Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Wand’rers and other refugees

We searchers on an endless quest! The RING tells the eternal tale of the waxing and waning of our ideas and world views. The message is as relevant today as it was 150 years ago: the game may be finished, but it’s never over.

The Valkyrie
First day of A scenic festival in three days and in an eve by Richard Wagner
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Brandon Jovanovich, Andrew Harris, John Lundgren, Lise Davidsen, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme u. a.
Premiere on 27 September 2020

Rings have always been a symbol of eternity. Beginning merges with end in the circular shape. And so it is in Wagner’s tetralogy, in which the Nibelung has to abjure love before he can smelt the ring from the stolen Rhinegold. The ring represents the dark desire for power and yet, right up to the final redemptive downfall, it is also the highest token of a supreme love.

Beginning and end meet up in the Rhine, just as fire and water are united not simply at the end of TWILIGHT OF THE GODS but in a figure of speech in the first scene on the preliminary evening of the RING cycle, when the Rhinemaidens utter the pledge that binds the opposed elements: »Accept our light-hearted games: flicker the river, flicker the flames of the flood«.

»The survivors tell the tale again from the beginning.«
 

After the Rhine has burst its banks, the last lines of director’s instructions in TWILIGHT OF THE GODS paint a picture of flames: »Bright flames appear to be flickering in the hall of the gods. When the gods are engulfed by the fire the curtain falls.« Even though the flames only »appear« to be flickering, the gods are nonetheless engulfed. This means that the velvet veil descends on a scene that puts an end to »appearances« in the literal and figurative senses of the word. More than anything else it is the image we have of the gods in our mind’s eye that dies a spectacular death at the end of 15 hours of stage action.

And so it is that, in its final moments, the music reveals a hope for a depersonalised love, beyond certainty and definition, now that we have been witness to the failure of love in all its concrete manifestations. The first, drawn-out »E flat« in THE RHINEGOLD has become the »D flat major« on which the TWILIGHT OF THE GODS ends. But that’s not the end of the game. Many of the main protagonists may be dead, but there are still enough bit players surviving to tell the tale again from the beginning – one note lower down on the scale: Alberich and the Rhinemaidens live on, as do the »deeply moved« men and women. A game has finished, but it’s not over.

Wagner himself made specific mention of the playful urge as a core characteristic of the young Siegfried, writing »that he uses playfulness to convey to the audience the key myth, just as we use play in narrating a fairy tale to a child. Everything is absorbed via sharp, sensory impressions, everything is fully grasped. And then when the serious Siegfried dies, the audience is fully cognizant of everything that had to be hinted at or made a condition, and then – I’ve won the game!« It’s not only the mythical game being played out onstage that has the audience listening like a child listening to a fairy tale; it’s the game being played by the creator himself that is up for winning or losing, a game that toys with reality and illusion and whose rules Wagner changed on many occasions and in multiple locations throughout the RING’s quarter-century-long gestation period.

That the suitcase is a core element of our production has less to do with Richard Wagner’s own dramatic flight, exile and travels – 200 towns across 16 countries – and more to do with the peripatetic theme inherent to the work. Wotan, king of the gods, is watching his power and prestige shrink: »The world calls me ‘Wand’rer’« is his bald statement in SIEGFRIED. He wanders on the hogsback of the earth, being overtaken by everything that he light-heartedly set in motion, and finally loses his physical presence, like so many of the fleeing, questing, displaced persons who feature in the tetralogy.

György Lukács talked at the beginning of the 20th century of a »transcendental homelessness« and to this day it remains a very real - and not at all metaphysical - refugee situation. At a loss to know how to respond to our »neighbour’s« reality, we haul our collective history and individual life stories around with us in a suitcase, searching for a new, mythical place we can call home – constantly invoking the playfulness of art and the art of playfulness, which look backwards at our origins and forward to where we are going, as Schopenhauer expressed it, with a linguistic play on the World Ash Tree and its cycle of leaf growth and die-back: »Espy the deep truth of your own essence, especially the bit that is charged with a thirst for existence. Espy it again in the internal, life force of a tree that stays constant as generations of leaves unfurl and then fade, a tree that remains unimpressed by all the waxing and waning going on around it.«

The »power of the tree« that Schopenhauer sees as being unimpressed »by all the waxing and waning going on around it« suffers a reverse at the hands of Wotan even before THE RHINEGOLD has properly begun, when he breaks a bough off the World Ash Tree and uses it to fashion the shaft of a spear engraved with laws. The tree spends the entire span of the tetralogy wilting and sickening until its severed sections are burning furiously. Yet Wagner, too, continues to believe in a power that supersedes everything else, when describing Siegfried to King Ludwig II as being »at the core of the great tragedy that is the world. […] An apocalypse is coming. God will ensure that the world is born again, because he is the personification, or deification, of the will to create a world.« Worlds wax and wane somewhere on the spectrum between will and imagination – and on both sides of the curtain we run to them and run from them.

 

Dr. Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach is involved as freelance dramatic advisor in the new production of the RING at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. He has worked closely with director Stefan Herheim for 20 years (Bayreuth and Salzburg festivals, London, Amsterdam, Oslo, Berlin, Glyndebourne, Copenhagen, Hamburg, Paris) and often collaborated on projects with director Karoline Gruber (Leipzig, Düsseldorf, Vienna). After holding a junior professorship for American Studies at Hamburg University and lecturing at a number of art colleges and music academies, he worked briefly as head dramaturg at the Aalto-Theater in Essen.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Wand’rer und andere Flüchtige

Wir ewig Suchenden! Der RING erzählt die unendliche Geschichte vom Werden und Vergehen unserer Ideen und Weltbilder. Die Botschaft ist so aktuell wie vor 150 Jahren: Das Spiel mag zu Ende sein – aber aus ist es nie

Der Ring des Nibelungen
Bühnenfestspiel für drei Tage und einen Vorabend
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim

Zyklus 1
9. / 10. / 12. / 14. Nov. 2021

Zyklus 2
16. / 17. / 19. / 21. Nov. 2021

Zyklus 3
4. / 5. / 7. / 9. Jan. 2022

Alle Informationen

Der allgemeine Vorverkauf für die drei Zyklen des RING DES NIBELUNGEN beginnt am 27. April 2020. Vorher eingehende Reservierungswünsche können leider nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Seit jeher symbolisiert ein Ring Unendlichkeit: In seiner Kreisform verschmelzen Anfang und Ende miteinander. So ist es auch in Wagners Tetralogie, wo der Ring erst nach dem Liebesfluch des Nibelungen aus dem geraubten Rheingold geschmiedet werden kann. Er symbolisiert das dunkle Verlangen nach Macht und wird doch bis zum erlösenden Untergang ebenso als höchstes Zeichen hellster Liebe aktiviert.

Anfang und Ende finden sich im Rhein, so wie Feuer und Wasser sich nicht erst am Ende der GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG vereinen, sondern bereits sprachbildlich in der ersten Szene des Vorabends, wenn die Rheintöchter die gegensätzlichen Elemente verbindend versprechen: »Wonnige Spiele spenden wir dir: flimmert der Fluss, flammet die Flut«.

»Die Überlebenden erzählen die Geschichte von neuem.«
 

Nachdem der Rhein über seine Ufer getreten ist, malen die finalen Sätze der Regie-Anweisung in GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG ein brennendes Bild: »Helle Flammen scheinen in dem Saal der Götter aufzuschlagen. Als die Götter von den Flammen gänzlich verhüllt sind, fällt der Vorhang.« Auch wenn die Flammen nur im Göttersaal aufzuschlagen »scheinen«, werden die Götter vom Feuer verhüllt. Die samtene Bühnenblende fällt also über einer Szene, die dem »Schein« im buchstäblichen und übertragenen Sinne ein Ende bereitet. Es sind vor allem unsere Vorstellungen von den Göttern, die nach 15 Spiel-Stunden theatral untergehen.

Und so offenbart das Werk musikalisch in seinen letzten Takten die Hoffnung auf eine entpersonalisierte Liebe, jenseits aller Eindeutigkeit, nachdem wir zuvor das Scheitern aller konkreten Manifestationen erlebt haben: Aus dem ersten, lang gehaltenen »Es« in RHEINGOLD ist das GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG abschließende »Des-Dur« geworden. Doch das Spiel ist damit nicht vorbei. Auch wenn viele Hauptfiguren tot sind, reichte das überlebende Personal aus, um einen Ton tiefer die Geschichte von neuem zu erzählen: Alberich und die Rheintöchter überleben ebenso wie die »in höchster Ergriffenheit« sehenden Männer und Frauen. Ein Spiel ist zu Ende, aber nicht aus.

Den Impuls des Spiels hat Wagner selbst als zentralen Aspekt für den jungen Siegfried festgehalten: »… dass er den wichtigsten Mythos dem Publikum im Spiel, wie einem Kinde ein Märchen, beibringt. Alles prägt sich durch scharfe sinnliche Eindrücke plastisch ein, alles wird verstanden – und kommt dann Siegfrieds Tod, so weiß das Publikum alles, was dort vorausgesetzt oder eben nur angedeutet werden musste, und – mein Spiel ist gewonnen. « Es ist nicht nur das mythische Spiel auf der Bühne, das das Publikum wieder zum Märchen lauschenden Kinde macht; es ist das Spiel des Schöpfers selbst, das gewonnen werden will. Ein Spiel mit Wirklichkeiten und Illusionen, dessen Regeln Wagner in der über ein Vierteljahrhundert dauernden Entwicklungszeit des RINGS an vielen Orten mehrfach änderte.

Dass der Koffer ein zentraler Baustein unserer Inszenierung wird, hat aber weniger mit Richard Wagners eigener unglaublicher Flucht-, Exil- und Reisetätigkeit zu tun – 16 Länder und 200 Städte – sondern mit einer dem Stück inhärenten permanenten Bewegung. Der höchste Gott Wotan verliert an Macht und Namen: »Wand’rer‘ heißt mich die Welt« lässt er schlicht in SIEGFRIED verlauten; er wandert auf der Erde Rücken, wird von allem eingeholt, was er spielend ins Rollen brachte und verliert schließlich seine physische Präsenz, wie so viele der Flüchtigen, Suchenden und Vertriebenen innerhalb der Tetralogie.

György Lukács sprach Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts von der »transzendentalen Obdachlosigkeit « und diese hat sich bis heute nicht nur zu einem metaphysischen Flüchtlingszustand ausgeweitet. Mit der Realität unseres »Nächsten « überfordert, tragen wir unsere kollektive Geschichte und individuellen Geschichtchen in Koffer verpackt mit uns herum und suchen getrieben eine neue, mythische Heimat. Und das weiterhin immer wieder im Spiel der Kunst und in der Kunst des Spiels, das eine Her- und Zukunft im Blick hat, die bereits Schopenhauer mit einer sprachlichen Weltesche samt wechselnden Blättern formulierte: »Erkenne doch dein eigenes Wesen, gerade das, was vom Durst nach Dasein so erfüllt ist, erkenne es wieder in der innern, geheimen, treibenden Kraft des Baumes, welche, stets eine und dieselbe in allen Generationen von Blättern, unberührt bleibt vom Entstehen und Vergehen.«

Die »Kraft des Baumes« die Schopenhauer unberührt »vom Entstehen und Vergehen« sieht, mindert Wotan noch vor Beginn der RHEINGOLD-Handlung mit dem Abbrechen eines Astes von der Weltesche, aus dem er den Schaft seines Gesetzes-Speeres fabriziert. Die vier Teile der Erzählung lang verkümmert der Baum, bis schlussendlich seine abgehackten Scheite lichterloh lodern. Doch auch Wagner bleibt überzeugt von einer alles überdauernden Kraft, wie er König Ludwig II. über Siegfried, »den Mittelpunkt der großen Welttragödie« wissen lässt: »Ein Weltuntergang steht bevor; der Gott sorgt für die Wiedergeburt der Welt, denn er ist der Wille der Weltwerdung selbst.« Zwischen Wille und Vorstellung entstehen und vergehen die Welten – in die und vor denen wir nun auf beiden Seiten des Vorhangs flüchten.

 

Dr. Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach verantwortet als freischaffender Dramaturg die aktuelle Inszenierung des RING an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Er kooperiert seit 20 Jahren eng mit dem Regisseur Stefan Herheim (Bayreuther und Salzburger Festspiele, London, Amsterdam, Oslo, Berlin, Glyndebourne, Kopenhagen, Hamburg, Paris) und öfters mit der Regisseurin Karoline Gruber (Leipzig, Düsseldorf, Wien). Nach seiner Juniorprofessur für Amerikanistik an der Universität Hamburg und nach Lehraufträgen an mehreren Kunst- und Musikhochschulen hat er kurzzeitig als Chefdramaturg am Aalto-Theater Essen gearbeitet.