Hoffmann’s strolls

E.T.A. Hoffmann was a poet, composer, legal scholar, critic – and passionate Berliner. Dramatic advisor Katharina Duda accompanies him on an imaginary walk in the city.

“Late autumn in Berlin is usually good for a few days of nice weather,” says the lean gentleman. “How right you are, sir. Fancy a stroll?” I reply, inviting my dream companion on a promenade through Berlin, on a tour of his era, his life, his recollections. Our walk begins outside the Deutsche Oper and my companion is Kammergerichtsrat Ernst Theodor Wilhelm Hoffmann, born in 1776 in Königsberg, Eastern Prussia. Not being fond of the “Wilhelm”, he swapped it for “Amadeus” - as had Mozart, whom he admired – thus becoming E.T.A. Hoffmann. We are familiar with the qualified lawyer as an author of nocturnes and chilling plays, as music critic, as caricaturist… “and as a composer, don’t forget!” – “Of course I wouldn’t forget!” Hoffmann’s opera UNDINE had its world premiere in 1816 in Berlin’s Schauspielhaus and he wrote a number of other works. But it was his lot to earn his living from other activities. As a Prussian civil servant at the Court of Justice.

We take a breather on a bench. “I bumped into Ritter Gluck here once!” my companion recollected, referring to the composer Christoph Willibald Ritter von Gluck. In one of his tales, penned in 1808, the narrator engaged with him once again in Berlin. Gluck was already dead at the time, but no matter! Hoffmann is often to be found exploring composers, singers or the power of music. Hardly surprising that musicians love him!

In Jacques Offenbach’s opera LES CONTES D’HOFFMANN (Engl.: THE TALES OF HOFFMANN), the Berlin poet wrestles with issues of love, alcohol and ghosts, with himself as the hero of his own stories. On the banks of the canal people trot by in their keep-fit gear. “Joggers,“ I explain. He is tickled at the spectacle: “Mr Gymnastics Jahn would love that!” Friedrich Ludwig Jahn, a contemporary of Hoffmann, was given a jail term for seditious remarks. In the wake of the German campaign against Napoleon the Prussian state presses ahead with the restoration of the monarchy. As a member of the “Immediatkommission for the investigation of treasonable deeds and other acts of endangerment” Hoffmann should have been involved in the commission’s operations, but instead he instigates an investigation of the police chief, lampooning him in his tale entitled “Master Flea”. That is the last straw and Hoffmann faces occupational banishment. “Come on!” barks the poet with a shudder. “Evening is drawing in.” From the Brandenburg Gate we hurry down Französische Straße to the Gendarmenmarkt. “Reminds me of Schlemihl’s seven-league boots!” exclaims the poet, pausing to catch his breath. Adelbert von Chamisso’s literary hero, Peter Schlemihl, is a recurring character in E.T.A. Hoffmann’s stories. We meet him propping up the bar in “Adventures on New Year’s Eve!”, another pastime beloved of my poetic friend – preferably in Lutter & Wegner on the corner, next door to the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music.

He lived close by, with a view over the Gendarmenmarkt, until his death. When fire raged through the Schauspielhaus in 1817 – “and the stage sets for my UNDINE!” – the poet watched the catastrophe from his window. “Seldom a boring moment on our Gendarmenmarkt,” he remarks today, smiling and ordering another beer. “What can you do? Life is short!” And his was shorter than most. From January 1822 onwards the 46-year-old was confined to his house by paralysis of the spinal cord, a condition that finally killed him. Almost to his dying day he was dictating: stories, observations and always scenes depicting his beloved Prussian capital. Much of this old Berlin has vanished in nigh on two centuries. What has remained of it? From a window of the Hanns Eisler a burst of music escapes, a snatch of Mozart. Or Offenbach. Maybe Hoffmann. The product of a fiery imagination, of that we can be sure.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

08
DEC

Today in the Foyer: "Christmas Caroling
With the brass section of our orchestra
17.00 h / Parquet Foyer
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


The brass section of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra invites you to sing Christmas carols in the Parquet Foyer! From the well-known German Advent carol "Macht hoch die Tür, die Tor macht weit" to the classics "Oh Tannenbaum" and "Oh Du Fröhliche" to "White Christmas", a lovely programme awaits you to set the musical mood for the holidays.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Hoffmanns Spaziergänge

E.T.A. Hoffmann war Dichter, Komponist, Jurist, Kritiker – und begeisterter Berliner. Dramaturgin Katharina Duda hat ihn auf einen imaginären Spaziergang begleitet

Les Contes d'Hoffmann
Dirigat: Enrique Mazzola
Regie: Laurent Pelly
Mit Daniel Johansson, Cristina Pasaroiu, Alex Esposito, Irene Roberts u. a.
Premiere am 1. Dezember 2018

„Der Spätherbst in Berlin hat gewöhnlich noch einige schöne Tage.“ – „Da haben Sie Recht, Herr Kammergerichtsrat. Wollen wir spazieren gehen?“, antworte ich dem schmalen Herrn und lade meinen Traumgefährten ein, auf einen Spaziergang durch Berlin, entlang der Zeit, durch sein Leben und die Erinnerungen. Wir starten von der Deutschen Oper. Mein Begleiter ist der Kammergerichtsrat Ernst Theodor Wilhelm Hoffmann, geboren 1776 in Königsberg, Ostpreußen. Den „Wilhelm“ mochte er aber nicht und tauschte ihn gegen Amadeus, wie Mozart, den er bewunderte. E.T.A. Hoffmann also. Den studierten Juristen kennt man als Autor von Nacht- und Schauerstücken, Musikkritiker, Karikaturisten ... „Und Komponisten! Vergessen Sie’s nicht!“ – „Aber nein!“ Hoffmanns Oper UNDINE wurde 1816 am Schauspielhaus in Berlin uraufgeführt. Er hat noch einiges mehr geschrieben. Nur sein Geld musste er leider anders verdienen. Im preußischen Staatsdienst, am Kammergericht.

Am Spreekanal setzen wir uns auf eine Bank. „Hier bin ich mal dem Ritter Gluck begegnet!“, fällt meinem Begleiter ein. Er meint den Komponisten Christoph Willibald Ritter von Gluck. In einer Erzählung von 1808 trifft ihn der Erzähler wiederholt in Berlin. Zwar war Gluck zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon tot, aber das schreckt uns nicht! Um Komponisten, Sängerinnen oder um die Macht der Musik geht es oft bei Hoffmann. Kein Wunder, dass ihn die Musiker lieben!

In Jacques Offenbachs Oper LES CONTES D’HOFFMANN, zu Deutsch: HOFFMANNS ERZÄHLUNGEN, plagt sich der Berliner Dichter als Held seiner eigenen Geschichten mit Liebe, Suff und Spuk herum. Menschen in Sportkleidung rennen am Spreekanal rauf und runter. „Jogger“, erkläre ich. Er findet’s amüsant: „Das wäre was für Turnvater Jahn!“ Friedrich Ludwig Jahn ist ein Zeitgenosse Hoffmanns, der wegen allerhand aufwieglerischer Äußerungen eine Weile in Untersuchungshaft saß. Der preußische Staat machte nach den Befreiungskriegen mal wieder kräftig Restauration. Als Mitglied der „Immediatkommission zur Ermittlung hochverräterischer und anderer gefährlicher Umtriebe“ sollte Hoffmann sich daran beteiligen. Doch der veranlasste ein Ermittlungsverfahren gegen den Polizeichef und verspottete ihn in der Erzählung vom „Meister Floh“. Das ging dann doch zu weit. Hoffmann sollte strafversetzt werden. „Gehen wir!“, sagt der Dichter fröstelnd. „Es wird dunkel.“ Durchs Brandenburger Tor eilen wir durch die Französische Straße zum Gendarmenmarkt. „Wie mit Schlemihls Siebenmeilenstiefeln!“, meint der Dichter und muss kurz verschnaufen. Adelbert von Chamissos Romanheld Peter Schlemihl spukt auch durch E.T.A. Hoffmanns Werk. In den „Abenteuern der Sylvesternacht!“ trifft man ihn in der Kneipe. Da saß der Dichter auch selber gern. Am liebsten bei Lutter & Wegner, im Eckhaus, neben der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler.

Ganz in der Nähe wohnte er bis zu seinem Tod mit Blick auf den Gendarmenmarkt. Als 1817 das Schauspielhaus brannte – „und die Dekorationen zu meiner UNDINE!“ –, sah der Dichter vom Fenster aus zu. „Auf unserm Gendarmenmarkt wird’s einem so schnell nicht öde“, sagt er heute, lächelt und bestellt noch ein Bier. „Was soll man machen? Das Leben ist kurz!“ Seines war es in der Tat. Ab Januar 1822 fesselt eine Rückenmarkslähmung den 46-Jährigen ans Haus, nimmt ihm zuletzt den Atem. Fast bis zu seinem Tod am 25. Juni 1822 diktiert er: Geschichten, Betrachtungen und immer wieder Szenen aus der geliebten preußischen Hauptstadt. Vieles aus diesem alten Berlin ist in bald zwei Jahrhunderten verschwunden. Was bleibt? Aus einem Fenster der Hanns Eisler klatscht uns ein Schwall Musik auf den Kopf, irgendwas von Mozart. Oder Offenbach. Hoffmann vielleicht. Jedenfalls frei erfunden.