What moves me

Power. Abuse. Music.

THE MASTERSINGERS OF NUREMBERG is about people whose profession it is to sing. Director Jossi Wieler explains why he and his team have chosen a music school as the setting for Wagner’s opera.

Art and the artistic life, rules and ruptures, tradition, innovation, old versus new, a young genius finding a mentor who’s set on shaping and guiding him. THE MASTERSINGERS OF NUREMBERG is also an opera about singing as a profession, so it has our own business as its subject matter, depicting the drill and the discipline, the pressure not to mess up and the fear and depression that that brings with it. This opera tells of power and the abuse of power in the world of classical music.

It is over three years now since Dietmar Schwarz, the Artistic Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, asked us – set designer Anna Viebrock, my co-director and dramaturg Sergio Morabito and myself - if we were interested in staging MASTERSINGERS. We would meet up at Anna’s place in the Eifel hills or Vienna, in Sergio’s home (he’s Principle Dramatic Advisor at the Wiener Staatsoper) or at my place in Berlin. We would read the libretto, listen to the music and chat, ranging back and forth over films, music, literature and, of course, Richard Wagner.

Pooling talents for over 30 years: set/costumes designer Anna Viebrock and directors Jossi Wieler and Sergio Morabito ©  Martin Sigmund
 

The history of the work’s reception by critics and audiences is complex. Alone the unspeakable final apotheosis delivered by the Hans Sachs character, the ongoing narrative of revolution and maturity culminating in populist sentiment, the anti-Semitic Beckmesser, the competition with a woman as the prize… How are we meant to address all that in today’s modern world? Maybe by showing how the eloquent and seductive Hans Sachs comes to dictate the rules of engagement and exploit the weaknesses in the system to push through his own, somewhat dubious reform agenda and also how far his manipulations are from addressing the dreams of young people today.

Three years ago the Me Too scandals were still rocking the media and our own sector. The former head of the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich was convicted of sexual coercion and before that there had been a scandal involving a film producer. And yet we hardly touched on the subject in our chats. After all, MASTERSINGERS is largely a comedic work, and we saw a Kafkaesque dimension to the piece, what with its large cast, its multiple narrative strands and the confusing rules imposed for the competition.

How do people survive in a hierarchical system? How do they find a path through this labyrinth? And do find their way out of the maze and settle down with their new self-knowledge?

Hierarchy, power, abuse. The latter can be sexual, but doesn’t have to be. Teachers, directors, conductors can create a toxic atmosphere to get the best out of their students, just as happens at the highest level in sport. And the freedom, talent and happiness of youngsters can get lost in the process, to say nothing of art. Creativity gets smothered by abstract ideas of discipline. That’s what we’re interested in. We’ve set our production in a music academy as a way of exposing the roots of this kind of power play. Ever since I started out in theatre, I’ve been reflecting on people’s relation to power in the art world. Theatres and opera houses are hierarchically structured, whereas I’ve been working as part of a team for decades. All my opera productions are the fruit of a trialogue with Anna Viebrock and Sergio Morabito. The very fact that I’m meant to be sitting here speaking on behalf of the three of us, because it’s easier and seems to make sense, is, I think, part of the issue that we’re trying to address in our production. The art world is a jumble of egos, ideas and teeming brains. Everyone has their own narcissism and wants to indulge it. Faced with all that, the trick is to get a community thing going within all that resultant heterogeneity. It requires patience and experience to emerge unscathed from all that commingling.

I don’t think I’d have been able to express all that thirty years ago. You have to take a step back – often in your way of working, too – and not be too precious, if you’re going to access the other side. The challenge is to find the only workable solution, although there’s more than just one creator working on the problem. That’s probably the paradox in the creative process: that achievement and quality are often born out of reticence.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Was mich bewegt

Macht. Missbrauch. Musik

DIE MEISTERSINGER VON NÜRNBERG erzählt vom Singen als Beruf. Mit Anna Viebrock und Sergio Morabito verlegt Jossi Wieler die Wagneroper in eine Musikschule, legt das Toxische der Opernwelt frei

Kunst und Künstlertum, Regeln und Brüche, Tradition, Innovation, Alt versus Neu, ein junges Genie, das seinen Mentor findet, der es in eine Form bringen und seinen Weg leiten möchte. DIE MEISTERSINGER VON NÜRNBERG ist auch eine Oper über den Beruf des Singens – und erzählt damit von unserer Branche: vom Drill, dem Druck, der Disziplin, die dort herrschen, vom Nicht-versagen-Dürfen, den Ängsten und Depressionen, die das auslöst. Diese Oper erzählt von Macht und Missbrauch in der Welt der klassischen Musik.

Es ist mehr als drei Jahre her, als Dietmar Schwarz, der Intendant der Deutschen Oper Berlin, uns fragte, die Bühnenbildnerin Anna Viebrock, meinen Ko-Regisseur und Dramaturgen Sergio Morabito und mich, ob wir Lust hätten, die MEISTERSINGER zu inszenieren. Wir trafen uns mal bei Anna in der Eifel oder bei ihr in Wien, bei Sergio, er ist ja Chefdramaturg an der Wiener Staatsoper, oder bei mir in Berlin, haben das Libretto gelesen, die Musik gehört, geredet, frei assoziiert über Filme, Musik, Literatur und natürlich auch über Richard Wagner.

Seit fast 30 Jahren ein kongeniales Team: Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin Anna Viebrock, Co-Regisseure Jossi Wieler und Sergio Morabito ©  Martin Sigmund
 

Das Stück hat ja keine einfache Rezeptionsgeschichte, allein die unsägliche Schlussapotheose durch die Figur des Hans Sachs, das fortlaufende Narrativ von Revolution und Reife, das im Völkisch-Nationalen gipfelt, die antisemitische Figur des Beckmesser, der Wettbewerb mit einer Frau als Hauptgewinn – wie kann und möchte man damit heute umgehen? Vielleicht indem man zeigt, wie verführerisch und wortgewaltig Hans Sachs das Gesetz des Handelns an sich reißt und die Schwachstellen im System benutzt, um eine eigene, durchaus fragwürdige Reformagenda durchzusetzen, und wie wenig seine Manipulation den Träumen der jungen Leute heute gerecht werden.

Vor drei Jahren gingen die Me-Too-Skandale noch durch die Medien und unsere Branche. Der ehemalige Leiter der Münchner Musikhochschule, war wegen sexueller Nötigung gerichtlich verurteilt. Zuvor gab es den Skandal um einen Filmproduzenten. Dennoch tauchte diese Me-Too-Thematik in unseren Gesprächen kaum auf. Wir sahen in den MEISTERSINGERN, die ja als Komödie angelegt sind, mit ihren vielen Figuren, Handlungssträngen und dem verwirrenden Regelwerk ihrer Institution etwas Kafkaeskes.

Wie überlebt man in einem hierarchischen System? Wie findet man in diesem Labyrinth seinen Weg? Und wie findet man wieder hinaus und zu sich selbst?

Hierarchie, Macht, Missbrauch. Letzterer kann sexuell sein, ist es aber nicht immer. Lehrer, Regisseure, Dirigenten können ein toxisches Klima erzeugen, um Höchstleistung anzutreiben – ähnlich wie im Hochleistungssport. Dadurch können Freiheit, Talent und Freude bei jungen Menschen verloren gehen, künstlerische Kriterien schwinden – die Kreativität wird von abstrakter Disziplin überblendet. Das ist, was uns interessiert. Wir haben das Stück in einer Musikhochschule angesiedelt, um zu durchleuchten, woher solches Machtgebaren stammt. Seit ich Theater mache, mache ich mir Gedanken darüber, wie man in der Kunst mit Macht umgeht. Theater und Opernbetriebe sind hierarchisch strukturiert; ich arbeite seit Jahrzehnten in Teams. Alle meine Opernproduktionen entstehen im Trialog mit Anna Viebrock und Sergio Morabito. Die Tatsache, dass ich nun wieder für uns drei sprechen soll, weil es einfacher und verständlicher erscheint, ist, wie ich finde, Teil der Symptomatik, die wir mit unserer Inszenierung ansprechen. Die Kunstwelt ist voller Egos, großer Köpfe und Ideen, jeder bringt seinen eigenen Narzissmus mit und ein. Das Schwierige ist, innerhalb der Amplituden, die dadurch entstehen, dennoch eine Gemeinschaft zu bilden. Es braucht Langmut und Erfahrung, das Miteinander auszuhalten. Ich glaube, vor dreißig Jahren hätte ich das so noch nicht sagen können. Man muss sich – oft auch methodisch – zurücknehmen, nicht auf seinem Willen beharren, um die andere Seite zu öffnen. Hier den einen Weg zu finden, wenn es eben nicht den einen Schöpfer gibt, das ist die Herausforderung. Dies ist, glaube ich, das Paradox der Kreativität. Dass Leistung und Qualität oft aus Zurückhaltung entstehen.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter