Lars Gebhardt explains ...

The secret genie

Composer Rued Langgaard was far ahead of his time. Nobody in 1920s Denmark wanted to hear his music.

Antikrist
Conductor: Stephan Zilias
Director: Ersan Mondtag
With: Thomas Lehman, Jonas Grundner-Culemann, Valeriia Savinskaia, Irene Roberts, Clemens Bieber, Gina Perregrino, Flurina Stucki, AJ Glueckert, Jordan Shanahan et al.
Premiere: 30 January 2022

"It is often an unfortunate combination of personal idiosyncrasies and external circumstances that stand between talent and success. Rued Langgaard was a codger, a lifelong outsider of Danish musical history. The sounds that he composed were extremely modern. But in Denmark there was no recognition for an eccentric like him.

Actually, the pieces were all laid out: Langgaard's parents were pianists. He was treated like a prodigy, composed, held concerts. His 1st symphony was premiered by the Berliner Philharmonic in 1913. Yet then his ideas outpaced the era. The pianists is said to have drummed on the top of the piano lid and plucked the strings. The 12th symphony includes the instruction, 'Chaos – a composer explodes'. His opera ANTIKRIST remains unperformed. His contemporaries declare: incomprehensible libretto, unlistenable sounds.

Langgaard receives his first long-term position in 1940 at the age of 47 – at Ribe Cathedral, in the furthest reaches of the country. There, too, he composes as though possessed. The works become more angular, announcing a minimalism that once again arrives too early. Langgaard's achievement is only praised after his death. During preparations for the 'Nordic Music Days' in 1968 his scores reach the hands of György Ligeti, the forerunner of New Music. Ligeti was engrossed in the reading, and declared, we have to perform this work. However, today only the initiated are familiar with Rued Langgaard – thankfully that will change soon."

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Lars Gebhardt erzählt ...

Das heimliche Genie

Der Komponist Rued Langgaard war der Zeit weit voraus. Seine Musik wollte im Dänemark der 1920er Jahre keiner hören.

Antikrist
Dirigent: Stephan Zilias
Regie: Ersan Mondtag
Mit u. a. Thomas Lehman, Jonas Grundner-Culemann, Valeriia Savinskaia, Irene Roberts, Clemens Bieber, Gina Perregrino, Flurina Stucki, AJ Glueckert, Jordan Shanahan
Premiere am 30. Januar 2022

„Es ist oft eine unglückliche Kombination aus persönlichen Eigenarten und äußeren Umständen, die sich zwischen Talent und Erfolg stellen. Rued Langgaard war ein Kauz, sein Leben lang blieb er ein Außenseiter der dänischen Musikgeschichte. Die Klänge, die er komponierte, waren extrem modern. Aber in Dänemark gab es keine Anerkennung für einen Exzentriker wie ihn.

Eigentlich stimmte alles: Langgaards Eltern waren Pianisten. Er wurde als Wunderkind gehandelt, komponierte, gab Konzerte. Seine 1. Sinfonie wurde 1913 von den Berliner Philharmonikern uraufgeführt. Doch dann entwickeln sich seine Ideen schneller als die Zeit. Der Pianist soll auf dem Klavierdeckel trommeln und die Saiten zupfen. Die 12. Sinfonie enthält die Anweisung ‚Amok – ein Komponist explodiert‘. Seine Oper ANTIKRIST bleibt unaufgeführt. Die Zeitgenossen urteilen: unverständliches Libretto, unerhörte Klänge.

Seine erste Festanstellung bekommt Langgaard 1940 mit 47 Jahren – am Dom zu Ribe, im letzten Zipfel des Landes. Auch dort komponiert er wie besessen. Die Werke werden eckiger, künden von einem Minimalismus, der wieder einmal zu früh kommt. Langgaards Leistung wird erst nach seinem Tod gewürdigt. Bei den Vorbereitungen zu den ‚Nordic Music Days‘ geraten seine Partituren im Jahr 1968 in die Hände von György Ligeti, dem Vorreiter der Neuen Musik. Ligeti liest sich fest, ruft, dieses Werk müssen wir zur Aufführung bringen. Trotzdem kennen Rued Langgaard bis heute nur Eingeweihte – zum Glück wird das bald anders sein.“

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter