Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
13. Dec

On “Don Quichotte” by Jules Massenet

The adventures of a daydreaming chevalier

From 30th May onwards Don Quixote will be chasing rainbows, tilting at windmills and fighting for his one true love. Jules Massenet’s chirpy yet melancholic opera is a musical homage to the great work.

Don Quichotte
Comédie héroique by Jules Massenet
Conductor: Emmanuel Villaume
Director: Jakop Ahlbom
With Alex Esposito, Seth Carico, Clémentine Margaine et al.
Premiere on 30 May 2019

When the Nobel Institute in Oslo asked 100 authors around the world in 2002 to name the “best book in the world” – ever – the runaway winner was “Don Quijote”, a novel over 1,000 pages long, committed to paper 4 centuries ago by an author who, for many years, was many things to many people but most certainly not a successful man of letters. Miguel de Cervantes was born in 1547 close to Madrid. He studied theology, fought in naval engagements, was wounded, taken prisoner by pirates and enslaved in Algeria. Ransomed a year later, he tried his luck as an author, without success. That changed with the publication of “Don Quijote”, which appeared in two volumes in 1605 and 1615 and became an international bestseller. To date there have been over 2,000 editions of the work, which has inspired plays, operas, films and much more. Every child seems to have heard of him, but who exactly is this man who duels with windmills? And what is it about the book that has sustained its popularity down the centuries?

The narrator of the book tells us that Don Quijote devours chivalric novels in such quantities that his brain has “dried up” and he has lost his wits as a result: “He filled his imagination with everything he had read, with enchantments, knightly encounters, battles, challenges, wounds, with tales of love and its torments, and all sorts of impossible things.” Enveloped in the golden age of chivalry, and with little regard for life and limb, Quijote embraces all the adventures that his imagination presents to him. Decked out in shining armour, lance, shield and sword and perched atop an aging steed, he rides forth to do battle with the world’s evils and restore the glory of bygone times. Miguel de Cervantes’s novel is the portrait of a man who sees reality through the prism of an errant knight’s perspective and seeks to make his dreams come true. This is what makes the Quijote character so extraordinary. Don Quijote does not just imagine the world as a better place, he lives it as such. We can dismiss him as a fantasist or crazy person, but his valour and his unshakeable belief in his mission still fascinate.

Having settled on Cervantes material for his opera early in the 20th century, the French composer Jules Massenet opts to leave his own stamp on the work. With his distinctively elegant and sensuous musical language, he focuses on the dreamy knight as a foolish old man besotted with the young and beautiful Dulcinée and transposes the Spanish cavalier into turn-of-the-century Paris. His libretto is less aligned with the original Spanish novel than with a stage play that has been pulling in audiences in Paris and which – true to fin-de-siècle form – transforms the object of Don Quijote’s desire from Cervantes’s country bumpkin into a sophisticated courtesan. Massenet’s opera might as well have been titled “Don Quichotte and Dulcinée”, since the pair’s relationship is the driving force behind the story. To win Dulcinée’s love, Don Quichotte must retrieve a necklace that has been stolen by thieves. When the infatuated knight is captured by the bandits, they are so taken with his magnanimity and naïve good nature that they spare his life and even throw in the necklace for good measure. Returning to the object of his affections, the victorious knight asks for her hand in marriage, only to be laughed at. Devastated, the hoary dreamer dies. Before he breathes his last, Don Quichotte is keen to bequeath something to his trusty companion, Sancho Pansa, but has no possessions to give away save his dreams.

“Don Quichotte” was Massenet’s own form of legacy. Seriously ill, the composer was bedridden when he completed the score. Massenet’s own process of leave-taking and death is mirrored in Don Quichotte’s quest for a joyous life in which dreams become reality. Jules Massenet’s opera was to be his last artistic triumph. The world premiere in Monte Carlo in 1910 led to a string of premieres in quick succession elsewhere in Europe. The last new production to be staged in Berlin was mounted almost 50 years ago – reason enough to join the heroic and amusing “knight of the sorrowful countenance” on a Berlin stage and give flight to dreams once again.

The new production at the Deutsche Oper Berlin features Alex Esposito (Don Quichotte) and Clémentine Margaine (Dulcinée), two world-class singers of the younger generation. The opera is directed by Jakop Ahlbom, who is known for creating magical, oft surreal and nightmarish realms for the stage, which he then tours around Europe.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Zu „Don Quichotte“ von Jules Massenet

Die Abenteuer eines träumenden Ritters

Er kämpft gegen Windmühlen und für eine große Liebe: Don Quichotte jagt ab 30. Mai seinen Träumen und Fantastereien hinterher. Jules Massenet hat ihm mit einer heiter-melancholischen Oper ein musikalisches Denkmal gesetzt.

Don Quichotte
Comédie héroique von Jules Massenet
Musikalische Leitung: Emmanuel Villaume
Inszenierung: Jakop Ahlbom
Mit Alex Esposito, Seth Carico, Clémentine Margaine u. a.
Premiere am 30. Mai 2019

Als im Jahr 2002 das Osloer Nobelinstitut 100 Schriftsteller aus aller Welt nach dem „besten Buch der Welt“ und aller Zeiten befragten, da gewann mit großem Abstand: „Don Quijote“ – ein über 1000 Seiten starker Roman, vor vierhundert Jahren erdacht von einem Autor, der lange Zeit alles war, nur nicht ein erfolgreicher Literat. Miguel de Cervantes kam 1547 unweit von Madrid zur Welt. Er studierte Theologie, kämpfte in Seeschlachten, wurde verwundet, von Seeräubern gefangengenommen und als Sklave nach Algerien verschleppt. Als er Jahre später freigekauft wurde, versuchte er sich als Autor, ohne Erfolg. Alles änderte sich erst, als er den „Don Quijote“ herausbrachte. Der Roman erschien in zwei Bänden 1605 und 1615 und eroberte im Flug die ganze Welt. Inzwischen zählt man über 2.000 Auflagen weltweit sowie Bühnenstücke, Opern, Filme und vieles mehr. Jedes Kind scheint ihn zu kennen, doch: Wer ist dieser Windmühlen-Kämpfer und was macht seine Geschichte seit Jahrhunderten zum Bestseller?

Don Quijote – so weiß es der Romanerzähler – verschlingt Ritterromane in so großer Zahl, dass sein Gehirn vom vielen Lesen „austrocknet“ und er schließlich den Verstand verliert: „Sein Kopf füllte sich mit allem, was er in den Büchern gelesen, mit Verzauberungen, Schlachten, Liebe und sonstigem haarsträubenden Unsinn.“ Derart in das goldene Zeitalter des Ritterwesens eingetaucht, stürzt sich Quijote unter Einsatz von Leib und Leben in Abenteuer, die ihm seine Fantasie von nun an gebietet. Mit blitzender Ritterrüstung, Lanze, Schild und Schwert prescht er auf einem alten Pferd voran, um heldenhaft gegen das Unrecht zu kämpfen und den Menschen die alten glückseligen Zeiten wiederzubringen. Miguel de Cervantes gelingt mit Don Quijote das Porträt eines Mannes, der die Wirklichkeit ausschließlich durch die Brille einer ritterlichen Weltsicht betrachtet und seine Träume in die Tat umsetzt. Das macht diese Figur so außerordentlich: Don Quijote stellt sich die Welt nicht anders und besser vor, er lebt sie anders. Ob man ihn Spinner oder Fantasten nennt: Sein Mut und sein unerschütterlicher Glaube an die eigene Mission faszinieren.

Als der französische Komponist Jules Massenet zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts nach dem Stoff greift, setzt er für seine „Quichotte“-Oper eigene Akzente: der träumende Ritter als ein närrischer alternder Mann, der sich in die jugendlich-schöne Dulcinée verliebt. Mit der ihm ganz eigenen sinnlich-eleganten Musiksprache versetzt Massenet den spanischen Ritter in die Gefühlswelt der Pariser Jahrhundertwende. Sein Libretto orientiert sich weniger am originalen spanischen Roman als vielmehr an einem in Paris erfolgreichen Bühnenstück, das – ganz im Geschmack des Fin de Siècle – die angebetete Frau nicht wie bei Cervantes als Bauerntrampel, sondern als mondäne Kurtisane zeichnet. Massenets Oper könnte auch „Don Quichotte und Dulcinée“ heißen, denn das Verhältnis zur umworbenen Frau ist Motor der gesamten Handlung: Um Dulcinées Liebe zu erringen, soll Don Quichotte ein von Räubern gestohlenes Collier zurückbringen. Als der Liebesritter tatsächlich in die Hände der Banditen fällt, sind jene von Quichottes Großmut und naiver Gutartigkeit so berührt, dass sie ihm Leib, Leben und obendrein den geraubten Schmuck schenken. Der zurückkehrende Sieger wagt einen Heiratsantrag, aber die Herzensdame lacht nur. Der alte Träumer, er ist am Ende und stirbt. Seinem treuen Begleiter Sancho Pansa möchte er als letzte Tat noch etwas vererben, doch sein einziger Besitz sind seine Träume.

Auch für den Komponisten selbst war dieser „Don Quichotte“ ein Vermächtnis. Von Krankheit gezeichnet, konnte Massenet die Partitur nur im Bett liegend vollenden. Des Komponisten eigene Auseinandersetzung mit Abschied und Tod spiegelt sich in Don Quichottes Suche nach der Möglichkeit eines glückhaften Lebens, wo Träume Realität werden. Die Oper wurde Jules Massenets letzter künstlerischer Triumph. Auf die Uraufführung in Monte Carlo 1910 folgten schnell viele Premieren in Europa. Die letzte Neuinszenierung in Berlin war vor knapp 50 Jahren: höchste Zeit, mit dem heroischen und komischen „Ritter von der traurigen Gestalt“ auf einer Berliner Opernbühne wieder zu träumen.

Für die Neuproduktion an der Deutschen Oper Berlin sind mit Alex Esposito (Don Quichotte, auf dem Foto oben) und Clémentine Margaine (Dulcinée) zwei Weltklasse-Sänger der jüngeren Generation besetzt. Es inszeniert Jakop Ahlbom, der mit seinen Produktionen magische und surrealistisch-albtraumhafte Theaterwelten schafft und damit europaweit auf Tour geht.