Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
29. Nov

DE|EN

In memoriam Udo Zimmermann

6 October 1943 – 22 October 2021

The Deutsche Oper Berlin mourns the loss of its former artistic director, the composer and dramaturge Udo Zimmermann, who died last night at his home in Dresden at the age of 78 after a long illness. Zimmermann, who was born there on 6 October 1943, experienced his musical socialisation in the Dresden Kreuzchor, of which he was a member from 1954 to 1962. He studied composition, conducting and singing at the Dresden Academy of Music and was a master student of Günter Kochan at the Academy of Arts in Berlin. From the late 1960s onwards, he made a name for himself as one of the most important voices within the New Music of the GDR with his compositions, which included chamber music as well as choral and orchestral works.
However, the central field of his compositional as well as dramaturgical and curatorial work was music theatre. For two years he was Walter Felsenstein's assistant at the Komische Oper Berlin, before he was appointed dramaturge for contemporary music theatre at the Semperoper in Dresden in 1970, where he worked until 1985. In Dresden, he also founded the "Studio Neue Musik", from which the Dresden Centre for Contemporary Music emerged and ultimately, in 2004, the European Centre for the Arts Hellerau, which Zimmermann directed as founding artistic director until 2008. Zimmermann was also artistic director of the Bavarian Radio's musica viva concert series from 1997 to 2011 and was responsible for almost 200 world premieres during this time.

As a central component of his compositional oeuvre, Zimmermann created a total of six stage works, beginning with the large-scale first version of THE WHITE ROSE (premiered in Dresden in 1967), including LEVINS MÜHLE (1972), DER SCHUHU UND DIE FLIEGENDE PRINZESSIN (1976) and DIE WUNDERSAME SCHUSTERSFRAU (1982). The most recent work within the opera oeuvre, however, is the fundamentally newly conceived second version of THE WHITE ROSE as a chamber opera for two soloists and fifteen musicians. Soon after its premiere in 1986 at the Hamburg State Opera, the haunting work, based on letters by the Scholl siblings, established itself as one of the most frequently performed contemporary operas, which has had over 200 new productions to date.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, Udo Zimmermann took over as artistic director of the Leipzig Opera and led the house with great success until 2001. With several world premieres, among others by Karlheinz Stockhausen, Dieter Schnebel and Jörg Herchet, as well as a contemporary and at the same time audience-oriented programme, he made the house a place of contemporary music theatre, for which it was awarded the title "Opera House of the Year" in 1993.

Udo Zimmermann was appointed artistic director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin for the 2001/02 season, succeeding Götz Friedrich, whose contract was due to expire in 2001. For this new beginning after a formative era overshadowed by Friedrich's unexpected death in December 2000, Zimmermann relied on a programme that combined great singers and strong directorial signatures with a commitment to the contemporary. He opened his directorship with Peter Konwitschny's production of Luigi Nono's INTOLLERANZA 1960, Achim Freyer staged Verdi's MESSA DA REQUIEM - the production is still in the repertoire of the Deutsche Oper Berlin - and SALOME, Daniel Libeskind brought Olivier Messiaen's monumental SAINT FRANÇOIS D'ASSISE to the stage and Hans Neuenfels Mozart's IDOMENEO. Zimmermann's directorship lasted only two years, but he set important impulses: he continued the tradition of the house as a place of productive, sometimes controversial engagement with tradition and repertoire just as much as he made it a place of the contemporary - and thereby formulated an ethos that continues to have an effect today and at the same time challenges it again and again.

The Deutsche Oper Berlin will honour Udo Zimmermann's memory.

 

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
29. Nov

DE|EN

Im Gedenken an Udo Zimmermann

6. Oktober 1943 – 22. Oktober 2021

Die Deutsche Oper Berlin trauert um ihren ehemaligen Intendanten, den Komponisten und Dramaturgen Udo Zimmermann, der in der vergangenen Nacht nach langer Krankheit in seinem Haus in Dresden mit 78 Jahren verstorben ist. Der am 6. Oktober 1943 dort geborene Zimmermann erfuhr seine musikalische Sozialisation im Dresdner Kreuzchor, dem er von 1954 bis 1962 angehörte. Er studierte Komposition, Dirigieren und Gesang an der Dresdner Musikhochschule und war Meisterschüler Günter Kochans an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin. Ab den späten 60er Jahren machte er sich mit seinen Kompositionen, die Kammermusik ebenso umfassten wie Chor- und Orchesterwerke, einen Namen als eine der wichtigsten Stimmen innerhalb der Neuen Musik der DDR.

Das zentrale Feld seiner kompositorischen wie dramaturgischen und kuratorischen Arbeit war jedoch das Musiktheater. Zwei Jahre lang war er Assistent von Walter Felsenstein an der Komischen Oper Berlin, bevor er 1970 als Dramaturg für zeitgenössisches Musiktheater an die Semperoper in Dresden berufen wurde und hier bis 1985 wirkte. In Dresden gründete er zudem das „Studio Neue Musik“, aus dem das Dresdner Zentrum für zeitgenössische Musik und letztlich 2004 das Europäische Zentrum der Künste Hellerau hervorging, das Zimmermann als Gründungsintendant bis 2008 leitete. Zudem war Zimmermann von 1997 bis 2011 künstlerischer Leiter der Konzertreihe musica viva des Bayerischen Rundfunks und verantwortete in dieser Zeit fast 200 Uraufführungen.

Als zentraler Bestandteil des kompositorischen Werkes entstanden, beginnend mit der groß besetzten Erstfassung der WEISSEN ROSE (1967 in Dresden uraufgeführt), insgesamt sechs Bühnenwerke, darunter LEVINS MÜHLE (1972), DER SCHUHU UND DIE FLIEGENDE PRINZESSIN (1976) und DIE WUNDERSAME SCHUSTERSFRAU (1982). Als jüngstes Werk innerhalb des Opernschaffens ragt jedoch die grundlegend neu konzipierte zweite Fassung der WEISSEN ROSE als Kammeroper für zwei Solisten und fünfzehn Musiker heraus. Bald nach der Uraufführung 1986 an der Hamburgischen Staatsoper etablierte sich das eindringliche, auf Briefen der Geschwister Scholl basierende Werk zu einer der meistgespielten zeitgenössischen Opern, die bis heute über 200 Neuproduktionen erfahren hat.

Nach der Wende übernahm Udo Zimmermann das Amt des Intendanten der Oper Leipzig und führte das Haus bis 2001 überaus erfolgreich. Mit mehreren Uraufführungen, unter anderem von Karlheinz Stockhausen, Dieter Schnebel und Jörg Herchet, sowie einem zeitgenössischen und gleichzeitig publikumsnahen Spielplan machte er das Haus zu einem Ort gegenwärtigen Musiktheaters, wofür es unter anderem 1993 als „Opernhaus des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

Für die Spielzeit 2001/02 wurde Udo Zimmermann als Intendant der Deutschen Oper Berlin berufen, und zwar als Nachfolger für Götz Friedrich, dessen Vertrag 2001 auslaufen sollte. Für diesen Neuanfang nach einer prägenden Ära, die durch Friedrichs überraschenden Tod im Dezember 2000 überschattet wurde, setzte Zimmermann auf einen Spielplan, der große Sängernamen und starke Regiehandschriften mit einem Bekenntnis zum Zeitgenössischen verband. Er eröffnete seine Intendanz mit Peter Konwitschnys Inszenierung von Luigi Nonos INTOLLERANZA 1960, Achim Freyer inszenierte Verdis MESSA DA REQUIEM – die Produktion ist bis heute im Repertoire der Deutschen Oper Berlin – und SALOME, Daniel Libeskind brachte Olivier Messiaens monumentalen SAINT FRANÇOIS D’ASSISE auf die Bühne und Hans Neuenfels Mozarts IDOMENEO. Zimmermanns Intendanz dauert nur zwei Jahre, setzte jedoch wichtige Impulse: Er führte die Tradition des Hauses als eines Ortes der produktiven, mitunter kontroversen Auseinandersetzung mit der Tradition und dem Repertoire ebenso fort, wie er sie zu einem Ort des Zeitgenössischen machte – und formulierte hiermit ein Ethos, das bis heute nachwirkt und zugleich immer wieder erneut herausfordert.

Die Deutsche Oper Berlin wird Udo Zimmermann ein ehrendes Andenken bewahren.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld