Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field





Newsletter

Die Summe seines Schaffens - Deutsche Oper Berlin

The Sum of his Creativity

Ottorino Respighi was one of Italy’s greatest composers of instrumental music. However, he also wrote monumental operas. Finally, we can experience his greatest work, LA FIAMMA.

Disinclination: this was the composer Ottorino Respighi’s excuse not to attend an appointment for which some of his colleagues would have traded their father’s and mother’s souls. He was invited to visit Benito Mussolini at the Palazzo Venezia in Rome. He would not have to travel far; he had been living in the Italian capital since 1913. Respighi, however, whined: “He’s very busy? And I have nothing to say to him. Why should I go. No, I won’t go,” his wife Elsa reported him saying. She had to report to the heart of Fascist power to make apologies for her husband.

This story can be found in Elsa’s biography of Respighi. It was written in the 1950s, when Respighi’s star was fading. Not least because composers like he, who had been successful under the Fascist regime, were increasingly discredited. Elsa told the anecdote to defend her husband against the accusation of collaboration. She did so tirelessly until her death in 1996, at 102 years of age. Ottorino Respighi lived most of his mature years under Fascism. He was courted and honoured by the leaders of the state. It was no coincidence that in Rome in 1934, Mussolini attended the world premiere of the opera which now opens the 2024/25 season of the Deutsche Oper Berlin: LA FIAMMA – The Flame. It was first heard in Berlin in 1936, the year of the Olympic Games. Nevertheless, simple conclusions should be eschewed. The Duce’s applause at the celebrated premiere did not automatically make Respighi a Fascist artist. It is far more complicated than that. Fortunately.

Respighi was born in Bologna in 1879. The family was arts-minded, yet he was not a child prodigy. He attended the conservatory, beginning to compose at the age of 15. In 1902/03, he worked as a violist in St. Petersburg, taking lessons from Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. Both shared a weakness for oriental subjects and sounds. Respighi perfected his technique of instrumentation with Rimsky-Korsakov; the influence of Wagner, Strauss and Debussy is also obvious. The result is a sound which today often elicits the response: “Sounds like a film score.” For the longest time, that was a damning verdict. For a Respighi renaissance yet to come, however, it might prove an advantage. Respighi also seemed to compose as if to an inner film. The famous tone poems “Fontane di Roma” and “Pini di Roma” describe scenes in Rome. In his “Impressione brasiliane”, poisonous snakes writhe; the “Vetrate di chiesa” depict the lives of the saints. Yet one must know this: many of these settings were thought up after the fact. Respighi, Elsa and his librettist and friend Claudio Guastalla would sit together, coming up with programmes and titles for works already written. That is the opposite of film music – but it is effective marketing.

Like all composers of his generation, Respighi laboured to secure the future of Italian music. This musical nationalism was an international phenomenon. Arnold Schoenberg also declared dodecaphony “an invention which will secure German music’s predominance for the next one hundred years”. The Italians strove to weaken opera’s rank as the dominant art form. Puccini’s works were actually frowned upon as “internationalistic”. Respighi did not join some of his colleagues in their furor; he did not contribute to the flood of pamphlets condemning the “melodramma” and glorifying instrumental music. He was suspicious of music theories. Nonetheless, if he wanted to be taken seriously, he had to write instrumental music.

By way of preparation, he delved into infinite amounts of ancient music. These studies explain the formal variety of his compositions and his affinity for writing short works. Even his great tone poems are sequences of pieces assembled like baroque suites. His “Fontane di Roma” was a “succès d’estime” in Rome in 1916, only becoming a triumph when Arturo Toscanini conducted it at La Scala in Milan the following year. Respighi was suddenly famous. The new Italian musical style was born. His reputation was cemented by “Pini di Roma” of 1924 and “Feste romane” of 1927. To this day, these works are played; all his other compositions have a hard time. Especially his ten operas. One of the reasons is that his cinematically expansive sound doesn’t even sound all that “Italian” to today’s ears. One hundred years ago, there was no doubt about his Italianità. Ancient church modes and Gregorian chant played a key role. To his contemporaries, monkish chant was the oldest and purest manifestation of Italian music.

When Mussolini took power in 1922, Respighi was already established. There is not one written line of text in which he praised fascism. Criticism, however, is equally absent. Respighi also accepted honours, such as a seat in the Accademia d’Italia. His nomination was a memorable event. The composer Don Lorenzo Perosi recommended him with the words: “I nominate Maestro Respighi, for he speaks seven languages and is a vegetarian.” Pietro Mascagni, who had tried to prevent his appointment because Respighi was not a political hardliner, looked perplexed. No one today doubts Mascagni’s bowing and scraping to power during the fascist era. Yet no one wants to forego a hit such as CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA. Even the politically correct music world has always worshipped at the altar of creators of repertoire works.

The Accademia, whose members included the radio pioneer Marconi and the Nobel Prize winner for literature Pirandello, was not a relative of the German “Reichskulturkammer”, where National Socialism had declared the bad taste of the Führer the yardstick for all artistic questions, persecuting everything Hitler disliked. Italian fascism, on the other hand, demanded allegiance, but the style and means in which the artists contributed to Italy’s glory were not very important. None of the leading composers saw any reason to emigrate. Even in 1940, at the Maggio musicale fiorentino, a festival founded by the Fascists, Luigi Dallapiccola’s “Volo di Notte” was performed. It is a dodecaphonic work. The Nazis, meanwhile, considered dodecaphony “degenerate”.

Only from 1938 onwards, when the German racial laws were introduced in Italy, did some artists change their mind. At the world premiere of LA FIAMMA in 1934, however, Respighi shared the stage with his Jewish librettist Guastalla; together, they took more than two dozen curtain calls. Which position might he have taken later vis-à-vis Guastalla? Respighi died unexpectedly in 1936, at the age of 57.

Thus, LA FIAMMA is not a legacy, but the sum of his creativity. It is an opera which would be unimaginable today: a true melodrama. The first measures of the three-act work are reminiscent of TOSCA. Only a few moments into the opera, the listener knows: this will not end well. The story is about unhappy marriage and illicit love, set before a backdrop of witch-hunts. As a movie, this would be the grandest of cinemascope stories. Nothing more grandiose had been written since the end of Act I of TURANDOT. The opera is set in the Byzantian Ravenna in the 7th century, an epoch Respighi was itching to have his way with, musically speaking. Thus, the literary model was antedated by a meagre 900 years. Orchestra and chorus soar and roar. The opera is full of oriental sounds, Latin chants, veristic cantilenas and Monteverdian monodies. The sound is sombre, archaic, ever earnest and highly dramatic. And does it all hang together? It does.

Critics celebrated Respighi for adding to Italy’s glory. But what did the composer do? He immediately veered off the path of success. His next opera, LUCREZIA, has one act, takes an hour and calls itself an “istoria”, a story. The action on stage is recounted by a voice from the orchestra pit. Did Respighi distance himself from himself? Or was he keeping others at arm’s length? Presumably, he was just insisting on a great artist’s right to make independent decisions.

Dr. Thomas Vitzthum is a political correspondent and head of the Berlin office of the Mediengruppe Bayern. He wrote his doctoral thesis on nationalism in Italian music during Fascism, in particular the case of Respighi.

Translation: Alexa Nieschlag

Enter Onepager
1

slide_title_1

slide_description_1

slide_headline_2
2

slide_title_2

slide_description_2

slide_headline_3
3

slide_title_3

slide_description_3

slide_headline_4
4

slide_title_4

slide_description_4

Create / edit OnePager

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld





Newsletter

Die Summe seines Schaffens - Deutsche Oper Berlin

Die Summe seines Schaffens

Ottorino Respighi war einer der größten Komponisten von Instrumentalmusik Italiens. Aber er schrieb auch monumentale Opern. Endlich können wir mit LA FIAMMA sein größtes Werk erleben

Unlust: Die schob der Komponist Ottorino Respighi vor, um einen Termin nicht wahrnehmen zu müssen, für den Kollegen Vater und Mutter verkauft hätten. Er war bei Benito Mussolini im Palazzo Venezia in Rom eingeladen. Weit hatte er es nicht, er wohnte seit 1913 in der italienischen Hauptstadt. Respighi aber quengelte. »Er hat viel zu tun? Und ich habe ihm nichts zu sagen. Warum sollte ich hingehen? Nein, ich gehe nicht«, berichtet seine Frau Elsa. Sie musste ins Herz des faschistischen Machtapparats fahren, um ihren Mann zu entschuldigen.

Diese Geschichte findet sich in der Respighi-Biografie Elsas. Entstanden ist sie in den 50er Jahren, als der Stern Respighis zu sinken begann. Nicht zuletzt, weil Komponisten wie er, die im Faschismus Erfolge feierten, in Misskredit gerieten. Elsa erzählte die Anekdote, um ihren Mann gegen den Vorwurf der Kollaboration in Schutz zu nehmen. Sie tat das fortwährend bis zu ihrem Tod 1996 mit 102 Jahren. Den größten Teil seiner Reifejahre lebte Ottorino Respighi im Faschismus. Von der Staatsführung wurde er hofiert, geehrt. Nicht von ungefähr war Mussolini 1934 in Rom Gast der Uraufführung jener Oper, welche die Spielzeit 2024/25 der Deutschen Oper Berlin eröffnet: LA FIAMMA – Die Flamme. Erstmals zu hören war das Werk in Berlin 1936, im Jahr der olympischen Spiele. Doch Vorsicht vor einfachen Schlussfolgerungen. Der Applaus des Duce bei der umjubelten Premiere macht Respighi nicht automatisch zu einem faschistischen Künstler. Es ist viel komplizierter. Zum Glück.

Respighi wurde 1879 in Bologna geboren. Die Familie war kunstsinnig. Ein Wunderkind war er aber nicht. Er besuchte das Konservatorium, begann sich mit 15 Jahren mit Komposition zu beschäftigen. 1902/03 war er als Bratschist in St. Petersburg tätig und nahm Stunden bei Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow. Beide teilen das Faible für orientalische Sujets und Klänge. Respighi perfektionierte bei ihm seine Instrumentationstechnik, die zudem stark von Wagner, Strauss und Debussy beeinflusst ist. Heraus kam ein Sound, dem man heute attestiert: »Klingt ja wie Filmmusik«. Allzu lange war das ein Verdikt. Für eine kommende Respighi-Renaissance könnte es sich indes als Vorteil erweisen. Respighi komponierte auch scheinbar filmisch. Die berühmten Tondichtungen »Fontane di Roma« und »Pini di Roma« beschreiben Szenerien in Rom. In den »Impressione brasiliane« winden sich Giftschlangen, in den »Vetrate di chiesa« wird das Leben von Heiligen dargestellt. Doch muss man eines wissen: Viele Settings wurden nachträglich ersonnen. Da brüteten Respighi, Elsa und sein Librettist und Freund Claudio Guastalla Programme und Titel für Werke aus, die schon geschrieben waren. Das ist das Gegenteil von Filmmusik, aber marketingorientiert.

Wie alle Komponisten seiner Generation rang Respighi darum, die italienische Musik zukunftsfest zu machen. Dieser musikalische Nationalismus war länderübergreifend. Arnold Schönberg erklärte die Zwölftonmusik auch zu »einer Erfindung, die die Vorherrschaft der deutschen Musik für die nächsten hundert Jahre sichert«. Die Italiener wollten sich vor allem von der Oper als maßgeblicher Kunstform verabschieden. Die Werke Puccinis waren gar als »internationalistisch« verpönt. Respighi machte sich den Furor einiger Kollegen nicht zu eigen; zur Fülle an Pamphleten, die das »Melodramma« verdammten und die Instrumentalmusik verklärten, trug er nichts bei. Musiktheorien waren ihm suspekt. Doch wollte er ernst genommen werden, musste er Instrumentalmusik schreiben.

Zur Vorbereitung vertiefte er sich in Berge alter Musik. Diese Auseinandersetzung erklärt den Formenreichtum seiner Kompositionen und den Hang zu kurzen Werken. Selbst seine großen Tondichtungen sind wie barocke Suiten aus Stücken montiert. Mit den »Fontane di Roma« gelang ihm 1916 in Rom ein Achtungserfolg, der ein Jahr darauf unter Arturo Toscanini an der Mailänder Scala zu einem Triumph wurde. Respighi wurde schlagartig berühmt. Die neue italienische Musik war geboren. Mit den »Pini di Roma« von 1924 und den »Feste romane« von 1927 manifestierte sich sein Ruf. Diese Werke werden bis heute gespielt, alles andere hat es schwer. Besonders seine zehn Opern. Das liegt auch daran, dass sein Breitwandsound für heutige Ohren gar nicht so »italienisch« klingt. Vor hundert Jahren gab es an der Italianità keine Zweifel. Eine Schlüsselrolle spielten die alten Kirchentonarten sowie die Gregorianik. Für die Zeitgenossen war der Mönchsgesang die älteste und reinste Manifestation italienischer Musik.

Als Mussolini ab 1922 die Macht übernahm, war Respighi schon etabliert. Es findet sich von ihm keine Zeile, in der er den Faschismus preist. Kritik aber findet sich ebenso wenig. Respighi nahm auch Ehrungen, wie den Sitz in der Accademia d’Italia, an. Seine Nominierung war denkwürdig. Der Komponist Don Lorenzo Perosi empfahl ihn mit den Worten: »Ich schlage Maestro Respighi vor, denn er spricht sieben Sprachen und ist Vegetarier.« Pietro Mascagni, der versucht hatte, ihn als nicht linientreu zu verhindern, guckte konsterniert. Bei Mascagni fragt heute keiner nach seinen vielen Katzbuckeleien im Faschismus. Auf einen Hit wie CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA will man halt nicht verzichten. Vor den Schöpfern von Repertoirewerken geht die politisch korrekte Musikwelt seit jeher in die Knie.

Die Accademia, der etwa der Radiopionier Marconi oder der Literaturnobelpreisträger Pirandello angehörten, war keine Art Reichskulturkammer. Der Nationalsozialismus hatte den schlechten Geschmack seines Führers zum Maß aller künstlerischen Dinge erklärt und verfolgte alles, was Hitler missfiel. Der italienische Faschismus hingegen verlangte zwar Gefolgschaft, aber ihm waren Stil und Mittel, mit denen die Künstler zum Ruhm Italiens beitrugen, eher einerlei. Ein Motiv zur Emigration sah keiner der wichtigen Tonsetzer. Noch 1940 kam beim von den Faschisten gegründeten Maggio musicale fiorentino etwa »Volo di Notte« von Luigi Dallapiccola zur Aufführung. Ein Werk der Zwölftonmusik. Die galt unter den Nazis als »entartet«.

Erst ab 1938, als in Italien die deutschen Rassegesetze galten, fand bei einigen Künstlern ein Umdenken statt. Doch bei der Uraufführung der FIAMMA 1934 stand Respighi noch mit seinem jüdischen Librettisten Guastalla auf der Bühne und ließ sich mehr als zwei Dutzend Mal hervorrufen. Wie hätte er sich später zu Guastalla gestellt? Respighi starb 1936 unerwartet mit 57 Jahren.

LA FIAMMA ist also kein Vermächtnis, sondern die Summe seines Schaffens. Es ist eine Oper, wie sie eigentlich nicht mehr denkbar war: ein echtes Melodramma. Die ersten Takte des Dreiakters erinnern an TOSCA. Nach wenigen Augenblicken weiß der Hörer: Das geht gar nicht gut aus. Die Geschichte handelt von unglücklicher Heirat und unerlaubter Liebe vor dem Hintergrund der Hexenverfolgung. Das Werk wäre als Film ganz großes Kino. Gewaltigeres als der Schluss des 1. Aktes war seit TURANDOT nicht geschrieben worden. Die Oper spielt im 7. Jahrhundert im byzantinischen Ravenna, weil Respighi scharf darauf war, sich in dieser Epoche musikalisch auszutoben. Also wurde die Vorlage um schlappe 900 Jahre vordatiert. Das Orchester und der Chor sausen und brausen. Die Oper ist voller orientalischer Klänge, lateinischer Gesänge, veristischer Kantilenen und monteverdianischer Monodien. Der Ton ist düster, archaisch, immer ernst und hochdramatisch. Und das geht alles zusammen? Tut es.

Die Kritik feierte Respighi, er habe den Ruhm Italiens gemehrt. Doch was tat der Komponist? Verließ den Erfolgspfad sofort wieder. Seine nächste Oper LUCREZIA hat einen Akt, dauert eine Stunde und nennt sich »Istoria«, Geschichte. Das Geschehen auf der Bühne wird von einer Stimme aus dem Orchestergraben erzählt. Hat sich Respighi von sich selbst distanziert? Oder hielt er andere auf Distanz? Wahrscheinlich bestand er auf dem Recht des großen Künstlers, unabhängige Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Dr. Thomas Vitzthum ist politischer Korrespondent und Büroleiter des Hauptstadtbüros der Mediengruppe Bayern in Berlin. Er promovierte über den Nationalismus in der Musik Italiens während des Faschismus, im Speziellen bei Respighi.

OnePager Projekt starten
1

Wählen Sie den Namen der neuen Page

Zusammen mit der Adresse (URL) der Basisseite ist Ihr Projekt sofort unter dieser neuen Internetadresse verfügbar.

weitere Infos

Editor Mode
2

Inhalte nach Ihren Vorstellungen einrichten.

Erste Daten, Bilder, Videos sowie persönlichen Daten haben wir bereits für Sie als Beispiel hinterlegt.

weitere Infos

Seitenbereiche / Slides
3

Jedes Slide hat einen eigenen Editor

Mit dem Wechsel eines Slide wird der zugehörige Editor eingeblendet. Auf der rechten Seite bearbeiten Sie die Inhalte.

weitere Infos

Erneut bearbeiten
4

Verborgener Button links unten in der Ecke

Via MouseOver wird der Button für den Editor Mode sichtbar, um Inhalte später erneut anpassen zu können.

weitere Infos

OnePager anlegen / bearbeiten