Prince and princess […] of the dream-king's grace

A fairy-tale opera at the end of all fairy tales ... by Arne Stollberg

 

Once upon a time …

At first glance Franz Schreker's THE TREASURE HUNTER (Der Schatzgräber) is a fairy-tale opera that seems straight out of a picture book. The tale is set in a fictive Middle Ages, features a typical cast of characters from the king and queen to the minstrel and the jester, and contains a number of ingredients that one might expect from a fairy tale. Elis, for instance, learned but "not freeborn", possesses a magical instrument, the "divining lute", that is capable of detecting hidden treasure by emitting sounds. Thus he manages to recover the queen's stolen jewels, whose loss has made her ill and haggard. In return he is not only knighted and welcomed at the royal court, but also weds the girl he loves, the poor daughter – or foster daughter – of an innkeeper. "And so they lived happily ever after..." Like many other fairy tales, the story Schreker tells might well end on just such a positive note.

But the opposite is the case. In the sad epilogue the bride Els, given in marriage to the jester, dies in miserable circumstances. What the story, as it unfolded, promised us with its fairy-tale topoi, recedes into the illusionary distance of a vision invoked in Elis's last song, a vision shattered by bitter reality: "And knights and pages / and beautiful women, / they all come to see / the couple returning home / to fairyland: prince and princess, / Elis and Els, / both children / of the dream-king's grace. / They have come home, / laden with happiness, / which they hold onto / and never let go. / From life's savage hue and cry, / they have saved for themselves / the finest and most sublime treasure." Yet the sole remaining glimmer of solace, the fool's prophecy that God will pardon Els and grant her "happiness and joy / in heaven", is roundly rejected by the orchestra. We hear what appears to be the closing chord in D major, dying away in triple piano in the strings with bells tolling. Upon this steals, barely audible at first, a timpani roll that causes the entire body of instruments to seethe up again – though now in D minor, not D major. This is followed by a thunderous crescendo, whipped up to triple forte by the swelling roll on tam-tam and cymbals and abruptly breaking off on a D minor triad that obliterates the tender D major of the jester's last words. Schreker could not have stated more clearly in musical terms that dreams are but shadows and fairy tales but fairy tales. The cruel laconicism of the orchestral coda is to some extent a continuation of what the king, in Act Four, remarked of Elis's high-flown ballad of Lady Ilse (a desperate attempt to save beauty, symbolised by the jewellery, from being profaned – thus in a way mirroring the action of the opera): "A pretty little story" – no more.

 

Beauty and horror

That an opera should unmask itself as a chimera, that a fairy tale should have as its subject its own disenchantment, is the very point of Schreker's TREASURE HUNTER and what makes it so unheard of. To accuse the composer of escapism in view of the historical circumstances of its composition, to imply he was blanking out the catastrophe of the First World War, would fail to recognise what can only be explained as a reaction to those circumstances. Such a diagnosis may possibly have been correct for September 1914. At that time Schreker wrote a letter to Carl von Wiener, president of the Vienna Academy of Music and Performing Arts, in connection with sending the score of his Prelude to a Drama; in it he declared, "This is a time opposed to art and all things artistic. But it's not the end of the world, and beauty will outlast the horror." Buoyed by this conviction, Schreker wrote a libretto in July 1915 with the title DIE TÖNENDEN SPHÄREN ("the sonorous spheres"), which is very much a topical piece – the story is set between 1914 and 1916. It culminates in a festival of peace and reconciliation that coincides with a performance of the opera whose creation is the subject of DIE TÖNENDEN SPHÄREN. Here Schreker was attempting a variation upon his opera THE DISTANT SOUND (Der ferne Klang) inasmuch as he intended to show, not the artist's defeat, but instead his supreme triumph, a politico-aesthetic utopia of absolute success. Nevertheless it was not DIE TÖNENDEN SPHÄREN that he began to compose, in the summer of 1916, but another libretto written around the same time, THE TREASURE HUNTER. The longer the war went on, the more his initial euphoric anticipation of victory gave way to deepening dismay, and the more presumably the composer lost his former conviction that beauty would outlast the horror.

This is precisely the theme of THE TREASURE HUNTER. The fairy tale, in a broader sense the poeticisation of the world by artistically created beauty which the jewellery symbolises, lends the opera not only its form but also indeed its very content. What is represented symbolically by the jewellery, the treasure, was described by Schreker in an article as the "dream of happiness and redemption". In this extended self-interpretation entitled Der Schatz – seine Hüter und sein Orchester ("the treasure – its guardians and its orchestra") he went on to say, "If you will, merely a fiction, […] just as one's great longing in life is just a fiction. Imagine it gone, and every impulse is extinguished." This is what connects the unhappy Els with the jewellery; it drives her to her homicides (perpetrated by the servant Albi). The jewellery is supposed to make that childishly longed-for enchantment come to life – echoing "Fairy tales must come alive" from that other fairy-tale opera of Viennese Modernism, Alexander Zemlinsky's DER TRAUMGÖRGE. In Els's words: "It gleams and sparkles / in the room. / It's working its magic: / from day to day / Els grows more beautiful. / And a prince will come, / gentle and refined, / on a snow-white charger. / He will charm Els / with honeyed words / and carry her off / on a snow-white charger / to a majestic castle, / his own royal castle!" With Elis it is no different. He, too, chases after treasures only because he hopes one day to find the "hoard" that will make an enchanted world appear, a fantasy world where "a spellbound princess, / in a fairy-tale palace of glass, / threatened by giants" waits for her knight to come to her aid.

When in Act Four the jewellery is worn once again by the queen and as it were politically functionalised, since, as the king makes clear, it will restore his wife's health (and sexual appetite) and thus ensure the urgently needed birth of an heir, Elis and Els can only see it as the destruction of that enchantment. Elis thereupon improvises the abovementioned ballad of Lady Ilse. Behind this figure, recognisable via word-bridges in the Freudian sense, stands none other than Elis and Els themselves ("Ilse" is an anagram of "Elis" and also contains the name "Els", discreetly veiled by a change of vowel colour): "The world has grown poor, / a fairy tale's debased. / Lady Ilse is dying!"

 

Symbolism and self-reflection

Schreker's music theatre always also constitutes a reflection upon himself. Paul Bekker, in an influential study ("Franz Schreker. Studie zur Kritik der modernen Oper") published in 1918, suggested that a characteristic of the composer was that every one of his works was the product of a primordial "sound vision". At the beginning there is always the music; it is that which first gives rise to the "figural appearance of the drama, just as it in turn carries sound and melody within itself", wrote Bekker in 1920 in his review of the premiere of THE TREASURE HUNTER. Schreker confirms Bekker's thesis, admittedly influenced by it in a retroactive way, when he says that the treasure in his opera is "nothing other than what any musical art work requires as its fundamental element – the symbolic link between the events". The treasure thereby acquires a poetological quality: on the one hand it conditions and engenders the music, and on the other hand makes it the vehicle on which what happens superficially in the stage action is conveyed as "allegorical" narrative, to use Bekker's terms. The prerequisite for this is that the treasure, as we have seen, is of interest not so much as a thing, as gleaming gold and sparkling jewellery, but rather as a visualisation of a feeling: longing for happiness, beauty and salvation. Only in that way is the treasure able to become a subject of the music, according to Schreker. This is so because the music, above all in the orchestral part of an opera, serves the "motivic representation of emotional life, indeed – how do I put it, the representation of events that occur along the way or emerge in the subconscious" (letter to Bekker of 9 July 1918). Elsewhere Schreker has the following to say, now specifically in relation to THE TREASURE HUNTER: "[I know] motifs primarily for a person's inner matters, not for a thing […]. The treasure motif is consequently not formed in a one-sided way – as a symbol for something mighty and sublime like the Nibelung hoard or for something outwardly sparkling, the glitter, the jewellery; it simply has a markedly yearning character."

What is alluded to here is the figure – the first distinct motif of the opera – that is heard on violins and high woodwind in the Prelude when the fool responds to the king's question as to what jewels the queen really wants, with the laconic answer: "The stolen ones." And Schreker then allows a further glimpse – rare indeed – inside his workshop: the orchestra, "by the instrumentation and the art of counterpoint, transforms the theme of longing according to the situation and the action" and in a "broadly flowing, passionate way" changes it into the "love melody".

 

Intoxication instead of happiness

This variational relationship, to use Matthias Brzoska's term, between the long spun-out motifs that represent the treasure one the one hand and the love of Els and Elis on the other, leads into the heart of the psychological drama. As in all early operas by Schreker, no differently therefore to THE DISTANT SOUND and THE STIGMATISED, the central question is whether treasure – art, the aesthetic – is solely a compensation or sublimation of sensual urges, urges that in the moment of their fulfilment deprive that sublimation of validity. The fact that Fritz in THE DISTANT SOUND and Alviano in THE STIGMATISED deny themselves the "utopia of fulfilled sensuality", to quote Matthias Brzoska once again, is at the root of their tragic failure, which cannot be prevented by any evasive movement into the aesthetic sphere (of an opera in the case of THE DISTANT SOUND, an artificial paradise island in the case of THE STIGMATISED). In THE TREASURE HUNTER this conflict situation seems near to resolution for the first time: Elis and Els's night of love, painted as allusively as it is frankly by the long orchestral passages of Act Three, culminates in a scene of wordless action in which "piece by piece" Els takes off the jewellery she was wearing for Elis, laying it aside with "gestures of marvelling, often childlike joy, but also of pain, indeed despair". Schreker noted in a sketch that what was going on at this point was nothing other than the "struggle between the treasure and love". And love, to be understood less in an idealistic sense than as instinctual desire, is victorious: the last piece Els removes is a diadem that crowns her head. "It begins to glow mysteriously in the first red rays of the morning sun. [Els] wrestles with herself and then, taking a deep breath, places it with the rest." At this very moment, precisely marked by Schreker in the score, the "love melody" is heard in the orchestra "with the greatest, most heartfelt expressiveness". "Longing", until that point directed at the jewellery, can detach itself from what is a mere object of substitutional satisfaction because it seems to have found its goal in the reality of the act of love. This is fully in line with Els's words: "I'm no phantom, / my sweet love, / no figure of fantasy and froth. / You should hold me / and embrace me, / you should kiss me / and drink me in!"

But this must remain an illusion, as becomes clear as the story unfolds. As Schreker remarked to Paul Bekker in a letter of 10 July 1918: "The relationship of man to woman and everything that's connected with it – a tragedy. Even in the happiest cases. And it ought to be written, this tragedy of the 'happy'. It's self-stupefaction, morphine addiction. Happiness is not to be found anywhere in this world. Intoxication – a hovering about the light, a sudden burning." In THE TREASURE HUNTER the stigmatised do not become the "happy", even though for a short while in Act Three it looks as though they will. Schreker's opera reverses the constellation of Wagner's LOHENGRIN and reformulates its tragedy under the aspect of these altered gender relations (the association of Els with Elsa already suggested by the name is doubtless intentional, as is Elis, Lohengrin style, coming to the rescue in her hour of direst need in Act One; added to which, in Act Two, Els urges Elis to "think of the swan that sings before he dies"). It is Els's forbidden question – "Never to ask me / how it came to be. / Never to distress me / with hurtful suspicion" – that brings about the catastrophe. When Elis discovers that Els ordered the stealing of the lute and the killings in order to gain possession of the queen's jewellery, he turns "stiffly" away from her and ignores the hand that Else holds out to him "with a pleading look" according to the stage directions, while the "love melody" is heard once again, played with heart-rending melancholy on the clarinet: "What wrong I have done you, / believe me, / it was done out of love!"

Elis ultimately remains incapable of the kind of absolutising of love that Els accomplishes in Act Three when she puts aside the jewellery (she achieves it superficially, at least, as "pining" for Elis and "distress about the treasure" recur in equal measure in her confused dreams, as the fool later comments). Schreker's alignment with Otto Weininger may appear puzzling; Paul Bekker was sceptical on the matter, eliciting from the composer the almost apologetic response that his "reason said 'no' to much", his "feeling – so it seems – yes" to what he had read in Weininger's Sex and Character (letter to Bekker of 10 July 1918). At any rate Elis's views about the nature of the male, which he utters in a lecturing manner before the night of love, already contain the seed that will bring about the certain failure of the "utopia of fulfilled sensuality": "Love's happiness / cannot be everything to me. / […] A man must create and strive; / and whatever love may offer us / in the way of imagined goals, / action alone makes us proud and free." Here he falls back into the delusion that robbed Fritz in THE DISTANT SOUND of his happiness at Grete's side. But if this happiness, Schreker argues, is merely "intoxication" and "morphine addiction", then there is no way out in any case. The treasure and love, art and the psychological urge, yearning-filled striving and momentary fulfilment – it's all the same in its inevitable nullity and meaninglessness.

 

Popularity

Interpreted in this way, Schreker's TREASURE HUNTER, conditioned by the catastrophe of the First World War and its "desolate end" (Schreker's letter to Bekker of 18 December 1918), ought to be hard to surpass in dismal gloom. No hope anywhere. And yet, given the enormous number of performances between the Frankfurt world premiere on 21 January 1920 and the end of the 1924/25 season, the piece may with justification be described as the "representative opera of the young German republic", indeed the "last popular opera of Modernism" (Matthias Brzoska). The fact is that the – arguably – nihilistic content of Schreker's TREASURE HUNTER is coupled with a move towards simple forms including popular folk forms (for example Els's lullaby at the start of Act Three, in Bekker's view "verging on sentimentality") as well as to scenes of spectacle that fully exploit theatrical effect instead of shunning it. Here too Paul Bekker hits the nail on the head: "The path that leads away from the cult-like conception of music drama in the Wagnerian sense, and back to opera with its intoxicating music and sensual pleasures, with all its illogical unreality, the playful fantasy of its plot, the delight in a colourful succession of scenes, moving on what is purely emotionally musical ground, that path […] has been found." Schreker had expressed a similar view in the unprinted foreword to the libretto of his opera DAS SPIELWERK UND DIE PRINZESSIN ("the music box and the princess"): opera as a genre, "not […] drama, not absolute music, appeals chiefly to the eye and ear. External occurrences, a plot which may also be a pantomime, in combination with the opulence and vivid colours of the scene, acts, dancing, and in addition music full of vibrancy, bewitching, exciting, radiant sound – these are the elements, I feel, that guarantee the effectiveness of an operatic work."

THE TREASURE HUNTER, therefore, reflecting the poetics of effect, is a representation of the subject it treats – the "sensual pleasure", the "intoxication" that seizes Elis and Els like an ephemeral happiness, but at the same time also the "fantasy" and "colour" of imagined worlds. The "great longing" for the "fairy-tale palace of glass" and a prince who arrives "on a snow-white charger" – people are incapable of losing this longing despite the illusory nature of experience. "Imagine it gone, and every impulse is extinguished" – to repeat Schreker's statement already quoted above. For this reason the opera may actually have achieved in 1920 what Julius Korngold, incidentally no friend of Schreker's (and still less of Paul Bekker's), would later, in 1921, assert as a general requirement of new works of music theatre, namely that they should "contribute to the strengthening of the vitality that is needed in this difficult, darkened time". The fact that THE TREASURE HUNTER meets this requirement with its sense of theatrical effect, that it demonstrates what art is capable of, and at the same time takes as its subject how art is shattered by reality, invests the work with a fascinating multiplicity of meaning. Few opera composers, surely, have sat in judgement over themselves and their profession so pitilessly as Schreker. But equally it can be seen as a triumph of the aesthetic that the work is able to offer an aesthetic treatment of its own futility. To paraphrase Schreker: only where nothing more is heard, where emptiness and silence prevail, does that come which art, however chimera-like it may be, knows how to preserve us from – "horror".

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Aus dem Programmheft

Prinz und Prinzessin von Traumkönigs Gnaden

Über eine Märchenoper am Ende aller Märchen … von Arne Stollberg

 

Es war einmal …

Auf den ersten Blick ist Franz Schrekers DER SCHATZGRÄBER eine Märchenoper wie aus dem Bilderbuch. Die Handlung spielt in einem fiktiven Mittelalter, bietet vom Königspaar über den fahrenden Sänger bis zum Narren das entsprechende Personal auf und enthält zahlreiche Ingredienzen, die man bei einem Märchen erwarten mag: Der „unfrei geborene“ Vagant Elis verfügt mit der „Wünschellaute“ über ein Zauberinstrument, das in der Lage ist, durch seinen Klang verborgene Schätze aufzuspüren. So gelingt es ihm, den geraubten Schmuck der Königin, dessen Verlust sie krank und verhärmt gemacht hat, wieder zurückzubringen. Dafür wird er nicht nur zum Ritter geschlagen und bei Hofe aufgenommen, sondern erhält auch jenes Mädchen zur Braut, das er liebt, die arme Tochter – oder Pflegetochter – eines Schankwirts. „Und so lebten sie glücklich und zufrieden bis ans Ende ihrer Tage“: Wie viele andere Märchen könnte auch die von Schreker erzählte Geschichte solch positiven Ausklang finden.

Das Gegenteil aber ist der Fall. Im traurigen „Nachspiel“ stirbt die Braut, Els, nunmehr dem Narren zur Frau gegeben, einen kläglichen Tod. Was der Verlauf der Handlung mit seiner Märchentopik verheißen hatte, rückt in die illusionäre Ferne einer durch Elis’ letzten Gesang beschworenen Vision, die an der bitteren Realität zerschellt: „Und Ritter und Pagen / und schöne Frauen, / sie alle kommen und / wollen die schauen, / die heimgefunden / ins Märchenland: Prinz und Prinzessin, / Elis und Els, die / beiden Kinder / von Traumkönigs Gnaden. / Sie kehren heim – / beladen mit Glück – / das halten sie fest / und lassen es nimmer. / Sie retteten sich / aus der grausen Hatz / des Lebens den hehrsten, / den schönsten Schatz!“ Noch der einzig verbliebene Schimmer von Trost, die Prophezeiung des Narren, dass Gott Els verzeihen und „Glück und Freuden / im Himmel“ bescheren werde, stößt auf das entschiedene Dementi des Orchesters: In den scheinbaren D-Dur-Schlussakkord, mit Glockengeläut im dreifachen Piano der Streicher verhallend, stiehlt sich, zuerst kaum hörbar, ein Paukenwirbel, der den gesamten Klangapparat noch einmal aufbrodeln lässt – allerdings in d-Moll, nicht in D-Dur. Es folgt ein markerschütterndes Crescendo, durch den anschwellenden Wirbel von Tamtam und Becken bis zum dreifachen Forte emporgetrieben und abreißend auf einem d-Moll-Dreiklang, der das zarte D-Dur der letzten Worte des Narren mit brutaler Kraft zunichtemacht. Deutlicher hätte Schreker nicht komponieren können, dass Träume Schäume und Märchen eben Märchen bleiben. Die grausame Lakonie des Orchester-Epilogs setzt gewissermaßen fort, was der König im vierten Akt auf Elis’ hochfliegende Ballade von der „Frau Ilse“ erwidert hatte, ihrerseits eine Art Spiegelung des Handlungsgeschehens der Oper im verzweifelten Versuch, das durch den Schmuck symbolisierte Schöne vor der Profanierung zu retten: „Ein artig Märlein“ – mehr nicht.

 

Das Schöne und das Schreckliche

Dass eine Oper sich selbst als Chimäre demaskiert, das Märchen seine eigene Entzauberung zum Thema macht, ist die Pointe und das Skandalon von Schrekers SCHATZGRÄBER. Dem Komponisten angesichts der Zeitumstände, in denen er das Werk schrieb, Eskapismus zu unterstellen, ein Ausblenden der Katastrophe des Ersten Weltkriegs, würde demnach verfehlen, was nur als Reaktion auf diese Zeitumstände erklärbar ist. Noch für September 1914 wäre die besagte Diagnose möglicherweise richtig gewesen. In einem Brief an Carl von Wiener, den Präsidenten der Wiener Akademie für Musik und darstellende Kunst, hatte Schreker damals anlässlich der Übersendung der Partitur seines Vorspiels zu einem Drama erklärt: „Es ist eine Zeit gegen die Kunst und alle künstlerischen Dinge. Aber die Welt wird nicht untergehen und das Schöne das Schreckliche überdauern.“ Von solcher Gewissheit getragen, entwarf Schreker im Juli 1915 eine Operndichtung mit dem Titel DIE TÖNENDEN SPHÄREN, ein ausgesprochenes Zeitstück (die Geschichte spielt zwischen 1914 und 1916), gipfelnd in einem Friedens- und Versöhnungsfest, das mit der Aufführung jener Oper, von deren Entstehung die TÖNENDEN SPHÄREN handeln, zusammenfällt. Versuchte Schreker hier noch, seinen FERNEN KLANG zu variieren, indem er statt der Niederlage des Künstlers dessen höchsten Triumph zu zeigen beabsichtigte, eine politisch-ästhetische Utopie vollständigen Gelingens, so waren es im Sommer 1916 eben nicht die TÖNENDEN SPHÄREN, die er zu komponieren begann, sondern ein anderes, zeitgleich entstandenes Libretto: DER SCHATZGRÄBER. Je länger der Krieg anhielt, je deutlicher sich sein Grauen nach anfänglicher Siegeseuphorie abzeichnete, desto mehr dürfte dem Komponisten die einstmalige Überzeugung abhandengekommen sein, dass „das Schöne das Schreckliche überdauern“ werde.

Genau davon erzählt DER SCHATZGRÄBER. Das Märchen, im weiteren Sinne die Poetisierung der Welt durch jene künstlerisch gestaltete Schönheit, die der Schmuck symbolisiert, stiftet nicht nur die Form der Oper, sondern ist ihr eigentlicher Inhalt. Was sich im Schmuck, im Schatz zeichenhaft abbildet, hat Schreker innerhalb einer ausführlichen Selbstdeutung (Der Schatz – seine Hüter und sein Orchester) als „Traum von Glück und von Erlösung“ bezeichnet: „Wenn man will, nur eine Fiktion, […] wie die große Sehnsucht im Leben nur eine Fiktion ist. Man denke sie sich fort, und jeder Impuls ist erloschen.“ Dies verbindet die unglückliche Els mit dem Geschmeide, dies treibt sie zu ihren (durch den Knecht Albi ausgeführten) Mordtaten hin – der Schmuck soll die kindlich ersehnten Märchen „lebendig“ werden lassen, wie es in einer anderen Märchenoper der Wiener Moderne, Alexander Zemlinskys DER TRAUMGÖRGE, heißt: „In der Kammer / gleißt’s und funkelt’s. / Schon wirkt der Zauber: / Schöner wird Elschen / von Tag zu Tag. / Und ein Prinz kommt des Weg’s / auf schneeweißem Roß, / ein feiner, zarter; / mit lieblichen Worten / umschmeichelt er Els / und führt sie davon / auf schneeweißem Roß, / in ein herrliches Schloß, / in sein Königsschloß!“ Mit Elis verhält es sich nicht anders. Auch er jagt den Schätzen nur nach, weil er stets hofft, jenen „Hort“ zu finden, der eine Phantasiewelt wie aus dem Märchenbuch aufsteigen lassen würde – eine Phantasiewelt, wo „im gläsernen / Märchenpalast ein / verzaubert Prinzeßchen, / von Riesen bedräut“, auf die Hilfe ihres Ritters wartet.

Als der Schmuck im vierten Akt wieder von der Königin getragen wird, gleichsam politisch funktionalisiert, da er, wie der König deutlich macht, mit dem Wohlergehen (und der sexuellen Lust) seiner Gemahlin auch die dringend notwendige Geburt eines Erben sichern soll, können Elis und Els dies nur als Zerstörung des Zaubers begreifen. Elis improvisiert hierauf die bereits erwähnte Ballade von der „Frau Ilse“, hinter der sich, über „Wortbrücken“ im Sinne der Freud’schen Traumdeutung erkennbar, niemand anderes verbirgt als Elis und Els selbst („Ilse“ ist ein Anagramm von „Elis“ und enthält zugleich, durch die Umfärbung des Vokals nur dezent verschleiert, den Namen „Els“): „Arm ward die Welt; / ein Märchen verkam – / Frau Ilse – sie stirbt!“

 

Symbolik und Selbstreflexion

Schrekers Musiktheater stellt immer auch eine Reflexion über sich selbst dar. Schon 1918 arbeitete Paul Bekker in einem einflussreichen Text (Franz Schreker. Studie zur Kritik der modernen Oper) als Eigenart des Komponisten heraus, dass jedes seiner Werke von einer primären „Klangvision“ hervorgebracht werde. Am Anfang sei immer die Musik; sie erst erzeuge die „figürliche Erscheinung der Handlung [,] wie diese wiederum Ton und Melodie in sich“ trage (so Bekker 1920 in seiner Uraufführungsrezension des SCHATZGRÄBERS). Schreker bestätigt Bekkers These, freilich rückwirkend bereits davon beeinflusst, wenn er über die Bedeutung des Schatzes in seiner Oper sagt, dieser sei „gar nichts anderes als was zum Grundelement ein jedes musikalisches Kunstwerk fordert – das symbolische Bindeglied der Ereignisse“. Der Schatz gewinnt damit auch eine poetologische Qualität: Er bedingt und ermöglicht einerseits die Musik und macht sie andererseits zum Träger dessen, was an der Oberfläche des Bühnengeschehens – gemäß Bekker – als „gleichnishafte Handlung“ abrollt. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass der Schatz, wie gesehen, weniger als Ding interessiert, als Goldglanz und Juwelengefunkel, sondern vielmehr als Veranschaulichung eines Gefühls: der Sehnsucht nach Glück, Schönheit und Erlösung. Nur solchermaßen vermag er, laut Schreker, überhaupt ein Gegenstand der Musik zu werden; denn diese gelte, vor allem im Orchesterpart einer Oper, der „motivische[n] Gestaltung des Empfindungslebens, ja sogar – wie soll ich sagen, [der] Gestaltung, nebenher, oder im Unterbewußtsein auftauchender Ereignisse“ (Brief an Bekker vom 9. Juli 1918). An anderer Stelle heißt es, wiederum in Schrekers eigenen Worten und nun mit direktem Bezug zum SCHATZGRÄBER: „Motive [kenne ich] in erster Linie für innerliche Angelegenheiten des Menschen, nicht aber für eine Sache […]. Das Motiv des Schatzes ist demgemäß nicht einseitig gebildet – etwa als Zeichen für Mächtiges und Erhabenes wie den Nibelungenhort oder für äußerlich Glitzerndes, den Tand, das Geschmeide – es hat nur einen ausgesprochen sehnsuchtsvollen Charakter.“

Gemeint ist jene Wendung, die, als erstes distinktes Motiv der Oper überhaupt, von Violinen und hohen Holzbläsern angestimmt wird, wenn der Narr im „Vorspiel“ die Frage des Königs, welchen Schmuck die Königin wirklich haben wolle, lakonisch beantwortet: „Den gestohl’nen.“ Und noch weiter lässt Schreker – selten genug – in seine Werkstatt blicken: Das Orchester, so schreibt er, wandle „durch die Instrumentation und die Kunst des Kontrapunktes“ das betreffende „Thema der Sehnsucht je nach Lage und Handlung um“ und mache daraus in „breit anströmender, leidenschaftlicher Weise“ die „Liebesmelodie“.

 

Rausch statt Glück

Die hier konstatierte musikalische „Variantenbeziehung“ (Matthias Brzoska) zwischen den breit ausgesponnenen Motiven, die für den Schatz einerseits und die Liebe zwischen Els und Elis andererseits stehen, führt ins Zentrum des psychologischen Dramas. Wie in allen frühen Opern Schrekers, nicht anders mithin als im FERNEN KLANG und den GEZEICHNETEN, geht es um die Frage, ob der Schatz – das Ästhetische, die Kunst – lediglich eine Kompensation oder Sublimierung sinnlicher Triebregungen darstellt, die im Moment ihrer Erfüllung jene Sublimierung hinfällig werden lassen. Dass Fritz im FERNEN KLANG und Alviano in den GEZEICHNETEN sich die „Utopie der erfüllten Sinnlichkeit“ versagen, um nochmals Matthias Brzoska zu zitieren, begründet ihr tragisches Scheitern, das durch keine Ausweichbewegung in die Sphäre des Ästhetischen (einer Oper im Fall des FERNEN KLANGS, einer künstlichen Paradiesinsel im Fall der GEZEICHNETEN) verhindert werden kann. Im SCHATZGRÄBER scheint diese Konfliktsituation zum ersten Mal der Auflösung nahe: Die durch die ausgedehnten Orchesterpassagen des dritten Aktes ebenso indirekt wie unmittelbar geschilderte Liebesnacht zwischen Elis und Els kulminiert in einer pantomimischen Szene, die zeigt, wie Els den Schmuck, den sie für Elis angelegt hatte, „Stück für Stück“ abstreift, „in Gesten bewundernder, oft kindlicher Freude, dann wieder in solchen des Schmerzes, ja der Verzweiflung“ – Schreker notierte in einer Skizze, es handle sich hier um nichts anderes als um den „Kampf zwischen dem Schatz und der Liebe“. Und die Liebe, weniger idealistisch zu verstehen denn als triebhaftes Begehren, siegt: Ein Diadem prangt zuletzt noch auf Els’ Haupt. „Das erste Rot der Morgensonne läßt es wundersam aufleuchten. [Els] kämpft mit sich und legt es dann hoch aufatmend zu dem übrigen.“ Genau an dieser Stelle, von Schreker in der Partitur exakt bezeichnet, entfaltet sich im Orchester „mit größtem, innigstem Ausdruck“ die besagte „Liebesmelodie“: Die bis dahin auf den Schmuck gerichtete „Sehnsucht“ kann sich von ihm als Objekt bloßer Ersatzbefriedigung lösen, da sie, so scheint es, in der Realität des Liebesaktes ihr Ziel gefunden hat. Ganz im Sinne von Els’ Worten: „Ich bin kein Schemen, / mein süßer Liebster, / bin kein Gebilde / aus Träumen und Schaum. / Du sollst mich halten, / und sollst mich umfangen, / Du sollst mich küssen / und trinken in Dich!“

Doch der weitere Verlauf der Handlung zeigt, dass auch dies eine Illusion bleiben muss. Gegenüber Paul Bekker äußerte Schreker am 10. Juli 1918 in einem Brief: „Das Verhältnis des Mannes zur Frau und alles was damit zusammenhängt – eine Tragödie. Auch in den glücklichsten Fällen. Und dieses Trauerspiel müßte geschrieben werden – das der ‚Glücklichen‘. Das ist Selbstbetäubung, Morphinismus. Glück ist in dieser Welt nicht und nirgends zu finden. Rausch – ein Gaukeln ums Licht, ein jähes Verbrennen.“ Aus den GEZEICHNETEN werden daher im SCHATZGRÄBER nicht die „Glücklichen“, auch wenn es im dritten Akt für eine kurze Weile so aussieht. Schrekers Oper dreht die Konstellation von Wagners LOHENGRIN um und schreibt dessen Tragik unter den Vorzeichen anderer Geschlechterverhältnisse fort (dass Els schon dem Namen nach Elsa assoziieren lässt, wie Elis im ersten Akt, gleich Lohengrin, als Retter in höchster Not auftritt, ist zweifellos beabsichtigt; hinzu kommt die Aufforderung Els’ an Elis im zweiten Akt, er solle an den „Schwan“ denken, „der singt, eh’ er stirbt“): Els’ „Frageverbot“ – „[…] mich nie zu fragen, / wie alles kam. Mich / nie zu quälen mit / kränkendem Argwohn“ – führt die Katastrophe herbei. Als Elis erfährt, dass Els den Diebstahl der Laute in Auftrag gab und durch Morde den Schmuck der Königin in eigenen Besitz gebracht hat, wendet er sich von ihr ab und ignoriert laut Regieanweisung „starr“ die Hand, die Els „ihm flehenden Blickes“ hinstreckt, während die Klarinette in herzzerreißender Wehmut noch einmal die „Liebesmelodie“ ertönen lässt: „Was an Dir / gesündigt ich habe – / glaub’ mir, Du Armer – / aus Liebe geschah’s!“

Elis bleibt letztlich unfähig zu jener Verabsolutierung der Liebe, die Els im dritten Akt durch das Ablegen des Schmucks für sich erobern kann (zumindest vordergründig, denn der Narr wird später erzählen, dass in ihren wirren Träumen „Sehnsucht“ nach Elis und „Weh nach dem Schatz“ gleichermaßen wiedergekehrt seien). Schrekers Orientierung an Otto Weininger mag irritieren; schon Paul Bekker war diesbezüglich skeptisch, worauf der Komponist, fast entschuldigend, erwiderte, sein „Verstand“ habe bei der Lektüre von Weiningers Geschlecht und Charakter „zu vielem ‚nein‘ gesagt“, sein „Gefühl – so scheint es – ja“ (Brief an Bekker vom 10. Juli 1918). Doch was Elis dozierend vor der Liebesnacht über das Wesen des Mannes äußert, legt bereits den Keim dafür, dass die „Utopie der erfüllten Sinnlichkeit“ scheitern muss: „Der Liebe Glück kann / nicht alles mir sein. / […] Der Mann muß schaffen / und kämpfend streben – / und beut uns die Liebe / was es auch sei / an erträumten Zielen – / die Tat allein, / sie macht stolz und frei.“ Hier fällt er zurück in den Wahn, der Fritz im FERNEN KLANG um sein Glück an der Seite Gretes bringt. Doch wenn dieses Glück, Schreker zufolge, nur „Rausch“ und „Morphinismus“ ist, dann gibt es ohnehin keinen Ausweg – der Schatz und die Liebe, die Kunst und der Trieb, das sehnsuchtsvolle Streben und die Erfüllung des Augenblicks: alles eins in seiner unabwendbaren Nichtigkeit und Sinnlosigkeit.

 

Popularität

So gedeutet, dürfte Schrekers SCHATZGRÄBER, konditioniert durch die Katastrophe des Ersten Weltkriegs und sein „trostloses Ende“ (Brief Schrekers an Bekker vom 18. Dezember 1918), kaum an abgründiger Schwärze zu überbieten sein. Keine Hoffnung, nirgends. Und doch ist es angesichts der enormen Aufführungszahlen zwischen der Frankfurter Weltpremiere am 21. Januar 1920 und dem Ende der Spielzeit 1924/25 nicht unberechtigt, von der „repräsentative[n] Oper der jungen deutschen Republik“ zu sprechen, ja von der „letzte[n] populäre[n] Oper der Moderne“ (Matthias Brzoska). Tatsächlich verbindet sich der – wenn man so will – nihilistische Gehalt von Schrekers SCHATZGRÄBER mit einer Hinwendung zu einfachen, auch volkstümlichen Formen (beispielsweise Els’ Wiegenlied am Beginn des dritten Aktes, laut Bekker „das Sentimentale streifend“) sowie spektakelhaften Szenen, die den Effekt nicht verschmähen, sondern voll ausreizen. Auch hier trifft Paul Bekker den Nagel auf den Kopf: „Der Weg fort von der kultmäßigen Auffassung des Musikdramas im Sinne Wagners, zurück zur Oper mit ihrem Rausch von Musik und Sinnenfreude, mit all ihrer unlogischen Unwirklichkeit, der spielerischen Phantastik ihres Geschehens, der Freude am bunten Wechsel der Bilder, des Verlaufs auf rein gefühlsmäßig musikalischem Boden, dieser Weg […] ist gefunden.“ Schreker hatte im ungedruckten Vorwort zum Libretto seiner Oper DAS SPIELWERK UND DIE PRINZESSIN Ähnliches formuliert: „Nicht […] Drama, nicht absolute Musik, appelliert [die Gattung Oper] in erster Linie an Gehör und Auge. Äußerliche Vorkommnisse, eine Handlung, die Pantomime sein könnte, in Verbindung mit Pracht und Farbenglanz der Szene, Aufzüge, Tanz und zu allem eine lebensvolle Musik, bestrickend, erregend, blühender Klang, dies sind nach meinem Gefühl die Elemente, die die Wirkung eines Opernwerkes verbürgen.“

DER SCHATZGRÄBER bringt also wirkungspoetisch zur Geltung, wovon er handelt – die „Sinnenfreude“, den „Rausch“, der zwischen Elis und Els als vergängliches Glück aufflammt, aber auch das „Bunte“ und die „Phantastik“ geträumter Welten. Die „große Sehnsucht“ nach dem „gläsernen Märchenpalast“ und einem Prinzen, der „auf schneeweißem Roß“ angeritten kommt – diese Sehnsucht bleibt dem Menschen jenseits des illusorischen Charakters der Erfahrung unverlierbar. „Man denke sie sich fort, und jeder Impuls ist erloschen“, um nochmals die oben bereits zitierten Worte Schrekers in Erinnerung zu rufen. Daher mag die Oper 1920 tatsächlich geleistet haben, was Julius Korngold, an sich kein Freund Schrekers (und erst recht kein Freund Paul Bekkers), ein Jahr später, 1921, generell von neuen Werken für das Musiktheater fordern sollte: „zur Stärkung der Lebensenergien beizutragen, deren diese schwere, verdüsterte Zeit bedarf“. Dass der SCHATZGRÄBER solche Aufgabe mit allem Sinn für Theaterwirksamkeit erfüllt, also vorführt, wozu Kunst in der Lage ist, und gleichzeitig das Zerschellen der Kunst an der Realität zum Thema macht, gibt dem Werk eine faszinierende Doppelbödigkeit. So schonungslos wie Schreker hat wohl selten ein Opernkomponist über sich selbst und sein Metier Gericht gehalten. Doch kann man ebenso gut einen Triumph des Ästhetischen darin erblicken, dass es noch seine eigene Vergeblichkeit ästhetisch zu gestalten vermag. Erst dort, wo nichts mehr klingt, wo Leere herrscht und Stille, tritt nach einer Formulierung Schrekers ein, wovor uns die Kunst, wie chimärenhaft auch immer, zu bewahren weiß – „das Grauen“.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter