Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Hosanna in excelsis

Verdi’s MESSA DA REQUIEM will be the first production in over six months to feature the chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin live onstage. Why are we so attached to choral singing? An essay by Sebastian Hanusa, Dorothea Hartmann and Jörg Königsdorf

When voices merge into a corpus, when eighty singers sing as one, the effect on some listeners can be almost physically overwhelming. Something happens – be it the welling up of tears or the gut feeling of surging emotion: something happens in the auditorium when a wave of united voices rolls over into the audience. And whatever it is, it is not something that can be measured. There is no rise in temperature or volume, since the decibels produced by a chorus are not appreciably greater than those emitted by a soloist. Nonetheless, something changes when a large group of people get up on stage and sing in unison. And we can sense it, we, the audience, the mass of listeners sitting out there. The only question is: why do energy levels rise the moment the chorus kicks in?

The flood of emotions becomes fathomable if we cast our minds back through history to the birth of the chorus in the theatre of the ancient world, when choruses commented on current affairs and served as a mirror of society. An onstage chorus reflected the relationship between people and the powers that be. Moreover, in the ancient world there was no clear demarcation between chorus and audience: the group of singers onstage was made up of citizens of the polis. This chorus as a band of singing burghers did not survive the demise of Ancient Greece but had experienced a revival by the time the Church was being revolutionised by the Protestants, who treated the Eucharist as a celebration involving the local community and communal singing. Unlike the Catholic tradition, in which singing was the preserve of monks, who were deemed the »professional singers(!)« of the time. With the advent of opera in the baroque period, composers and writers made express reference to their precursors in the ancient world, albeit without taking up the cause of the chorus. Considering the paltry status enjoyed by the common people at the average baroque court, this is hardly surprising: the stage was a platform for celebrating the monarch (the work had probably been written for him, after all).

The chorus only caught on as a feature in opera when the masses came to be considered as an actor in their own right - a force for political change – in the wake of the French Revolution. The common people became a collective political player overnight, spawning a raft of operas on a revolutionary theme and which contained grandiose set pieces for chorus, Beethoven’s FIDELIO being a prime example. The 19th century became the century of operatic choruses and it is the choruses (in works such as NABUCCO and Meyerbeer’s operas) that resound with the self-confidence of the burgeoning middle classes. Emancipation, politics, pride, bloody struggles, hard-won liberty… these are the themes being raised when we hear these choruses.

To allow them to stand closer together for the MESSA DA REQUIEM, the singers are being tested for Covid-19 beforehand © Marcus Lieberenz
 

Parallel to this new age there appeared another innovation around 1800, that great watershed in history. The year 1791, coming immediately after the French Revolution, saw the founding of the Berlin Singing Academy, the first-ever mixed chorus, and it explains our relationship to the chorus. Suddenly here was a group of citizens singing as one and for the pure joy of it, in close physical proximity to one another and giving voice to their own words, unfettered by Court or Church. The Berlin movement, which survives to this day, went hand-in-hand with the emergence of a national awareness and caught on very quickly across Europe.

In their singing academies the burghers also tried their hand at the great ecclesiastical works. In the case of the ST MATTHEW PASSION, sung by ordinary people, a religious work that provided the framework of a 3-hour commemoration of the passion of Jesus in church on Good Friday served as a kind of »pseudo religious service« for and by the bourgeoisie. Verdi’s MESSA DA REQUIEM, too, is an amalgam of the sacred and the secular. Based on the standard text followed at a Catholic funeral, the mass contains a palpable yearning for connection with a higher power – in churches and opera houses alike. Especially in times of uncertainty, Verdi’s chorus in effect represents us, the audience. We experience vicariously the swerves made by the choristers between hope and despair, between fear and redemption.

The line between chorus onstage and people in the audience is a porous one, as evinced by another invention of the 19th century: the national anthem, the singing of which is, at its core, a religious act, with people singing together and feeling a bond with each other. Many composers of opera also wrote national anthems, ushering in the final phase in the secularisation of the opera chorus in the process. The Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves in NABUCCO is also known as »Italy’s unofficial national anthem«. When the piece strikes up, Italian audiences rise to their feet and sing along. We are the chorus! Since the experience of fascism and Stalinism this kind of mass singing in unison is apt to leave a bitter aftertaste: on the one hand we have an unbrookable, unleashed energy, an immersion in sound; on the other hand we see the capacity of a crowd to be led astray, moving as one to a prescriptive beat. Hearts beat in synchrony (a biological fact), but they also throb synchronically to singing in a monastery, in a stadium, during marching ceremonies and at military parades. The deeply felt sound of communal voices has been misused ever since community itself was invented. Hardly surprising, then, that great choral works have always been harnessed for ulterior purposes. For instance, Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, with its »All men shall become brothers«, was a viable work in the fascist period, in East Germany and in the Federal Republic alike. For that reason, very few full-scale operas featuring choruses are associated with the Modernist period. People are sceptical of a crowd in full voice, and thus we see director Benedikt von Peter splitting up his AIDA chorus into its constituent singers and scattering them amongst the audience.

Safety first: scores for MESSA DA REQUIEM rehearsals are distributed in the open air © Marcus Lieberenz
 

You, I, we. The individual and the collective. Singular and plural. One person and a mass of people. What choruses do is still a focus of interest. We appear in formation, in teams, scaling the heights of full-throated unison – and the next minute we are back in private mode, preferring autonomous individuality. The history of the chorus is doubtless also a story of yearning – for participation and transcendency, to raise one’s voice and relinquish one’s personal specificity as part of the group. Singers are familiar with the beautiful, innocent feeling that comes with the unity of concerted singing, which is why chorus singers are devoid of any ideological baggage when they use terms such as »us« and »the collective«. That is probably what is moving us, when the brunt of many voices hits our bodies in the auditorium: this very special feeling that we are part of a great »us«.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Was mich bewegt

Hosianna in der Höhe

In Verdis MESSA DA REQUIEM steht nach mehr als einem halben Jahr endlich der Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin wieder auf der Bühne. Warum berührt uns Chorgesang so sehr? Ein Essay von Sebastian Hanusa, Dorothea Hartmann und Jörg Königsdorf

Wenn die Stimmen ein Körper werden, wenn achtzig Sänger*innen gemeinsam singen, dann drückt das manche in die Sitze – und irgendwas geschieht. Von der berühmten Träne im Augenwinkel bis zu jenem Gefühl der Rührung, das aus dem Bauch nach oben steigt: Es passiert einiges im Saal, wenn diese Wand aus Stimmen sich rüberschiebt, ins Publikum. Aber was auch immer das ist, messen kann man es nicht. Es wird weder lauter noch wärmer, die Dezibel-Werte des Chors unterscheiden sich nicht signifikant von denen einer Solistin. Aber irgendwas verändert sich, wenn viele Menschen auf der Bühne stehen und singen. Und wir, das Publikum, die Vielen auf der anderen Seite, wir spüren das. Die Frage ist nur: was? Wieso steigt die Energie, sobald der Chor einsetzt?

Verstehen lässt sich die Flut der Emotionen, wenn wir einen Blick zurückwerfen in die Geschichte des Chors. Geboren im antiken Theater, gab der Chor den Kommentar, war Spiegel der Gesellschaft. Mit ihm wurde auf der Bühne das Verhältnis zwischen Volk und Obrigkeit gespiegelt. Und ursprünglich gab es in der Antike die Trennung von Chor und Publikum ohnehin nicht: Die singende Gruppe auf der Bühne war zusammengesetzt aus Bürgern der Polis. Der Chor als singende Bürgerschar ging mit den Griechen unter, wiedergeboren wurde die schöne Idee spätestens mit der Reformation der Protestanten, deren Eucharistie immer eine Feier der Gemeinde ist, inklusive des gemeinsamen Gesangs. Im Gegensatz zur katholischen Tradition, in der exklusiv die Mönche sangen (also quasi »Profisänger«!). Als im Barock die Oper aufkam, bezogen sich die Komponisten und Autoren explizit auf ihre Vorväter in der Antike. Nur interessierten sie sich wenig für den Chor. Kein Wunder, schließlich war die Stimme des Volkes in der barocken Hofoper kaum relevant: Auf der Bühne wurde der Souverän gefeiert (für ihn war das Werk ja geschrieben worden).

Seinen großen Auftritt in der Oper bekam der Chor erst, als die Masse als eigenständiger Akteur wahrgenommen wurde, der Politik verändern kann: im Gefolge der Französischen Revolution. Plötzlich wurde das Volk zum politischen Faktor – und es wurden Revolutionsopern mit opulenten Chornummern geschrieben, etwa Beethovens FIDELIO. So wurde das 19. Jahrhundert zum Jahrhundert der Opernchöre und aus seinen Chören (etwa in NABUCCO oder den Meyerbeer-Opern) klingt das Selbstbewusstsein des Bürgertums. Wenn wir diese Chöre hören, hören wir immer auch das: Emanzipation und Politik, Stolz, blutige Kämpfe, schmerzhaft errungene Freiheiten.

Damit sie in MESSA DA REQUIEM den Abstand wieder verringern können, werden die Sängerinnen und Sänger vorher auf Covid-19 getestet © Marcus Lieberenz
 

Parallel zu diesen neuen Zeiten entwickelte sich um 1800 – der großen Wetterscheide der Geschichte – ein anderes Phänomen, das unser Verhältnis zum Chor erklärt: 1791, unmittelbar nach der Französischen Revolution, wurde die Sing-Akademie zu Berlin gegründet: der weltweit erste gemischte Chor. Plötzlich gab es ein völlig neues Konzept, losgelöst von Hof oder Kirche, hier sangen Bürger gemeinsam, einfach so, aus Freude, kamen einander körperlich nah, erhoben ihre Stimme. Die Berliner Bewegung ging Hand in Hand mit dem Entstehen eines Nationalbewusstseins, verbreitete sich innerhalb kürzester Zeit in ganz Europa und existiert auch heute noch.

In ihren Sing-Akademien wagten sich die Bürger auch an große sakrale Werke. Die MATTHÄUS-PASSION, gesungen vom Volk: Da wird ein religiöses Werk, zu dem in der Kirche am Karfreitag das Leiden Jesu drei Stunden miterlitten wurde, zu einer Art bürgerlichem »Pseudo-Gottesdienst«. Auch Verdis MESSA DA REQUIEM ist eine Verquickung zwischen Sakralem und Profanem. Basierend auf dem Text der katholischen Totenmesse schillert in ihr die Sehnsucht nach Anbindung an eine höhere Kraft – in Kirchen wie in Opernhäusern. Gerade in einer Zeit der Ungewissheit steht Verdis Chor pars pro toto für uns, das Publikum. Wir leben und fühlen mit den Choristen die Umschläge zwischen Verzweiflung und Hoffnung, zwischen Angst und Erlösung.

Die Grenzlinie zwischen dem Chor auf der Bühne und den Menschen im Publikum ist durchlässig. Das sieht man deutlich an einem weiteren Phänomen des 19. Jahrhunderts: der Nationalhymne. Der Grundgedanke ist fast religiös, man singt zusammen und schafft Gemeinschaft. Viele Opernkomponisten schrieben Nationalhymnen und schufen damit so etwas wie die letzte Profanisierungsstufe des Opernchors. Der Gefangenenchor aus NABUCCO wird auch »die heimliche Nationalhymne Italiens« genannt. Wird sie gespielt, steht das italienische Publikum singend auf. Wir sind der Chor! Spätestens seit den Erfahrungen des Faschismus und des Stalinismus birgt dieser Gleichklang immer auch einen Misston. Einerseits ist da die Überwältigung der entfesselten Energie, das Baden im Klang – und andererseits ist da die Verführbarkeit der rhythmisierten Masse. Die Herzen schlagen synchron (das tun sie tatsächlich), das tun sie aber auch bei Sprechgesängen im Kloster, im Stadion, bei Marschierenden einer Militärparade. Der tief empfundene Gleichklang der Gemeinschaft wurde missbraucht, seit es Gemeinschaft gibt. Kein Wunder, dass die große Chormusik immer wieder vereinnahmt wurde. Beethovens 9. Sinfonie etwa, »Alle Menschen werden Brüder«, funktionierte im Faschismus wie in der DDR und der Bundesrepublik. In der klassischen Moderne werden daher fast keine großen Choropern mehr geschrieben. Skepsis herrscht gegenüber dem Sound der Masse, etwa wenn Regisseur Benedikt von Peter in seiner AIDA den Chor in Individuen aufspaltet, verteilt und im Publikum platziert.

Sicherheit geht vor: Auch die Partituren für die Proben von MESSA DA REQUIEM werden an der frischen Luft verteilt © Marcus Lieberenz
 

Du, ich, wir. Individuum und Kollektiv. Singular und Plural. Person und Masse. Es bleibt spannend um das, was Chöre machen. Wir gehen auf in Teams, steigen manchmal sogar empor im Gleichklang des Gesangs – und wollen im nächsten Moment auch gerne wieder autonomes Individuum sein. Wahrscheinlich ist die Geschichte des Chors auch eine Geschichte der Sehnsucht. Nach Teilhabe und Transzendenz. Die Stimme erheben – und sich auflösen in der Gruppe. Sänger*innen kennen das Gefühl, diesen schönen, wirklich unschuldigen Moment des Gleichklangs. Und Chorsänger reden daher ganz frei von ideologischem Ballast vom »Kollektiv«, wenn sie von ihrem »Wir« berichten. Wahrscheinlich ist es das, was uns so berührt, wenn die Stimmen der Vielen unsere Körper im Publikumssaal erreichen: dieses ganz besondere Wir-Gefühl.