Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
29. Nov

DE|EN

Nine questions for ... Doris Soffel

Doris Soffel requests the pleasure for an evening of songs ranging from Mahler to Weill. The mezzo-soprano explains her choice of works and also reflects on the Deutsche Oper Berlin, New Music and more.

Song recital: Doris Soffel
Her last performance was as Madame Louise in Glanert's OCEANE at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. Now she shows her skills and versatility as an Lied interpreter with works by Gustav Mahler, Jean Sibelius, Richard Strauss, George Gershwin and Kurt Weill.
2 December 2021 / Foyer

Songs are quite an intimate genre. How do you connect with the audience?
I bare my soul. Which is exactly what people expect from me when I give a concert.

What do you love about the lieder of the 19th and early 20th century?
The Romantic period was an era of fantastic musicality. You had amazing poetry fusing with amazing music and producing little gems of uplifting art.

You’re doing Romantic lieder this time round, but you’re steeped in full-blown opera as well. What are the key differences between the two?
If you’re in the middle of an opera run, you shouldn’t try to slip in a quick concert of lieder along the way. Voice-wise, head-wise, heart-wise, they’re two distinct disciplines. If I’m doing self-contained songs, I usually want to be preparing on my own beforehand. I’m singer, director and dramaturg all rolled into one. I have totally free rein – and I select only songs that I love at that moment. So if you ask me, it’s all about intimacy and closeness.

Concerts are coming back after the lay-off. What are you most looking forward to?
To the musical life that happens onstage and backstage. All the fringe stuff is part of the music too, right down to the talking that goes on after a concert. During lockdown I held off from posting private performances on YouTube and Insta. I’ve always focused on doing concerts in the flesh and preparing for them accordingly – and now at last they’re back. It’s hugely inspiring, seeing the reactions on people’s faces.

You’re familiar with the world’s major venues. What sticks in your mind about the Deutsche Oper Berlin?
In my mind the functional architecture represents the emphasis placed by the venue on content and substance. There’s a tendency to opt for the spectacular in opera-house design, although actually it’s the music which should be the centre of attention. That’s how it is at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. The acoustics are out of this world.

What special memories do you have of the venue?
Götz Friedrich, who was Artistic Director and also the Principal Director for many years, was a very important figure for me. I sang in his PARSIFAL, I sang Fricka in his RING. I was part of two of his productions in Stuttgart: COSI FAN TUTTE and his first version of ROSENKAVALIER. He was old school, always knew exactly what he wanted, had done all his homework and expected nothing but the best from all of us. In a word: demanding – and I liked that.

You’ve always been a champion of contemporary works. What’s the significance of New Music to you?
I think people should be open to new ways of doing stuff. I’ve always been curious and wanted to hold on to my creativity. ‘New Music’ is perfect for that. To me it’s not that difficult – although you hear a lot of artists describing it as that. Aribert Reimann, the composer, wrote a coloratura role for me – Cassandra in his TROADES opera. That was one of things in my career that have meant the most to me.

You have often criticised the industry for burning through young singers too early in their trajectories. What advice would you give to young, up-and-coming singers?
Don’t rush things! A lot of singers take on difficult parts before they’re ready, when their voice actually needs time to mature. I mean, anyone who loves singing is going to be trilling away in pretty much all their waking hours; what’s important is that while you’re doing that you’re working on your technique. A young stripling shouldn’t be tackling Wagner right away. I, too, spent a long time graduating to Wagner. I did Händel and Rossini coloratura, honed my breathing, watched out not to strain my vocal cords. It’s like dribbling in football: you don’t train for that by body-building; you’re loose and relaxed, dancing almost, moving forwards step by step.

Many composers of lieder are known to have been melancholic or depressive. Mahler, Schubert, Schumann, etc. What’s your recipe for staying chirpy?
Singing! And anyway, being down is part of being alive. The poems that the great song composers set to music are drenched in sensibility and some of them are downright dark and desolate, but sad songs don’t necessarily make me sad singing them or people sad listening to them. The magic of the music always lights up our lives.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
29. Nov

DE|EN

Neun Fragen an ... Doris Soffel

Doris Soffel gibt einen Liederabend mit Liedern von Mahler bis Weill. Die Mezzosopranistin erklärt ihre Auswahl und spricht außerdem über die deutsche Oper Berlin, Neue Musik und mehr

Liederabend: Doris Soffel
Zuletzt stand die Mezzosopranistin als Madame Louise in Glanerts OCEANE auf der Bühne der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Nun zeigt sie ihr Können und ihre Wandlungsfähigkeit als Liedgestalterin mit Werken von Gustav Mahler, Jean Sibelius, Richard Strauss, George Gershwin und Kurt Weill.
2. Dezember 2021 / Foyer

Lieder sind eine intime Kunstform. Wie stellen Sie Nähe zum Publikum her?
Ich lege meine Seele aufs Silbertablett; und gerade dies erwartet das Publikum bei einem Liederabend von mir.

Was lieben Sie am Liedgut des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts?
Die Romantik war eine Zeit großartiger Musikalität. Geniale Gedichte verschmelzen mit genialer Musik, auf kleinstem Raum entstehen ergreifende Kunstwerke.

Sie geben nun romantische Lieder, sind auch versiert in großer Oper. Wie unterscheiden sich die Welten?
Wer gerade eine Opernserie singt, sollte nicht zwischendurch mal schnell  einen Liederabend geben. Das sind unterschiedliche Dinge; für Stimme, Kopf und Herz. Auf die Form Lied muss ich mich in aller Ruhe vorher einstimmen. Für den Abend bin ich Sängerin, Regisseurin und Dramaturgin in einem, ich interpretiere frei – und ich wähle nur Lieder, die ich jetzt liebe. Ich glaube also, es geht um Intimität und Nähe. 

Der Konzertbetrieb lebt wieder auf. Worauf freuen Sie sich?
Auf das Musikleben auf und hinter der Bühne; das ganze Drumherum gehört zur Musik, bis hin zur Plauderei nach dem Konzert.  Ich habe  während des Lockdowns darauf verzichtet, private Youtube- und Instagram-Einspielungen  zu posten.  Meine Konzentration und Vorbereitung galt immer echten Konzerten, nun finden sie endlich wieder statt. Die Reaktionen in den Gesichtern der Menschen zu sehen, das ist sehr inspirierend.

Sie kennen die großen Bühnen der Welt. Was ist an der Deutschen Oper Berlin besonders?
Die funktionelle Architektur symbolisiert für mich die Konzentration auf den Inhalt. Heute werden Opernhäuser oft möglichst spektakulär gebaut, aber eigentlich sollte die Musik die Hauptrolle spielen. An der Deutschen Oper Berlin ist das so, die Akustik ist fantastisch.

Welche Erinnerungen verbinden Sie mit dem Haus?
Der langjährige Generalintendant und Chefregisseur Götz Friedrich war sehr wichtig für mich. In seinem PARSIFAL sang ich, in seinem RING die Fricka. Mit ihm habe ich in Stuttgart zwei Produktionen gemacht, COSI FAN TUTTE und seinen ersten ROSENKAVALIER. Er war ein Regisseur alter Schule, hatte immer ein klares Konzept, war unglaublich gut vorbereitet und forderte sehr viel von uns allen. Er war eben anspruchsvoll, das gefiel mir.

Sie haben sich stets für zeitgenössische Werke eingesetzt. Was bedeutet Ihnen Neue Musik?
Ich finde, man sollte offen für das Neue sein, war immer neugierig, wollte kreativ bleiben. Die so genannte Neue Musik ist dafür ideal, ich empfinde sie nicht als schwierig, auch wenn man das von anderen Künstlern oft hört. Der Komponist Aribert Reimann hat mir eine Koloraturpartie geschrieben, die Kassandra aus seiner Oper TROADES. Das war ein großer persönlicher Höhepunkt.

Sie haben oft beklagt, dass Gesangstalente heute zu schnell verheizt werden. Ihr Tipp für den Nachwuchs?
Lasst Euch Zeit! Viele Sängerinnen und Sänger treffen zu früh auf zu schwierige Rollen. Aber die Entwicklung der Stimme braucht Zeit. Wer das Singen liebt, singt ja fast den ganzen Tag. Das wichtigste dabei ist, an seiner Technik zu arbeiten.  Wagner zu singen, sollte ein junger Mensch nicht gleich anstreben. Auch ich habe langsam darauf hingearbeitet, damit meine Stimme sich in dieses schwere Fach hinein entwickeln konnte. Ich habe Händel- und Rossini-Koloraturen gesungen, meine Atem-Technik perfektioniert, die Stimmbänder nie überstrapaziert. Es ist wie Dribbeln im Fußball, locker trainieren, nicht mit Kraft, step by step, elegant vorwärts tänzeln.

Viele Liedkomponisten galten als traurig bis depressiv, Mahler, Schubert, Schumann etwa. Was ist Ihr Rezept, um bei guter Stimmung zu bleiben?
Singen! Und abgesehen davon gehört das Traurigsein zum Leben. Die Gedichte, die unsere großen Lied-Komponisten vertont haben, stecken voll tiefer Empfindungen, manche sind richtig düster, aber ein trauriges Lied muss nicht traurig machen, weder mich als Sängerin noch meine Zuhörer. Der Zauber der Musik bringt doch immer Licht in unser Leben.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld