What moves us

Six friends for Figaro

All of the main roles in LE NOZZE DI FIGARO have been cast from the ensemble. Here singers describe the experience of treading the boards alongside friends

 

 

Meechot Marrero

[a member of the ensemble since 2017] sings Cherubino

 

In the early stages my world was reduced to my apartment and the rehearsal rooms. So many new roles, so little time! I got a lot of help from my colleagues. I don’t know what I would’ve done without Thomas Lehman – and I’m not the only one. Anyway, sooner or later it calms down and now and then I sing at other venues. Which is what makes it even more of a pleasure to be back rehearsing with the ensemble for FIGARO. Some things you can only pick up here: for example, there’s only one place where you get to see Burkhard Ulrich painstakingly rehearsing a simple stage direction.

 

 

Burkhard Ulrich

[since 2001] sings Don Basilio

 

 

FIGARO was my first opera here, over 20 years ago. Since then I’ve sung many parts, as guest too, but I never wanted to cut my links with the ensemble. Rehearsals are simply more intense here. And FIGARO is a case in point: you can instantly tell if the singers are really on the same wavelength or if they’re just delivering their individual performances. The acting is important to me; musical perfection without good acting leaves me cold. You need empathy on stage, and that comes from a sympathy within the group: for instance, has X forgotten his lines or is he pausing for dramatic effect? Ensemble for me means working on nuances and enjoying listening to people.

 

 

 

Padraic Rowan

[since 2019] sings Bartolo

 

Looking back on my four years in the ensemble, I can truly say that a performance is so much more enjoyable when you know the people you’re working with. It’s really nice looking at familiar faces across the stage. And it’s totally ok if the guy is playing my son one day and my mortal enemy the next. In fact it’s better that way, because we keep seeing new facets of each other’s character, musically and as a human being. 

 

 

Thomas Lehman

[since 2014] sings Count Almaviva

 

 

I had it easy because our language of communication in the ensemble is English, my mother tongue. My feeling at home, though, was all due to the people, singers like Seth Carico, who took me under his wing and helped me settle in. It means a lot to me to be standing on stage with my friends, especially in a comic opera. Count Almaviva has a lot of slapstick scenes with Cherubino, his page, sung by Meechot Marrero. Because we know each other so well, there’s an ease and naturalness to the way we play it, and I think audiences pick up on that.

 

 

 

Maria Motolygina

[since 2022] sings Countess Almaviva

 

For me the ensemble is a mixture of family and masterclass. You might assume that we’re kind of competing with each other, but I’m happy to say that that’s not been my experience. From the start, everyone’s given me great tips on my various roles – and it’s the same with me now. There are no secret tricks that you should be keeping to yourself. Each singer is unique anyway – and that’s just one of the many things I’ve learnt from working as part of the ensemble.

 

 

Lilit Davtyan

[since 2023] sings Susanna

 

 

Quite recently, a year ago, I was singing Barbarina at the Bolshoi. I saw the role of Susanna and thought, wow, what a great part, what a great woman – clever, plucky, attractive, cool. And now here I am, playing her on the main stage. It’s still hard to get my head around. Everything’s still very new: country, language, people, parts to play. I was really floundering at first, but now I’m just grateful to be allowed to be here, to be getting to know all my fellow singers, many of them for the first time on this FIGARO production.

 

 

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field





Newsletter

Was uns bewegt

Sechs Freunde für Figaro

Alle Hauptrollen in LE NOZZE DI FIGARO sind mit Mitgliedern des Ensembles besetzt. Sängerinnen und Sänger erzählen, wie es sich anfühlt, mit Freunden auf der Bühne zu stehen

 

 

Meechot Marrero

[im Ensemble seit 2017] singt Cherubino

 

Anfangs habe ich kaum etwas anderes gesehen als meine Wohnung und die Probenräume. So viele neue Rollen, so wenig Zeit! Mir haben meine Kollegen damals extrem geholfen, ich wüsste gar nicht, was ich ohne Thomas Lehman gemacht hätte – und da bin ich nicht die Einzige. Diese intensive Phase endet irgendwann, jetzt singe ich hin und wieder auch an anderen Häusern. Umso mehr freue ich mich, für FIGARO wieder mit dem Ensemble zu proben. Es gibt Dinge, die kann man nur hier lernen: Alleine Burkhard Ulrich dabei zu beobachten, wie akribisch er eine einfache Regieanweisung probt, das ist Gold wert.

 

 

Burkhard Ulrich

[seit 2001] singt Don Basilio

 

 

FIGARO war meine erste Oper am Haus, vor mehr als 20 Jahren. Seitdem habe ich viele Rollen gesungen, auch als Gast, und dennoch wollte ich dem Ensemble nie den Rücken kehren. Es wird einfach intensiver geprobt. Gerade beim FIGARO merkt man so[1]fort, ob die Sänger*innen wirklich miteinander spielen oder ob sie nebeneinander ihre Partien abspulen. Mir ist der Schauspielaspekt wichtig, reine musikalische Perfektion interessiert mich nicht. Auf der Bühne braucht man Empathie, und die entsteht aus dem Verständnis für den Anderen: War das gerade eine Kunstpause oder ein Texthänger? Dieses Arbeiten an Nuancen und die Freu[1]de am Zuhören, das macht für mich das Ensemble aus.

 

 

 

Padraic Rowan

[seit 2019] singt Bartolo

 

In der Rückschau auf meine vier Jahre im Ensemble kann ich mit Gewissheit sagen: Eine Aufführung macht so viel mehr Spaß, wenn man sich gut kennt. Ich empfinde es als großes Glück, immer wieder in vertraute Gesichter auf der Bühne zu blicken. Dabei ist es übrigens überhaupt kein Problem, wenn der gleiche Kollege heute meinen Sohn und morgen meinen erbittertsten Feind spielt – ganz im Gegenteil, wir lernen immer wieder neue Facetten aneinander kennen, musikalisch und menschlich.

 

 

Thomas Lehman

[seit 2014] singt den Grafen Almaviva

 

 

Ich hatte es leicht. Im Ensemble sprechen wir Englisch, meine Muttersprache. Dass ich mich aber wie zuhause gefühlt habe, lag an den Menschen. An Leuten wie Seth Carico, der mich unter seine Fittiche nahm, mir half anzukommen. Mit meinen Freunden auf der Bühne zu stehen, bedeutet mir viel, gerade bei einer komischen Oper. Meine Rolle, der Graf Almaviva, hat viele slapstickhafte Szenen mit dem Pagen Cherubino, gesungen von Meechot Marrero. Wir spielen das mit einer anderen Selbstverständlichkeit, weil wir uns so gut kennen. Ich glaube, das spürt auch das Publikum.

 

 

 

Maria Motolygina

[seit 2022] singt die Gräfin Almaviva

 

Für mich ist das Ensemble eine Mischung aus Familie und Masterclass. Man könnte denken, dass wir in erster Linie in einem Konkurrenzverhältnis zueinander stehen. So habe ich es zum Glück nie erlebt, alle haben mir von Anfang an wichtige Tipps für meine Partien gegeben. Und so handhabe ich es auch. Es gibt keine geheimen Tricks, die man besser für sich behält, jeder Sänger und jede Sängerin klingt ohnehin einzigartig – nur eines der vielen Dinge, die mich das Ensemble gelehrt hat.

 

 

Lilit Davtyan

[seit 2023] singt Susanna

 

 

Vor einem Jahr noch habe ich am Bolschoi-Theater die Barbarina gesungen. Damals sah ich die Susanna und dachte: Was für eine tolle Rolle, was für eine tolle Frau – clever, attraktiv, mutig, lässig. Und jetzt soll ich sie auf der großen Bühne singen, immer noch kaum zu glauben. Für mich ist alles neu: Das Land, die Sprache, die Menschen, die Rollen. Anfangs hat mich das etwas überfordert, aber jetzt bin ich nur noch dankbar, hier sein zu können und meine tollen Kollegen kennenzulernen, manche von ihnen zum ersten Mal beim FIGARO.

 

 

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld





Newsletter