Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

A heroic journey

From climate change to refugee crisis: Donald Runnicles, General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, and director Stefan Herheim are of one mind: the RING is as relevant today as it has ever been.

The Rhinegold
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Derek Welton / Noel Bouley, Thomas Lehman, Robert Watson / Matthew Newlin, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Judit Kutasi et al. 
Premiere on 12 June 2021

Donald Runnicles, Stefan Herheim, what message does Wagner’s RING have for us today?
Donald Runnicles
I can mention one modern aspect straight off: the environment could pretty much be considered a key protagonist. At the start of THE RHINEGOLD we can hear the sounds of the natural world: waves and other elemental forces. Then we’re treated to an act of violence against nature: Alberich wants to grab the gold. Nowadays climate change is the big subject of conversation, but the issue has always been hidden in plain sight in THE RHINEGOLD.

Stefan Herheim Taking refuge is another big subject. We recognise Wagner in a lot of the characters he creates. He was a political refugee for years and spent over 25 years mulling over the RING before he managed to build a theatre and provide a platform for all the exiles and homeless in his masterpiece.

Runnicles Wagner is a child of the revolution of 1848, but you could think of him as a ‘68er as well. Not as a hippie, mind, but he’d have felt at home at a time when things everywhere were being questioned. He was driven by an inner quest for identity – as we are today.

What does the RING mean to you personally?
Runnicles
I never get tired of it. I conducted my first RING in 1990. I wasn’t married at the time and I thought I could relate to the over-courageous Wotan. After the wedding I started appreciating the love stories on a much deeper level. Then my daughter was born and suddenly I saw the ending of THE VALKYRIE in a completely different light – where a father’s got to bid farewell to his daughter forever. Once I was rehearsing THE VALKYRIE with James Morris, the singer, at precisely the time that his twins were being born. He was in tears and had to take time out. When he had control of himself again, he sang better than I’d ever heard him sing. People get different things from the music depending on the stage they’re at in their life.

Herheim It’s not just all the big questions floating around in the RING that prick our artistic conscience. Wagner’s aspiration to change the world also has something to do with it.

What are the hardest things to direct onstage?
Runnicles
Siegfried’s death was the first section of the story that Wagner wrote and he then proceeded in reverse chronology. Someone’s always explaining what happened before the current events – a bit like what you get when you’re binge watching a TV series. The temporal structure is a little strange. There’s a lot of stuff going on simultaneously.

Herheim The slant and significance of the story change depending on who’s telling what to whom and how. In the beginning the story is driven by things like lust, envy, cunning and self-deception and it’s packed with comedy. At the same time it encompasses the entire theory of knowledge and plumbs the depths of the soul to discover the true nature of love.

What do you both get from these four works on a personal level?
Herheim
On an emotional and intellectual level I find they’re by turns disturbing and uplifting, shattering and enchanting, a confirmation and an irritant. Wagner shifts and varies the themes and motifs, generally pushing and tugging at them as if to explode all painstakingly constructed contexts and reference systems. Surviving all that is a true test of one’s courage, patience, intelligence and sensibility.

Runnicles You always feel in your belly what the music has to say. Sometimes you’ve got themes switching from major to minor key - getting dirty, as it were, like the environment. No one is impervious to that.

And how can the material be presented in a new way?
Runnicles
It doesn’t all have to be new. Grandiose, yes, but not all new.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Die Heldenreise

Von Klimawandel bis Flüchtlingskrise: Der RING ist immer noch topaktuell, finden Donald Runnicles, Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, und Regisseur Stefan Herheim

Der Ring des Nibelungen
Bühnenfestspiel für drei Tage und einen Vorabend
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim

Zyklus 1
9. / 10. / 12. / 14. Nov. 2021

Zyklus 2
16. / 17. / 19. / 21. Nov. 2021

Zyklus 3
4. / 5. / 7. / 9. Jan. 2022

Alle Informationen

Alle drei Zyklen DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN werden ausschließlich als Vier-Vorstellungs-Paket verkauft. Ein Tausch zwischen den einzelnen Zyklen ist nicht möglich. Wir bitten um Verständnis, dass pro Besteller*in der Kauf auf 4 Vier-Vorstellungs-Pakete begrenzt ist.

Der allgemeine Vorverkauf für die drei Zyklen des RING DES NIBELUNGEN beginnt am 27. April 2020. Vorher eingehende Reservierungswünsche können leider nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Donald Runnicles, Stefan Herheim, was sagt uns Wagners RING heute?
Donald Runnicles Um gleich einen modernen Aspekt zu nennen: Die Umwelt ist quasi eine Hauptfigur. Am Anfang des RHEINGOLD hört man die pure Natur – Wellen und Urkräfte. Dann kommt ein Akt der Gewalt wider die Natur. Alberich will das Gold an sich reißen. Heute reden wir von der Klimakrise. Im RHEINGOLD steckt das Problem schon drin.
Stefan Herheim Auch Flucht ist ein großes Thema. In vielen seiner Figuren erkennen wir Wagner, der lange selbst ein politischer Flüchtling war und über 25 Jahre den RING mit sich trug, bevor er den vielen Vertriebenen und Heimatlosen darin eine Bühne errichten konnte.
Runnicles Wagner ist ein Kind der Revolution von 1848, aber man könnte ihn sich auch als 68er vorstellen. Sicher wäre er kein Hippie, aber er hätte sich wohlgefühlt in einer Zeit, in der viel hinterfragt wurde. Ihn trieb die Suche nach Identität. Wie uns heute.

Was bedeutet der RING in Ihrem Leben?
Runnicles Er wird nie langweilig. Meinen ersten RING dirigierte ich 1990. Da war ich noch nicht verheiratet und habe mich mit dem etwas zu mutigen Wotan identifiziert. Nach meiner Hochzeit nahm ich die Liebesgeschichten intensiver wahr. Dann kamen meine Töchter zur Welt, und auf einmal habe ich den Schluss der WALKÜRE neu erlebt – wo sich ein Vater für immer von seiner Tochter verabschieden muss. Einmal habe ich DIE WALKÜRE mit dem Sänger James Morris geprobt, als gerade seine Zwillinge geboren waren. Er musste die Probe unter Tränen abbrechen. Als er weitermachen konnte, sang er noch besser und schöner als je zuvor. Man versteht diese Musik in verschiedenen Lebensphasen immer neu.
Herheim Nicht nur die vielen großen Fragen, die im RING kreisen, sondern auch der Anspruch Wagners, die Welt zu verändern, fordern das eigene künstlerische Gewissen heraus.

Was sind die größten Schwierigkeiten beim Inszenieren?
Runnicles Wagner ging von Siegfrieds Tod aus, hat dann rückwärts erzählt. Immer wieder erklärt jemand, was bisher geschah, fast wie beim heutigen Binge-Watching einer Serie. Das erzeugt eine besondere Zeitstruktur, es passiert vieles zugleich.
Herheim Je nachdem, wer wem was wie berichtet, ändert sich die Ausrichtung und Bedeutung der Geschichte. Diese ist zunächst von Lust, Neid, List und Selbstbetrug bestimmt und voller Komik; zugleich umfasst sie die ganze Erkenntnistheorie und sucht in den dunkelsten Tiefen der Seele nach dem wahren Wesen der Liebe.

Was geben diese vier Werke Ihnen persönlich?
Herheim Sie verstören und beglücken, erschüttern und betören, bestätigen und irritieren mich sowohl emotional als auch intellektuell. Wagner wandelt, variiert und strapaziert die Themen und Motive in einem Ausmaß, das jedes mühsam errichtete Bezugs- und Beziehungssystem zu sprengen droht. Das auszuhalten, ist eine Mut-, Gedulds-, Intelligenz- und Sensibilitätsprobe.
Runnicles Man nimmt immer als Bauchgefühl wahr, was die Musik erzählt. Manchmal kippen Themen von Dur nach Moll, sie werden sozusagen verschmutzt, wie die Umwelt. Das lässt niemanden kalt.

Und wie kann man das neu erzählen?
Runnicles Es muss nicht alles neu sein – aber grandios muss es schon sein.