Welcome

Das Rheingold
9, 16 November 2021; 4 January 2022

Das Rheingold

Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; With Derek Welton, Joel Allison, Attilio Glaser, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Flurina Stucki, Judit Kutasi, Valeriia Savinskaia, Arianna Manganello, Karis Tucker
Cast, photos, info
Die Walküre
10, 17 November 2021; 5 January 2022

Die Walküre

Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; With Brandon Jovanovich, Tobias Kehrer, Iain Paterson, Elisabeth Teige, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme, Flurina Stucki, Aile Asszonyi, Antonia Ahyoung Kim, Simone Schröder, Ulrike Helzel, Karis Tucker, Anna Lapkovskaja, Beth Taylor, Eric Naumann
Cast, photos, info
Siegfried
12, 19 November 2021; 7 January 2022

Siegfried

Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; With Clay Hilley, Ya-Chung Huang, Iain Paterson, Jordan Shanahan, Tobias Kehrer, Judit Kutasi, Nina Stemme, Soloist of the Knabenchor der Chorakademie Dortmund
Cast, photos, info
Götterdämmerung
14., 21. November 2021; 9. Januar 2022

Götterdämmerung

Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; With Clay Hilley, Thomas Lehman, Jordan Shanahan, Albert Pesendorfer, Nina Stemme, Aile Asszonyi, Okka von der Damerau, Anna Lapkovskaja, Karis Tucker, Meechot Marrero
Cast, photos, info
Eight questions … to Sir Donald Runnicles

Eight questions … to Sir Donald Runnicles

Sir Donald Runnicles, General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, conducts Stefan Herheim’s production of Wagner’s RING.
read more
»The New Beginning of the End«

»The New Beginning of the End«

THE RHINEGOLD is set in a mythical, distant past, populated not by humans, but gods and dwarves. What does this pre-historic past mean to us? ... Questions to the director about the RING.
read more
An introductory lecture on: Das Rheingold
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf

An introductory lecture on: Das Rheingold

The eve of the RING is reserved for mythical figures: Gods, dwarves and giants open the struggle for power that will later also determine the fate of mankind. And already here it becomes clear that the unbridled lust for power ultimately only claims victims.
An introductory lecture on: Die Walküre
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf

An introductory lecture on: Die Walküre

People are frozen in a lust for power, mistrust and possessiveness, the gods limit themselves only to monitoring compliance with the old laws instead of questioning their meaning. Thus, the brother and sister Siegmund and Sieglinde are abandoned to death, and the Valkyrie Brünnhilde also falls under the spell when she dares to defy the verdict of her father Wotan.
"All that lives loves change and transformation. That play I cannot forgo."
Questions to Stefan Herheim

"All that lives loves change and transformation. That play I cannot forgo."

It’s precisely this collective humanity that we make into the nucleus of a play. This is acted out among fugitives who have lost their home and are now searching for it in myth. All parts of the RING revolve around the powerlessness of love and the lovelessness of power, and all players are at the mercy of its deceptive mechanisms.
read more
An introductory lecture: Siegfried
With Jörg Königsdorf

An introductory lecture: Siegfried

Wagner described his SIEGFRIED as a "heroic comedy", which is still a challenge for its directors today in its balance between comic and tragic elements. For Herheim, it is the act of the play that joins the opposites into a whole. The boundaries between animal and human become as blurred as those between the characters and their creator.

Our video recommendations

Richard Wagner: Das Rheingold
video - 03:06 min.

Richard Wagner: Das Rheingold

Richard Wagner: Das Rheingold
Richard Wagner: Die Walküre
video - 02:56 min.

Richard Wagner: Die Walküre

Richard Wagner: Die Walküre
Richard Wagner: Siegfried
video - 02:30 min.

Richard Wagner: Siegfried

Richard Wagner: Siegfried
Richard Wagner: Götterdämmerung
video - 02:59 min.

Richard Wagner: Götterdämmerung

Richard Wagner: Götterdämmerung

Topics

Annika Schlicht: A place of serenity for my soul … The museum

Annika Schlicht: A place of serenity for my soul … The museum

Mezzo-soprano Annika Schlicht sings Fricka in Wagner’s THE RHINEGOLD. To get into her roles, she looks to classical art for inspiration – and finds characters that exude timeless truths.
Read more
Clay Hilley: A place of serenity for my soul … my suitcase

Clay Hilley: A place of serenity for my soul … my suitcase

Tenor Clay Hilley sings the title role in Wagner’s SIEGFRIED. Here he describes his transient life – and how he can feel at home wherever he hangs his hat.
Siegfried
“Luminous love, laughing death!”
An essay by Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach

“Luminous love, laughing death!”

Laughing plays a notable role in the RING. It occurs over a hundred times in the libretto and the stage directions of the tetralogy – over three dozen times in SIEGFRIED alone – not including Mime’s laughter composed on one note “Hihihi”, his sniggering, or the orchestra’s reprise of the latter. Essentially laughter can be construed as having two meanings in the RING: mockery and joy.
read more
An introductory lecture: Götterdämmerung
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf

An introductory lecture: Götterdämmerung

A group of people are on the run, pause and try to find their footing in the world again through the act of playing. This is how Stefan Herheim's retelling of the RING DES NIBELUNGEN begins, which now finds its conclusion in the here and now in the last part of the tetralogy. A game unfolds that must end with the downfall of a world so that it can start all over again.
Questions to ... Ya-Chung Huang

Questions to ... Ya-Chung Huang

Ya-Chung Huang grew up in Taiwan and acquired German as an adult learner. In SIEGFRIED he sings the role of the evil dwarf, Mime. Here we asked seven questions to the tenor.
read more
Do we really want to change the world?
Stefan Herheim in conversation with Jörg Königsdorf

Do we really want to change the world?

How is a better world supposed to be created without great yearning? The final verbal statement is “Keep away from the Ring!” but it’s the music that has the last word. The intrinsic meaning of the “hehrstes Wunder” motif (“sublimest wonder”) must ultimately remain open, as our redemption cannot be materialized on the stage in sublime art. And so the question remains of whether we really want to change the world.
read more
Moving in good circles

Moving in good circles

Great ideas need supporters. And great stories always carry infinity - at the end of the last chapter the new saga announces itself. Consequently, the first meeting of the circle of supporters to fund the new production of the RING took place in the sets of the last performance of Götz Friedrich's RING production. Without the Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin and a very special circle, the new production of the RING DES NIBELUNGEN would not have been possible.
Read more

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Willkommen

16. November 2021

Das Rheingold

Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Mit Derek Welton, Joel Allison, Attilio Glaser, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Flurina Stucki, Judit Kutasi, Valeriia Savinskaia, Arianna Manganello, Karis Tucker
Besetzung, Fotos, Infos
17. November 2021

Die Walküre

Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Mit Brandon Jovanovich, Tobias Kehrer, Iain Paterson, Elisabeth Teige, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme, Flurina Stucki, Aile Asszonyi, Antonia Ahyoung Kim, Simone Schröder, Ulrike Helzel, Karis Tucker, Anna Lapkovskaja, Beth Taylor, Eric Naumann
Besetzung, Fotos, Infos
19. November 2021

Siegfried

Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Mit Clay Hilley, Ya-Chung Huang, Iain Paterson, Jordan Shanahan, Tobias Kehrer, Judit Kutasi, Nina Stemme, Solist des Knabenchores der Chorakademie Dortmund
Besetzung, Fotos, Infos
21. November 2021

Götterdämmerung

Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Mit Clay Hilley, Thomas Lehman, Jordan Shanahan, Albert Pesendorfer, Nina Stemme, Aile Asszonyi, Okka von der Damerau, Anna Lapkovskaja, Karis Tucker, Meechot Marrero
Besetzung, Fotos, Infos

Acht Fragen … an Sir Donald Runnicles

Sir Donald Runnicles, der Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, dirigiert Wagners RING in der Inszenierung von Stefan Herheim.
weiterlesen

Der Neuanfang vom Ende

Das RHEINGOLD spielt in einer mythischen Vorzeit, die nicht von Menschen, sondern von Göttern und Zwergen bevölkert wird. Was bedeutet diese Vor-Zeit für uns? ... Stefan Herheim im Gespräch mit Jörg Königsdorf über Richard Wagners DAS RHEINGOLD.
Lesen Sie weiter
Ein Einführungsgespräch zu: Das Rheingold
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf

Ein Einführungsgespräch zu: Das Rheingold

Der Vorabend des RING ist mythischen Gestalten vorbehalten: Götter, Zwerge und Riesen eröffnen den Kampf um die Macht, der später auch die Geschicke der Menschen bestimmen wird. Und bereits hier wird deutlich, dass die zügellose Machtgier letztlich nur Opfer fordert.
Lesen Sie auch das Programmheft
Ein Einführungsgespräch: Die Walküre
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf

Ein Einführungsgespräch: Die Walküre

Die Menschen sind in Machtgier, Misstrauen und Besitzdenken erstarrt, die Götter beschränken sich nur noch darauf, die Einhaltung der alten Gesetze zu überwachen, statt ihren Sinn zu hinterfragen. So wird das Geschwisterpaar Siegmund und Sieglinde dem Tode preisgegeben und auch die Walküre Brünnhilde verfällt dem Bann, als sie es wagt, sich dem Urteilsspruch ihres Vaters Wotan zu widersetzen.
Lesen Sie auch das Programmheft
Fragen an Stefan Herheim

»Wandel und Wechsel liebt wer lebt: Das Spiel drum kann ich nicht sparen«

Es ist gerade die Menschlichkeit im Kollektiv, die wir zum Nukleus eines Spiels machen. Bei uns vollzieht sich dieses Spiel unter Flüchtigen, die ihre Heimat nun im Mythos suchen. Alle Teile des RINGS kreisen um die Frage nach der Machtlosigkeit von Liebe und der Lieblosigkeit von Macht, und alle Spieler sind den trügerischen Mechanismen dieses Spiels ausgeliefert.
weiterlesen
Ein Einführungsgespräch: Siegfried
Mit Jörg Königsdorf

Ein Einführungsgespräch: Siegfried

Als »heroisches Lustspiel« bezeichnete Wagner seinen SIEGFRIED, der bis heute in der Balance zwischen komischen und tragischen Elementen eine Herausforderung für seine Regisseure ist. Für Herheim ist es der Akt des Spiels, der die Gegensätze zum Ganzen fügt. Die Grenzen zwischen Tier und Mensch verschwimmen ebenso wie die zwischen den Figuren und ihrem Schöpfer.
Lesen Sie auch das Programmheft

Unsere Video-Empfehlungen

Richard Wagner: Das Rheingold
Video - 03:06 min

Richard Wagner: Das Rheingold

Richard Wagner: Das Rheingold
Richard Wagner: Die Walküre
Video - 02:56 min

Richard Wagner: Die Walküre

Richard Wagner: Die Walküre
Richard Wagner: Siegfried
Video - 02:30 min

Richard Wagner: Siegfried

Richard Wagner: Siegfried
Richard Wagner: Götterdämmerung
Video - 02:59 min

Richard Wagner: Götterdämmerung

Richard Wagner: Götterdämmerung

Themen

Annika Schlicht: Mein Seelenort … Das Museum

Die Mezzosopranistin Annika Schlicht singt Fricka in Wagners DAS RHEINGOLD. Bei alten Kunstwerken sucht sie Zugang zu ihren Rollen – und findet Figuren von zeitloser Gültigkeit ...
Lesen Sie weiter

Clay Hilley: Mein Seelenort ... Der Koffer

Der Tenor Clay Hilley singt die Titelrolle in Wagners SIEGFRIED. Hier erzählt er von seinem mobilen Leben – und wie er unterwegs zuhause sein kann.
Lesen Sie weiter
Ein Essay von Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach

»Leuchtende Liebe, lachender Tod!«

Das Lachen spielt im RING eine besondere Rolle. Es findet sich über einhundert Mal im Text und in den Regieanweisungen der Tetralogie – über drei Dutzend Mal allein im SIEGFRIED – Mimes komponiertes Lachen auf einem Ton »Hihihi«, sein Kichern oder dessen orchestrale Wiederholung gar nicht mitgezählt. Es lassen sich grundsätzlich zwei Bedeutungsebenen des Lachens im RING ausmachen: Freude und Hohn.
weiterlesen
Ein Einführungsgespräch: Götterdämmerung
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf

Ein Einführungsgespräch: Götterdämmerung

Eine Gruppe von Menschen ist auf der Flucht, hält inne und versucht, durch den Akt des Spielens wieder Halt in der Welt zu finden. So beginnt Stefan Herheims Erzählung vom RING DES NIBELUNGEN, die nun im letzten Teil der Tetralogie ihren Abschluss im Hier und Jetzt findet. Es entfaltet sich ein Spiel, das mit dem Untergang einer Welt enden muss, damit es wieder von vorn beginnen kann.
Lesen Sie auch das Programmheft

Fragen an ... Ya-Chung Huang

Ya-Chung Huang ist in Taiwan aufgewachsen und lernte Deutsch als Erwachsener. In SIEGFRIED singt er den fiesen Zwerg Mime. Wir stellten dem Tenor sieben Fragen.
weiterlesen
Stefan Herheim im Gespräch mit Jörg Königsdorf

Wollen wir die Welt wirklich ändern?

Wie soll eine bessere Welt erschaffen werden ohne eine große Sehnsucht? Die finale wörtliche Äußerung lautet: „Zurück vom Ring!“, doch das letzte Wort hat die Musik. Die werkimmanente Bedeutung des „hehrsten Wunder“-Motivs muss letztlich offenbleiben, da sich unsere Erlösung nicht in hehrer Kunst auf großer Bühne materialisieren lässt. Und so bleibt die Frage, ob wir die Welt wirklich ändern wollen.
weiterlesen

In guten Kreisen

Große Ideen brauchen große Unterstützer. Und große Geschichten tragen stets Unendlichkeit in sich – am Ende des letzten Kapitels kündigt sich die neue Saga an. So fand konsequenterweise das erste Treffen des Förderkreises zur Unterstützung der neuen Produktion des RING in den Kulissen der letzten Aufführung von Götz Friedrichs RING-Inszenierung statt. Ohne den Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin und einen ganz besonderen Zirkel wäre die Neuinszenierung des RING DES NIBELUNGEN nicht möglich gewesen ...
Lesen Sie weiter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter