Nabucco

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

26
Saturday
November
19:30 - 22:15
C-Prices: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Information about the work

Dramma lirico in four parts
Libretto by Temistocle Solera
First performed on 9. March, 1842 at Milan
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 8. September, 2013

Recommended from 14 years on

2 hrs 45 mins / 1 interval

In Italian language with German and English surtitles

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance

Share this post
Cast
supported by

Kindly supported by Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.

26
Saturday
November
19:30 - 22:15
C-Prices: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Cast
the content

“Va, pensiero, sull’ali dorate” – Take flight, thought, on golden wings”. When those words first rang out in the Milan Scala on 9th March 1842, sung by the Hebrew slaves chorus in the third act of NABUCCO, Giuseppe Verdi's new opera, the master was making history. The “Slaves Chorus” was quickly adopted as the unofficial national anthem of a not-yet-unified Italy and the hopes of a generation of opera-goers were suddenly vested in the young composer.

The dramatic tale of Israelite subjugation under the Babylonian yoke of King Nebuchadnezzar remains one of Verdi's best-known operas and was last staged at the Deutsche Oper Berlin by Hans Neuenfels 13 years ago. In Verdi's anniversary year 2013 the material was being rendered by Keith Warner, one of the big names in international opera. The Englishman has directed LOHENGRIN at the Bayreuth Festival and THE RING OF THE NIBELUNG at Covent Garden and more recently for the Copenhagen Opera. Set in the same period that the piece was written, a time of transition from feudalism to a bourgeois, industrialising society, Warner's NABUCCO focuses on the opposing natures of two nations – the modern Hebrews, whose culture is informed by a script and by education as a democratic ideal, and the militaristic Babylonians, whose concept of a state is founded in autocratic rule.

Our recommendations

La forza del destino
Rigoletto
Simon Boccanegra
La traviata

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

03
DEC

Today we are giving away 2 x 2 free tickets for the performance of DIE FLEDERMAUS on 31 December 2022 at 7.30 pm. If you would like to take part in the prize draw, please send an e-mail today to marketing@deutscheoperberlin.de with the subject "Das 3. Fensterchen".

In 2018, the curtain rose on a new production of FLEDERMAUS directed by Rolando Villazón. For the busy singer, director, presenter and author, this production was a matter close to his heart, as he was able to play with comic elements in Strauss’ master operetta on the one hand, but also give space to the melancholic and thoughtful on the other. For Strauss's operetta is about cheating, underground parties and the beguiling power of champagne, but also about the description of social facades and above all the abysses that lurk at the back of the bourgeois salon. And because there is always betrayal, partying and drinking, Villazón sets the three acts in three different times and takes the audience on a journey from the 19th century through the 1950s to the future.

It was already a novelty in 1874 at the Theater an der Wien that the waltz king Johann Strauss presented a plot that was not set in mythical faraway places or in fantasy states, but took the upper middle-class salon as its starting point. The bourgeois audience saw itself, with all its conceit, its double standards, grotesquely distorted on stage. The story was not new, of course: Strauß and his collaborator Genée drew on a French tabloid comedy by the Offenbach librettists Meilhac and Halévy, but supplemented it with piquant details. For example, the appearance of the disguised Rosalinde at Prince Orlofsky's ball. In general, the intensification and centring of the plot on the masquerade party with the final homage to alcohol, the general fraternisation and the champagne-loving du-i-du is due to Genée. Otherwise, the farce about cheating has all the ingredients of a good comedy: The rebellious chambermaid, the hidden lover, the self-adulterous but jealous husband and the disguised countess.

Burkhard Ulrich, Hulkar Sabirova, Annika Schlicht, Attilio Glaser, Padraic Rowan, Thomas Lehman, Jörg Schörner, Meechot Marrero, Kathleen Bauer and Ingo Paulick sing and play for you under the musical direction of Yi-Chen Lin.



Closing date: 3 December 2022. The winners will be informed by e-mail on 5 December 2022. The tickets will be sent to you by e-mails. The legal process is excluded.

Nabucco

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

26
Samstag
November
19:30 - 22:15
C-Preise: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Informationen zum Werk

Dramma lirico in vier Teilen
Libretto von Temistocle Solera
Uraufführung am 9. März 1842 in Mailand
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 8. September 2013

empfohlen ab 14 Jahren

2 Stunden 45 Minuten / Eine Pause

In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
Unterstützt von

Mit Unterstützung des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.

26
Samstag
November
19:30 - 22:15
C-Preise: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Besetzung
zum Inhalt

„Va, pensiero, sull’ali dorate“ – „Flieg‘, Gedanke, auf goldenen Flügeln“ – als der Chor der Mailänder Scala am 9. März 1842 zum ersten Mal die Zeilen des Hebräerchors im dritten Akt von Giuseppe Verdis neuer Oper NABUCCO intonierte, schrieb er ein Stück Musikgeschichte. Der „Gefangenenchor“ wird noch heute von vielen Italienern für die Nationalhymne ihres Landes gehalten und der junge Komponist wurde zum Hoffnungsträger der Opernszene.

Das Drama um die babylonische Gefangenschaft des Volkes Israel unter König Nebukadnezar ist eine der beliebtesten Opern Verdis und wurde an der Deutschen Oper Berlin zuletzt vor 13 Jahren von Hans Neuenfels kontrovers in Szene gesetzt. Im Verdi-Jahr 2013 stellte mit Keith Warner einer der bekanntesten Regisseure der internationalen Opernszene seine Annäherung an den Stoff vor: Der Brite inszenierte unter anderem LOHENGRIN bei den Bayreuther Festspielen und den RING DES NIBELUNGEN an Covent Garden und leitete zuletzt die Oper Kopenhagen. Orientiert an der Entstehungszeit des Stückes, die durch den Umbruch von feudalen Strukturen zur bürgerlich-industriellen Gesellschaft geprägt war, stellt Warner den Gegensatz zweier Völker in den Vordergrund seiner Inszenierung: der Hebräer, deren Kultur durch Schrift und ein demokratisches Bildungsideal geprägt ist, und der militaristischen Babylonier, deren Staatsverständnis auf einem autokratischen Herrschaftssystem beruht.

Unsere Empfehlungen

La forza del destino
Rigoletto
Simon Boccanegra
La traviata

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

03
DEZ

Adventsverlosung: Das 3. Fensterchen

Heute verlosen wir 2 mal 2 Freikarten für die Vorstellung von DIE FLEDERMAUS am 31. Dezember 2022 um 19.30 Uhr. Wenn Sie an der Verlosung teilnehmen möchten, senden Sie bitte heute eine E-Mail an marketing@deutscheoperberlin.de mit dem Betreff „Das 3. Fensterchen“.

2018 hob sich der Vorhang für eine Neuinszenierung der FLEDERMAUS in der Regie von Rolando Villazón. Dem umtriebigen Sänger, Regisseur, Moderator und Autor war diese Inszenierung eine Herzensangelegenheit, konnte er in Strauß’ Meisteroperette doch einerseits mit komischen Elementen spielen, andererseits aber auch dem Melancholisch-Nachdenklichen Raum geben. Denn in Strauß‘ Operette geht es ums Fremdgehen, um Underground-Partys und die betörende Macht des Champagner, aber eben auch um die Beschreibung gesellschaftlicher Fassaden und vor allem der Abgründe, die auf der Rückseite des bürgerlichen Salons lauern. Und weil eben einfach immer fremdgegangen, gefeiert und getrunken wird, versetzt Villazón die drei Akte in drei verschiedene Zeiten und nimmt das Publikum mit auf eine Reise vom 19. Jahrhundert über die 1950er Jahre in die Zukunft.

Es war bereits 1874 im Theater an der Wien eine Novität, dass der Walzerkönig Johann Strauß eine Handlung präsentierte, die nicht in mythischer Ferne oder in Fantasiestaaten spielte, sondern den großbürgerlichen Salon als Ausgangspunkt nahm. Das bürgerliche Publikum sah sich selbst mit all seinem Dünkel und seiner Doppelmoral auf der Bühne grotesk verzerrt. Die Geschichte war natürlich nicht neu: Strauß und sein Mitarbeiter Genée griffen auf eine französische Boulevardkomödie der Offenbach-Librettisten Meilhac und Halévy zurück, ergänzten sie aber durch pikante Details. Zum Beispiel den Auftritt der verkleideten Rosalinde auf dem Ball des Prinzen Orlofsky. Überhaupt geht die Zuspitzung und Zentrierung der Handlung auf das Maskenfest mit der finalen Huldigung des Alkohols, der allgemeinen Verbrüderung und dem champagnerseligen Du-i-du auf das Konto Genées. Ansonsten finden sich in der Farce rund ums Fremdgehen all die Zutaten, die zu einer guten Komödie gehören: Die aufmüpfige Kammerzofe, der versteckte Liebhaber, der selbst ehebrechende, doch eifersüchtige, Gatte und die verkleidete Gräfin.

Es singen und spielen für Sie u. a. Burkhard Ulrich, Hulkar Sabirova, Annika Schlicht, Attilio Glaser, Thomas Lehman, Padraic Rowan, Jörg Schörner, Meechot Marrero, Kathleen Bauer und Ingo Paulick unter der musikalischen Leitung von Yi-Chen Lin.


Einsendeschluss: 3. Dezember 2022. Die Gewinner*innen werden am 5. Dezember 2022 per E-Mail informiert. Die Karten gehen Ihnen per E-Mail zu. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.