Marc Albrecht … A place of serenity for my soul: Charlottenburg Palace park

Marc Albrecht loves the parklands adjacent to Charlottenburg Palace – and the music of the 1920s: he is currently conducting Franz Schreker’s THE TREASURE HUNTER, an opera hit during the Weimar Republic.

My private place of peace is the garden and parkland behind Charlottenburg Palace in Berlin. I love the baroque grounds that butt directly onto the palace. King Frederick William II had an English-style garden laid out here. If you walk right through to the Belvedere Tea House on the northernmost fringe, that’s my favourite section, where the vegetation is rougher and there are reedy areas and grassy expanses. I live in the area and the Deutsche Oper Berlin isn’t far away either. I think of the park as my own little village in the middle of the city.

I get my peace and quiet here. And I really need that downtime after all the travelling and poring over scores, because our prep work as conductors is very much brain-based, deskbound, drawing-board stuff. I’m isolating an opera’s structures and sound mixes, playing passages on the piano, and so on. The longer I spend on it, the more the music grows in richness and rubs off on me.

When I’ve got to a point where I can hear the score reverberating within me, I have difficulty switching it off. At night the entire opera is playing through in my head from beginning to end. I’ve come to think of the whole idea of sleep as overrated: if I lie down and shut my eyes, my body does get the rest it needs. It’s the same when I’m walking in the park: the music that I’ll soon be conducting is ringing in my head, although the experience is different when you’re walking in the open air. There’s always something new to get from it.

I like to champion the music of the 1920s in particular. It’s a pity that much of the music from that thrilling decade has slipped from public awareness, and a lot of it has strong ties to Berlin. Franz Schreker, the composer, even lived quite close to the park, on Hardenbergstrasse. His TREASURE HUNTER, which we’re mounting right now, had its Berlin premiere at the Staatsoper in April 1922 and has never been performed here since. Many great works from that period were very well received in Berlin. Alban Berg’s WOZZECK had its world premiere at the Staatsoper in late 1925. And in 1928, following its world premiere in Hamburg, THE MIRACLE OF HELIANE by Erich Wolfgang Korngold arrived at the Städtische Oper, the predecessor of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, with the great Bruno Walter conducting.

A century on: Hanover native Marc Albrecht carries a torch for the music of the 1920s, including works by Korngold, Berg and Zemlinsky © Jonas Holthaus
 

As it happens, Schreker’s TREASURE HUNTER triumphed across the Weimar Republic. The entertaining opera relates, in four brief acts, a fairy tale involving unfulfilled love and lost treasure. It toured 50 opera houses the length and breadth of the country, making it one of the most watched operas of the decade. Everything ended in 1933 with the arrival of the National Socialists, marking the demise of a wonderful and lively music scene. Schreker’s opera joined the list of works branded »degenerate art« and was soon forgotten. It’s truly fascinating to be part of the revival of a rich, pre-Nazi world of opera and be delivering it fresh to audiences today.

1920s opera is also reflective of a certain ecstasy prevalent in that period, a bubbling, often erotically charged energy, often accompanied by nude scenes. This was a new departure for opera and remains the exception that proves the rule in musical theatre. Also, fewer operas were featuring overtures: the works tended to launch straight into the actions of the main characters – slightly Late Romantic in tone, occasionally cumbersome, but it works! The stories are back speaking to us in our modern-day lives with the power of Schreker’s florid music! 

And the dimensions and acoustics of the Deutsche Oper Berlin are the perfect setting. I was Principal Guest Conductor here once, years ago, and it’s a lovely feeling to be reconnected to the place again. I have been back in Berlin for two years now, living close to the Schlossgarten. My children love it. We can kick a football around in the northern section of the park. It’s a place where I have a sense of freedom, that the world’s my oyster. I’m guessing the musicians in the 1920s felt the same way.

Albrecht was until recently Principal Conductor at the Nederlandse Opera in Amsterdam. In 2021 he received the Opus Klassik award as “Conductor of the Year”. He has now moved back to Berlin. © Jonas Holthaus

 

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Marc Albrecht … Mein Seelenort: Schlossgarten Charlottenburg

Marc Albrecht liebt den Park am Charlottenburger Schloss. Und die Musik der 1920er: Er dirigiert Franz Schrekers DER SCHATZGRÄBER, einen Opern-Hit der Weimarer Republik

Mein Seelenort ist der Schlossgarten Charlottenburg in Berlin. Diesen barocken Park direkt am Schloss finde ich beeindruckend. König Friedrich Wilhelm II. ließ sich hier einen Garten im englischen Stil anlegen. Wenn man ganz nach Norden durchgeht, zum Teehaus Belvedere, kommt ein etwas wilderer Bereich mit Schilf und vielen Wiesen, den liebe ich am meisten. Ich wohne in der Nähe, die Deutsche Oper Berlin ist auch nicht weit, dieser Garten ist sozusagen Teil meines kleinen Dorfes innerhalb der Stadt.

Hier ist mein Ruheort. Und den brauche ich auch dringend, um mich von den häufigen Reisen oder dem Studium der Partituren mal auszulüften. Denn wir Dirigenten sind bei der Vorbereitung Schreibtischtäter und Kopfarbeiter. Ich suche dann die Strukturen und Klangmischungen in den Werken, spiele einzelne Passagen am Klavier durch. Die Musik wird dabei immer reicher, je länger ich mich mit ihr beschäftige, mit jedem Durchgang kommt sozusagen mehr von der Musik ins Bewusstsein.

Wenn ich die Partitur schließlich innerlich hören kann, lässt sich der Strom der Musik oft gar nicht mehr abschalten. Auch nachts läuft im Kopf dann eben nochmal die ganze Oper ab. Schlaf halte ich aber inzwischen für überschätzt. Ich liege, ich schließe die Augen, der Körper ruht sich dann doch aus. Auch hier im Park gehe ich gern spazieren und höre im Kopf die Musik, die ich als nächstes dirigieren werde. An der Luft und in Bewegung ist das nochmal ein anderes Erlebnis, ich entdecke dabei immer wieder Neues.

Für die Musik der 1920er Jahre setze ich mich besonders gern ein. Vieles aus diesem aufregenden Jahrzehnt ist heute vollkommen zu Unrecht vergessen. Und vieles davon ist eng mit Berlin verbunden. Der Komponist Franz Schreker hat sogar hier in der Nähe des Parks gelebt, in der Hardenbergstraße. Seine Oper DER SCHATZGRÄBER, die wir jetzt aufführen, feierte im April 1922 an der Staatsoper ihre Berlin-Premiere und war seitdem hier nicht mehr zu sehen. Viele große Werke jener Zeit wurden in Berlin besonders gut aufgenommen. Alban Bergs WOZZECK erlebte Ende 1925 an der Lindenoper seine Uraufführung. DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE von Erich Wolfgang Korngold wurde zwar in Hamburg uraufgeführt, kam aber 1928 an die Städtische Oper, die Vorgängerin der Deutschen Oper Berlin, der große Bruno Walter dirigierte damals.

Weitblick: Der gebürtige Hannoveraner Albrecht setzt sich besonders für die Musik der 1920er ein, auch für das Werk von Korngold, Berg oder Zemlinsky © Jonas Holthaus
 

Und Schrekers SCHATZGRÄBER wurde ja übrigens ein Riesenerfolg in der Weimarer Republik. Die kurzweilige Oper erzählt eine Geschichte aus einem Märchenland in vier schnellen Akten, es geht um einen verschwundenen Goldschatz und eine unerfüllte Liebe. Schrekers Werk lief an immerhin rund 50 verschiedenen Opernhäusern im ganzen Land und ist damit eine der meistgespielten Opern des Jahrzehnts. Im Jahr 1933 kommen die Nationalsozialisten an die Macht und alles ist vorbei. Eine wunderbare, lebendige Musikszene kommt an ihr abruptes Ende. Auch Schrekers Oper wird als »entartete Kunst« eingestuft und dann vergessen. Ich finde es heute sehr faszinierend, die Opernwelt der Jahre zuvor in all ihrem Reichtum wieder aufleben zu lassen und dem Publikum neu vor Augen zu führen.

Aus der Oper der 1920er Jahre spricht auch die gewisse Ekstase jener Zeit, eine aufschäumende Energie, oft erotisch aufgeladen, häufig auch mit Nacktszenen – das war damals ein Novum in der Opernwelt und ist bis heute ungewöhnlich für das Musiktheater. Die Opern dieser Jahre haben meist keine Ouvertüren mehr, es geht gleich mitten hinein ins Leben der Figuren. Manchmal klingt es spätromantisch, manchmal auch sperrig, aber es funktioniert! Diese Stücke haben uns heute doch wieder mehr zu sagen. Die Kraft von Schrekers ungeheuer farbenreicher Musik teilt sich einfach mit!

Und sie passt perfekt in den Raum und die Akustik der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Hier war ich vor Jahren schon einmal Erster Gastdirigent und bin nun zu meiner Freude dem Haus wieder enger verbunden. Seit zwei Jahren lebe ich nun auch in Berlin, am Schlosspark. Meine Kinder finden es hier prima, im nördlichen Teil des Parks kann man dann auch mal einen Fußball herausholen. Hier fühle ich mich frei, die Welt steht offen. Vermutlich ist das ein wenig ähnlich wie mit der Musik der 1920er Jahre.

Albrecht war zuletzt Chefdirigent der Nationale Opera in Amsterdam, erhielt 2021 den Opus Klassik als „Dirigent des Jahres“ und lebt nun wieder in Berlin © Jonas Holthaus
 

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter