Aviel Cahn takes over as Artistic Director of Deutsche Oper Berlin

Press statement by Senate Department for Culture and Europe, 6th February 2023

The Board of the Berlin Opera Foundation today ratified the contract appointing Dr. Aviel Cahn as Artistic Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin from 1st August 2026. He will succeed Dietmar Schwarz, whose contract runs until the summer of 2025. The Board’s decision is in line with a recommendation of the advisory body set up by the Board’s chairman, Senator Dr. Klaus Lederer. The body was made up of Irene Bazinger, Amelie Deuflhard, Sarah Wedl-Wilson, Sir Donald Runnicles, Jossi Wieler and Klaus Lederer.

Aviel Cahn is currently General Manager of the Grand Théâtre de Genève. In 2009, following spells at the China National Symphony Orchestra in Peking, the Finnish National Opera in Helsinki and the Stadttheater Bern, he became Artistic Director of the Opera Vlaanderen Antwerpen/Gent, a position he held until 2019. Aviel Cahn is President of the European Academy for Music Theatre, based in Vienna, and is a visiting lecturer at the University of Vienna and the Mozarteum Salzburg.

Senator for Culture Dr. Klaus Lederer: “I am delighted that the Board of the Berlin Opera Foundation has acted on the recommendation of the advisory body set up by me in unanimously voting to ratify a contract with Dr. Aviel Cahn. Berlin has secured the services of a hugely creative personality as future Artistic Director of the largest of its three opera house.”

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field





Newsletter

Aviel Cahn übernimmt Intendanz der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Pressemitteilung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa vom 6. Februar 2023

Der Stiftungsrat der Stiftung Oper in Berlin hat in seiner heutigen Sitzung dem Abschluss des Vertrages mit Herrn Dr. Aviel Cahn als Intendant der Deutschen Oper Berlin ab dem 1. August 2026 zugestimmt. Er tritt damit die Nachfolge von Dietmar Schwarz an, dessen Vertrag im Sommer 2025 endet. Der Stiftungsrat folgt damit einer Empfehlung des vom Vorsitzenden des Stiftungsrates, Senator Dr. Klaus Lederer, eingesetzten Beratungsgremiums. Dem Gremium gehörten Irene Bazinger, Amelie Deuflhard, Sarah Wedl-Wilson, Sir Donald Runnicles, Jossi Wieler und Klaus Lederer an.

Aviel Cahn leitet derzeit als Generaldirektor das Grand Théâtre de Genève. Nach Stationen u.a. beim China National Symphony Orchestra in Peking, an der Finnischen Nationaloper Helsinki und am Stadttheater Bern übernahm er 2009 die Leitung der Opera Vlaanderen Antwerpen/Gent, deren Intendant er bis 2019 war. Aviel Cahn ist Präsident der Europäischen Musiktheater-Akademie mit Sitz in Wien und gastiert als Dozent an der Universität Wien und am Mozarteum Salzburg.

Kultursenator Dr. Klaus Lederer: „Ich freue mich sehr, dass der Stiftungsrat der Stiftung Oper in Berlin der Empfehlung des von mir eingesetzten Beratungsgremiums gefolgt ist und dem Abschluss eines Vertrages mit Dr. Aviel Cahn einvernehmlich zugestimmt hat. Damit konnte Berlin eine außerordentlich kreative Persönlichkeit als künftigen Intendanten für das größte seiner drei Opernhäuser gewinnen.“

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld





Newsletter