Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

The heir

For Norwegian director Stefan Herheim DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN is not a work of the past, but rather one that points toward the future

Stefan Herheim is one of the most important opera directors today. In a poll by the publication “Opernwelt” he was thrice voted "Director of the Year", and has held productions in Bayreuth, Salzburg, London, Amsterdam and Berlin, among others.
Das Rheingold

Since I began preparing for THE RING OF THE NIBELUNG, I have been considering how the end of TWILIGHT OF THE GODS could look. An ending that leaves the question of the future of man, of overcoming the old order, open. As long as we are failing in modern society due to lust for power, exploitation, betrayal and violence, the RING remains an 'artwork of the future'. To find ways toward the future we must begin searching for the prerequisites for being human. This search is reflected in drama itself, as well as in the figure of Richard Wagner. He worked on this piece for over a quarter of a century. The self-actualisation expressed therein also reflects Germans' longing for national identity.

The fabulous attempt at questioning truth, ideology and values with art in such a way that a revolutionary dynamic could form is presumably a uniquely German characteristic, as nowhere else has so much been entrusted to, and expected of, art. It is important to visualise that in a modern context in which only few media are conveying the quieter messages.

"Nowhere other than Germany has so much been entrusted to art."
 

For me, faith in art is existential. It is part of my relatively late German socialisation and also an expression of my fear of not belonging. At the same time, through my Norwegian heritage I have the advantage of being able to separate myself from the more unsettling aspects of 'being German'. This play between distance and closeness is also apparent in my affinity for Wagner's romantic dialectic.

Without the inclusion of its creator, his spiritual-cultural background and the influential consequences of his work to this day, I can hardly imagine being able to realise THE RING OF THE NIBELUNG. Of course the audience doesn't all have to be able to consciously decode these layers. Nor do they need to analytically perceive the difference between C major and F minor. Or understand each word that is being sung. In Wagner's total work of art, comprehensibility is conveyed at many levels. Through the consolidated powers of word, tone and scenic depiction, the dramatic thought takes shape. My job is to find a substantially coherent and emotionally moving form.

 

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Der Erbe

Für den norwegischen Regisseur Stefan Herheim ist DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN kein Werk der Vergangenheit, sondern eines, das in die Zukunft weist

Stefan Herheim zählt zu den bedeutendsten Opernregisseuren der Gegenwart. In der Umfrage der Zeitschrift „Opernwelt“ wurde er drei Mal zum „Regisseur des Jahres“ gewählt und inszenierte unter anderem in Bayreuth, Salzburg, London, Amsterdam und Berlin.
Das Rheingold

Seit ich mich auf den RING DES NIBELUNGEN vorbereite, überlege ich, wie das Ende von GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG aussehen könnte. Ein Ende, das die Frage nach der Zukunft der Menschen, nach der Überwindung der alten Ordnung offen lässt. Solange wir heute in der Gesellschaft an Machtgier, Ausbeutung, Betrug und Gewalt scheitern, bleibt der RING ein ›Kunstwerk der Zukunft‹. Um Wege in die Zukunft zu finden, müssen wir uns auf eine Suche nach den Voraussetzungen des Menschseins begeben. Diese Suche spiegelt sich im Drama selbst als auch in der Gestalt Richard Wagners. Über ein Vierteljahrhundert arbeitete er an diesem Werk. Die Selbstverwirklichung, die darin zum Ausdruck kommt, spiegelt auch die Sehnsucht der Deutschen nach nationaler Identität.

Der großartige Versuch, Wahrheit, Ideologie und Werte mit Kunst so zu hinterfragen, dass eine revolutionäre Dynamik entstehen könnte, ist vermutlich eine deutsche Besonderheit – nirgendwo sonst hat man der Kunst so viel zugetraut und zugemutet. Es ist wichtig, sich das in einer Zeit zu vergegenwärtigen, in der nur noch wenige Medien die leiseren Botschaften senden.

»Nirgendwo außer in Deutschland hat man der Kunst so viel zugetraut«
 

Für mich ist der Glaube an die Kunst existenziell. Sie ist Teil meiner relativ späten deutschen Sozialisation und auch ein Ausdruck meiner Angst, nicht dazuzugehören. Zugleich habe ich durch meine norwegische Herkunft den Vorteil, mich gegenüber den unheimlicheren Seiten eines ›deutschen Wesens‹ abgrenzen zu können. Dieses Spiel aus Distanz und Nähe spiegelt sich auch in meiner Affinität zur romantischen Dialektik bei Wagner.

Ohne eine Einbeziehung seines Schöpfers, seines geistig-kulturellen Hintergrunds sowie der einflussreichen Folgen, die sein Werk bis heute hat, kann ich mir eine Vergegenwärtigung des RING DES NIBELUNGEN kaum vorstellen. Natürlich muss das Publikum diese Schichten nicht alle bewusst dekodieren können. Ebenso wenig muss es den Unterschied zwischen C-Dur und f-Moll analysierend wahrnehmen. Oder jedes Wort des gesungenen Textes verstehen. In Wagners Gesamtkunstwerk vermittelt sich Verständlichkeit auf vielen Ebenen. Durch die gebündelten Kräfte von Wort, Ton und szenischer Darstellung nimmt der dramatische Gedanke Gestalt an. Dafür eine inhaltlich schlüssige und emotional eindringliche Form zu finden, ist meine Aufgabe.