Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

Strong girls

"The Snow Queen" is one of the most well-known fairy tales. Even Hollywood has jumped on it. How do you deal with that, Brigitte Dethier?

The Snow Queen
Musical theatre based on Hans Christian Andersen by Samuel Penderbayne; Libretto by Christian Schönfelder
Director: Brigitte Dethier
With Sophia Körber, Theresa Pilsl, Marlene Gaßner, Alexandra Ionis, Martin Gerke, Jonas Böhm, Hanna Plaß, Louise Leverd, Jone Bolibar Núñez, Jack Adler-McKean, Henriette Zahn, Daniel Eichholz
22 Nov. to 29 Dec. 2019

The second part of the Disney film Frozen is coming to theatres at the same time as your premiere. How do you fight against Disney?
We have a piano on stage, a cello, a tuba, we're making musical theatre. That is a unique, wonderful art form that is not competing with Frozen. Our piece will be more reminiscent of the fairy tale template from Hans Christian Andersen. At the same time, however, I would like to show a different type of woman than Andersen. Gerda will not be a girl pining after a friend, no matter how badly he treats her. What sets it apart from Disney, in turn, is that we won't have girls wearing blue dresses, no long eyelash extensions, no wasp waists.

How does one plant new images in the minds of urban children?
The entire room is our stage. The children are sitting in the middle of it, and singers and musicians perform around them. If the children are able to make it to the theatre, I rely on the direct experience. But of course adults are always needed to bring the children into the theatre to begin with.

How do you create a blockbuster?
Good ingredients are humour, warmth and tension. And we have to know exactly what's going on with our audience. With children you can sometimes sense real physical unease if they can't handle what's happening. So we respond to this during rehearsal and ask: how do we need to be on stage? Loud, quiet, or completely still?

 

 
Brigitte Dethier is artistic director of the Junges Ensemble Stuttgart and is considered one of the most experienced directors of children's and youth theatre. She is staging THE SNOW QUEEN at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, with music by Samuel Penderbayne.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Starke Mädchen

„Die Schneekönigin“ ist eines der bekanntesten Märchen. Sogar Hollywood ist aufgesprungen. Wie kommt man dagegen an, Brigitte Dethier?

Brigitte Dethier ist Intendantin des Jungen Ensemble Stuttgart und gilt als eine der erfahrensten Regisseurinnen für Kinder- und Jugendtheater. An der Deutschen Oper Berlin inszeniert sie die DIE SCHNEEKÖNIGIN nach der Musik von Samuel Penderbayne.
Die Schneekönigin

Zeitgleich mit Ihrer Premiere kommt der zweite Teil des Disney-Films „Frozen“ in die Kinos. Wie kämpfen Sie gegen Disney an?
Wir haben ein Klavier auf der Bühne, ein Cello, eine Tuba, wir machen Musiktheater. Das ist eine eigene, wunderbare Kunstform, die nicht in Konkurrenz zu „Frozen“ steht. Unser Stück wird sich näher an die Märchenvorlage von Hans Christian Andersen halten. Gleichzeitig aber möchte ich ein anderes Frauenbild zeigen als Andersen. Gerda soll kein Mädchen sein, das nur einem Freund hinterhertrauert, egal wie schlecht er sie behandelt. Der Unterschied zu Disney wiederum ist, dass es bei uns keine Mädchen im blauen Kleid geben wird, keine großen Wimpernaufschläge, keine Wespentaillen.

Wie pflanzt man neue Bilder in die Köpfe von Großstadtkindern?
Der ganze Raum ist unsere Bühne. Die Kinder sitzen mittendrin und Sänger und Musiker agieren um sie herum. Wenn die Kinder den Weg ins Theater schaffen, vertraue ich auf das direkte Erlebnis. Aber natürlich braucht es immer noch die Erwachsenen, die die Kinder ins Theater bringen.

Wie schaffen Sie einen Blockbuster?
Gute Zutaten sind Witz, Wärme und Spannung. Und wir müssen genau wissen, was gerade bei unserem Publikum los ist. Bei Kindern spürt man teilweise richtige körperliche Unruhe, wenn sie am Geschehen nicht mehr dran sind. Darauf reagieren wir während der Probenzeit und fragen: Wie müssen wir auf der Bühne sein? Laut, leise oder ganz, ganz still?