The sound of an Italian village in the morning

The notion of having tradesmen from his native village appear on an opera stage made the Italian composer Giorgio Battistelli famous around the world – and now in Berlin

The sound of an egg breaking, followed by another. And another. Crack, crack, crack. A stirrer makes contact with a work surface: plick. A pastaio beats a mixture of flour and eggs: tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk. Then the shoe makers get going. And so a village comes to life on stage.

These early-morning rituals make up the opening scene of EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI, a work of musical theatre by the Italian composer Giorgio Battistelli. The opera presents the sounds and noises made by a total of sixteen workers and artisans going about their respective jobs, accompanied by a women’s chorus, a percussionist and the words of an actor. The subtitle of the piece promises a work of imagined music.

As if the idea of writing an opera consisting of manual-labour noises weren’t whacky enough, the composer went one step further and enlisted the services of genuine «artigiani« in place of professional actors – all of them masons, joiners, road pavers and other skilled workers from Battistelli’s home town of Albano Laziale. The experiment brings together two very different settings: opera stage and work bench. A provincial town and the outside world.

The Piazza Pia in Albano Laziale, where composer Giorgio Battistelli heard the sounds made by a cobbler at work and drew inspiration from the rhythm of his hammer © Karl Mancini 
 
 

And the experiment works. The spectacle of tradesmen displaying their skills of the stages of New York, Hong Kong and London has received critical acclaim. Not only has a brilliant maestro crafted musical instruments out of industrial tools and turned workers into artists; without the men from Albano Laziale, Battistelli might never have achieved the fame he has.

To understand how this curious combination gestated from idea to international hit, let us go back to where it all began 40 years ago on the Piazza Pia in Albano Laziale, nestling in the hills around Rome. Fresh from his composition studies, Battistelli was one day taken by the rhythmic work processes of a cobbler. After finding other instances of auditory richness, Battistelli came up with a work designed not for brass and stringed instruments but for hammer, wood planes and the like.

And on this sunny spring morning Alfredo Sannibale, 75, is sitting at the front of his workshop and using one of those planes to smoothen the inner surface of a half-built barrel. Behind him, a windowless cave extends into the interior of an orange building. With his sun-darkened fingers he pushes the tool forward, draws it back. Shavings fall in blonde curls onto the dusty floor.

Sannibale was part of the crew at the very first performance of EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI. His name and those of his brother and father grace the original publicity poster. Battistelli had a hard time persuading the father to agree to take part.

»My father was embarrassed, couldn’t understand the point of appearing on stage,« says Sannibale. There was also the fact that Battistelli was still in his 20s, a »ragazzo«, by Italian standards hardly an adult. He didn’t have the clout to win the men over to his quirky project.

That the initial rehearsals were a failure did little to allay the scepticism. The hired musicians failed to tease the right sounds from the implements. Battistelli needed real tradesmen. »Building a barrel is at least as complex and playing a violin,« explains Sannibale. The project took a turn for the better when his mother, Battistelli’s cousin, persuaded her husband to get involved – and his assent proved to be a tipping point among the other tradesmen.

On 15th May 1981 the entire company finally trod the boards of Rome’s Teatro Olympico together. The three Sannibales went about their work as coopers, road pavers knocked cobblestones into position, grinders sharpened knives and bricklayers built a wall – all watching Battistelli intently as he combined the noises into a polyrhythmic work of art.

Sannibale recalls the applause that followed that first performance to this day. »Never experienced anything like it. We felt it to the core.« And his father needed no further bidding to get him up on stage again.

The gigs piled up, starting with one in the Centre Pompidou in Paris. Berlin, Florence and Vienna followed. In Cologne Karlheinz Stockhausen shook the hand of every cast member. In Adelaide an actor spoke the lines in Maori. In Salzburg Bruno Ganz delivered in German.

Masters of their respective crafts, the artisans head for Berlin. The »artigiani« from Albano Laziale hone their hand movements to produce the rhythmic work of art that is EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI © Karl Mancini 
 

To date EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI has been staged over 400 times, wowing audiences around the world and bringing Battistelli commensurate fame. In 2009 the production took the Herald Angel Award. These triumphs have helped Battistelli to his current position as Artistic Director of the Orchestra Haydn di Bolzano e Trento, a post he has previously held at the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma and in the services of the International Festival of Contemporary Music at the Biennale di Venezia.

One award scheduled for this year reveals how central this work of musical theatre has been to Battistelli’s career. The Biennale di Venezia will present him with the Golden Lion for lifetime achievement, with EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI being hailed as »a cornerstone of international musical theatre«.

The performance will be the closing event at this year’s Venice Festival. And while the score has not altered in 41 years, the cast has evolved with the passage of time, because, unlike musicians, craftsmen cannot go on forever. »Sooner or later your bones and joints are shot,« says Sannibale. A lot of the original cast passed their roles on to their sons or grandsons.

Vladimiro Carpineti, 49, took over from his grandfather, a blade grinder, and has appeared in hundreds of performances. Carpineti himself is a cobblestone layer and so is able to alternate between two roles on stage. »Every performance is different,« he says. »The start, the end, the audience. I love the unpredictability.«

Vladimiro Carpineti is a tall, broad-shouldered man, whose physicality very much matches his occupation, and his love of rugby is no surprise. So it’s quite a leap to hear him enthusing about EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI, which has been a feature of his life since he was eight. And thanks to Battistelli his life has also helped to make musical history. Carpineti is well aware of this. »It’s all down to Giorgio that our village has travelled the world.« Text: Virginia Kirst

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Der Klang eines italienischen Dorfes am Morgen

Die Idee, echte Handwerker seines Heimatdorfs auf eine Opernbühne zu stellen, bescherte dem italienischen Komponisten Giorgio Battistelli Weltruhm. Warum, das erleben Sie jetzt in Berlin

Ein Ei wird aufgeschlagen. Krack. Dann noch eins. Krack. Und noch eins. Krack. Krack. Krack. Ein Rührstab trifft auf eine Arbeitsplatte. Tak. Mit schnellen Schlägen vermischt ein Pastaio Eier und Mehl. Tak, tak, tak, tak, tak, tak, tak. Dann setzen die Schuster ein. Das Dorf auf der Opernbühne erwacht.

Mit dieser Morgensequenz beginnt EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI, das Musiktheaterstück des italienischen Komponisten Giorgio Battistelli: Die Oper besteht aus den Arbeitsgeräuschen von insgesamt sechzehn Handwerkern, unterstützt von einem Frauenchor, einem Perkussionisten und der Rezitation eines Schauspielers. Der Untertitel verspricht ein Werk aus imaginierter Musik.

Als wäre die Idee, eine Oper aus Arbeitslärm zu komponieren, nicht überraschend genug, verbirgt sich darin eine weitere Besonderheit. Die Handwerker auf der Bühne sind keineswegs Schauspieler, sondern echte »artigiani«: Schreiner, Maurer und Pflasterer aus Battistellis Heimatstadt Albano Laziale. Das Stück ist ein Experiment, das zwei Welten verbindet – die Opernbühne und die Werkbank. Die Welt und die Kleinstadt.

Die Piazza Pia in Albano Laziale: Komponist Giorgio Battistelli hörte hier einen Schuster bei der Arbeit und ließ sich vom Rhythmus des Hammers inspirieren © Karl Mancini
 

Es ist ein geglücktes Experiment: Die Handwerker haben ihr Können auf den Bühnen von New York, Hongkong und London vorgeführt und Kritiker begeistert. Hier hat nicht nur ein genialer Maestro aus Werkzeugen Instrumente und aus Arbeitern Künstler gemacht. Auch sie haben ihm geholfen: Ohne die Männer aus Albano Laziale wäre Battistelli vielleicht nie so berühmt geworden, wie er es heute ist.

Um zu verstehen, wie diese ungewöhnliche Kombination ein Welterfolg wurde, kehren wir an den Ort zurück, an dem vor über 40 Jahren alles begann: Auf die Piazza Pia in Albano Laziale in den Hügeln vor Rom. Hier bemerkte Battistelli – als frisch fertig studierter Komponist –, dass in der täglichen Arbeit des Schusters ein Rhythmus steckt. Battistelli ließ sich darauf ein, fand weitere Beispiele und komponierte ein Werk, das nicht für Bläser und Streicher, sondern für Hammer und Hobel gemacht ist.

Einer dieser Hobel ist an diesem Vormittag in der Frühlingssonne im Einsatz: Alfredo Sannibale, 75, glättet mit ihm die Innenseite eines noch bodenlosen Kastanienholzfasses. Er sitzt im vorderen Teil seiner Werkstatt. Hinter ihm wölbt sich eine fensterlose Höhle, die sich ins Innere des orangefarbenen Gebäudes zieht. Mit seinen braungebrannten Fingern schiebt er den Hobel vor, zieht ihn zurück. Die Späne fallen zu blonden Locken gerollt auf den staubigen Boden.

Sannibale ist dabei seit der ersten Aufführung von EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI. Auf dem ersten Aufführungsplakat steht sein Name zwischen denen seines Bruders und seines Vaters. Letzterer hätte damals um ein Haar nicht mitgemacht, als Battistelli ihn bat, in seiner Oper aufzutreten.

»Mein Vater hat sich geschämt. Was soll ich denn auf einer Bühne, hat er gefragt«, sagt Sannibale. Hinzu kam, dass Battistelli damals keine 30 Jahre alt war, ein »ragazzo« also – nach italienischen Standards fast noch ein Kind. Ihm fehlte die Autorität, die Handwerker von seinem seltsamen Projekt zu überzeugen.

Diese Skepsis war ein Problem, weil die ersten Proben ein Reinfall gewesen waren: Die Musiker, die der Komponist engagiert hatte, konnten den Werkzeugen nicht die richtigen Töne entlocken. Battistelli brauchte echte Handwerker. »Ein Fass zu bauen ist genauso kompliziert, wie eine Geige zu spielen«, erklärt Sannibale. Erst seine Mutter, Battistellis Cousine, brachte die Wende: Sie überredete ihren Mann zum Mitmachen. Dank dieser ersten Zusage gelang es, auch die anderen Handwerker anzuwerben.

Am 15. Mai 1981 standen sie dann gemeinsam auf der Bühne: Im Teatro Olimpico in Rom schlugen die drei Sannibales eiserne Ringe über gebogene Holzplanken. Die Pflasterer klopften Steine in Position, die Schleifer schärften Messerklingen und die Maurer fügten Ziegelsteine zu einer Wand zusammen – stets die Augen auf Giorgio Battistelli gerichtet, der die Töne zu einem polyrhythmischen Kunstwerk kombinierte.

An den ersten Applaus, der dieser Aufführung folgte, erinnert Sannibale sich bis heute: »Das war einmalig. Wir haben ihn im ganzen Körper gespürt.« Danach brauchte es keine Überredung mehr, um seinen Vater erneut auf die Bühne zu holen.

Zu weiteren Auftritten kam es fortan häufig: Nach der Aufführung in Rom rief das Centre Pompidou aus Paris an. Berlin, Florenz und Wien folgten. In Köln schüttelte Karlheinz Stockhausen nach der Aufführung die Hand jedes einzelnen von ihnen. Im australischen Adelaide trug ein Schauspieler den Text auf Maori vor, in Salzburg Bruno Ganz auf Deutsch.

Meister ihres Fachs auf dem Sprung nach Berlin: Die »artigiani« aus Albano Laziale veredeln ihr Handwerk bei EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI zu einem rhythmischen Kunstwerk © Karl Mancini
 

EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI ist bis heute mehr als 400 Mal aufgeführt worden, hat Menschen auf der ganzen Welt begeistert und Battistelli zu internationalem Ruhm verholfen, indem es etwa 2009 den Herald Angel Award gewann. Auch dank dieser Erfolge ist Battistelli heute künstlerischer Leiter des Haydn Orchester von Bozen und Trient. Eine Funktion, die er zuvor ebenfalls etwa am Teatro dell’Opera di Roma und für das Internationale Festival für zeitgenössische Musik im Rahmen der Biennale di Venezia innehatte.

Wie zentral dieses Musiktheater in Battistellis Laufbahn ist, zeigt eine aktuelle Ehrung: Die Biennale di Venezia verleiht ihm 2022 den Goldenen Löwen für sein Lebenswerk. In der Begründung wird EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI als ein »Eckpfeiler des internationalen Musiktheaters« gewürdigt.

Die Aufführung beendet am 25. September das diesjährige Festival in Venedig. Die Partitur ist die gleiche wie vor 41 Jahren, doch die Besetzung hat sich verändert: Denn anders als Musiker können Handwerker ihre Arbeit nicht bis ins hohe Alter ausüben. »Irgendwann machen die Knochen nicht mehr mit«, sagt Sannibale. Viele der Männer haben ihren Platz daher an ihre Söhne oder Enkel weitergegeben.

Vladimiro Carpineti etwa hat 1998 von seinem Großvater, einem Schleifer, übernommen. Der 49-Jährige selbst ist Pflasterer, sodass er auf der Bühne mal die eine und mal die andere Rolle übernimmt. Hunderte Aufführungen hat Carpineti schon mitgemacht: »Jedes Spektakel ist anders«, sagt er. »Der Anfang, das Ende, das Publikum. Ich mag diese Überraschung.«

Vladimiro Carpineti ist ein großer, breiter Mann. Man sieht ihm seinen körperlichen Beruf an und versteht sofort seine Liebe zum Rugby. Umso überraschender ist es, wenn er von EXPERIMENTUM MUNDI schwärmt, das ihn begleitet, seit er acht Jahre alt war. Die Oper ist ein Teil seines Lebens – und dank Battistelli ist sein Leben auch Teil der Musikgeschichte. Das weiß Carpineti: »Giorgio hat es geschafft, unser Dorf in die Welt zu tragen.«

Text: Virginia Kirst

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter