Tosca

Giacomo Puccini (1858 – 1924)

Information on the piece

Melodramma in 3 acts
Libretto by Giuseppe Giacosa and Luigi Illica
based on the drama LA TOSCA by Victorien Sardou
First performed on 14th January 1900 in Rome
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 13th April 1969

Recommended from 13 years on

3 hrs 15 mins / 2 intervals

In Italian with German and English surtitles

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance

Share this post
Cast
supported by

The Children’s Chorus is sponsored by Engel & Völkers and Dobolino e.V. [the support association for the Children’s Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin] and Berliner Volksbank

Cast
About the performance

Puccini's "Torture Opera", as Oskar Bie dubbed it, was based on LA TOSCA, the well received play by Victorien Sardou [1831–1908], which premiered in Paris in 1887 with Sarah Bernhardt in the title role. Puccini attended a performance of the play in Milan during an 1889 tour and found the subject matter interesting, although the Tosca project was to remain dormant for another six years. Puccini's interest in the work grew, doubtless prompted by another viewing of the Sardou play in Florence and by Luigi Illica's work on a TOSCA libretto for composer Alberto Franchetti [1860–1942]. Following a "conspiracy" between Puccini, Illica and Ricordi, the publisher successfully persuaded Franchetti to abandon his TOSCA project and to surrender the scoring rights to Puccini.

As in all other Puccini operas TOSCA amply demonstrates the mutual causality between humane attentiveness and culinary pleasure when the composer's artistic intention becomes the benchmark for interpretations. The outcry and resignation are the two fundamental prerequisites for the human attention paid by Puccini: The empathy reflected in his composition, far from contenting itself with abstract gestures, aims to disturb and transform. The "small things" - Puccini refers to them with modern understatement as his preferred focus of attention – become "large issues", provided that we want this to happen.

In view of the connection between Puccini's choice of subject matter (directly and indirectly inspired by Zola, Hauptmann and Gorki) and his method of composition it is natural that we crown him Verdi's successor and confer on him the badge of "verismo". He is known to have been a great admirer of Wagner and anything but a second-rate imitator. He created a very personal bond with Verdi and Wagner by taking his inspiration from both masters. He took all their harmony refinements and subtleties of instrumentation and managed to detach the voice somewhat from the orchestra, all the while giving it a far more fragmented and melodically sensitive accompagnato in the orchestra than the radical and laconic Verdi ever had. This is also mirrored in the aesthetic theme of Tosca. Puccini's musical statement is as brutal as it is tender, as intelligent as it is sentimental, as precise as it is dreamy. Puccini's watchwords are authenticity, precision of musical detail, social awareness, the poetic sound of the ostensibly mundane, heroism coupled with shrewdness, the contrast between passionate commitment and cold remoteness.

The Chief of Police Scarpia, the singer Floria Tosca and the artist Cavaradossi in their different ways, all insist on their personal freedom to act as they please - Scarpia as a condition of his claim to power, Cavaradossi in his rebellious urge to bring about change and Tosca as an expression of a plain, unlimited love.

At a time of momentous change such attitudes take on an exemplary significance. Depending on how we view Puccini and ourselves today, we can approach TOSCA as a romantic shocker or as a bad omen for freedom. Whatever our attitude, each of these very different individuals in the triangular relationship pays the ultimate price for his or her actions. Their deaths are not accompanied by a glorious halo marked Redemption; they are bitter, horrific, definitive.

Götz Friedrich's 1987 reappraisal of Boleslaw Barlog's straightforward and unadulterated interpretation in 1969 takes Puccini's intentions literally: the mutual causality between humane attentiveness and culinary pleasure is nourished by the music and feeds, in turn, into the scenic interpretation

Our articles on the subject

Dr Takt on Giacomo Puccini's "Tosca" / Act I, fourth meter before figure 5
Firearms

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

03
DEC

Today we are giving away 2 x 2 free tickets for the performance of DIE FLEDERMAUS on 31 December 2022 at 7.30 pm. If you would like to take part in the prize draw, please send an e-mail today to marketing@deutscheoperberlin.de with the subject "Das 3. Fensterchen".

In 2018, the curtain rose on a new production of FLEDERMAUS directed by Rolando Villazón. For the busy singer, director, presenter and author, this production was a matter close to his heart, as he was able to play with comic elements in Strauss’ master operetta on the one hand, but also give space to the melancholic and thoughtful on the other. For Strauss's operetta is about cheating, underground parties and the beguiling power of champagne, but also about the description of social facades and above all the abysses that lurk at the back of the bourgeois salon. And because there is always betrayal, partying and drinking, Villazón sets the three acts in three different times and takes the audience on a journey from the 19th century through the 1950s to the future.

It was already a novelty in 1874 at the Theater an der Wien that the waltz king Johann Strauss presented a plot that was not set in mythical faraway places or in fantasy states, but took the upper middle-class salon as its starting point. The bourgeois audience saw itself, with all its conceit, its double standards, grotesquely distorted on stage. The story was not new, of course: Strauß and his collaborator Genée drew on a French tabloid comedy by the Offenbach librettists Meilhac and Halévy, but supplemented it with piquant details. For example, the appearance of the disguised Rosalinde at Prince Orlofsky's ball. In general, the intensification and centring of the plot on the masquerade party with the final homage to alcohol, the general fraternisation and the champagne-loving du-i-du is due to Genée. Otherwise, the farce about cheating has all the ingredients of a good comedy: The rebellious chambermaid, the hidden lover, the self-adulterous but jealous husband and the disguised countess.

Burkhard Ulrich, Hulkar Sabirova, Annika Schlicht, Attilio Glaser, Padraic Rowan, Thomas Lehman, Jörg Schörner, Meechot Marrero, Kathleen Bauer and Ingo Paulick sing and play for you under the musical direction of Yi-Chen Lin.



Closing date: 3 December 2022. The winners will be informed by e-mail on 5 December 2022. The tickets will be sent to you by e-mails. The legal process is excluded.

Tosca

Giacomo Puccini (1858 – 1924)

Informationen zum Werk

Melodramma in drei Akten
Libretto von Giuseppe Giacosa und Luigi Illica
nach dem Drama LA TOSCA von Victorien Sardou
Uraufführung am 14. Januar 1900 in Rom
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 13. April 1969

empfohlen ab 13 Jahren

3 Stunden 15 Minuten / Zwei Pausen

In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
Unterstützt von

Der Kinderchor wird unterstützt von Engel & Völkers und Dobolino e. V.

Besetzung
Zum Inhalt

Die literarische Vorlage zu Puccinis „Folteroper“ (Oskar Bie) lieferte Victorien Sardou (1831–1908) mit seinem erfolgreichen Theaterstück LA TOSCA, das 1887 in Paris mit Sarah Bernhardt in der Titelrolle uraufgeführt wurde. Nachdem Puccini 1889 das Stück auf einer Tournee in Mailand erlebt hatte, war er auf Anhieb begeistert von dem Stoff. Aber der TOSCA-Plan bleibt zunächst sechs Jahre liegen, bis Puccini, vermutlich angeregt durch eine weitere Aufführung des Sardou-Dramas in Florenz und durch Luigi Illicas Arbeit an einem TOSCA-Libretto für den Komponisten Alberto Franchetti (1860–1942), Interesse an dem Stoff findet. Nach einer „Verschwörung“ zwischen Puccini, Illica und Ricordi gelingt es dem Verleger, Franchetti zur Aufgabe seines TOSCA-Projektes zu bewegen und Puccini die Vertonungsrechte zu überlassen.

Wie in allen Opern Puccinis zeigt auch TOSCA, wie menschliche Aufmerksamkeit und kulinarisches Vergnügen einander bedingen können, wenn die künstlerischen Intentionen des Komponisten zum Maßstab der Interpretation werden. Der Aufschrei wie die Resignation sind die wesentlichen Bedingungen der humanen Aufmerksamkeit Puccinis: Das Mitleid, das er komponierte, begnügt sich nicht mit abstrakten Gesten, sondern zielt auf Unruhe, auf Veränderung. Aus den »kleinen Dingen«, die Puccini mit modernem Understatement als seinen Gegenstand bezeichnete, werden „große“, sofern wir das nur wollen. Der Zusammenhang zwischen Puccinis direkt und indirekt vom Geist Zolas, Hauptmanns und Gorkis beeinflusster Stoffwahl und seiner Kompositionsweise zeigt ihn gleichermaßen als Nachfolger Verdis wie als Vertreter des Verismo. Bekanntlich war er ein großer Wagner-Verehrer, aber alles andere als ein Epigone. Vielmehr schuf er eine sehr persönliche Verbindung aus einigen Errungenschaften beider. Alle gewonnenen Verfeinerungen der Harmonie und alle Differenzierungen der Instrumentation verarbeitend, erlöste er dennoch die Stimme aus der orchestralen Verflechtung und gab ihr zugleich ein weitaus gebrocheneres, klangsensibleres Accompagnato im Orchester als der radikale Lakoniker Verdi. Dafür steht auch die ästhetische Thematik der TOSCA. Der musikalische Gestus ist ebenso brutal wie zärtlich, intelligent wie sentimental, präzise wie träumerisch. Puccini möchte unbedingt Lebenswahrheit, Genauigkeit auch des musikalischen Details, soziale Aufmerksamkeit, den poetischen Klang des scheinbar Alltäglichen, das Heroische mit Kalkül, den Kontrast zwischen engagierter Leidenschaft und kühler Distanz.

Der Polizeichef Scarpia, die Sängerin Floria Tosca und der Maler Cavaradossi beanspruchen Freiheit in jeder persönlichen Variante: als dynamisch-subjektiven Machtanspruch (Scarpia), als auf Veränderung zielendes rebellisches Ethos (Cavaradossi), als private, schlichte und zugleich grenzenlose Liebe (Tosca).

In einer Zeit epochaler Umwälzungen gewinnen solche Haltungen exemplarische Sinnfälligkeit. Je nachdem, wie wir uns und Puccini in dieser Zeit begreifen, bleibt TOSCA eine Schauerromanze oder gerät zum Menetekel des Themas „Freiheit“. Jedenfalls bezahlt jeder der konträren Partner diese Dreiecksgeschichte mit dem Tod. Ihr Sterben nimmt keine Erlösungsgloriole für sich in Anspruch, sondern ist bitter, entsetzlich, definitiv.

Götz Friedrichs 1987 vorgenommene Neueinstudierung von Boleslaw Barlogs geradliniger und auf szenische Konkretheit bedachter Inszenierung aus dem Jahr 1969 nimmt die Intentionen Puccinis beim Wort – die gegenseitige Bedingtheit von menschlicher Aufmerksamkeit und kulinarischem Vergnügen wird von der Musik inspiriert zum Ausgangspunkt auch der szenischen Interpretation.

Unsere Artikel zum Thema

Dr. Takt über Giacomo Puccinis „Tosca“ / Akt I, vierter Takt vor Ziffer 5
Schusswaffen

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

03
DEZ

Adventsverlosung: Das 3. Fensterchen

Heute verlosen wir 2 mal 2 Freikarten für die Vorstellung von DIE FLEDERMAUS am 31. Dezember 2022 um 19.30 Uhr. Wenn Sie an der Verlosung teilnehmen möchten, senden Sie bitte heute eine E-Mail an marketing@deutscheoperberlin.de mit dem Betreff „Das 3. Fensterchen“.

2018 hob sich der Vorhang für eine Neuinszenierung der FLEDERMAUS in der Regie von Rolando Villazón. Dem umtriebigen Sänger, Regisseur, Moderator und Autor war diese Inszenierung eine Herzensangelegenheit, konnte er in Strauß’ Meisteroperette doch einerseits mit komischen Elementen spielen, andererseits aber auch dem Melancholisch-Nachdenklichen Raum geben. Denn in Strauß‘ Operette geht es ums Fremdgehen, um Underground-Partys und die betörende Macht des Champagner, aber eben auch um die Beschreibung gesellschaftlicher Fassaden und vor allem der Abgründe, die auf der Rückseite des bürgerlichen Salons lauern. Und weil eben einfach immer fremdgegangen, gefeiert und getrunken wird, versetzt Villazón die drei Akte in drei verschiedene Zeiten und nimmt das Publikum mit auf eine Reise vom 19. Jahrhundert über die 1950er Jahre in die Zukunft.

Es war bereits 1874 im Theater an der Wien eine Novität, dass der Walzerkönig Johann Strauß eine Handlung präsentierte, die nicht in mythischer Ferne oder in Fantasiestaaten spielte, sondern den großbürgerlichen Salon als Ausgangspunkt nahm. Das bürgerliche Publikum sah sich selbst mit all seinem Dünkel und seiner Doppelmoral auf der Bühne grotesk verzerrt. Die Geschichte war natürlich nicht neu: Strauß und sein Mitarbeiter Genée griffen auf eine französische Boulevardkomödie der Offenbach-Librettisten Meilhac und Halévy zurück, ergänzten sie aber durch pikante Details. Zum Beispiel den Auftritt der verkleideten Rosalinde auf dem Ball des Prinzen Orlofsky. Überhaupt geht die Zuspitzung und Zentrierung der Handlung auf das Maskenfest mit der finalen Huldigung des Alkohols, der allgemeinen Verbrüderung und dem champagnerseligen Du-i-du auf das Konto Genées. Ansonsten finden sich in der Farce rund ums Fremdgehen all die Zutaten, die zu einer guten Komödie gehören: Die aufmüpfige Kammerzofe, der versteckte Liebhaber, der selbst ehebrechende, doch eifersüchtige, Gatte und die verkleidete Gräfin.

Es singen und spielen für Sie u. a. Burkhard Ulrich, Hulkar Sabirova, Annika Schlicht, Attilio Glaser, Thomas Lehman, Padraic Rowan, Jörg Schörner, Meechot Marrero, Kathleen Bauer und Ingo Paulick unter der musikalischen Leitung von Yi-Chen Lin.


Einsendeschluss: 3. Dezember 2022. Die Gewinner*innen werden am 5. Dezember 2022 per E-Mail informiert. Die Karten gehen Ihnen per E-Mail zu. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.