The Maestro turns cinema into opera

Pasolini's film TEOREMA tells of the disintegration of a bourgeois family. Composer Giorgio Battistelli brings the drama to the opera stage

Even in a hectic world metropolis, they still exist, the romantic alleys where green leaves climb orange walls. It is such a street where the Italian composer Giorgio Battistelli’s studio is located, in Rome’s Trastevere neighbourhood. Planters line the cobblestone alley, which is impassable to cars anyway. Battistelli’s “room for thought”, his pensatoio, is on the third floor. The 68-year-old easily climbs the shallow steps. He invites the visitor into the bright studio, where the window are wide open. The large room is reminiscent of a theatre. The furniture is made of dark wood; stage-curtain red is everywhere: the velvet of the armchairs, the music notebooks on the table, Battistelli’s socks and even his iPhone are of a deep, dark red.

Otherwise, the maestro is clothed in muted colours, emphasizing his white curls. He wears black-rimmed glasses and a gold signet ring on his right hand. The scores on the shelves bear his name on their spines; many have German titles. “Die Entdeckung der Langsamkeit” for example, or “Auf den Marmorklippen“.

“Germany is my artistic homeland,” Battistelli opens the conversation. He speaks slowly, carefully choosing his words. “My most important works were born there.” Starting with “Experimentum Mundi”, which Battistelli first presented at the Academy of the Arts in Berlin in 1980. This musical theatre work, whose sound world incorporates the everyday noises of sixteen craftsmen, became a world success on the New Music scene and laid the foundation for his international career. After positions as artistic director of the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma and the Biennale di Venezia, Battistelli is artistic director of the Haydn Orchestra in Bolzano and Trento today.

Battistelli’s career took him to Germany early on: as early as 1975 he attended seminars with Karlheinz Stockhausen and Mauricio Kagel in Cologne; in 1985 he lived in West Berlin for a year. Ever since, his works have been performed at the Theatre in Bremen, the Mannheim National Theatre and the Hanover State Opera. “I have to return to Germany at regular intervals, otherwise I feel a sense of loss,” Battistelli declares. “To me, it is the most democratic country in the field of operatic music, because avant-garde and tradition coexist here.”

Giorgio Battistelli
 

This is the case at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where Battistelli’s opera IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI will now be performed. The idea of commemorating the Italian director and author Pier Paolo Pasolini during the centenary of his birth came to Battistelli and Dietmar Schwarz, the Deutsche Oper Berlin’s artistic director, in 2019, as they were having dinner near the Piazza Navona. The choice of subject for this homage was easy, as Battistelli has a special connection with Pasolini via TEOREMA: in 1971, when he was only eighteen, he met the filmmaker during a presentation of the eponymous novel, which Pasolini had written based on the 1968 film. This encounter made a lasting impression on the budding composer.

TEOREMA is about a family of industrialists from Milan whose life is completely upended by a visit from a mysterious guest. Pasolini depicts a family living together in one house, yet like ships passing in the night. The protagonists seem mute, communication fails – until the beautiful young stranger appears, seducing one family member after another. In the end, there is no way of returning to their grand-bourgeois life.

At their long-ago meeting, the young Battistelli asked his idol Pasolini, under the impression of these years of political upheaval in Italy, whether the guest in TEOREMA was a communist. Pasolini answered him with a little smile: “You might consider him an angel of destruction, an exterminating angel.” It took him decades to understand this answer, says Battistelli. The work, however, has continued to cast a spell on him to this day.

“The two central issues are still relevant,” he says: “The question of the role of the family and how we treat what is foreign and strange to us – in TEOREMA, it is embodied by the guest.”

Battistelli is familiar with the feeling of questioning all that is familiar, as an outsider. And he has decided that he likes the role. In a way, he himself is the guest in Germany. “When the audience leaves one of my operas, I hope to have asked a question, not to have given an answer. Doubt is the best motivator. It’s a dynamo, giving you the energy to keep questioning yourself.”

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

02
DEC

Advent Calendar in the Foyer: The 2nd Door

Today in the foyer: The Small and Large Chorus of the Children's Chorus sings Christmas carols
17.00 hrs / Rank foyer on the right
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


Around 150 active singers make up our Children's Chorus, which is an important and heavily involved ensemble partner in numerous operas. Its members come together at least twice a week to make music under the direction of Christian Lindhorst. In its performances and concerts on stage, in the Chamber Music Hall of the Philharmonie or at other events, the Children's Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin spans the spectrum from baroque to modern.

In the course of the 2022/23 season, the children and young people aged 9 to 16 will appear on the stage of the house in CARMEN, LA BOHÈME, TOSCA and TURANDOT as well as in the new production of MATTHEW PASSION. And on 18 December 2022, the chorus will take a trip to St. Paul the Apostle Church in Schöneberg, where it will join the Kammersymphonie Berlin for a Christmas programme "In dulci jubilo" with works by Michael Haydn, Johannes Brahms, Michael Praetorius and Gottfried August Homilius, among others.

Today's programme includes Advent and Christmas carols such as "Jetzt ist wieder Weihnacht da" or "Lied von den Schneeflocken".

The children's chorus is sponsored by Dobolino e.V. and Engel & Völkers.

Der Maestro macht Kino zu Oper

Pasolinis Film TEOREMA erzählt vom Zerfall einer bürgerlichen Familie. Der Komponist Giorgio Battistelli bringt das Drama auf die Opernbühne

Es gibt sie selbst in der hektischen Weltmetropole noch, die romantischen Gassen, in denen grüne Blätter orangefarbene Häuserwände hochranken. In genau so einer Straße im Viertel Trastevere liegt das Atelier des italienischen Komponisten Giorgio Battistelli. Auf dem Kopfsteinpflaster stehen Pflanzenkübel, Autos passen hier sowieso nicht durch. Battistellis Denkstube, die er Pensatoio nennt, liegt im dritten Stock. Leichtfüßig steigt der 68-Jährige die flachen Stufen hinauf. Er bittet ins lichtdurchflutete Studio, dessen Fenster weit geöffnet sind. Der große Raum erinnert an ein Theater. Die Möbel sind aus dunklem Holz, überall findet sich Bühnenvorhangrot: Der Samt auf den Sesseln, die Notenhefte auf dem Tisch, Battistellis Socken und sogar sein iPhone leuchten tiefrot.

Ansonsten ist der Maestro in gedeckten Farben gekleidet, die seine weißen Locken unterstreichen. Er trägt eine schwarzumrahmte Brille und einen goldenen Siegelring an der rechten Hand. Die Partituren im Regal tragen seinen Namen auf dem Rücken, viele haben deutsche Titel. „Die Entdeckung der Langsamkeit“ etwa, und „Auf den Marmorklippen“.

„Deutschland ist meine künstlerische Heimat“, eröffnet Battistelli das Gespräch. Er spricht langsam, wählt seine Worte genau. „Denn meine wichtigsten Arbeiten sind dort geboren.“ Angefangen bei „Experimentum Mundi“, das Battistelli 1980 in der Akademie der Künste in Berlin vorstellte. Das Musiktheaterstück, dessen Klangwelt die Alltagsgeräusche von sechzehn Handwerkern integriert, wurde ein Welterfolg in der Szene der Neuen Musik und das Fundament seiner internationalen Karriere. Nach Stationen als künstlerischer Leiter am Teatro dell’Opera di Roma und der Biennale di Venezia ist Battistelli heute künstlerischer Leiter des Haydn Orchester von Bozen und Trient.

Battistellis Karriere führt ihn früh nach Deutschland: Bereits 1975 besucht er Seminare bei Karlheinz Stockhausen und Mauricio Kagel in Köln, 1985 verbringt er ein Jahr in Westberlin. Seitdem werden seine Werke unter anderem am Theater Bremen, dem Nationaltheater Mannheim und der Staatsoper Hannover aufgeführt. „Ich muss regelmäßig nach Deutschland zurückkehren, sonst fehlt mir etwas“, erklärt Battistelli. „Für mich ist es heute im Bereich der Opernmusik das demokratischste Land Europas, weil hier Avantgarde und Tradition koexistieren.“

Giorgio Battistelli
 

So wie auch in der Deutschen Oper Berlin, wo nun Battistellis Oper IL TEOREMA DI PASOLINI aufgeführt wird. Die Idee, dem italienischen Regisseur und Autoren Pier Paolo Pasolini in seinem 100. Geburtsjahr zu gedenken, kam Battistelli und Dietmar Schwarz, dem Intendanten der Deutschen Oper Berlin, schon 2019 beim Abendessen nahe der Piazza Navona. Die Werkwahl für die Hommage fiel einfach, denn Battistelli ist Pasolini über TEOREMA besonders verbunden: Als gerade Achtzehnjähriger traf er den Filmemacher 1971 bei einer Vorstellung des gleichnamigen Romans, den dieser nach dem 1968 veröffentlichen Film geschrieben hatte. Eine Begegnung, die bei dem angehenden Komponisten einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterließ.

In TEOREMA geht es um eine Mailänder Industriellenfamilie, deren Leben vom Besuch eines mysteriösen Gastes völlig auf den Kopf gestellt wird. Pasolini zeigt eine Familie, die zwar im gleichen Haus und doch aneinander vorbei lebt. Die Protagonisten wirken sprachlos, die Kommunikation miteinander scheitert – bis schließlich der schöne, junge Fremde eintrifft und ein Familienmitglied nach dem anderen verführt. Am Ende gibt es kein Zurück in das alte großbürgerliche Leben.

Bei der damaligen Begegnung fragte der junge Battistelli sein Idol Pasolini unter dem Eindruck der politisch bewegten Jahre in Italien, ob der Gast in TEOREMA ein Kommunist sei. Pasolini antwortete ihm mit einem leichten Lächeln: „Sieh‘ ihn eher als einen Engel der Vernichtung, einen Würgeengel.“ Es habe Jahrzehnte gedauert, bis er diese Antwort verstanden habe, berichtet Battistelli. Doch umso mehr zieht ihn das Werk bis heute in seinen Bann.

„Die zwei zentralen Themen sind immer noch relevant“, sagt er: „Die Frage nach der Rolle der Familie und danach, wie wir mit dem Fremden umgehen – in Teorema verkörpert durch den Gast.“

Battistelli kennt dieses Gefühl, als Außenstehender das Bekannte in Frage zu stellen. Und er hat Gefallen daran gefunden. Gewissermaßen ist er selbst der Gast in Deutschland. „Wenn das Publikum eine meiner Opern verlässt, hoffe ich, eine Frage gestellt und keine Antwort gegeben zu haben. Denn der Zweifel ist der beste Antrieb. Ein Dynamo, der dir die Energie gibt, dich stets selbst zu hinterfragen.“

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter