is Fricka. And another thing was missing (for the audience): because of the pandemic the RING cycle couldn’t start off with THE RHINEGOLD, the preliminary ‘Vorabend’, which is meant to be the first element in the tetralogy and presents, among other things, the softer, anxious side of Fricka’s character. In September the cycle kicked off with THE VALKYRIE, in which Fricka has the whip hand, fed up with being constantly deceived and belittled by Wotan. She confronts him and gets him to do what she wants. Her principles are on display: as the goddess of marriage, she’s not going to tolerate his behaviour – but neither can she give him his marching orders. I kind of got parachuted into this big bust-up on stage. It wasn’t easy getting to that emotional place onstage without the back story as a run-up, because singing is a full-body experience. I had a real physical sensation of how much I missed singing THE RHINEGOLD in my debut performance.

There are human traits to Fricka’s character, yet she remains a goddess. But we do have one thing in common: I, too, have principles, even if I’m not quite as drastic as Fricka. Things like honesty, loyalty and helping other people are important to me. And principles are good for me in my work: I don’t drink alcohol the day before a performance, for instance, or when the rehearsals are coming to a head. I understand Fricka, including her stormy relationship with Wotan. I admire the way she jousts with him verbally. I like singing in German and the way it can come up with words like ‘far-sick’ (as opposed to ‘homesick’) and stand-alone terms like ‘feeling lonely in a wood’. German is a language I can paint with. Wagner’s works are speckled with Old and Middle High German words like ‘Klinze’ (a narrow gap), ‘kiesen’ (choose) and ‘Mähre’ (old horse) and he even makes up his own derivations like ‘böslich’ and ‘neidlich’. With the Rhinemaidens you get a great idea of his love of alliteration:   »Weia! Waga! Woge, du Welle, walle zur Wiege! Wagalaweia! Wallala weialaweia!« That splurge of rhyme gets a lot of spoof treatment, but there’s nothing non-sensical about it: »Wag« refers to a stretch of agitated water and »waian« is a Germanic verb meaning »blow«.

Any study of Wagner and his body of work is always going to involve German history and sombre aspects of the composer’s biography, such as his anti-Semitism. I’m not particularly proud of being German. I don’t really do pride anyway. My sensibilities tend to be local or global. I’m from Stuttgart, so Stuttgart and my family there are home to me, deep down. But I’m happy being a European and citizen of the world. What is ‘German’ anyway? National identity is an artificial construct: culture, language, people are always in flux. And it’s not least museums that present the documentation of that. Ok, I’d still be able to sing my roles without having this intense contact with history and paintings and artefacts – but strolling through museums definitely help me to shrug into my roles, bodily, three-dimensionally.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Annika Schlicht: Mein Seelenort … Das Museum

Die Mezzosopranistin Annika Schlicht singt Fricka in Wagners DAS RHEINGOLD. Bei alten Kunstwerken sucht sie Zugang zu ihren Rollen – und findet Figuren von zeitloser Gültigkeit

Das Rheingold
Der Vorabend des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit Derek Welton, Joel Allison, Attilio Glaser, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Judit Kutasi u. a.
Ab 22. Oktober 2021

Mein Seelenort sind Museen. Egal wo ich bin auf der Welt – immer besuche ich Gemäldegalerien, Sammlungen, zeitgenössische Ausstellungen. Seit einem Jahr ist das nur noch sehr eingeschränkt möglich und ich bin völlig ausgehungert. Sobald in Berlin Besuche wieder möglich waren, habe ich mir Tickets reserviert und war in einer Woche in vier Häusern. Museen sind Orte der Ruhe, hier kann ich abschalten. Gleichzeitig sind sie Orte der Inspiration, die ich gezielt zum Recherchieren für meine Rollen benutze, an denen ich mich in meine Figuren hineinfühle.

Als ich 2019 die Fenena in Verdis NABUCCO gesungen habe, besuchte ich oft das Pergamonmuseum. Ich stand immer wieder vor dem Ischtar-Tor und habe fast körperlich gefühlt, wie es ist, als Fenena fünfhundert Jahre vor Christi Geburt über die babylonische Prozessionsstraße zu laufen. Gerade studiere ich den Vaterländischen Saal im Neuen Museum in Berlin. Ich kenne diesen Ort, seit ich 2009 für mein Studium an der Hanns-Eisler-Hochschule nach Berlin kam. Seit ich an Wagners RING DES NIBELUNGEN arbeite, hat er für mich eine neue Bedeutung: Der Vaterländische Fries zeigt die Figuren und Geschichten der nordischen »Edda«, einer altisländischen Sagensammlung aus dem 13. Jahrhundert. Auf die »Edda« bezog sich Wagner in seinem RING – und ich singe im Zyklus die Fricka, Wotans Frau, die Göttin der Ehe, des Herdes und Haushalts. Ich stehe in dem opulenten Saal und schaue mir die Wandgemälde aus dem 19. Jahrhundert an: Da ist Odin, der nordische Göttervater, der im RING Wotan genannt wird; dort stirbt sein Sohn Baldur; da ist ein Trinkgelage auf Walhall.

Ein Ausschnitt aus dem Vaterländischen Fries im neuen Museum in Berlin: Das ist Odin, der nordische Göttervater, der in Wagners RING als Wotan auftaucht © Max Zerrahn
 
 

An der Stirnseite des Frieses liegen zwei germanische Krieger in einem Hügelgrab, der Schmuck, den sie auf den Gemälden tragen, ist von historischen Fundstücken inspiriert, die wiederum bei der Eröffnung des Saals ausgestellt wurden. Nur der für mich wichtigste Teil fehlt: Ausgerechnet die Fricka ist im Vaterländischen Fries nicht erhalten. Noch etwas anderes fehlt, und diesmal fehlte es dem Publikum. Pandemiebedingt konnte der RING-Zyklus nicht mit dem RHEINGOLD beginnen, dem Vorabend, in dem unter anderem Frickas besorgte, weichere Seite etabliert wird. So aber stiegen wir im September direkt mit der WALKÜRE ein. Dort tritt Fricka dominant auf, hat es satt, permanent von Wotan betrogen und bloßgestellt zu werden, stellt ihn zur Rede und zwingt ihn, nach ihrem Willen zu handeln. Damit zeigt sie ihre Prinzipien: Sie kann dieses Verhalten als Göttin der Ehe nicht akzeptieren – sich aber auch nicht einfach von Wotan scheiden lassen. Ich bin quasi kalt in diesen Höhepunkt eingestiegen. Es war nicht leicht, den inneren Bogen ohne Vorgeschichte zu spannen, weil Singen ein Ganzkörpererlebnis ist. Ich habe physisch gefühlt, wie sehr mir DAS RHEINGOLD für mein Debüt fehlte.

Fricka hat menschliche Züge – aber sie bleibt eine Göttin. Auf eine Weise ist sie mir trotzdem ähnlich: Auch ich bin jemand mit Prinzipien, wenn auch nicht so extrem wie Fricka. Mir sind Werte wie Ehrlichkeit, Treue und Hilfsbereitschaft wichtig. Auch in meinem Beruf helfen mir Prinzipien: Ich trinke etwa keinen Alkohol am Tag vor einer Vorstellung oder während der stressigen Endproben. Ich verstehe Fricka, auch in ihrer schwierigen Beziehung zu Wotan. Ich bewundere sie für ihre verbale Stärke, sie kontert jede seiner Spitzen. Ich singe gern in der deutschen Sprache, die so eigene Wortkreationen hervorbringt wie Waldeinsamkeit und Fernweh. Im Deutschen kann ich mit Sprache malen. Wagner mischt in seine Werke alt- und mittelhochdeutsche Wörter wie Klinze (ein schmaler Spalt), kiesen (wählen) oder Mähre (altes Pferd) und kreiert sogar eigene Worte wie böslich und neidlich. Seine Stabreimliebe kommt besonders bei den Rheintöchtern zur Geltung: »Weia! Waga! Woge, du Welle, walle zur Wiege! Wagalaweia! Wallala weialaweia!« Dieser Reim wird oft parodiert, aber er ist genau erklärbar und alles andere als willkürlich: »Wag« ist ein bewegtes Wasser und »waian« ein germanisches Verb für »wehen«.

Wenn man sich mit Wagner und seinem Werk befasst, stößt man automatisch auf die deutsche Geschichte, auch auf dunkle Teile, etwa seinen Antisemitismus. Ich bin nicht unbedingt stolz darauf, Deutsche zu sein. Stolz ist mir sowieso eher fremd. Ich fühle eher lokal und global: Ich komme aus Stuttgart und für diese Stadt und meine Familie dort hege ich Heimatgefühle, gleichzeitig freue ich mich, Europäerin und Weltbürgerin zu sein. Was ist schon deutsch? Das Nationale ist ja ohnehin eine Konstruktion – Kulturen, Sprachen, Menschen sind immer in Bewegung. Und genau das dokumentieren nicht zuletzt auch Museen. Sicher, ich könnte auch ohne diese intensive Beschäftigung mit der Geschichte, mit Gemälden und Artefakten meine Figuren singen – aber die Streifzüge durch die Museen helfen mir, meine Rollen umfassend, körperlich, ja, dreidimensional zu erfassen.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld