Negar

Marie-Ève Signeyrole und Keyvan Chemirani

Information on the piece

Music theatre by Marie-Ève Signeyrole and Keyvan Chemirani [*1968];
Text by Marie-Ève Signeyrole and Sonia Hossein-Pour
World premiere 29 October 2022

recommended from 15 years

approx. 2 hours 10 minutes / No intermission

In French and Farsi with German and English surtitles

Share this post
Cast
supported by

Co-production with the Opéra Orchestre National de Montpellier Occitaine. Supported by Förderkreis der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V. Presented by Siegessäule and taz

Cast
About the performance

Tehran, 2013: Social life is made up of contradictions. Despite severe restrictions, Iran's capital boasts a lively night life. A young generation is working underground to create free spaces of expression in a place where any transgressions can lead to brutal reprisals from the authorities. Shirin discovers this world after returning to Iran following a decades-long absence, and reunites with her childhood friends Negar and Aziz. This reunion awakens old memories, and confronts the trio with the question of their own identity. What follows is a search for the familiar amongst the alien, for one's own self and how it is reflected in another. When a passionate romance forms between the three in the process, their meeting also becomes an act of resistance and self-assertion in a system of oppression and surveillance.

"I didn't want to write about myself, but about a feeling that everyone who has been torn between cultures has experienced. The feelings connected with this uprooting and return are universal, not bound to one place." – Director Marie-Ève Signeyrole

NEGAR tells of longings and projections that arise when different worlds collide. Two years ago, Marie-Ève Signeyrole and French-Iranian dramaturg Sonia Hossein-Pour began conducting journalistic research and interviewing young people from Tehran for this work commissioned by the Deutsche Oper Berlin. As with other productions, Signeyrole used these materials to create a piece of musical theatre fiction.

For the musical score, Keyvan Chemirani blends various musical styles and genres together. In an intermingling of improvised and sheet music, artists play traditional instruments from Iran alongside members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin orchestra. Singers from the opera ensemble are accompanied by guests such as Tehrani artist Golnar Shahyar, who combines Iranian music with jazz and improvised vocals.

Keyvan Chemirani tours internationally as a zarb player, mostly with his Trio Chemirani, but also with jazz greats like Sylvain Luc, Didier Lockwood, and Louis Sclavis, big names from world music, and ensembles specialising in early music. Chemirani has numerous recordings available, including the albums Le Rhythme de la Parole (2004), Battements au Coeur de ‘Orient together with Pandit Anindo Chatterjee (2007), and Avaz (2014).

Filmmaker Marie-Ève Signeyrole is one of the most successful international opera directors of the younger generation. Among the venues where she has worked are the Opéra Montpellier, the Philharmonie de Paris, the Bayerische Staatsoper München, and the Staatsoper Hannover. Her production BABY DOLL was performed at the Deutsche Oper Berlin in 2020.

Our articles on the subject

Love and fear in a world of the dictatorship
Between Teheran, Paris and Berlin

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

09
DEC

Today in the Foyer: "Beyond the Snow Queen"
with Alexandra Ionis, Oliver Boyd and Henriette Zahn
17.00 hrs / Rank foyer on the right
Duration: approx. 25 minutes / free admission

Since its premiere in 2019, THE SNOW QUEEN has been delighting not only children in the Tischlerei of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. This year, too, there are numerous performances on the programme. All the greater is the joy that Alexandra Ionis and Henriette Zahn from the cast of DIE SCHNEEKÖNIGIN have teamed up to create a little door of the Advent calendar. Together with Oliver Boyd, baritone in the chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, they present a colourful programme. In addition to Brahms, Schönberg and Kurt Weill, songs by the composer of the SCHNEEKÖNIGIN, Samuel Penderbayne, and his teacher Moritz Eggert will be heard as a special highlight.

Alexandra Ionis from Berlin studied at the Conservatorio di musica Giuseppe Verdi in Milan and at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome. In 2016 she made her debut in Strauss' DIE ÄGYPTISCHE HELENA at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. Other productions here at the house included DEATH IN VENICE, IL VIAGGIO A REIMS and IL TROVATORE. At the Staatsoper Unter den Linden she sang in Widmann's BABYLON, Reimann's GESPENSTERSONATE, the world premiere of Eötvös' SLEEPLESS, in DER ROSENKAVALIER and most recently in the new production of DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN as Schwertleite / DIE WALKÜRE.

Henriette Zahn is a pianist specialising in chamber music and song interpretation and studied in Munich, Lübeck and most recently in Wolfram Rieger's Lied class at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music Berlin. She has performed with the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra, the Karajan Academy, the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra and the Goldmund Quartet, among others. Performances have taken her to the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Schauspielhaus Hamburg, the Bremen Theatre, the Salzburg Festival and the Allerheiligen Hofkirche in Munich. She has worked closely with the composer Samuel Penderbayne and the pianist Anna Buchberger.

Oliver Boyd studied at the Queensland Conservatorium with vocal coach Gregory Massingham and at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin with Christine Schäfer. In September 2018, Oliver Boyd sang the lead role of Reverend Calloway in Paul Dean's opera DRY RIVER RUN. In 2017 he made his concert debut with the Queensland Symphony Orchestra in the role of Dancairo / CARMEN. As a soloist he has appeared in Handel's Messiah, Mahler's Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, Haydn's Nelson and Paukenmesse, Mozart's Requiem, Vespers and Missa Brevis, and Schubert's Mass in G major. Oliver Boyd has won numerous prizes, including first prize in the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Aria Competition and Champion of Champions in the Queensland Eisteddfod. He was named as one of the Brisbane Lord Mayor's Young Artists. Since the 2021/22 season, Oliver Boyd has been a member of the 1st bass voice section in the chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

Negar

Marie-Ève Signeyrole und Keyvan Chemirani

Informationen zum Werk

Musiktheater von Marie-Ève Signeyrole und Keyvan Chemirani [*1968];
Text von Marie-Ève Signeyrole und Sonia Hossein-Pour
Uraufführung am 29. Oktober 2022

empfohlen ab 15 Jahren

ca. 2 Stunden 10 Minuten / Keine Pause

In französischer und persischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
Unterstützt von

Eine Koproduktion mit Opéra Orchestre National de Montpellier Occitaine. Mit Unterstützung des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V. Präsentiert von Siegessäule und taz

Besetzung
Zum Inhalt

Teheran 2013: Das gesellschaftliche Leben ist geprägt von Widersprüchen. Trotz strenger Verbote hat sich in der iranischen Hauptstadt ein reges Nachtleben etabliert. Eine junge Generation schafft sich im Untergrund Freiräume in einer Lebensrealität, in der jede noch so kleine Grenzüberschreitung zum brutalen Einschreiten der Behörden führen kann. Diese Welt betritt Shirin, als sie nach Jahrzehnten in den Iran zurückkehrt und ihre Kindheitsfreunde Negar und Aziz wiedertrifft. Das Wiedersehen ruft alte Erinnerungen wach und konfrontiert die drei mit der Frage nach der eigenen Identität. Es entspinnt sich eine Suche nach dem Vertrauten im Fremden, nach dem eigenen Selbst, wie es sich im Anderen spiegelt. Als sich im Laufe dieser Annäherung schließlich eine leidenschaftliche Liebesbeziehung zwischen den Dreien entwickelt, wird ihre Begegnung auch zu einem Akt des Widerstands und der Selbstbehauptung in einem System der Unterdrückung und Überwachung.

„Ich wollte nicht über mich schreiben, sondern über ein Gefühl, das alle teilen, die zwischen den Kulturen zerrissen sind. Die Gefühle, die mit dieser Entwurzelung und der Rückkehr verbunden sind, sind universell, sie hängen nicht an einem Ort.“ – Regisseurin Marie-Ève Signeyrole

NEGAR erzählt von Sehnsüchten und Projektionen, die durch das Aufeinanderprallen unterschiedlicher Welten zum Vorschein kommen. Marie-Ève Signeyrole hat für dieses Auftragswerk der Deutschen Oper Berlin gemeinsam mit der französisch-iranischen Dramaturgin Sonia Hossein-Pour vor zwei Jahren eine journalistische Recherche begonnen und junge Leute aus Teheran interviewt. Wie auch in anderen Produktionen entwickelte Signeyrole aus diesem dokumentarischen Material eine musiktheatrale Fiktion.

Für die Komposition zu NEGAR verschmilzt Keyvan Chemirani verschiedene Musikrichtungen und Stile. In einer Begegnung von improvisierter und notierter Musik spielen Künstler*innen mit traditionellen persischen Instrumenten gemeinsam mit Orchestermitgliedern der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Sänger*innen des Opernensembles treffen auf Gäste wie die in Teheran aufgewachsene Künstlerin Golnar Shahyar, die iranische Musik mit Jazz und improvisiertem Gesang kombiniert.

Keyvan Chemirani tritt international als Zarbspieler auf, vor allem mit seinem Trio Chemirani, aber auch mit Größen des Jazz wie Sylvain Luc, Didier Lockwood und Louis Sclavis, Vertretern der Weltmusik oder mit Ensembles der Alten Musik. Von Chemirani liegen zahlreiche Aufnahmen vor, u. a. die Alben „Le Rythme de la Parole“ (2004), „Battements au Coeur de ’Orient“ gemeinsam mit Pandit Anindo Chatterjee (2007) und „Avaz“ (2014).

Die Filmemacherin Marie-Ève Signeyrole ist eine der erfolgreichsten internationalen Opernregisseurinnen der jüngeren Generation. Sie inszenierte u.a. an der Oper Montpellier, der Pariser Philharmonie, der Bayerischen Staatsoper München und der Staatsoper Hannover. An der Deutschen Oper Berlin wurde 2020 ihre Produktion BABY DOLL gezeigt.

Unsere Artikel zum Thema

Liebe und Angst in der Diktatur
Zwischen Teheran, Paris, Berlin
Perspektiven

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

09
DEZ

Adventskalender im Foyer: Das 9. Fensterchen

Heute im Foyer: „Jenseits der Schneekönigin“
mit Alexandra Ionis, Oliver Boyd und Henriette Zahn
17.00 Uhr / Rang-Foyer rechts
Dauer: ca. 25 Minuten / Eintritt frei


Seit ihrer Uraufführung 2019 begeistert DIE SCHNEEKÖNIGIN in der Tischlerei der Deutschen Oper Berlin nicht nur Kinder. Auch dieses Jahr stehen zahlreiche Vorstellungen auf dem Spielplan. Umso größer ist die Freude, dass sich Alexandra Ionis und Henriette Zahn aus dem Cast der SCHNEEKÖNIGIN zusammengetan haben, um ein Türchen des Adventskalenders zu gestalten. Gemeinsam mit Oliver Boyd, Bariton im Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, präsentieren sie ein buntes Programm. Neben Brahms, Schönberg und Kurt Weill erklingen als besonderes Highlight auch Lieder des Komponisten der SCHNEEKÖNIGIN, Samuel Penderbayne, und seines Lehrers Moritz Eggert.

Die Berlinerin Alexandra Ionis studierte u. a. am Conservatorio di musica Giuseppe Verdi in Mailand und an der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom. 2016 debütierte sie in Strauss‘ DIE ÄGYPTISCHE HELENA an der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Weitere Produktionen hier am Haus waren DEATH IN VENICE, IL VIAGGIO A REIMS und IL TROVATORE. An der Staatsoper Unter den Linden sang sie in Widmanns BABYLON, Reimanns GESPENSTERSONATE, der Uraufführung von Eötvös‘ SLEEPLESS, in DER ROSENKAVALIER und zuletzt in der Neuproduktion von DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN als Schwertleite / DIE WALKÜRE.

Henriette Zahn ist Pianistin mit Schwerpunkt Kammermusik und Liedgestaltung und studierte in München, Lübeck und zuletzt in der Liedklasse von Wolfram Rieger an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin. Sie spielte u. a. mit dem Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg, der Karajan-Akademie, dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester und dem Goldmund-Quartett. Aufführungen führten sie u. a. an die Deutsche Oper Berlin, ans Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Theater Bremen, zu den Salzburger Festspielen, in die Allerheiligen Hofkirche in München. Rege Zusammenarbeit verbindet sie mit dem Komponisten Samuel Penderbayne und der Pianistin Anna Buchberger.

Oliver Boyd studierte am Queensland Conservatorium bei Gesangstrainer Gregory Massingham und an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin bei Christine Schäfer. Im September 2018 sang Oliver Boyd die Hauptrolle des Reverend Calloway in Paul Deans Oper DRY RIVER RUN. 2017 debütierte er mit dem Queensland Symphony Orchestra in der Rolle des Dancairo / CARMEN konzertant. Als Solist trat er in Händels „Messias“ auf, in Mahlers „Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen“, Haydns „Nelson“- und „Paukenmesse“, Mozarts „Requiem“, „Vesper“ und „Missa Brevis“ sowie in Schuberts Messe in G-Dur. Oliver Boyd gewann zahlreiche Preise, darunter den ersten Preis beim Royal Melbourne Philharmonic Aria-Wettbewerb und den Champion der Champions im Queensland Eisteddfod. Er wurde als einer der Nachwuchskünstler des Brisbane Lord Mayor ernannt. Seit der Spielzeit 2021/22 ist Oliver Boyd Mitglied der Stimmgruppe der 1. Bässe im Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin.