The seven questions were asked by Ralf Grauel

The Grinding Mills of Power

The Verdi opera SIMON BOCCANEGRA tells of the moral destruction of a political talent. Why do so many people perish as soon as they take on responsibility and enter public office? A conversation with Grünen founder and politician Christa Nickels

Christa Nickels, why is politics an eternally dirty business?
Because competition is immanent to the system of politics. Every position occupied by one person becomes unattainable to others who would like to make their mark in that very position. That is something many people cannot deal with. Then there is the issue that often it is not qualification that decides, but the greatest possible proximity to and blind faith in the protagonists of leading circles. This often leads to clandestine pacts and appointments treated as bargaining chips, which undermines democratic processes, even renders them absurd.

How does politics ruin the character?
When you give up the ability to recognize goodness in your political opponent as well and consider your own opinion the absolute measure of everything, when you give up fighting with an “open visor” and instead start resorting to intrigues, conniving, smearing your opponent, deceiving the public and preventing transparency. When you glorify politics as a profession and disregard and belittle protagonists outside the party landscape, when you stop practicing politics as a service to democratic society and instead consider it a theatre of power politics on a grand stage.

What, actually, is power? What is its dark side?
Power is the ability to affect: the possibility to actively shape and decide the basics and conditions of social cohabitation. One pillar of our democracy is the principle that “all power emanates from the people.” The dark side of power afflicts political protagonists when they forget this principle and start believing that exercising power per se is an absolute goal.

Have you ever made a deal with the devil, as they say?
I have always been a champion of democratic involvement. When I could not find that inside the parties in the 1970s, I started searching and became one of the founders of the Green Party. That was strenuous, lots of work, chaotic – but also invigorating, vivid, satisfying, to be part of a process that was powerfully effective. Of course we met with plenty of malice, all the way to slavering vilification. But I never encountered “the devil”.

How has politics changed since then?
The student’s movement, the women’s, environmental, peace and democratic movements and the Green Party have revitalized our parliamentary democracy. Topics repressed for decades suddenly made it onto the agenda: the forgotten victims of the Nazi dictatorship, the destruction of the ecological basis of all life, the extinction of species, the dramatic endangerment of world peace, the exploitation of the countries of the global south, social inequality, the systematic discrimination and exclusion of women…

How have women of your generation changed politics?
We stood on the shoulders of pugnacious women, the suffragettes, the mothers of the German constitution and the women’s movement. One breakthrough came in 1983, when the Green Party’s parliamentary group consisted of almost the same number of women as men. The fact that half a group was made up of women for the first time meant that women’s experiences and issues were put on the agenda with unprecedented urgency. All the parties in this country have realized: without women, there is no state. The situation of women in a country is one decisive indicator of a population’s wellbeing.

Does politics become less tainted when there are more women inside the political machine?
I don’t like the term “untainted”. Human action is always part of “fractured” structures; and of course women are not better human beings per se. However, they do make up half the population. Therefore, politics cannot be credible if they are not represented in all areas, contributing their experiences and making decisions. So yes: half the decision-making power in female hands is a basic criterion for credible politics.

 

Christa Nickels, a founding member of the Green Party in North Rhine-Westphalia since 1979, was a member of the Bundestag for five terms, chairperson of two expert committees, parliamentary state secretary and drug commissioner of the federal government. She is a resistant reformist Catholic as well as a passionate grandmother, gardener and avid reader.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

06
DEC

Today in the foyer: "St. Nicholas is coming
17.00 h / Rank foyer on the right
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission


The visit of Father Christmas is a cherished tradition at the Advent Calendar of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. This time we encourage our younger guests to get active themselves and share with us their favourite experiences from the past year. While enchanting music plays and Father Christmas is sure to have a sweet or two in his luggage, we invite you to take part in a small interactive activity. This year, our Father Christmas will be accompanied by the young Italian soprano Elisa Verzier.

In 2016 she made her debut at the Teatro Verdi di Trieste in Mendelssohn's EIN SOMMERNACHTSTRAUM and as Serpina in Paisiello's LA SERVA PADRONA. Her church music repertoire includes Mozart's "Coronation Mass", Handel's "Messiah", John Rutter's "Mass of the Children" and several pieces by Pergolesi, Schubert and Bach. Elisa Verzier has won numerous competitions. Her next engagements include Norina / DON PASQUALE in Trieste and La Contessa / LA SCUOLA DEI GELOSI in Turin. In the 2022/23 season she is engaged as a scholarship holder of the Förderkreis in the ensemble of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, where she will sing Pamina / DIE ZAUBERFLÖTE, Marzelline / FIDELIO, Frasquita / CARMEN, Musetta / LA BOHÈME and Zerlina / DON GIOVANNI, among others.

Die sieben Fragen stellte Ralf Grauel

In den Mühlen der Macht

Die Verdi-Oper SIMON BOCCANEGRA erzählt von der moralischen Zerstörung eines politischen Talents. Warum gehen so viele Menschen zugrunde, sobald sie Verantwortung übernehmen und ins öffentliche Amt eintreten? Ein Gespräch mit Politikerin Christa Nickels

Christa Nickels, warum ist Politik das ewig schmutzige Geschäft?
Weil in der Politik das Konkurrieren systemimmanent ist. Jede Position, die jemand erlangt, ist für andere – die an dieser Stelle gerne wirken würden – obsolet. Damit können viele schlecht umgehen. Hinzu kommt, dass es oft nicht um beste Befähigung geht, sondern um größtmögliche Nähe und Nibelungentreue zu den Protagonist*innen der Führungszirkel. Hier kommt es oft zu klandestinen Absprachen und Postengeschacher, die demokratische Abstimmungsprozesse unterlaufen und ad absurdum führen.

Wie verdirbt Politik den Charakter?
Wenn man die Fähigkeit aufgibt, das Gute auch beim politischen Widerpart zu erkennen und die eigene Meinung absolut setzt, das Kämpfen „mit offenem Visier“ aufgibt, stattdessen Intrigen schmiedet, Fallen stellt, den Gegner diffamiert, die Öffentlichkeit täuscht und Transparenz verhindert. Wenn man Berufspolitik glorifiziert und außerparteiliche Akteur*innen geringschätzt und aufhört, Politik als Dienstleitung für die demokratische Gesellschaft auszuüben, sondern als machtpolitisches Theater auf großer Bühne begreift.

Was ist eigentlich Macht? Was ist ihre dunkle Seite?
Macht ist Wirkmächtigkeit: Die Möglichkeit zu haben, Grundlagen und Bedingungen gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens aktiv mitzugestalten und mitzuentscheiden. Eine tragende Säule unserer Demokratie ist der Grundsatz „Alle Macht geht vom Volke aus.“ Die dunkle Seite der Macht schlägt auf politische Akteure zurück, wenn sie diesen Grundsatz vergessen und das Ausüben von Macht absolut setzen.

Haben Sie jemals, wie man sagt, mit dem Teufel paktiert?
Ich war und bin begeistert von demokratischer Beteiligung. Als ich die in den 1970er Jahren in den Parteien nicht fand, habe ich mich auf die Suche gemacht und wurde so zur Mitbegründerin der Grünen. Das war anstrengend, arbeitsintensiv, chaotisch – aber auch prickelnd, lebendig, befriedigend, Teil eines Prozesses zu sein, der wirkmächtig war. Natürlich schlug uns viel Häme bis geifernde Herabwürdigung entgegen. Dem „Teufel“ bin ich dabei nicht begegnet.

Wie hat sich die Politik seitdem verändert?
Studenten-, Frauen, Umwelt-, Friedens- und Demokratiebewegung und die Grüne Partei haben unsere parlamentarische Demokratie revitalisiert. Über Jahrzehnte verdrängte Themen wurden auf die Agenda gesetzt: die vergessenen Opfer der NS-Diktatur, die Zerstörung ökologischer Lebensgrundlagen, das Artensterben, die dramatische Gefährdung des Weltfriedens, die Ausbeutung der Länder des Südens, soziale Ungleichheit, die systemische Benachteiligung und Ausgrenzung von Frauen…

Wie haben die Frauen ihrer Generation die Politik verändert?
Wir standen auf den Schultern streitbarer Frauen, den Suffragetten, den Müttern des Grundgesetzes und der Frauenbewegung. Ein Durchbruch kam 1983 mit der fast paritätisch besetzten Bundestagsfraktion der Grünen. Die Tatsache, dass erstmals die Hälfte einer Fraktion aus Frauen bestand, führte dazu, dass die Erfahrungen und Anliegen von Frauen mit bislang nicht gekannter Deutlichkeit auf die Tagesordnung gesetzt wurden. Allen Parteien hierzulande ist klar: Ohne Frauen ist kein Staat zu machen. Die Situation von Frauen in einem Land ist entscheidender Gradmesser für das Wohlergehen seiner Menschen.

Wird Politik weniger verdorben, wenn mehr Frau im Apparat sind?
Von dem Begriff „unverdorben“ halte ich nichts. Menschliches Handeln bewegt sich immer in „gebrochenen“ Strukturen, natürlich sind Frauen nicht per se die besseren Menschen. Allerdings machen sie die Hälfte der Bevölkerung aus. Demnach kann Politik nicht glaubwürdig sein, wenn sie nicht in allen Bereichen vertreten sind, ihre Erfahrungen einbringen und mitgestalten. Also ja: Die Hälfte der Gestaltungsmacht für Frauen ist ein Grundkriterium für glaubwürdige Politik.

 

Christa Nickels, seit 1979 Gründungsmitglied der Grünen in NRW, war fünf Wahlperioden Abgeordnete im Bundestag, Vorsitzende zweier Fachausschüsse, parlamentarische Staatssekretärin und Drogenbeauftragte der Bundesregierung. Sie ist widerständige Reformkatholikin sowie leidenschaftliche Oma, Gärtnerin und Leseratte

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

08
DEZ

Adventskalender: Das 8. Fensterchen

Heute im Foyer: „Gemeinsames Adventssingen“
Mit der Blechbläsergruppe unseres Orchesters
17.00 Uhr / Parkettfoyer
Dauer: ca. 25 Minuten / Eintritt frei


Die Blechbläsergruppe des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin lädt zum Singen weihnachtlicher Lieder ins Parkettfoyer ein, wo der liebevoll in Gold geschmückte Tannenbaum erstrahlt! Vom bekannten deutschen Adventslied „Macht hoch die Tür, die Tor macht weit“ über die Klassiker „Oh Tannenbaum“ und „Oh Du Fröhliche“ bis zu „White Christmas“, erwartet Sie ein Programm zur musikalischen Einstimmung auf die Feiertage.