Synopsis – Twilight of the Gods

Twilight of the Gods
The third day of A scenic festival in three days and one eve by Richard Wagner
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Clay Hilley, Thomas Lehman, Jürgen Linn, Gidon Saks / Albert Pesendorfer, Nina Stemme, Aile Asszonyi, Okka van der Damerau et al.
Premiere on 17 October 2021

 

Prelude
 

The three Norns, daughters of earth mother Erda, weave the rope of destiny and sing of the past and future: for his spear of law, Wotan once broke a branch from the sacred World Tree, which promptly withered. Now he has had it felled and the logs piled up around the fortress of the gods, in which he sits with the broken spear, waiting for the gods’ demise. On the Rock of the Valkyries, the Norns’ rope tears, putting a sudden end to their eternal wisdom. When the Norns disappear, Brünnhilde awakens next to Siegfried. For his protection, she gives him everything she had as a Valkyrie, kisses him awake and sends him out into the world to do new heroic deeds. As a token of his love, Siegfried leaves the ring of the Nibelung with her.

 

Act I
 

Seeking to recapture that ring, Alberich has fathered a son. Hagen has grown up lovelessly at the Gibichung court, alongside his half-siblings Gunther and Gutrune. To their chagrin, both have remained unwed. To augment his fame, Hagen advises Gunther to win Brünnhilde, asleep in the ring of fire, for himself. First, however, Gutrune is to give Siegfried a magic potion to make him desire her and forget Brünnhilde.

When Siegfried’s horn resounds from the banks of the Rhine, Hagen summons the hero. Gunther welcomes him; Gutrune offers him the magic potion. Siegfried drinks it and is immediately willing to walk through Brünnhilde’s fire, wearing the magic helmet conferring invisibility, and woo her for Gunther, if he receives Gutrune’s hand in return. Gunther and Siegfried swear to be blood brothers and eternal allies, then depart for the Rock of the Valkyries. Hagen stays behind, guarding the hall, certain that the ring will enable him to rule the world.

In the meantime, Brünnhilde is visited at the Rock of the Valkyries by her sister Waltraute. She reports on the desolate state of the gods, entreating Brünnhilde to return the ring to the Rhinemaidens. This is the only way to end its curse and redeem both the gods and the world. Brünnhilde, however, sends the supplicant off, stating she would never part from the token of Siegfried’s love.

Siegfried’s horn is heard. To Brünnhilde’s horror, however, a stranger breaks through the fire, commanding her to obey and follow him. She resists, but Siegfried, in the shape of Gunther, manages to tear the ring from Brünnhilde. Faithful to his blood brother, the self-estranged hero finally has his sword bear witness to the fact that it is Gunther sleeping with his wife.

 

Act II
 

Consumed by hatred and greed, Alberich demands fealty from his son, whom he expects to win back the ring. Hagen avoids his father’s demands by sleeping.

Back from the Rock of the Valkyries, Siegfried reports to Hagen on the successful deceit and dispels Gutrune’s concerns about the subjugation of Brünnhilde.

Hagen summons all the vassals of the house of Gibichung, and they welcome Gunther and his bride with due ceremony. Brünnhilde is horrified to see Siegfried as the groom by Gutrune’s side. When she sees the ring on his finger, she first accuses him of theft and then announces to everyone’s dismay that she is married to Siegfried. Renouncing her accusation of fraud, Siegfried swears on the tip of his spear, which Hagen offers him for his oath. Furious, Brünnhilde accuses him of perjury. Trying to calm the enraged crowd, Siegfried now plays down her fury as female capriciousness, inviting everyone to the wedding feast. Brünnhilde stays behind, stunned.

When Hagen offers to avenge her, she reveals to him that Siegfried’s only vulnerable spot is his back. Hagen also incites the now-disgraced Gunther to revenge, telling him about the prodigious power the bearer of the ring wields. As dawn breaks, the horns call to the hunting party. During the hunt, Hagen plans to fell the hero with his spear from behind, blaming a wild boar. Brünnhilde and Gunther agree that Siegfried should die.

 

Act III
 

Siegfried is chasing an elusive quarry when he suddenly encounters the seductive Rhinemaidens. They foretell his death unless he hands over the ring to them. Defiant, the fearless hero prefers to keep the accursed ring for himself. The Rhinemaidens mock him and leave him behind, alone.

The hunting party is surprised to find Siegfried without his prey. Hagen suggests that they pause, asking Siegfried to tell them of his heroic deeds. When Hagen gives him a potion restoring Siegfried’s memory, he finally begins to talk about the sleeping Brünnhilde, whom he awoke with a kiss. Hagen seizes the opportunity to fall upon the perjurer with his spear from behind, before the entire party’s eyes. Wordless, Gunther and his men witness how the dying Siegfried sends one last farewell to his beloved bride. Mocking their boundless grief, Hagen rejoices in the hero’s death.

Gutrune awakes with a dark sense of foreboding, worried that her husband might not return. When Hagen brings her Siegfried’s body, she recognizes that she has been used and deceived. Hagen claims the victor’s spoils, demanding the ring as a reward for wreaking revenge on the perjurer, and kills Gunther when he tries to oppose him.

Brünnhilde’s appearance has everyone freeze in their tracks. She has a pyre built for her rightful husband and accuses the gods of having burdened themselves with eternal guilt. Then she takes the ring, lights the fire, mounts her horse and rides into the flames, which flare up and set Valhalla ablaze. Finally, the Rhine overflows and returns the golden ring to the Rhinemaidens, to Hagen’s desperation. From the destruction of the world, a hope for love once again rises.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

„Götterdämmerung“ – Die Handlung

Götterdämmerung
Dritter Tag des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend von Richard Wagner
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit With Clay Hilley, Thomas Lehman, Jürgen Linn, Gidon Saks / Albert Pesendorfer, Nina Stemme, Aile Asszonyi, Okka van der Damerau u. a.
Premiere am 17. Oktober 2021

 

Vorspiel
 

Die drei Nornen, Töchter der Urmutter Erda, spinnen am Seil des Schicksals und singen von Vergangenheit und Zukunft: Für seinen Gesetzes-Speer brach Wotan einst einen Ast von der Weltesche, die daraufhin verdorrte. Nun hat er sie fällen und in Scheite um die Götterburg schichten lassen, in der er mit dem zerbrochenen Speer sitzt und das Ende der Götter erwartet. Am Walkürenfelsen reißt das Seil der Nornen, und so wird ihrem ewigen Wissen ein jähes Ende gesetzt. Als die Nornen verschwinden, erwacht Brünnhilde neben Siegfried. Zu seinem Schutz gibt sie ihm alles, was sie als Walküre besaß, küsst ihn wach und schickt ihn zu neuen Heldentaten in die Welt hinaus. Als Zeichen seiner Liebe überlässt Siegfried ihr den Ring des Nibelungen.

 

1. Aufzug
 

Um diesen zurückzugewinnen, hat Alberich einen Sohn gezeugt. Am Hofe der Gibichungen wuchs Hagen freudlos neben seinen Halbgeschwistern Gunther und Gutrune auf. Zu ihrer Schmach sind beide unvermählt geblieben. Hagen rät Gunther zur Stärkung seines Ruhms, die im Feuerkreis schlafende Brünnhilde für sich zu gewinnen. Zuvor müsse Gutrune Siegfried einen Zaubertrank einflößen, durch den er sie begehren und Brünnhilde vergessen werde.

Als vom Ufer des Rheins Siegfrieds Horn erklingt, ruft Hagen den Helden herbei. Gunther heißt ihn willkommen, Gutrune reicht ihm den Zaubertrank. Siegfried trinkt und ist augenblicklich bereit, mit Hilfe des Tarnhelms Brünnhildes Feuer zu durchschreiten und sie für Gunther zu freien, sollte er dafür Gutrunes Hand bekommen. Auf diesen Bund trinken Gunther und Siegfried Blutsbrüderschaft und schwören sich ewige Treue, bevor sie zum Walkürenfelsen aufbrechen. Hagen bleibt zurück und bewacht die Halle, sich der Weltherrschaft durch den Ring gewiss.

Auf dem Walkürenfelsen wird derweil Brünnhilde von ihrer Schwester Waltraute aufgesucht. Sie berichtet vom desolaten Zustand der Götter und mahnt Brünnhilde zur Rückgabe des Rings an die Rheintöchter. Nur so könne dessen Fluch getilgt sowie Gott und die Welt erlöst werden. Brünnhilde jagt dennoch die Bittende fort, denn von Siegfrieds Liebespfand werde sie sich niemals trennen.

Siegfrieds Horn ertönt. Zu Brünnhildes Entsetzen durchdringt nun aber ein Fremder das Feuer und befiehlt ihr zu folgen. Sie wehrt sich, doch in Gunthers Gestalt gelingt es Siegfried, Brünnhilde den Ring zu entreißen. Seinem Blutsbruder die Treue wahrend lässt der selbstentfremdete Held schließlich sein Schwert bezeugen, dass es Gunther ist, der sich mit seiner Frau bettet.

 

2. Aufzug
 

Von Hass und Gier zerfressen verlangt Alberich die Treue seines Sohnes, der ihm den Ring zurückgewinnen soll. Schlafend entzieht sich Hagen den Forderungen seines Vaters.

Zurück vom Walkürenfelsen berichtet Siegfried Hagen von der erfolgreichen Täuschung und zerstreut Gutrunes Sorge über die Bezwingung Brünnhildes.

Hagen ruft alle Gibichsmannen zur Hochzeit zusammen, die Gunther und seine Braut feierlich empfangen. Entsetzt erkennt Brünnhilde Siegfried als Bräutigam an Gutrunes Seite. Als sie den Ring an seinem Finger sieht, wirft sie ihm zunächst Diebstahl vor und gibt dann zu aller Entrüstung kund, dass sie mit Siegfried vermählt sei. Um ihre Anklage des Betrugs zu widerlegen, schwört Siegfried an der Spitze des Speeres, die ihm Hagen zum Eid bietet. Wütend wirft ihm Brünnhilde Meineid vor. Um die aufgebrachte Menge zu beschwichtigen, spielt nun Siegfried ihre Wut als Weiberlaune herunter und lädt alle zum Hochzeitsfest ein. Brünnhilde bleibt fassungslos zurück.

Als Hagen sich ihr als Rächer anbietet, verrät sie ihm, dass Siegfried allein am Rücken verletzbar sei. Hagen stachelt nun auch den in Schande gefallenen Gunther zur Rache auf und erzählt ihm, welche ungeheure Macht dem Träger des Rings zukomme. In der Morgendämmerung rufen die Hörner zur Jagd. Bei dieser will Hagen den Helden hinterrücks mit dem Speer fällen und die Tat einem Eber anlasten. Brünnhilde und Gunther stimmen Siegfrieds Tod zu.

 

3. Aufzug
 

Siegfried sucht vergeblich das von ihm verfolgte Wild, als er plötzlich auf die verführerischen Rheintöchter trifft. Sie sagen ihm den Tod voraus, sollte er ihnen den Ring nicht übergeben. Trotzig behält der furchtlose Held den verfluchten Reif lieber für sich. Die Rheintöchter verhöhnen ihn und lassen ihn allein zurück.

Verwundert findet die Jagdgesellschaft Siegfried beutelos. Hagen ruft zur Rast und fordert Siegfried auf, von seinen Heldentaten zu erzählen. Als er ihm einen Trank reicht, der Siegfried die Erinnerung zurückgibt, kommt er schließlich auf die schlafende Brünnhilde zu sprechen, die er einst küssend erweckte. Hagen nutzt die Gelegenheit, um dem Meineidigen vor aller Augen mit dem Speer in den Rücken zu fallen. Sprachlos bezeugen Gunther und die Mannen, wie der Sterbende seinen letzten Gruß an die geliebte Braut richtet. Trotz ihrer bodenlosen Trauer ergötzt sich Hagen am Tod des Helden.

Gutrune erwacht mit düsterer Ahnung und bangt um ihres Gatten Rückkehr. Als Hagen ihr Siegfrieds Leichnam bringt, erkennt sie, dass sie benutzt und hintergangen wurde. Hagen beruft sich auf das Beuterecht, fordert den Ring als Lohn für seine Rache an dem Meineidigen und erschlägt Gunther, als dieser sich ihm widersetzt.

Brünnhildes Erscheinen lässt alle erstarren. Sie lässt einen Scheiterhaufen für ihren rechtmäßigen Gatten errichten und klagt die Götter ob ihrer ewiger Schuld an. Dann nimmt sie den Ring, zündet das Feuer, besteigt ihr Ross und stürzt sich mit ihm in die Flammen, die hochschlagen und Walhall in Brand setzen.

Schließlich tritt der Rhein über die Ufer und führt zu Hagens Verzweiflung den goldenen Reif an die Rheintöchter zurück. Aus der zertrümmerten Welt steigt erneut Hoffnung auf Liebe.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter