Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Nooooo!

In a previous lifetime John Lundgren was the manager of a home for children. Now he’s singing Wotan in THE VALKYRIE – a role in which he is once again faced with resistance. Lundgren talks here about difficult children and the power of honesty

The Valkyrie
First day of A scenic festival in three days and in an eve by Richard Wagner
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Brandon Jovanovich, Tobias Kehrer, John Lundgren, Elisabeth Teige, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme u. a.
From 29 October 2021

In the nineties I was in charge of a Swedish home for »maladjusted« children and teenagers. Most of them were male youths aged between 13 and 20. They had problems at home, at school, some of them were on drugs, a lot of them had neurological issues. The work was tough and I was quite emotionally involved. I was young, in my mid-20s, and I was burned out after a few years. I’d done some singing at school and I decided to become an opera singer. And now here I am singing Wotan in THE VALKYRIE, a father who’s having to deal with a rebellious, unruly daughter in the form of Brünnhilde. It often takes me back to my time at the home.

The youngsters were difficult, always winding each other up and constantly testing me. Brünnhilde does the same with her father, challenging him, bucking his authority. The kids in my institution were awkward because they’d experienced the kind of trauma that made it almost impossible for them to trust other people, even people who were close to them. Unlike Brünnhilde, who’s driven by a private, deeply felt, ethical code. She’s trying to do good and wants to rehabilitate her father.

Brünnhilde isn’t going to be thwarted in her intentions. She ignores her father’s instruction to kill his son Siegmund (her half-brother). She’s a rebel to her core – and many of the boys in the home were indomitable, had zero respect for boundaries. In fact, they were always on the lookout for boundaries to be ignored, physically ignored, even violently ignored. I was scheduled to accompany a lad to the doctor’s once. We were about to set off and he suddenly said: »I’m not going«, switched the television on, slumped down on the sofa. I could see a dark look on his face. He was scared. I couldn’t let that infringement go without a comment, so I said: »Ok, no doctor, but you’re not watching tv at this time of day. Go to your room!« He jumped up, hurled a cup of hot coffee against the wall and attacked me, lashing out at my throat. I and a co-worker managed to get him to calm down. The next day I told him never to punch me in the face again. »I never did,« he said. »I went for your throat. I wanted to crush it.« He knew perfectly well what a physical threat he was to me.

When you’re in a position of authority in an environment like that, there’s only one option open to you: you have to be totally and utterly honest, straight as a die, and be absolutely clear in the messages you give. They’ll be on to you at once if you try to bullshit them. They don’t trust anyone. They can’t, because they feel they’ve been had, by their parents, school teachers, the police. So they’re constantly testing you: will he still stick up for me if I lay into him? Even if they’re intent on doing me an injury or killing me, these guys aren’t evil. They’re locked up, without a voice. They have to tough it out and fight their way to their own, personal truth, reality and freedom. I learned from them that I had to help them in that process by being honest and transparent.

Wotan, of course, is the embodiment of authority, but he’s thin on clarity and noble goals. He’s a hedonist, a playboy out for short-term kicks, the type of guy who wants to have tabs on everything and everyone. He takes time out occasionally to experiment with honesty, but he always ends up twisting, bending and destroying things.

If I’d behaved in the home like Wotan in THE VALKYRIE, I wouldn’t have got very far. If you ask me, I’m learning a lot about honesty from Wotan, precisely because he’s a loser on that score. But hey, it’s not easy being a god either. It’s hard enough being an ordinary mortal.

I often think back to those young men. Myself, I had a sheltered childhood in a normal, middle-class family in a small town in Sweden. When I began working at the home, I was gobsmacked that people with dark thoughts like that actually existed. Nowadays their dark sides are helping me to understand – and portray – dark and complex characters like Wotan. Opera is never a walk in the park. Opera is aggressive, violent, radical. You meet liars, crooks and freaks. Sometimes I really let rip onstage, like the boy who didn’t want to go to the doctor, and I hurl my fear in the face of the audience. I remember one spectator saying »I’m not sure if I should be thanking you. It was kind of a terrible performance.« Those are the ones that I quietly dedicate to the boys in the home.

 

On the picture: Unpredictable, indomitable, aggressive: nine-year-old Benni [Helena Zengel] gives vent to her rage in a scene from »System Crasher« © Peter Hartwig, Port au Prince

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Was mich bewegt ...

Neeeeein!

Im ersten Leben hat John Lundgren ein Kinderheim geleitet, jetzt singt er den Wotan in DIE WALKÜRE – und hier wie dort ist er mit Widerstand konfrontiert. Über schwer erziehbare Kinder und die Kraft der Ehrlichkeit

Die Walküre
Erster Tag des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend von Richard Wagner
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit Brandon Jovanovich, Tobias Kehrer, John Lundgren, Elisabeth Teige, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme u. a.
Ab 29. Oktober 2021

In den neunziger Jahren habe ich in Schweden ein Heim für »schwer erziehbare« Kinder und Jugendliche geleitet. Die meisten von ihnen waren junge Männer zwischen 13 und 20; sie hatten Ärger in der Familie, in der Schule, manche nahmen Drogen, viele hatten neurologische Probleme. Es war eine harte Arbeit, die mir sehr nah ging. Ich war jung, Mitte zwanzig, und nach ein paar Jahren war mir das zu viel. Ich hatte zu Schulzeiten gesungen und beschloss, Opernsänger zu werden. Nun singe ich in der WALKÜRE den Wotan, ein Vater, der in Brünnhilde mit einer aufsässigen, nicht zu bändigenden Tochter konfrontiert ist – und ich denke oft an die Zeit im Heim.

Die Jugendlichen damals waren unbequem, haben einander ständig provoziert und auch mich in jeder Minute herausgefordert. Auch Brünnhilde provoziert, fordert ihren Vater heraus, stellt sich gegen seine Autorität. Meine Heimkinder waren sperrig, weil sie Verletzungen erlitten hatten, die es ihnen nahezu unmöglich machten, anderen Menschen zu vertrauen, selbst solchen, die ihnen nahestehen. Brünnhilde dagegen handelt aus einer tief empfundenen, persönlichen Ethik heraus. Sie will ihren Vater auf einen guten Weg bringen, strebt nach dem Besten.

Brünnhilde wird sich nicht aufhalten lassen. Sie widersetzt sich dem Befehl des Vaters, dessen Sohn (und ihren Halbbruder) Siegmund zu töten; sie ist Rebellin durch und durch. Und auch viele der Jungs im Heim waren schier unbeugsam, respektierten keine Grenzen. Mehr noch, sie haben ständig Grenzen gesucht, auch körperlich, auch mit Gewalt. Einmal sollte ich mit einem Jungen zum Arzt. Kurz vor der Abfahrt sagte er, »ich geh nicht mit«, machte den Fernseher an, schmiss sich aufs Sofa. Ich konnte sehen, dass seine Augen dunkel waren, er hatte Angst. Ich musste aber auf den Regelbruch reagieren und sagte: »Okay, wir gehen nicht zum Arzt, aber du darfst um diese Zeit nicht fernsehen. Geh’ auf dein Zimmer!« Er sprang auf, schmiss den heißen Kaffeebecher an die Wand, stürzte sich auf mich, schlug nach meiner Kehle. Mit einem Kollegen schafften wir es, ihn zu beruhigten. Am nächsten Tag sagte ich: »Schlag mir nie wieder ins Gesicht.« Er: »Ich habe dir nicht ins Gesicht geschlagen. Ich habe auf deine Kehle geschlagen. Ich wollte sie zerdrücken.« Ihm war völlig klar, wie gefährlich er für mich gewesen war.

Als Autorität in so einem Umfeld hast du nur eine Chance: Du musst radikal ehrlich sein, total geradeaus, glasklar kommunizieren. Diese Jungs riechen sofort, wenn du sie reinlegen willst. Sie trauen niemandem. Das können sie nicht, sie fühlen sich betrogen, von Eltern, Schule und Polizei. Also testen sie, fortlaufend: Wird mich diese Person noch unterstützen, wenn ich sie angreife? Selbst wenn sie mich verletzen oder umbringen wollten: Diese Jungs sind nicht böse. Sie sind eingesperrt, sprachlos. Ihre persönliche Wahrheit, Wirklichkeit und Freiheit müssen sie sich hart erringen, indem sie kämpfen. Ich habe von ihnen gelernt, sie dabei mit Ehrlichkeit und Klarheit zu unterstützen.

Wotan ist natürlich die Autoritätsperson schlechthin, doch ihm mangelt es an Klarheit und hehren Zielen. Er ist ein Hedonist, ein Playboy, der Lust und Liebe sucht, ein Machttyp, der alles kontrollieren will. Zwischendurch versucht er es immer wieder mit Ehrlichkeit, muss aber anschließend alles wieder verdrehen, verbiegen, zerstören.

Hätte ich im Heim so agiert wie Wotan in der WALKÜRE, wäre ich nicht weit gekommen. Ich glaube, ich lerne gerade von Wotan viel über Ehrlichkeit, weil er selbst das nicht hinkriegt. Aber Himmel, es ist auch echt schwer, ein Gott zu sein. Es ist ja schon schwer genug, ein Mensch zu sein.

Ich denke oft an die jungen Männer. Ich selbst bin behütet aufgewachsen, in einer normalen Mittelklassefamilie, in einer kleinen Stadt in Schweden. Als ich im Heim anfing, konnte ich kaum glauben, dass es Menschen mit derart dunklen Gefühlen gibt. Die Dunkelheit meiner Jungs hilft mir heute, düstere, komplexe Figuren wie Wotan zu verstehen und auszufüllen. Oper ist niemals wie ein sonniger Dienstagnachmittag. Oper ist aggressiv, gewalttätig, radikal. Du triffst Lügner, Betrüger, Wahnsinnige. Manchmal tobe ich mich auf der Bühne aus, wie der Junge vor dem Arztbesuch, und sprühe meine Angst wie Gift ins Publikum. Einmal sagte ein Zuschauer: »Ich weiß nicht, ob ich dir danken soll. Es war fürchterlich.« Solche Auftritte widme ich leise meinen Jungs im Heim.

 

Auf dem Foto oben: Unberechenbar, unbeugsam, aggressiv: Die neunjährige Benni [Helena Zengel] schreit ihre Wut heraus in einer Szene des Films »Systemsprenger« © Peter Hartwig|Port au Princen

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld