Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Catherine Foster ... A place of serenity for my soul: Goethe Park in Weimar

Catherine Foster is well known for her dramatic roles and has been described as the best Elektra singing today. When she is looking to recuperate from the demands of the role, she goes for a walk

Elektra
Richard Strauss
Conductor: Juraj Valčuha
Director: Kirsten Harms
With Anna Larsson, Catherine Foster, Flurina Stucki, Clemens Bieber, Tobias Kehrer et al.
3, 16 February 2022

My private place of peace is the Goethepark in Weimar, an oasis of nature in the heart of the city. I come from the north of England and moved to Weimar twenty years ago to be part of the Nationaltheater ensemble and just fell in love with the city. I was always travelling, singing at big venues around the world, but Weimar got to be my home, the place where I felt safe. Weimar has everything I need. Everything’s within cycling distance and there’s always something going on for families. The city has a lot of history but is also youthful and vibrant. And then there’s the park, my favourite place of all. It’s only a ten-minute walk from my house and I go there as often as I can. When I was new in town, I came here alone to mull over the roles I was singing. I had my daughter in 2003 and used to push the pram around the park. I have a photo of me holding my baby, standing in front of a gorgeous lilac bush, which is at its colourful peak in spring. She’s doing her Abitur exams at the moment and the two of us were recently standing at the same spot. Nowadays I often walk my two Havenese dogs there, Barnie and Benji. I did a lot of walking during the lockdowns, sometimes all day long. It was good for my soul.

Although the park is not large, it gives the impression of being its own self-contained world in the remote bosom of nature. It has large open spaces and smaller-scale areas and niches, and there’s always something new to discover. »It raises the spirit«, as we say in England. The Goethepark elevates the mood and makes me happy. You’ve got gently rolling hills on the western fringe, with the Ilm flowing past at the bottom. Its official name is ‘the Park on the Ilm’, but everyone calls it the Goethepark. Goethe’s summer house is on the bank of the river and up on the hillside you’ve got the ‘Roman House’, an amazing classicist structure. It’s often bathed in sunshine in the afternoon and my dogs like to splash around in a little pool there. Regarding the ‘place of serenity’ theme, the place where I feel most comfortable is actually the stage. But I don’t get to spend all my waking hours there. The place where I feel second most at ease is the Goethepark. It’s got to the point where other walkers engage me in conversation because they recognise me.

Wagner, Puccini, Strauss: Foster, pictured here at the Roman House in the Goethepark in her adoptive city of Weimar, is a star of the dramatic fach and has sung the role of Elektra over 50 times worldwide. © Guido Werner
 

When I arrived in Weimar, I had to learn German fast, because few people there spoke it. But I’m pleased I did, because it’s helped me to sing roles in German. I’m sure I’m handling them better because I use the language in everyday contexts. I can’t say I’m particularly immersed in German classical literature, but I make up for it in my familiarity with the music of Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss. The next part I’m singing at the Deutsche Oper Berlin is Elektra. I’ve done her about fifty times already, but I always have to dig deep with her because she radiates such incredible power and energy.

Richard Strauss had just moved from Weimar to Berlin when he began work on ELEKTRA, but he still made trips back to Weimar to meet up with Hugo von Hofmannsthal, his librettist. Hofmannsthal would come all the way from Vienna and I like to picture the two of them going for walks here and chewing over their joint project. Hofmannsthal had already written his version of ELEKTRA as a play for the stage, and they must have hashed out all the modifications here in Weimar, all the abridgements and lengthenings that Strauss would have required when crafting an opera out of a spoken-word work.

Maybe they met down on the banks of the Ilm. For my part, that riverside setting is very conducive to me sorting out my approach to a particular role and also getting in touch my own core. I’ve studied a lot of libretti while sitting on a particular bench in the Goethepark. TRISTAN, the RING, and obviously ELEKTRA.

If you ask me, Hofmannsthal is a genius. Take these lyrics from ELEKTRA: »I’m like a dog at your heel. If you’re set on entering a cave, I’ll pounce up at you from the side, and we’ll keep driving you away until a wall blocks off all access!« Sentences like those are what helped me learn German. I’ve spent long moments pondering them. The poetry is so dark and powerful, and Hofmannsthal’s Elektra has such a crazy, cumbersome personality, that it’s sometimes actually painful getting into the role.

The park, a place for letting thoughts and dogs run free. Richard Strauss and Hugo von Hofmannsthal may well have hashed out ideas for ELEKTRA here © Guido Werner
 

My husband once said to me: »I’d prefer not to live under the same roof as you when you’re working on that role.« He meant it as a joke, but I know what he means. That woman has so much sheer strength and power in her – and so much violence, too.

When I’ve been working for an extended period of time on Elektra, I need to take breaks, which is when I head straight for my park to oxygenate my head.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Catherine Foster ... Mein Seelenort, der Goethepark in Weimar

Catherine Foster ist berühmt für dramatische Partien, wurde schon die weltbeste Elektra genannt. Wenn sie sich von der Power der Rolle erholen will, geht sie spazieren

Elektra
von Richard Strauss
Dirigent: Juraj Valčuha
Regie: Kirsten Harms
Mit Anna Larssen, Catherine Foster, Flurina Stucki, Clemens Bieber, Tobias Kehrer u. a.
3., 16. Februar 2022

Mein Seelenort ist der Goethepark in Weimar, ein kleines Stück Natur mitten in der Stadt. Ich stamme aus Nordengland, kam vor zwanzig Jahren nach Weimar, sang am Deutschen Nationaltheater im Ensemble. Da habe ich mich einfach in die Stadt verliebt. Ich war stets viel auf Reisen, stand auf großen Bühnen weltweit, aber Weimar wurde mein Anker, meine Heimat. Weimar hat alles, was ich brauche. Ich komme mit dem Fahrrad überall hin, für Familien ist immer etwas los, die Stadt ist alt und jung zugleich, sehr lebendig. Vor allem hat sie den Park, der ist mein liebster Ort. Von meinem Haus sind es nur zehn Minuten bis zum Goethepark und die gehe ich so oft ich kann. Als ich gerade umgezogen war, kam ich allein hierhin, um über meine Rollen nachzudenken. 2003 kam meine Tochter zur Welt und ich bin mit dem Kinderwagen über die Wege spaziert. Es gibt einen bestimmten Busch, einen wunderschönen Edelflieder, der im Frühling in voller Blüte steht. Ich habe ein Foto von mir und meiner Tochter vor dem Busch, sie als Baby auf meinem Arm. Jetzt macht sie Abitur, letztens standen wir am selben Ort. Heute gehe ich viel mit meinen Hunden spazieren, Barnie und Benji, zwei Havaneser. Während der Lockdowns war ich natürlich viel unterwegs, manchmal den ganzen Tag. Das hat meiner Seele gutgetan.

Der Park ist nicht groß, aber er wirkt wie eine komplette Welt – als sei man weit draußen in der Natur, es gibt große und kleine Flächen, Ecken, Bereiche und immer etwas zu entdecken. »It raises the spirit«, sagen wir in England, es ist erhebend, mich macht der Ort glücklich. An der Westseite liegen sanfte Hügel, unten fließt die Ilm, er heißt ja offiziell auch Park an der Ilm. Aber hier sagen alle Goethepark. Unten am Fluss steht Goethes Gartenhaus, oben auf den Hügeln das so genannte Römische Haus, ein wunderbares klassizistisches Bauwerk. Es liegt nachmittags oft in der Sonne, meine Hunde planschen dort in einem kleinen Becken. Zum Stichwort Seelenort muss ich sagen: Mein Seelenort Nummer eins ist eigentlich die Bühne. Aber dort kann ich ja nicht immer sein. Mein Seelenort Nummer zwei ist die Natur, besonders hier im Goethepark. Mittlerweile sprechen mich Spaziergänger an, weil sie mich erkennen.

Wagner, Puccini, Strauss: Foster ist ein Star im dramatischen Fach. Elektra sang sie mehr als 50 Mal, weltweit. In Weimar, hier am Römischen Haus des Goetheparks, ist sie zu Hause © Guido Werner
 

Als ich nach Weimar kam, musste ich schnell Deutsch lernen, damals sprachen wenig Leute Englisch. Aber ich bin froh darüber, denn es hat mir geholfen, deutsche Partien zu singen. Ich bin sicher, es funktioniert besser, weil ich die Sprache im Alltag erlernt habe. Zur deutschen Klassik habe ich übrigens gar nicht so ein enges Verhältnis, aber zu der Musik von Richard Wagner oder Richard Strauss umso mehr. Meine nächste Partie an der Deutschen Oper Berlin ist Elektra. Ich habe sie schon etwa fünfzig Mal gesungen, aber sie ist stets eine große Herausforderung, weil sie eine unglaubliche Kraft und Energie ausstrahlt.

Richard Strauss war gerade frisch von Weimar nach Berlin umgezogen, als er die Arbeit an der Oper ELEKTRA begann. Er soll sich dennoch oft hier in Weimar mit Hugo von Hofmannsthal getroffen haben, seinem Librettisten. Hofmannsthal kam extra von Wien angereist und ich stelle mir gelegentlich vor, wie die beiden hier spazieren gingen, um ihr Projekt zu besprechen. Hofmannsthal hatte ELEKTRA schon als Bühnenstück geschrieben. Hier in Weimar müssen sie die zahlreichen Änderungen besprochen haben, Längungen und Kürzungen, die Strauss brauchte, damit aus dem Sprechstück eine Oper entstehen konnte.

Vielleicht trafen sie sich auch weiter unten an der Ilm? Mir jedenfalls hilft der Ort ungemein, um zu mir und meinen Rollen zu finden. Im Goethepark gibt es eine Bank, auf der ich viele Libretti studiert habe. TRISTAN, aber auch den RING, und natürlich ELEKTRA.

Hofmannsthal ist in meinen Augen ein Genie. Denken Sie an seine Zeilen aus der ELEKTRA: »Ich bin wie ein Hund an deiner Ferse, willst du in eine Höhle, spring ich dich von seitwärts an. So treiben wir dich fort, bis eine Mauer alles sperrt!« Mit solchen Sätzen habe ich Deutsch gelernt, ich habe lange über sie nachgedacht. Diese Dichtung ist so dunkel und so stark, und Hofmannsthals Elektra ist eine so sperrige und verrückte Persönlichkeit, es tut mir manchmal richtig weh, mich einzufühlen.

Freiraum Park: Wo heute Fosters Hunde tollen, haben vielleicht auch Richard Strauss und Hugo von Hofmannsthal seinerzeit Ideen für ELEKTRA ausgeheckt © Guido Werner
 

Einmal sagte mein Mann: »Ich möchte lieber nicht mit dir zusammenwohnen, während du an dieser Rolle arbeitest.« Das war zwar ein Scherz, aber ich weiß schon, was er meint. Diese Frau hat so viel Kraft, so eine Power, aber auch so viel Gewalt in sich.

Wenn ich lange an Elektra gearbeitet habe, brauche ich immer wieder Erholung, ich muss dann so schnell ich kann wieder in den Park, um Luft zu holen.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld