When violence makes a man sexy

In A FLORENTINE TRAGEDY it’s the survival of the fittest. And anything goes – including murder. And the girl? She thinks it’s great. Conductor Marc Albrecht peers into the abyss

The world is teetering on the brink and at the same time hurtling into the modern age – and the hectic evolution of music in the years between 1905 and 1920 mirrors it all. The music of the period is unique: insistent, omnipresent and nudging the extremes. And all its strands meet in Vienna. 

Alexander von Zemlinsky, Alban Berg and Erich Wolfgang Korngold are at home in this Viennese society. Although they are of different generations, they are kindred spirits, teacher and student, corresponding with each other, hosting soirées, performing their pieces and critiquing the works of their colleagues.

The three men reflect the plurality of the era. Korngold is bubbly, cheeky and ironic, his »Much Ado About Nothing« almost popular in tone. At the opposite end of the scale is the soberly sensuous sound of Berg’s »Seven Early Songs«. And Zemlinsky has created a world-class work in the form of his A FLORENTINE TRAGEDY, arguably the darkest in the history of opera.

These works are works of agony reflecting the First World War, the all-pervading disaster of those years. The dip in population, too, is mirrored in the music: Korngold downsizes his musical version of the Shakespeare play to take account of the drop in the number of musicians available; Zemlinsky duplicates many of his instruments in his score to ensure a roundness of volume, even if he’s short of musicians.

The complex works of this period have a welter of sound written into their scores, which poses quite a challenge for me. Zemlinsky is hard to conduct; his orchestras number close to a hundred musicians, which can overwhelm the acoustics of a standard auditorium. What makes his music so fascinating to conduct is its colour and subtlety. When I read the score, I can hear every detail of the music in my head. You have to take decisions constantly. What’s the dynamic between the various voices? How to make complex tonal structures appear transparent? And if my decisions are to be put into practice, there has to be a musical dialogue going on at rehearsals.

The head-on brutality portrayed in A FLORENTINE TRAGEDY is already there in Oscar Wilde’s source text. While Simone the cloth merchant is away on business, Bianca, his wife, begins an affair with the young Guido. The unequal tussle between the two men is rendered in the music as well. Simone, a heroic baritone, prevails, accompanied by a wall of orchestral sound, and this power is a source of fascination to Bianca. Guido, her lover, is a tenorino, pretty of voice; he is not in Simone’s league, however, and is killed in the duel. After years of marital strife, the killing of Guido falls for her husband a second time.

I shudder at the seductive effect of such brutality – as if violence were an aphrodisiac, heightening lust through its very lethality. We’re looking into the abyss.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

08
DEC

Today in the Foyer: "Christmas Caroling
With the brass section of our orchestra
17.00 h / Parquet Foyer
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


The brass section of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra invites you to sing Christmas carols in the Parquet Foyer! From the well-known German Advent carol "Macht hoch die Tür, die Tor macht weit" to the classics "Oh Tannenbaum" and "Oh Du Fröhliche" to "White Christmas", a lovely programme awaits you to set the musical mood for the holidays.

Wenn Gewalt ihn sexy macht

Es gilt das Recht des Stärkeren in EINE FLORENTINISCHE TRAGÖDIE, Mord eingeschlossen. Und die Frau? Findet das toll. Dirigent Marc Albrecht blickt in den Abgrund

Die Welt taumelt am Abgrund und bricht zugleich mit unglaublichem Tempo auf in die Moderne – all das spiegelt sich wider in der rasanten musikalischen Entwicklung in den Jahren zwischen 1905 und 1920. Die Dichte, Fülle und das Extreme der Musik dieser Epoche ist einzigartig. Und alle Fäden kreuzen sich in Wien. 

Teil dieser Wiener Gesellschaft sind Alexander von Zemlinsky, Alban Berg und Erich Wolfgang Korngold. Obwohl sie unterschiedlichen Generationen angehören, sind sie einander sehr nah, sind Lehrer und Schüler, schreiben einander Briefe und halten Soiréen, spielen sich vor und hören zu, sie inspirieren und kritisieren sich. 

Die Drei spiegeln die Pluralität dieser Zeit: Korngold ist spritzig, frech, ironisch, in »Viel Lärm um nichts« fast poppig. Daneben steht die Ernsthaftigkeit und Klangsinnlichkeit bei Berg in seiner Orchestration der »Sieben frühen Lieder«. Und Zemlinsky macht mit EINE FLORENTINISCHE TRAGÖDIE Welttheater, schwärzeres Schwarz hat die Oper wohl kaum je erdacht. 

Die Werke sind Schmerzensstücke. Sie reflektieren den Ersten Weltkrieg, die einschneidende Katastrophe dieser Epoche. Das zeigt sich auch technisch: Korngold reduziert den Umfang seiner Shakespeare-Vertonung, weil kriegsbedingt nur wenige Musiker zur Verfügung stehen. Zemlinsky schreibt in die Partitur viele Verdopplungen von Instrumenten. Selbst wenn nicht alle Musiker verfügbar sind, soll der Klang möglichst voll werden.

Den komplexen Partituren dieser Zeit ist ein Klangrausch eingeschrieben. Das ist eine Herausforderung für meine Arbeit. Zemlinsky ist schwer zu dirigieren, sein Orchester von fast 100 Musikerinnen und Musikern kann schnell die akustischen Grenzen eines Saales sprengen. Der Reiz dieser Musik liegt aber in ihrer Farbigkeit, ihrer Subtilität. Beim Lesen der Partitur setzt sich die Musik in meinem inneren Ohr detailliert zusammen. Ständig muss entschieden werden: Wie stehen die vielen Stimmen zueinander? Wie können wir komplexe Klanggebäude transparent erscheinen lassen? Um diese Entscheidungen mit dem Orchester umzusetzen, müssen in der Probenzeit musikalische Dialoge entstehen. 

Schon in der Vorlage von Oscar Wilde ist die FLORENTINISCHE TRAGÖDIE brutal, direkt, fordernd. Während Tuchhändler Simone auf Geschäftsreise ist, beginnt seine Frau Bianca eine Affäre mit dem jungen Guido. Der ungleiche Kampf der Männer zeigt sich auch musikalisch: Simone ist Heldenbariton, er besteht den Kampf mit den Klangfluten des Orchesters. Genau diese Kraft fasziniert Bianca. Ihr Liebhaber Guido ist ein Schönsänger, ein Tenorino, stimmlich spielen die Männer nicht in derselben Liga. Es kommt zum Kampf, Simone tötet den Jüngeren. Durch den Mord verfällt Bianca ihrem Ehemann nach jahrelanger Beziehungskrise erneut. 

Es lässt mich frieren, wie hier Brutalität zu Sinnlichkeit führt. Als wäre Gewalt ein Aphrodisiakum, eine Art von Luststeigerung, die darin liegt, dass ein Leben auf der Klinge steht. Man schaut hinein in den Abgrund. 

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter