Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

My private place of peace

Detlev Glanert

Detlev Glanert has written a new opera for the Deutsche Oper Berlin, OCEANE, based on a fragment from a novella by Fontane. The composers meets us at his favourite haunt: Café Einstein

Detlev Glanert: Oceane
Opera in two acts; Libretto by Hans-Ulrich Treichel, based on Fontane's „Oceane von Parceval“
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Robert Carsen
With Maria Bengtsson, Nikolai Schukoff, Christoph Pohl, Doris Soffel et al.
First performed on 28 April 2019

I’m a dogged patron of coffeehouses. You have to have time on your hands here, just as you do when you’re making or playing music, and then your soul can just wallow. I like the idea of people living in this café, as there were a century ago. At home you sleep, but in the coffeehouse you live. Some people had their mail delivered here and made their pension over to the landlord. And when he’d settled their bills, he handed them what was left over as pocket money. For me, Einstein’s local in the Kurfürstenstraße is the nicest café in Berlin. It’s part and parcel of my life in Berlin. I moved here in 1987 and stumbled on the place a fortnight later. The same waiter served me for thirty years. Whatever area of the city I’m living in, I come here once a month and order my double mocha with whipped cream.

For me, the Einstein is reminiscent of string instruments with sordines, soft chords, horn, bassoon, bass clarinet.
 

Or two. In all that time I was never treated badly – that’s got to be a record! For me, the Einstein is reminiscent of string instruments with sordines, soft chords, horn, bassoon, bass clarinet. Maybe it’s the brown wood panelling and the muffled level of noise. This coffeehouse is the only spot where music comes to me in spite of the barrage of different noises. You’re in a crowd but still kind of on your own. I like people-watching. There was a time when I used to sit here jotting down my impressions in a notebook.

When two people are having an argument, I study their gestures. In a way it’s music in motion. I’ve just finished writing OCEANE for the Deutsche Oper Berlin, an opera based on Fontane’s fragment “Oceane von Parceval”. Fontane lived on Potsdamer Straße, just around the corner from Einstein. His Oceane material dates from around 1880, just like this villa. Maybe he even used to walk by here.

Oceane is a modern Melusine. Fontane had a thing about these mythical creatures, who were at odds with their surroundings. His interest may have been because of his daughter, an intelligent but socially maladjusted young woman. He worried that she might harm herself in some way – and so it was to be. Many years later, after Fontane’s own death, she committed suicide.

Fontane’s fragment is not packed with action, so I really had to get inside the characters to reveal their drama. The key tones in Oceane are a broken D major chord and a bunch of spaltklänge, high and low tones with nothing pitched in the middle. The main character is out of kilter, while her male antagonist, Martin von Dircksen, chimes with complete chords in the middle ground. Acoustically, it’s quite clear that the two characters are not compatible. The story points up a clash of two cultures similar to the clash over the foundation of the German empire, which Fontane loathed. He represented the modest side of Prussia and reviled Bismarck and the callow, arrogant Germany with its aspirations of grandeur and urge to make a splash. Such is the nature of Martin von Dircksen, who is set on marrying and building up a farming empire. This all leaves Oceane cold. She is Fontane’s antithesis to the idea of a technology-based age. She loves the sea, is one with nature, is quiet and aloof. On the other hand, she’s a wild dancer, guzzles huge quantities of water and tears off her clothing.

“This woman’s way of behaving is very different to ours. Which means she can never truly be one of us,” says the Pastor in the opera: “And you want to make babies with that?” Oceane is passionate but does not yet know how it feels to be in love – and is weighed down by that fact. “Nothing in the earthly realm could give me what I needed,” she says, “so I’m leaving.” When Oceane walks into the sea at the end, she’s going home.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Mein Seelenort

Detlev Glanert

Detlev Glanert hat für die Deutsche Oper Berlin eine neue Oper geschrieben, OCEANE, nach einem Novellenfragment von Fontane. Der Komponist führt uns an seinen Lieblingsort: das Café Einstein

Detlev Glanert: Oceane
Ein Sommerstück für Musik in zwei Akten; Libretto von Hans-Ulrich Treichel frei nach Fontanes „Oceane von Parceval“
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Robert Carsen
Mit Maria Bengtsson, Nikolai Schukoff, Christoph Pohl, Doris Soffel u. a.
Uraufführung am 28. April 2019

Ich bin ein fleißiger Kaffeehaussitzer. Hier muss man viel Zeit haben, genau wie in der Musik, dann kann man seine Seele in diese Zeit versenken. Ich mag die Vorstellung, im Café zu leben, so wie man das vor hundert Jahren machte: Zuhause schläft man, im Kaffeehaus lebt man. Manche haben sich ihre Post ans Kaffeehaus zustellen lassen und dem Wirt ihre Rente überwiesen. Der gab dann Taschengeld, nach dem er das Seinige abgezogen hatte. Für mich ist das Stammhaus des Einstein in der Kurfürstenstraße das schönste Café Berlins. Ich verbinde es mit meiner Berliner Existenz. Ich zog 1987 nach Berlin, nach zwei Wochen entdeckte ich diesen Ort, dreißig Jahre lang hatte ich denselben Kellner. Egal, in welchem Stadtteil ich wohne – ich komme einmal im Monat und bestelle einen großen Braunen.

Die Klangfarben des Einstein sind für mich Streicher mit Dämpfern, weiche Akkorde, Bassklarinette, Horn, Fagott.
 

Oder zwei. In all den Jahrzehnten bin ich nie unhöflich behandelt worden. Das ist ein Rekord! Die Klangfarben des Einstein sind für mich Streicher mit Dämpfern, weiche Akkorde, Bassklarinette, Horn, Fagott. Vielleicht liegt das an der braunen Täfelung und der gedämpften Lautstärke. Das Kaffeehaus ist der einzige Ort, an dem es viele Geräusche gibt und mir trotzdem Musik einfällt. Man ist gleichzeitig allein und unter Menschen. Die beobachte ich gern, früher bin ich oft mit einem Büchlein hergekommen und habe Einfälle notiert.

Wenn sich Zwei streiten, schaue ich mir genau die Gesten an. Schon das ist Musik für mich. Gerade habe ich für die Deutsche Oper Berlin OCEANE geschrieben, eine Oper nach Fontanes Novellenfragment „Oceane von Parceval“. Fontane wohnte ganz um die Ecke vom Einstein, in der Potsdamer Straße. Um 1880 hat er den Oceane-Stoff erfunden, also etwa zu der Zeit, als diese Villa erbaut wurde. Vielleicht ist er sogar hier vorbeispaziert?

Die Oceane ist eine moderne Melusine, Fontane war äußerst interessiert an diesen Figuren, die Probleme mit ihrer Umwelt hatten. Das lag vielleicht an seiner Tochter, die hyperintelligent war, aber sozial nicht kompatibel. Er fürchtete, sie könne sich etwas antun – und tragischerweise ist sie viel später, nach Fontanes Tod, tatsächlich durch Suizid gestorben.

Fontanes Fragment hat nicht viel äußerliche Handlung, deshalb musste ich in die Figuren kriechen, um ihr Drama nach außen zu stülpen. Oceanes Leitklänge sind ein zerstörter D-Dur-Akkord und viele Spaltklänge, also nur hohe und niedrige Töne und in der Mitte nichts. Die Figur hat eine Unwucht – während bei ihrem Gegenspieler Martin von Dircksen in der Mitte alles voller Akkorde ist. Man kann hören, dass die beiden einfach nicht kompatibel sind. In dem Stoff wetterleuchtet der clash of two cultures der Reichsgründung, die Fontane hasste. Er vertrat das bescheidene Preußen und verabscheute Bismarck und das junge, präpotente Deutschland mit seiner Großmannssucht und dem Auf-den-Putz-Hauen. Dies Prinzip verkörpert Martin von Dircksen, der heiraten und Agrargroßbetriebe aufbauen will. Oceane ist dies fremd. Sie ist Fontanes Gegenkonzept zur technisierten Zeit, liebt das Meer, ist eins mit der Natur, still und distanziert; andererseits tanzt sie wie wild, trinkt unmäßig viel Wasser, reißt sich die Kleider vom Leib.

„Diese Frau benimmt sich nicht wie wir. Deswegen kann sie nicht eine der unseren sein“, sagt der Pastor im Stück: „Und mit sowas wollen Sie Kinder machen?“ Oceane ist leidenschaftlich, kennt aber das Gefühl der Liebe zu einem Menschen nicht und leidet darunter. „Denn auf Erden war mir nicht zu helfen“, sagt sie, „darum gehe ich jetzt.“ Wenn Oceane am Ende ins Meer geht, geht sie nach Hause.