In solidarity with the people of Ukraine

 

Our heartfelt thanks go to you, dear audience, for the generous donations with which you support our commitment to Ukraine Hilfe Berlin e.V.!

Your contributions to fundraising at our performances as well as your ticket purchases for the benefit matinée on 13 March 2022 have so far resulted in around Euro 100.000.- which we have been able to transfer to the Ukraine Hilfe association. An overwhelming amount of donations of goods was also collected on the initiative of our orchestra on the second weekend in March: four van loads could be handed over directly at the Polish-Ukrainian border.

We say deeply impressed: thank you!

 

The Deutsche Oper Berlin and its staff and colleagues are shocked at the war that the Russian government is waging on Ukraine and its people. We stand in solidarity with all those for whom this useless conflict can only mean suffering, privation and an uncertain future. And we are fully supportive of all those who are being arrested and detained for expressing their desire for peace and democracy.

The invasion of Ukraine and all its political, diplomatic and economic repercussions will throw the lives of millions of people into disarray. The war not only affects a country; it is also an assault on the basic free and democratic order and on peaceful coexistence worldwide. All of us at the Deutsche Oper Berlin are hoping for a quick end to this war and a return to normal, peaceable relations, if that is possible.

The day-to-day workings of our opera house are inextricably tied to the collaboration and interaction of artists from around the globe. Our activities are wholly reliant on mutually respectful relations and unbiased, open-minded dialogue between all parties. Even though our art is of little direct use in confronting this aggression and anguish, we will continue to do what we do as our contribution to peace, democracy and openness. Our thoughts are especially with all the artists who are either afflicted by the war in Ukraine or are at risk of imprisonment in Russia and Belarus if they protest against the war.

The opera canon is filled with works depicting the effect of violent despotism on the lives of ordinary people and showing what war and the destruction of the fundamental liberal order means for different groups of people. The ongoing situation is a painful reminder that peace and humanism cannot be taken for granted but must be struggled for and defended on a daily basis. We appeal to the international artistic community to support all those people in Ukraine, Russia and other affected countries who are resisting this war.

 

Want to donate?
The Deutsche Oper Berlin is supporting  Ukraine-Hilfe Berlin e.V.

 

Read also the Statement by the Deutscher Bühnenverein

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

In Solidarität mit allen Friedfertigen sind wir bei den Menschen in der Ukraine

 

Ihnen, liebes Publikum, gilt unser herzlicher Dank für die großzügigen Spenden, mit denen Sie unser Engagement für die Ukraine Hilfe Berlin e.V. unterstützen!

Ihre Beiträge zur Spendensammlung bei unseren Vorstellungen sowie Ihre Kartenkäufe für die Benefiz-Matinée am 13. März 2022 ergeben bislang rund € 100.000, die wir dem Verein Ukraine-Hilfe überweisen konnten. Auch wurde eine überwältigende Menge Sachspenden auf Initiative unseres Orchesters am zweiten März-Wochenende gesammelt: Es konnten vier Lieferwagen-Ladungen direkt an der polnisch-ukrainischen Grenze übergeben werden. 

Wir sagen tief beeindruckt: Vielen Dank!

 

Die Deutsche Oper Berlin und ihre Mitarbeiter*innen sind erschüttert angesichts des Krieges, den die russische Regierung gegen die Ukraine und ihre Bevölkerung führt. Wir stehen solidarisch mit allen Menschen, für die dieser unnütze Krieg Leid, Verlust und ungewisse Zukunft bedeutet sowie mit all denen, die für Demokratie und Frieden einstehen und dabei ihre Freiheit verlieren.

Die Invasion in der Ukraine und alle daraus folgenden politischen, diplomatischen und wirtschaftlichen Konsequenzen werden enorme Auswirkungen auf das Leben von Millionen von Menschen haben. Dieser Krieg betrifft nicht nur ein Land, sondern die freiheitlich-demokratische Grundordnung und das friedliche Zusammenleben weltweit. Alle Mitarbeiter*innen der Deutschen Oper Berlin hoffen, dass dieser Krieg ein schnellstmögliches Ende findet und ein Zurück zu einem friedvollen Miteinander möglich ist.

Der Alltag an unserem Opernhaus ist geprägt von der Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen aus der ganzen Welt – der Respekt voreinander und der unvoreingenommene Dialog zwischen allen Beteiligten sind unverzichtbar für unsere Arbeit. Auch wenn wir mit unserer Kunst der Aggression und dem Leid nicht direkt Einhalt gebieten können, halten wir an dieser Arbeit fest, um gemeinsam für Frieden, Demokratie und Offenheit einzutreten. Ganz besonders gilt unsere Solidarität allen Künstler*innen, die in der Ukraine unter dem Krieg leiden und in Russland und Belarus um ihre Freiheit fürchten müssen, wenn sie ihre Stimme gegen diesen Krieg erheben.

Zahlreiche Werke des Opernrepertoires schildern eindringlich, welche Konsequenzen despotische Gewalt für das Leben einzelner Menschen hat, welche dramatischen Folgen Krieg und die Zerstörung der freiheitlichen Grundordnung für Gemeinschaften bedeuten. Schmerzlich führt uns die derzeitige Situation vor Augen, dass Humanismus und Frieden nie als gegeben hingenommen werden können, sondern tagtäglich neu errungen werden müssen. Wir rufen die internationale Künstlergemeinschaft auf, die Menschen in der Ukraine, in Russland und allen betroffenen Ländern zu unterstützen, die sich gegen diesen Krieg stellen.

 

Sie möchten gerne spenden?
Die Deutsche Oper Berlin unterstützt Ukraine-Hilfe Berlin e.V. 

Lesen Sie auch das Statement des Deutschen Bühnenvereins

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter