Obituary

In memory of Mariana Cioromila

1952 – 2022

Mozart opened the doors of the Deutsche Oper Berlin to her: Mariana Cioromila made her debut at the Deutsche Oper Berlin in April 1989 as Dorabella in COSÌ FAN TUTTE - and impressed artistic director Götz Friedrich so much that he immediately offered the young Romanian mezzo-soprano a permanent contract for the coming season. At that time, Cioromila was considered one of the most interesting young singers in her field and, after winning various singing competitions such as the Maria Callas Competition in Athens, had already begun an international career and celebrated successes as Carmen at Glyndebourne, among others.

Mariana Cioromila
 

The next few years, however, were to belong to Berlin: For a decade Cioromila became one of the busiest ensemble members at the Bismarckstraße and was to appear on stage here on almost 250 evenings: Initially continuing with Mozart roles such as Sesto in LA CLEMENZA DI TITO, but soon moving on to the more dramatic roles in the Italian repertoire. Eboli in DON CARLO, Maddalena in RIGOLETTO, Preziosilla in LA FORZA DEL DESTINO, Laura in LA GIOCONDA - the list of roles in which Cioromila could be seen at the Bismarckstraße grew steadily and would eventually include excursions into the German genre such as the Witch in HÄNSEL UND GRETEL and Mary in FLIEGENDEN HOLLÄNDER.

Mariana Cioromila in BORIS GODUNOW © Kranichphoto
 

The highlight of Mariana Cioromila's career in Berlin was, of course, a Russian opera: in 1995, Götz Friedrich entrusted her with the main female role in his production of Mussorgsky's BORIS GODUNOV, where she sang Marina alongside Matti Salminen and René Kollo. In the late nineties, however, Mariana Cioromila decided to give her life a new turn and settled in Brazil. Now the news has reached us that Mariana Cioromila passed away a few days ago in Brasilia at the age of 70.

Deutsche Oper Berlin will honour her memory.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Nachruf

Im Gedenken an Mariana Cioromila

1952 – 2022

Mozart öffnete ihr die Türen der Deutschen Oper Berlin: Als Dorabella in COSÌ FAN TUTTE debütierte Mariana Cioromila im April 1989 an der Deutschen Oper Berlin – und beeindruckte den Intendanten Götz Friedrich so, dass er der jungen rumänischen Mezzosopranistin sogleich einen Festvertrag für die kommende Spielzeit anbot. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt galt Cioromila als eine der interessantesten jungen Sängerdarstellerinnen ihres Fachs und hatte nach dem Gewinn diverser Gesangswettbewerbe wie dem Maria-Callas-Wettbewerb in Athen bereits eine internationale Karriere begonnen und unter anderem als Carmen in Glyndebourne Erfolge gefeiert.

Mariana Cioromila
 

Die nächsten Jahre jedoch sollten Berlin gehören: Ein Jahrzehnt lang wurde Cioromila zu einem der meistbeschäftigten Ensemblemitglieder an der Bismarckstraße und sollte hier an nahezu 250 Abenden auf der Bühne stehen: Zunächst weiterhin mit Mozart-Partien wie dem Sesto in LA CLEMENZA DI TITO, dann aber auch bald mit den dramatischeren Rollen des italienischen Fachs. Eboli in DON CARLO, Maddalena in RIGOLETTO, Preziosilla in LA FORZA DEL DESTINO, Laura in LA GIOCONDA – die Liste der Rollen, in denen Cioromila an der Bismarckstraße zu erleben war, wuchs beständig und sollte schließlich auch Ausflüge ins Deutsche Fach wie die Hexe in HÄNSEL UND GRETEL und Mary im FLIEGENDEN HOLLÄNDER umfassen.

Mariana Cioromila in BORIS GODUNOW © Kranichphoto
 

Den Höhepunkt von Mariana Cioromilas Karriere in Berlin markierte freilich eine russische Oper: 1995 vertraute ihr Götz Friedrich die weibliche Hauptpartie in seiner Inszenierung von Mussorgskis BORIS GODUNOW an, wo sie an der Seite von Matti Salminen und René Kollo die Marina sang. Ende der Neunziger Jahre entschloss sich Mariana Cioromila jedoch, ihrem Leben eine neue Wendung zu geben und ließ sich in Brasilien nieder. Nun hat uns die Nachricht erreicht, dass Mariana Cioromila vor wenigen Tagen im Alter von 70 Jahren in Brasilia verstorben ist.

Die Deutsche Oper Berlin wird ihr ein ehrendes Andenken bewahren.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter