World premiere

Il Teorema di Pasolini

Giorgio Battistelli [*1953]

09
Friday
June
19:30 - 22:15
D-Prices: € 136,– / € 100,– / € 72,– / € 44,– / € 26,–
Buy tickets
Information about the work

Music theatre by Giorgio Battistelli
Libretto by Giorgio Battistelli freely adapted from the film of the same name by Pier Paolo Pasolini
Premiere on 9 June 2023 at the Deutsche Oper Berlin

recommended from 16 years

approx. 1 hrs 45 mins / no interval

In Italian language with German and English surtitles

Share this post
Cast
supported by

Supported by Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V. Composed for the Deutsche Oper Berlin with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. Presented by rbb Kultur, Siegessäule and taz

09
Friday
June
19:30 - 22:15
D-Prices: € 136,– / € 100,– / € 72,– / € 44,– / € 26,–
Buy tickets
Cast
the content

With his 1968 film »Teorema«, also released as a novel, Pier Paolo Pasolini articulated his radical reckoning with the bourgeoisie. The film and the book revolve around an upper-class family that is prevented from falling apart only by conventions. Despite this weakness, only the erotic charisma of a stranger proves able to bring this fossilised system to its knees. This makes »Teorema« the most compelling expression of Pasolini’s underpinning theory that social change and the sexual emancipation of the individual are linked – even if the »sexual awakenings« experienced by family members trigger a variety of reactions.

Composer Giorgio Battistelli, one of the most important living Italian composers, with operas such as RICHARD III and most recently GIULIO CESARE to his name, has been fascinated by »Teorema« ever since 1992, the year that he first set the source material to music, as a chamber opera with mute actors, for the Munich Biennale, at the suggestion of his mentor Hans Werner Henze. Now, thirty years later, Battistelli has rendered Pasolini’s »Teorema« in full-blown operatic form.

With IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI the Irish collective Dead Centre makes its debut in Berlin. The directorial team has long made an international name for itself in staged works of drama, which have been performed at venues such as the Wiener Burgtheater. Following on from their production of Olga Neuwirth’s BÄHLAMMS FEST at the Ruhrtriennale, they now present their second work of opera.

Our articles on the subject

The Maestro turns cinema into opera
With fresh, Irish bitterness

Our recommendations

Opera Lecture: Il Teorema di Pasolini

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

02
DEC

Advent Calendar in the Foyer: The 2nd Door

Today in the foyer: The Small and Large Chorus of the Children's Chorus sings Christmas carols
17.00 hrs / Rank foyer on the right
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


Around 150 active singers make up our Children's Chorus, which is an important and heavily involved ensemble partner in numerous operas. Its members come together at least twice a week to make music under the direction of Christian Lindhorst. In its performances and concerts on stage, in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie or at other events, the Children's Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin spans the spectrum from baroque to modern.

In the course of the 2022/23 season, the children and young people aged 9 to 16 will appear on the stage of the house in CARMEN, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA and TURANDOT as well as in the new production of MATTHEW PASSION. And on 18 December 2022, the chorus will take a trip to St. Paul the Apostle Church in Schöneberg, where it will join the Kammersymphonie Berlin for a Christmas programme "In dulci jubilo" with works by Michael Haydn, Johannes Brahms, Michael Praetorius and Gottfried August Homilius, among others.

Today's programme includes Advent and Christmas carols such as "Jetzt ist wieder Weihnacht da" or "Lied von den Schneeflocken".

The children's chorus is sponsored by Dobolino e.V. and Engel & Völkers.

Uraufführung

Il Teorema di Pasolini

Giorgio Battistelli [*1953]

09
Freitag
Juni
19:30 - 22:15
D-Preise: € 136,– / € 100,– / € 72,– / € 44,– / € 26,–
Karten kaufen
Informationen zum Werk

Musiktheater von Giorgio Battistelli
Libretto von Giorgio Battistelli frei nach dem gleichnamigen Film von Pier Paolo Pasolini
Uraufführung am 9. Juni 2023 in der Deutschen Oper Berlin

empfohlen ab 16 Jahren

ca. 1 Stunden 45 Minuten / Keine Pause

In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
Unterstützt von

Mit Unterstützung des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V. Komponiert für die Deutsche Oper Berlin, gefördert von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. Präsentiert von rbb Kultur, Siegessäule und taz

09
Freitag
Juni
19:30 - 22:15
D-Preise: € 136,– / € 100,– / € 72,– / € 44,– / € 26,–
Karten kaufen
Besetzung
zum Inhalt

Mit seinem 1968 entstandenen, auch in Romanform veröffentlichten Film »Teorema« formulierte Pier Paolo Pasolini eine radikale Abrechnung mit der Bourgeoisie: Nur noch durch Konventionen wird die großbürgerliche Familie, die im Zentrum des Werks steht, zusammengehalten und allein die erotische Verführungskraft eines Fremden reicht aus, um dieses erstarrte System auseinanderbrechen zu lassen. Damit ist »Teorema« zugleich die eindrucksvollste Umsetzung von Pasolinis Grundthese, dass sexuelle Befreiung des Einzelnen und die Veränderung der Gesellschaft miteinander verbunden sind – auch wenn die sexuellen »Erweckungserlebnisse« in den Mitgliedern der Familie unterschiedliche Reaktionen in Gang setzen.

Seit er den Stoff 1992 auf Anregung seines Lehrers Hans Werner Henze zum ersten Mal für die Münchener Biennale vertonte, damals als Kammeroper mit stummen Akteuren, ist der italienische Komponist Giorgio Battistelli von »Teorema« fasziniert. Nun, dreißig Jahre später, gestaltet Battistelli, der mit Opern wie RICHARD III. und zuletzt GIULIO CESARE einer der bedeutendsten lebenden Komponisten Italiens ist, die Pasolini-Vorlage als große Oper.

Mit IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI stellt sich auch das irische Regiekollektiv Dead Centre in Berlin vor. Das Team ist seit Jahren im Schauspielbereich international gefragt – unter anderem am Wiener Burgtheater – und legt nach Olga Neuwirths BÄHLAMMS FEST bei der Ruhrtriennale nun seine zweite Opernarbeit vor.

Unsere Artikel zum Thema

Der Maestro macht Kino zu Oper
Mit frischer, irischer Bitterkeit

Unsere Empfehlungen

Opernwerkstatt: Il Teorema di Pasolini

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

02
DEZ

Adventskalender im Foyer: Das 2. Fensterchen

Heute im Foyer: Der Kleine und Große Chor des Kinderchors singt weihnachtliche Lieder
17.00 Uhr / Rang-Foyer rechts
Dauer: ca. 25 Minuten / Eintritt frei


Rund 150 aktive Sänger und Sängerinnen bilden unseren Kinderchor, der in zahlreichen Opern ein wichtiger und stark eingebundener Ensemblepartner ist. Mindestens zweimal in der Woche kommen seine Mitglieder zusammen, um unter Leitung von Christian Lindhorst zu musizieren. Bei seinen Aufführungen und Konzerten auf der Bühne, im Kammermusiksaal der Philharmonie oder bei anderen Veranstaltungen schlägt der Kinderchor der Deutschen Oper Berlin einen Bogen vom Barock bis zur Moderne.

Im Laufe der Saison 2022/23 stehen die Kinder und Jugendlichen im Alter von 9 bis 16 Jahren in CARMEN, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA und TURANDOT sowie in der Neuproduktion der MATTHÄUS-PASSION auf der Bühne des Hauses. Und am 18. Dezember 2022 unternimmt der Chor eine Reise in die Apostel-Paulus-Kirche in Schöneberg, wo er zusammen mit der Kammersymphonie Berlin ein weihnachtliches Programm „In dulci jubilo“ mit Werken von u. a. Michael Haydn, Johannes Brahms, Michael Praetorius und Gottfried August Homilius gestaltet.

Heute stehen Advents- und Weihnachtslieder auf dem Programm wie „Jetzt ist wieder Weihnacht da“ oder „Lied von den Schneeflocken“.

Der Kinderchor wird gefördert von Dobolino e.V. und Engel & Völkers.