Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

The Valkyrie

Are Scandinavians the people best suited to singing Wagner’s female roles? Nina Stemme and Lise Davidsen on the impressive power of Brünnhilde and Sieglinde

The Valkyrie
First day of A scenic festival in three days and in an eve by Richard Wagner
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Brandon Jovanovich, Andrew Harris, John Lundgren, Lise Davidsen, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme u. a.
Premiere on 27 September 2020

1 Nina Stemme, THE VALKYRIE has a lot of strong women. What does female strength consist of in the modern day?
Today you could say it means just being a woman. Not being under someone’s thumb and not being made to feel bad by someone. It may not be everywhere how things are, but at least we women see things clearly now. We want to be allowed to speak our mind, articulate our feelings, as Brünnhilde does with considerable success. Wotan gets tangled up in contradictions in THE VALKYRIE and can’t extricate himself. In the end the women are forced to take charge.

2 And what’s the most effective way of standing up to a domineering father?
By using your intelligence and emotions. Ok, in Wagner’s time women were still unemancipated, which also explains the opera’s storyline. Why does Brünnhilde accept her punishment for instance? Because you had to adhere to the rules. There was no digging in of heels against parental authority. What she can do, though, is influence the type of punishment imposed. And she’s clever enough to turn her penalty into a form of reward. It’s her way of bucking an authoritarian society.

3 Are Scandinavians the people best suited to singing Wagner’s female roles?
We have a tradition of doing Wagner, and our countries are relatively small, so it gets noticed. But it may be down to history. A clutch of excellent choirmasters and musicians came over after the Second World War and established something resembling a community. Another thing is that we Swedes are not particularly neurotic and are happy to put in the work. The only other ingredient is the magic onstage – and no one can explain that.

Nina Stemme
sings Brünnhilde in the new production of the RING. Born in Stockholm, she first studied business administration and is today considered by many to be the best Wagner soprano living.

 

Lise Davidsen © Ray Burmiston
 

1 Lise Davidsen, THE VALKYRIE has a lot of strong women. What does female strength consist of in the modern day?
A woman doesn’t subordinate herself. We’re lucky to be living at a time when it’s taken for granted that women are allowed to be strong. There may have been times when that wasn’t as obvious as it is now. Nowadays we can come right out and say: I’m a woman, I’m strong. And that’s why I can act out that kind of character onstage. Actually that’s always been the case in opera. You could almost say opera is visionary in that regard. There’s a whole raft of strong women. Leonore in FIDELIO, for example.

2 And what’s the most effective way of standing up to a domineering father?
Wotan isn’t just a domineering father; he’s a very bad father, too. I’m glad my own father isn’t like him. I’m happy that I never had to rebel against him like Sieglinde does. From our perspective today, it’s awful – and all the more understandable that the women are forced to find their own way. That’s what makes them so modern.

3 Are Scandinavians the people best suited to singing Wagner’s female roles?
No. I’ve seen women of all nationalities singing Wagner brilliantly, including masses of Germans. But I know this cliché exists. And Wagner did draw on mythical sources, including from my home country of Norway, and I like that. I put it down to coincidence that there are so many Scandinavian women involved in Wagner productions. And I’m really looking forward to appearing with Nina Stemme. Not because she’s from Sweden but because she’s a great singer.

Lise Davidsen
takes on the role of Sieglinde in THE VALKYRIE. The soprano was born in 1987 in southern Norway. She had her breakthrough as Elisabeth in the Bayreuth TANNHÄUSER

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Die Walküren

Sind Skandinavierinnen eigentlich die besseren Wagner-Sängerinnen? Nina Stemme und Lise Davidsen über die beeindruckende Kraft von Brünnhilde und Sieglinde

Die Walküre
Erster Tag des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend von Richard Wagner
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit Brandon Jovanovich, Tobias Kehrer, John Lundgren, Lise Davidsen, Annika Schlicht, Nina Stemme u. a.
Premiere am 27. September 2020

1 Nina Stemme, es gibt viele starke Frauen in der WALKÜRE. Was zeichnet weibliche Stärke heute aus?
Heute kann man sagen: Einfach eine Frau zu sein. Unterdrückt von niemandem und ohne sich vor irgendwem unwohl fühlen zu müssen. Das ist sicher noch nicht überall erreicht, aber wir Frauen haben heute ein klares Bewusstsein davon. Wir wollen sagen dürfen, was wir denken – oder fühlen, wie Brünnhilde es auch tut. Und das mit Erfolg. Immerhin verstrickt Wotan sich in der WALKÜRE in Widersprüche, findet nicht mehr heraus, und die Frauen müssen schließlich die Macht übernehmen.

2 Und wie begehrt man erfolgreich gegen einen dominanten Vater auf?
Durch Intelligenz und Emotionen. Sicherlich hatten Frauen zu Wagners Zeiten noch wenig Freiheiten. Daraus erklärt sich die Handlung der Oper auch. Warum etwa akzeptiert Brünnhilde überhaupt ihre Strafe? Sie musste sich den Regeln der Zeit beugen, es gab keine Möglichkeit, sich dem Willen der Eltern zu widersetzen. Sie kann aber auf die Art ihrer Bestrafung Einfluss nehmen. Das tut sie so klug, dass ihre Strafe zu einer Belohnung wird. So kämpft sie auch gegen die autoritäre Gesellschaft.

3 Sind Skandinavierinnen eigentlich die besseren Wagner-Sängerinnen?
Wir haben eine bedeutende Tradition im Wagner-Fach, angesichts der Größe unserer Länder ist das auffällig. Aber ich sehe eine historische Erklärung. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg flohen sehr gute Kapellmeister und Musiker*innen zu uns, bauten eine Szene auf. Außerdem sind wir Schweden nicht sehr neurotisch und arbeiten gern hart. Dann kommt nur noch die Magie des Bühnenmoments dazu. Und die kann niemand erklären.

Nina Stemme
singt Brünnhilde in der Neuproduktion des RING. In Stockholm geboren, tudierte sie zunächst Betriebswirtschaftslehre und gilt heute vielen als beste lebende Wagner-Sopranistin

 

Lise Davidsen © Ray Burmiston
 

1 Lise Davidsen, es gibt viele starke Frauen in der WALKÜRE. Was zeichnet weibliche Stärke heute aus?
Sie ordnet sich nicht unter. Heute leben wir zum Glück mit der Selbstverständlichkeit, dass Frauen stark sein dürfen. Vielleicht gab es Zeiten, in denen das noch nicht so klar war. Heute können wir voller Selbstbewusstsein sagen: Ich bin eine Frau, und ich bin stark, und deswegen kann ich solch einen Charakter verkörpern. Auf der Opernbühne ist das eigentlich sogar schon lange so, die Oper ist geradezu visionär, was das betrifft. Auch Leonore aus FIDELIO ist stark, und viele andere.

2 Und wie begehrt man erfolgreich gegen einen dominanten Vater auf?
Wotan ist nicht nur ein dominanter, sondern auch ein sehr schlechter Vater. Ich bin froh, dass mein eigener Vater nicht so ist. Ich musste also zum Glück nie in dieser Weise aufbegehren. Wotan sorgt sich überhaupt nicht um seine Töchter. Wenn man das mit heutigen Augen sieht, ist es erschütternd. Und umso verständlicher, dass diese Frauen ihren eigenen Weg suchen müssen. Das macht sie so modern.

3 Sind Skandinavierinnen eigentlich die besseren Wagner-Sängerinnen?
Nein. Ich hab schon Sängerinnen aller Nationalitäten in Wagner-Opern sehr gut singen gehört, darunter sehr viele deutsche. Aber es gibt dieses Klischee, ich weiß. Wagner hat ja unter anderem mythische Quellen aus meiner Heimat Norwegen verarbeitet, das gefällt mir. Dass es tatsächlich etliche Skandinavierinnen im Wagner-Fach gibt, halte ich für reinen Zufall. Allerdings freue ich mich sehr darauf, in dieser Oper nun mit Nina Stemme aufzutreten. Nicht weil sie Schwedin, sondern einfach, weil sie so eine großartige Sängerin ist.

Lise Davidsen
übernimmt in der WALKÜRE die Rolle der Sieglinde. Die Sopranistin wurde 1987 in Südnorwegen geboren. Ihren Durchbruch hatte sie als Elisabeth im Bayreuther TANNHÄUSER