Nabucco

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

06
Tuesday
December
19:30 - 22:15
C-Prices: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Buy tickets
Information about the work

Dramma lirico in four parts
Libretto by Temistocle Solera
First performed on 9. March, 1842 at Milan
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 8. September, 2013

Recommended from 14 years on

2 hrs 45 mins / 1 interval

In Italian language with German and English surtitles

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance

Share this post
Cast
supported by

Kindly supported by Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.

06
Tuesday
December
19:30 - 22:15
C-Prices: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Buy tickets
Cast
the content

“Va, pensiero, sull’ali dorate” – Take flight, thought, on golden wings”. When those words first rang out in the Milan Scala on 9th March 1842, sung by the Hebrew slaves chorus in the third act of NABUCCO, Giuseppe Verdi's new opera, the master was making history. The “Slaves Chorus” was quickly adopted as the unofficial national anthem of a not-yet-unified Italy and the hopes of a generation of opera-goers were suddenly vested in the young composer.

The dramatic tale of Israelite subjugation under the Babylonian yoke of King Nebuchadnezzar remains one of Verdi's best-known operas and was last staged at the Deutsche Oper Berlin by Hans Neuenfels 13 years ago. In Verdi's anniversary year 2013 the material was being rendered by Keith Warner, one of the big names in international opera. The Englishman has directed LOHENGRIN at the Bayreuth Festival and THE RING OF THE NIBELUNG at Covent Garden and more recently for the Copenhagen Opera. Set in the same period that the piece was written, a time of transition from feudalism to a bourgeois, industrialising society, Warner's NABUCCO focuses on the opposing natures of two nations – the modern Hebrews, whose culture is informed by a script and by education as a democratic ideal, and the militaristic Babylonians, whose concept of a state is founded in autocratic rule.

Our recommendations

La forza del destino
Rigoletto
Simon Boccanegra
La traviata

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

02
DEC

Advent Calendar in the Foyer: The 2nd Door

Today in the foyer: The Small and Large Chorus of the Children's Chorus sings Christmas carols
17.00 hrs / Rank foyer on the right
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


Around 150 active singers make up our Children's Chorus, which is an important and heavily involved ensemble partner in numerous operas. Its members come together at least twice a week to make music under the direction of Christian Lindhorst. In its performances and concerts on stage, in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie or at other events, the Children's Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin spans the spectrum from baroque to modern.

In the course of the 2022/23 season, the children and young people aged 9 to 16 will appear on the stage of the house in CARMEN, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA and TURANDOT as well as in the new production of MATTHEW PASSION. And on 18 December 2022, the chorus will take a trip to St. Paul the Apostle Church in Schöneberg, where it will join the Kammersymphonie Berlin for a Christmas programme "In dulci jubilo" with works by Michael Haydn, Johannes Brahms, Michael Praetorius and Gottfried August Homilius, among others.

Today's programme includes Advent and Christmas carols such as "Jetzt ist wieder Weihnacht da" or "Lied von den Schneeflocken".

The children's chorus is sponsored by Dobolino e.V. and Engel & Völkers.

Nabucco

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

06
Dienstag
Dezember
19:30 - 22:15
C-Preise: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Karten kaufen
Informationen zum Werk

Dramma lirico in vier Teilen
Libretto von Temistocle Solera
Uraufführung am 9. März 1842 in Mailand
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 8. September 2013

empfohlen ab 14 Jahren

2 Stunden 45 Minuten / Eine Pause

In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
Unterstützt von

Mit Unterstützung des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.

06
Dienstag
Dezember
19:30 - 22:15
C-Preise: € 100,00 / € 82,00 / € 58,00 / € 34,00 / € 24,00
Karten kaufen
Besetzung
zum Inhalt

„Va, pensiero, sull’ali dorate“ – „Flieg‘, Gedanke, auf goldenen Flügeln“ – als der Chor der Mailänder Scala am 9. März 1842 zum ersten Mal die Zeilen des Hebräerchors im dritten Akt von Giuseppe Verdis neuer Oper NABUCCO intonierte, schrieb er ein Stück Musikgeschichte. Der „Gefangenenchor“ wird noch heute von vielen Italienern für die Nationalhymne ihres Landes gehalten und der junge Komponist wurde zum Hoffnungsträger der Opernszene.

Das Drama um die babylonische Gefangenschaft des Volkes Israel unter König Nebukadnezar ist eine der beliebtesten Opern Verdis und wurde an der Deutschen Oper Berlin zuletzt vor 13 Jahren von Hans Neuenfels kontrovers in Szene gesetzt. Im Verdi-Jahr 2013 stellte mit Keith Warner einer der bekanntesten Regisseure der internationalen Opernszene seine Annäherung an den Stoff vor: Der Brite inszenierte unter anderem LOHENGRIN bei den Bayreuther Festspielen und den RING DES NIBELUNGEN an Covent Garden und leitete zuletzt die Oper Kopenhagen. Orientiert an der Entstehungszeit des Stückes, die durch den Umbruch von feudalen Strukturen zur bürgerlich-industriellen Gesellschaft geprägt war, stellt Warner den Gegensatz zweier Völker in den Vordergrund seiner Inszenierung: der Hebräer, deren Kultur durch Schrift und ein demokratisches Bildungsideal geprägt ist, und der militaristischen Babylonier, deren Staatsverständnis auf einem autokratischen Herrschaftssystem beruht.

Unsere Empfehlungen

La forza del destino
Rigoletto
Simon Boccanegra
La traviata

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

02
DEZ

Adventskalender im Foyer: Das 2. Fensterchen

Heute im Foyer: Der Kleine und Große Chor des Kinderchors singt weihnachtliche Lieder
17.00 Uhr / Rang-Foyer rechts
Dauer: ca. 25 Minuten / Eintritt frei


Rund 150 aktive Sänger und Sängerinnen bilden unseren Kinderchor, der in zahlreichen Opern ein wichtiger und stark eingebundener Ensemblepartner ist. Mindestens zweimal in der Woche kommen seine Mitglieder zusammen, um unter Leitung von Christian Lindhorst zu musizieren. Bei seinen Aufführungen und Konzerten auf der Bühne, im Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie oder bei anderen Veranstaltungen schlägt der Kinderchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin einen Bogen vom Barock bis zur Moderne.

Im Laufe der Saison 2022/23 stehen die Kinder und Jugendlichen im Alter von 9 bis 16 Jahren in CARMEN, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA und TURANDOT sowie in der Neuproduktion der MATTHÄUS-PASSION auf der Bühne des Hauses. Und am 18. Dezember 2022 unternimmt der Chor eine Reise in die Apostel-Paulus-Kirche in Schöneberg, wo er zusammen mit der Kammersymphonie Berlin ein weihnachtliches Programm „In dulci jubilo“ mit Werken von u. a. Michael Haydn, Johannes Brahms, Michael Praetorius und Gottfried August Homilius gestaltet.

Heute stehen Advents- und Weihnachtslieder auf dem Programm wie „Jetzt ist wieder Weihnacht da“ oder „Lied von den Schneeflocken“.

Der Kinderchor wird gefördert von Dobolino e.V. und Engel & Völkers.