La traviata

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

Information on the piece

Melodramma in 3 acts
Libretto by Francesco Maria Piave based on the novelle
„La dame aux camélias“ by Alexandre Dumas fils
First performed on 6. March, 1853 in Venice
Premiered at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 20. November, 1999

Recommended from 13 years on

2 hrs 45 mins / 1 interval

In Italian with German and English surtitles

Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance

Share this post
Cast
Cast
About the performance

Violetta Valery is kept in luxury by her admirer Baron Douphol. Seemingly recovered from a serious illness, she hosts a glittering party at which she meets and falls in love with Alfredo Germont. The world in which Violetta lives cannot countenance such a love affair and so she abandons her old existence and seeks happiness with Alfredo in the countryside. Soon, however, Alfredo's father Giorgio beseeches Violetta to end the relationship, fearing that Violetta's dubious reputation will jeopardise the wedding of Alfredo's younger sister. In despair, Violetta concedes and writes a farewell letter to Alfredo. At a ball given by her friend Flora Alfredo and Violetta clash: Violetta has taken it upon herself to convince Alfredo that she is in love with Baron Douphol. Alfredo has won a large sum of money at the gambling tables. Overcome by jealousy, he hurls his winnings at Violetta's feet, publicly declaring this to be the "fee" for her "favours". One month later, with Paris in the grip of carnival fever, Violetta is at death's door, having suffered a relapse. Now that his father has revealed the true reasons for her actions, Alfredo hurries back. Violetta forgives Alfredo for his conduct, releases him and dies.

La Traviata was Verdi's only opera to be set among the Parisian middle classes of the day. It is based on the acclaimed novel "The Lady of the Camellias" by Alexandre Dumas fils, which is a critical portrayal of the Parisian demi-monde and charts the story of Marie Duplessis, a noble courtesan who died from consumption in 1847 at the age of 23. While Dumas paid considerable attention to social networks and relationships, Verdi and his librettist Francesco Maria Piave focused entirely on the conflict between Violetta, Alfredo and his father Giorgio. Their drama concerns itself only with internal conflicts and focuses on the three phases in the fortunes of Violetta Valery - love, renunciation and death.

By presenting Violetta's tribulations in the form of a retrospective narrative Götz Friedrich has given his tragedy the atmosphere of a requiem. No sooner has the opera begun than we see the protagonist on her deathbed, surrounded by the dark vastness of the stage, which resembles a gigantic tomb. As the ball begins Violetta, now in ballroom attire, rises from the bed, which has become a divan. Suddenly the doors burst open and in pours the frolicking Parisian crowd, intent on its frivolous entertainment. The flashback begins. Shunning sentimentality and trivial frankness, Friedrich's production reaches deep into the characters, laying bare the inner drama and bringing the gloom and fatalism of the piece to the fore.

Our recommendations

La forza del destino
Rigoletto
Nabucco
Simon Boccanegra

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

28
NOV

On 1 December, it's that time again. Our already traditional Advent calendar welcomes you with free admission. Members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin ensembles look forward to shortening the days until Christmas Eve with personalised musical programmes in which you will hear Christmas classics as well as absolute rarities, perhaps never heard before. Just come by and experience our artists up close.

Our Advent Foyer Programme
Enjoy our chamber concerts from Monday to Friday, from 5.00 p.m. to approx. 5.25 p.m., in the rank foyer on the right. Should there be any deviations in the venue or time, you will find a note in the overview. Admission is free.


1 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Dietmar Schwarz reads "The Snow Queen"

2 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
The Little Chorus of the Children's Chorus sings Christmas carols

5 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Old Russian Romances with Maria Motolygina

6 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
Father Christmas comes to visit - together with Elisa Verzier

7 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
"Ding Dong! Merrily on High" - A concert with the VoiceChangers

8 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Chamber music with members of the orchestra

9 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Beyond the Snow Queen" - Songs by Samuel Penderbayne and others
with Alexandra Ionis, Attilio Glaser and Henriette Zahn

12 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Songs and Arias with Sua Jo and Kyle Miller

13 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Daniel Nicholson sings and presents

14 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Ralph Vaughan Williams' "The House of Life"
with Dean Murphy and Elda Laro

15 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Four Hands" - Piano Music
with John Parr and Christopher White

16 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Tischlerei
South American Songs with Jorge Puerta

19 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Tischlerei
English and Polish Songs
with Maire Therese Carmack, Artur Garbas and Manon Gerhardt

20 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Christmas Carols for Two Tenors”
with Kieran Carrel and Thomas Cilluffo

21 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
Christmas caroling together with the brass band

22 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"L'ange et l'enfant" - On the occasion of César Franck's 200th birthday
with Andrea Schwarzbach and Christian Zacker

23 December 2022 | 4.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Brahms songs with Arianna Manganello
Please note the earlier start: 4.00 p.m.


All further information in the respective daily door on our homepage

Raffles at the weekends
Because an Advent calendar is of course also filled at weekends and on Christmas Eve, you will find online raffles on our homepage on Saturdays and Sundays as well as on 24 December. We would like to take this opportunity to thank cooperation partners such as NAXOS and the Yorck cinema group.

La traviata

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)

Informationen zum Werk

Melodramma in drei Akten
Libretto von Francesco Maria Piave nach dem Roman
„La dame aux camélias“ von Alexandre Dumas fils
Uraufführung am 6. März 1853 in Venedig
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 20. November 1999

empfohlen ab 13 Jahren

2 Stunden 45 Minuten / Eine Pause

In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
Besetzung
Zum Inhalt

Auf einem Fest, zu dem Violetta Valery, luxuriös ausgehalten von Baron Douphol, nach scheinbarer Genesung von einer schweren Krankheit eingeladen hat, begegnet sie Alfredo Germont und einer Liebe, für die es in ihrer Welt keinen Platz gibt. Sie kehrt ihrem alten Leben den Rücken und zieht mit Alfredo aufs Land. Als Alfredos Vater von ihr verlangt, auf den Sohn zu verzichten, um die Hochzeit der jüngeren Schwester nicht durch ihren schlechten Ruf zu gefährden, gibt sie verzweifelt nach und schreibt Alfredo einen Abschiedsbrief. Auf einem Ball ihrer Freundin Flora kommt es zu einem Skandal: Violetta will Alfredo glauben lassen, dass sie den Baron Douphol liebt. In seiner Eifersucht schleudert ihr Alfredo das beim Spiel gewonnene Geld vor die Füße, als „Lohn für ihre Liebesdienste“. Einen Monat später, als in Paris der Karneval tobt, liegt Violetta im Sterben. Alfredo kommt zurück – sein Vater hat ihm die Wahrheit über Violettas Trennungsgrund gesagt. Violetta verzeiht, gibt Alfredo frei und stirbt.

Stoffvorlage für Verdis einzige Oper, die in der bürgerlichen Lebenswelt von Paris um 1847 spielt, war der viel beachtete Roman La dame aux camélias von Alexandre Dumas dem Jüngeren, der das Schicksal der am 3. Februar 1847 im Alter von 23 Jahren an Tuberkulose verstorbenen Edelkurtisane Marie Duplessis zum Thema einer kritischen Studie über die Pariser Halbwelt gemacht hat. Während in Dumas´ Schauspiel die Hauptfiguren in einem dichten Beziehungsgeflecht agieren, verzichteten Verdi und sein Librettist Francesco Maria Piave auf alles, was nicht unmittelbar mit dem Konflikt zwischen Violetta, Alfredo und dem Vater Giorgio Germont zu tun hat. Das ganz auf innere Bewegungen verlagerte Drama konzentriert sich auf die drei Stadien, die Violetta Valery durchlebt: Liebe, Verzicht und Tod.

Götz Friedrich hat der Tragödie die Atmosphäre eines Requiems verliehen, indem er die Leidensgeschichte der Violetta als Rückblende erzählt. Schon während des Vorspiels sieht man Violetta auf der kargen Bühne, die einem monumentalen Grabmal gleicht, auf ihrem weißen Sterbebett liegen. Zu Beginn ihres Festes erhebt sie sich vom Bett, das flugs in eine Salonliege umfunktioniert wird, stülpt sich ein Ballkleid über – und durch die plötzlich aufbrechenden Türen tänzelt die vergnügungssüchtige Pariser Halbwelt herein. Erzählt wird die Geschichte ganz ohne Sentimentalität, ohne jeden Anflug von trivialer Direktheit. Konsequent wird das innere Bild des Dramas aufgerollt und die Untergangs- und Todesstimmung des Werkes zum Tragen gebracht.

Unsere Empfehlungen

La forza del destino
Rigoletto
Simon Boccanegra

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

28
NOV

Der Adventskalender 2022

Am 1. Dezember ist es wieder soweit. Unser schon traditioneller Adventskalender heißt Sie bei freiem Eintritt herzlich willkommen. Die neuen Ensemblemitglieder freuen sich darauf, Ihnen die Tage bis Heiligabend mit persönlich gestalteten musikalischen Programmen zu verkürzen, bei denen Sie neben weihnachtlichen Klassikern auch absolute Raritäten, vielleicht noch nie Gehörtes zu Ohren bekommen. Kommen Sie doch einfach vorbei und erleben Sie unsere Künstler*innen aus nächster Nähe.

Unser adventliches Foyer-Programm
Besuchen Sie unsere Kammerkonzerte von Montag bis Freitag, jeweils von 17.00 bis ca. 17.25 Uhr, im Rangfoyer rechts. Sollte es Abweichungen im Veranstaltungsort oder bei der Uhrzeit geben, finden Sie eine Notiz in der Übersicht. Der Eintritt ist frei.

1. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Dietmar Schwarz liest „Die Schneekönigin“

2. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Der Kinderchor singt weihnachtliche Lieder

5. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Alte russische Romanzen mit Maria Motolygina

6. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Der Nikolaus kommt zu Besuch – gemeinsam mit Elisa Verzier

7. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
„Ding Dong! Merrily on High“ – Ein Konzert mit den VoiceChangers

8. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Kammermusik mit Orchestermitgliedern

9. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Jenseits der Schneekönigin“ – Lieder von u. a. Samuel Penderbayne
mit Alexandra Ionis, Attilio Glaser und Henriette Zahn

12. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Lieder und Arien mit Sua Jo und Kyle Miller

13. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Daniel Nicholson singt und moderiert

14. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Ralph Vaughan Williams’ „The House of Life“
mit Dean Murphy und Elda Laro

15. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Vierhändiges“ – Klaviermusik
mit John Parr und Christopher White

16. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Tischlerei
Südamerikanische Lieder mit Jorge Puerta

19. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Tischlerei
Englische und polnische Lieder
mit Maire Therese Carmack, Artur Garbas und Manon Gerhardt

20. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Christmas Carols for Two Tenors“
mit Kieran Carrel und Thomas Cilluffo

21. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Gemeinsames Weihnachtssingen mit den Blechbläsern

22. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„L'ange et l'enfant“ – Zu César Francks 200. Geburtstag
mit Andrea Schwarzbach und Christian Zacker

23. Dezember 2022 | 16.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Brahms-Lieder mit Arianna Manganello
Bitte beachten Sie den früheren Beginn: 16.00 Uhr


Alle weiteren Informationen im jeweiligen Tages-Türchen auf unserer Homepage

Verlosungen an den Wochenenden
Weil ein Adventskalender selbstverständlich auch an Wochenenden und an Heiligabend gefüllt ist, finden Sie an Samstagen und Sonntagen sowie am 24. Dezember Online-Verlosungen auf unserer Homepage. Wir danken schon an dieser Stelle Kooperationspartnern wie NAXOS oder der Yorck-Kinogruppe.