Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
07. Dec

DE|EN

Announcements / News

As part of their collaboration, which has already been successful on several occasions, Deutsche Oper Berlin and Naxos as producer will audio visually record the two cyclical performances of the RING DES NIBELUNGEN in November 2021. With this major project, Naxos Audio visual and Deutsche Oper Berlin continue their collaboration, which has so far produced FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, HEART CHAMBER, the opera DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, which was awarded the prestigious Opus Klassik, and the recording of DER ZWERG, which was nominated for the GRAMMY Award 2021. A production of Deutsche Oper Berlin and Naxos in cooperation with RBB, with the collaboration of NRK and MarqueeTV.

  • Audiovisual recording and live radio broadcast on rbbKultur

    With its world-exploring ambition as well as its sheer temporal expanse, THE RING OF THE NIBELUNGEN is the greatest challenge for any production team. At the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Sir Donald Runnicles and Stefan Herheim have now taken on this mission of translating the world of thought of Wagner's tetralogy into the 21st century. True to Schiller's dictum that man is only fully human where he plays, Herheim develops the beginning of the tetralogy from the act of playing. Through the playful execution of the myth, society finds itself and its values, which are, of course, only valid as long as the play lasts and must therefore be found anew again and again. Consequently, the conception of Wagner's myth in GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG ends in the here and now, the focus widens from the development of individual figures to society as a whole.

    For their new interpretation of the RING, Stefan Herheim and Sir Donald Runnicles have outstanding singer-actors at their disposal: Alongside Nina Stemme as probably the most distinguished Wagner singer of the present day, the cast includes Clay Hilley as Siegfried, Elisabeth Teige as Sieglinde, Brandon Jovanovich as Siegmund, Thomas Blondelle as Loge, Markus Brück (DAS RHEINGOLD) and Jordan Shanahan as Alberich, Derek Welton (DAS RHEINGOLD) and Iain Paterson as Wotan / Der Wanderer, Annika Schlicht as Fricka, Ya-Chung Huang as Mime, Albert Pesendorfer as Hagen and others.

    Winner of many awards, the Norwegian Stefan Herheim is one of the most important directors of the present day: in his works, he always makes clear the historical contexts of ideas and the history of the impact of the respective operas. With General Music Director Sir Donald Runnicles, a proven Wagner expert is on the podium of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra, who is now continuing his RING interpretations at the opera houses of Hamburg, Berlin, Vienna, San Francisco, at the BBC Proms in London, at the Edinburgh International Festival and at the MET New York with a new production at his home theatre.

    As part of their collaboration, which has already been successful on several occasions, Deutsche Oper Berlin and Naxos as producer will audiovisually record the two cyclical performances of the RING DES NIBELUNGEN in November 2021.

    In addition to Deutsche Oper Berlin and Naxos, other production partners include Norwegian Television NRK, the online platform MarqueeTV and Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, which will also broadcast the second cycle live on radio.
    After post-production of the recording, the RING DES NIBELUNGEN will be available in Germany on the ARD Mediathek and internationally on MarqueeTV in spring 2022, as well as being broadcast on Norwegian television.
    In autumn 2022, Naxos will release the RING cycle in a DVD or Blu-ray box set.

    With this major project, Naxos Audiovisual and Deutsche Oper Berlin continue their collaboration, which has so far produced FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, HEART CHAMBER, the opera DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, which was awarded the prestigious Opus Klassik, and the recording of DER ZWERG, which was nominated for the GRAMMY Award 2021.

    A production of Deutsche Oper Berlin and Naxos in cooperation with RBB, with the collaboration of NRK and MarqueeTV.

  • DVD "Francesca da Rimini"

    The Süddeutsche Zeitung praised the live stream of the opera FRANCESCA DA RIMINI from the Deutsche Oper Berlin as "perhaps the best stream premiere" since the beginning of the Corona pandemic. The premiere of this rarely performed masterpiece by Riccardo Zandonai had to be staged on 14 March 2021 without physically present visitors. The livestream, which nevertheless allowed the audience to participate in this new production, was part of a DVD production that had been planned for some time by the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the producer Naxos. In addition to the live-streamed premiere, another performance and the dress rehearsal were recorded to optimise the DVD recording.

    Director Christof Loy, set designer Johannes Leiacker and Sara Jakubiak, who sang the title character of Francesca, had already been at the centre of Erich Wolfgang Korngold's opera DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, which had been recorded three years earlier as the first joint DVD project of Deutsche Oper Berlin and Naxos. Other participants in the production of FRANCESCA DA RIMINI included conductor Carlo Rizzi, soloists Jonathan Tetelman, Ivan Inverardi and Charles Workman, and the orchestra and chorus of Deutsche Oper Berlin.

    The DVDs and Blu rays of FRANCESCA DA RIMINI are expected to be available in spring 2022 as the fourth joint DVD production of Deutsche Oper Berlin with Naxos after DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, DER ZWERG and HEART CHAMBER.

  • DVD "Die lustige Witwe"

    From its opening in 1912 until the 1950s, operetta in all its forms played an important role in the history of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, as evidenced by the number of performances and premieres, and at times was almost equal in importance to the genres of opera and ballet. This changed fundamentally after the opening of the new house in 1961. Since then, the Deutsche Oper Berlin's rare involvement with operetta has been limited almost exclusively to the undisputed masterpieces of the genre from the 19th century, such as DIE FLEDERMAUS by Johann Strauss and some of Jacques Offenbach's Opéras bouffes.

    The only exception was Franz Lehár's DIE LUSTIGE WITWE, which had its premiere on 15 December 1979 in a staging by August Everding. The Deutsche Oper Berlin approached the work of the "light muse" like a heavyweight. Gwyneth Jones, René Kollo and Siegried Jerusalem sang the main roles in elaborate fantasy worlds of the Belle Époque devised by the set designer José Varona. Lucy Peacock, Benno Kusche and Peter Maus were among the other protagonists of the ensemble conducted by Caspar Richter. Erik Ode, steeled by 97 episodes as Inspector Keller in the television series "Der Kommissar", acted in the speaking role of Njegus, the chancellor at the Pontevedrine legation.

    ZDF brought the splendour live into German living rooms on New Year's Eve 1979. The recording of this memorable project is expected to be released by Arthaus Musik in the spring of 2021 as the 14th recording in the large edition of the Deutsche Oper Berlin with DVD first releases of television recordings of the house from 1961 to 1989.

  • DVD „Graf Ory“

    DVD „Graf Ory“

    In 2010, Matthias Henneberger, the in-house counsel and media representative of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, inspired the Arthaus Musik label with the idea of releasing early television recordings of opera productions on DVD for the first time to mark the 100th anniversary of the Deutsche Oper. This involved a total of 15 recordings from the years 1961 to 1987, seemingly inaccessible and waiting to be rediscovered in the archives of rbb (formerly SFB) and ZDF with broadcasting rights that had long since expired.

    It took two more years of intensive and worldwide research to find out the whereabouts of all the artists in the recordings or, if they were already deceased, their heirs, and to obtain the necessary consents for publication. The publications then began with Mozart's DON GIOVANNI; the recording of the legendary 1961 opening production of the new Deutsche Oper Berlin building, directed by Carl Ebert and featuring Ferenc Fricsay, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Elisabeth Grümmer, Pilar Lorengar, Walter Berry, Donald Grobe, Josef Greindl and Erika Köth. Up to 2014, 12 further opera productions followed, including recordings such as OTELLO (1962) with Renata Tebaldi, FIDELIO (1963) with Christa LudwIg as well as Korngold's DIE TOTE STADT (1983) and Offenbach's ORPHEUS IN DER UNTERWELT (1984), both staged by Götz Friedrich.

    After a break of several years, the edition is to be completed in the 2021/22 season with the last two remaining recordings. The first will be the recording of Franz Lehár's DIE LUSTIGE WITWE from 1979 directed by August Everding with Gwyneth Jones, René Kollo, Siegfried Jerusalem and actor Erik Ode. It will be followed by Gioacchino Rossini's rarely performed comic opera GRAF ORY.

    GRAF ORY, a recording from 1964, is not the earliest recording in the edition, but it goes back further in the history of the Deutsche Oper Berlin than any other recording in this series. The premiere, staged by the then artistic director Carl Ebert, took place on 4 March 1957 still in the Städtische Oper, which had found quarters in the Theater des Westens after the destruction of the main building on Bismarckstraße due to the war. With 40 performances in two years, the production of Rossini's unknown opera became an unexpectedly great success with audiences, which was probably due in no small part to the equally surprising and ravishing set design by Jean-Pierre Ponelle (1982-1988), who was then still at the very beginning of his world career as a set designer and opera director.

    The production of GRAF ORY, just like the other productions of the Städtische Oper, was not transferred to the newly built building of the Deutsche Oper Berlin in 1961 because of the much smaller stage dimensions of the Theater des Westens. However, the success of the production was so vividly remembered that in 1964 the SFB decided to reconstruct the staging and set of GRAF ORY for recordings in the Berlin studios of Accord Filmproduktion and to film it with conductor Hans Hilsdorf, the orchestra and chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the soloists Martin Häusler, Stina-Britta Melander, Ernst Krukowski, Fritz Hoppe and the great contralto Margarete Klose (1902-1968) in the small role of Apollonia.

    Only one copy of this film, which was shot in black and white according to the practice of television stations at the time, could be found in the archives. Although otherwise in excellent quality, the film reel had a continuous optical defect in the shots of the 2nd and 3rd acts. This made it necessary to extensively restore the damaged parts of the film at Arthaus Musik's studios in Halle. Once this restoration work has been completed, the DVD will be released in 2022 as the 15th and last opera recording in the Deutsche Oper Berlin's large DVD edition.

  • OPUS KLASSIK for „Das Wunder der Heliane“

    The DVD of Erich Wolfgang Korngold's rarely performed masterpiece DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE has been awarded the OPUS KLASSIK, the best-known prize for classical music in Germany and successor to the Echo Klassik. The award for the recording produced by the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Naxos label was given for the best recording in the category "20th/21st century opera recording". The recording of the production directed by Christof Loy featured Marc Albrecht as conductor, Sara Jakubiak, Brian Jadge and Josef Wagner in the main roles, as well as the orchestra and chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

    The DVD of HELIANE was in "best company" for this choice. Alongside it, the CD of Detlev Glanert's new opera OCEANE, produced by Deutsche Oper Berlin and the OehmsClassics label, was one of the three opera recordings that made it to the final selection of nominations for this category.

    However, the world premiere of OCEANE documented by the CD, which took place on 28 April 2019 at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, paved the way for another award winner: Detlev Glanert was awarded the OPUS KLASSIK as "Composer of the Year" for this work.

    We congratulate Detlev Glanert and all the contributors to the DVD DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE on these awards!

  • DVD cooperation with Naxos

    Between the spring of 2018 and 2021, four DVD productions have already been made as a result of the new cooperation between the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the producer Naxos. The success story of this collaboration began with the DVD of Erich Wolfgang Korngold's almost forgotten masterpiece DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, which was awarded the OPUS KLASSIK 2020 after its release. Two more recordings followed in 2019: in spring, the recording of Alexander von Zemlinsky's DER ZWERG, which was nominated for the GRAMMY AWARD 2021 after its release, and in autumn, the recording of Chaya Czernowin's new opera HEART CHAMBER. The DVD, which in addition to the complete recording of HEART CHAMBER also includes a documentary film about the world premiere production, is due for release in spring 2021. The last of the previous recordings was also of a real rarity, Riccardo Zandonai's little-known masterpiece FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, in March 2021. The DVD of this opera, whose premiere was streamed live on 14 March, is expected to be available in spring 2022.

    Further recordings of new productions of Deutsche Oper Berlin by Naxos are planned for the coming seasons. Joint plans also include a double DVD of highlights from 26 years of the Festive Opera Gala's existence for the German AIDS Foundation, bringing together many of its most prominent contributors and scheduled for release by the end of this year.

  • „Die Hugenotten“ in HD

    Television in HD format is generally regarded as a technical development of recent years. All the more surprising, therefore, is what the production company EuroArts was able to announce as early as 1991: "The first television recording in the history of West German television in HDTV with European standard". The venue for this technical innovation was the Deutsche Oper Berlin, its subject Giacomo Meyerbeer's DIE HUGENOTTEN in John Dew's production. The pioneering act, described by the production company as an "option for the future", was soon forgotten. Due to a lack of suitable transmission and reception technology, the broadcasts on television took place in the classic broadcast format; for the home video sector, the recording was first released on video cassette and since then on DVD. In the course of preparing the DVD reissue of DIE HUGENOTTEN, however, the Arthaus Musik label decided to take on the early HD format of the recording as well. After successful restoration, DIE HUGENOTTEN are now also available on Blu ray Disc - and thus for the first time in their original optical quality - more than 20 years after their recording.

  • DVD cooperation with Arthaus Musik

    Four complete opera recordings of the Deutsche Oper Berlin from 1987 to 1995 and the recording of the 14th Festive Opera Gala for the German AIDS Foundation from 2007 had already been released by Arthaus Musik when the opera house and the label agreed in 2010 to intensify their collaboration once again within the framework of a DVD cooperation. The cooperation began with the release of the recording of RIENZI, THE LAST OF THE TRIBUNES (2010), followed by Richard Strauss' DIE LIEBE DER DANAE (2011). Then it was the anniversary of the 100th anniversary of the Deutsche Oper Berlin that provided the occasion for an ambitious and extraordinarily elaborate project, an edition of DVD first releases of television recordings of the house from 1961 to 1987. The series began in October 2011 with the 1961 recording of DON GIOVANNI, the opening premiere of the Deutsche Oper Berlin's new building. Since then, the project has become one of the world's largest DVD editions of its kind, with 13 opera recordings to date, available both as individual DVDs and in two anniversary box sets of five recordings each. In parallel, Arthaus Musik produced the 90-minute documentary film "Overture 1912 - The Deutsche Oper Berlin" directed by Enrique Sánchez Lansch together with RBB, which was first shown on television in October 2012 and is now also available on DVD. In addition, Arthaus Musik released DIE HUGENOTTEN (1991) and TRISTAN UND ISOLDE (1993), which are among the world's first opera recordings in HD format and were previously only available in traditional technology on video and DVD, for the first time in their original HD version on Blu ray Disc in 2013. In June 2015, the Janácek opera JENUFA under the musical direction of Donald Runnicles and directed by Christof Loy was released as a further and now 22nd DVD of the Deutsche Oper Berlin by Arthaus Musik, which was nominated for a GRAMMY AWARD after its release.

    Current plans within the framework of the collaboration include the completion of the major DVD edition of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. The recording of Lehár's DIE LUSTIGE WITWE from 1979 with Gwyneth Jones, René Kollo and Siegfried Jerusalem in the leading roles is to be released this year. And the finale, then the 15th DVD in the edition, will be Rossini's rarely performed opera COUNT ORY, based on one of the most successful productions of the Städtische Oper from 1957, which was filmed with the ensemble of the Deutsche Oper Berlin in 1964. The DVD of this recording will be released after the completion of the current extensive restoration of the only surviving original of the film material.

    We will keep you informed about the progress of the current projects and other future plans and publications on this website

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Vorankündigungen / Aktuelles

Als „die vielleicht beste Stream-Premiere“ seit Beginn der Corona-Pandemie adelte die Süddeutsche Zeitung unseren Live-Stream von Zandonais FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. Die Premiere dieses nur selten aufgeführten Meisterwerks musste am 14. März 2021 ohne physisch anwesende Besucher über die Bühne gehen. Der Livestream, der die Zuschauer gleichwohl an dieser Neuproduktion teilhaben ließ, war Teil einer DVD-Produktion, die bereits seit längerem von der Deutschen Oper Berlin und dem Produzenten Naxos geplant worden war. Die DVD erscheint voraussichtlich im Frühjahr 2022.

  • DVD „Francesca da Rimini“

    Als „die vielleicht beste Stream-Premiere“ seit Beginn der Corona-Pandemie adelte die Süddeutsche Zeitung den Live-Stream der Oper FRANCESCA DA RIMINI aus der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Die Premiere dieses nur selten aufgeführten Meisterwerks Riccardo Zandonais musste am 14. März 2021 ohne physisch anwesende Besucher über die Bühne gehen. Der Livestream, der die Zuschauer gleichwohl an dieser Neuproduktion teilhaben ließ, war Teil einer DVD-Produktion, die bereits seit längerem von der Deutschen Oper Berlin und dem Produzenten Naxos geplant worden war. Außer der live gestreamten Premiere wurden zur Optimierung der DVD-Aufnahme noch eine weitere Vorstellung und die Generalprobe mitgeschnitten.

    Der Regisseur Christof Loy, der Bühnenbildner Johannes Leiacker und Sara Jakubiak, die die Titelfigur der Francesca sang, hatten schon im Mittelpunkt von Erich Wolfgang Korngolds Oper DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE gestanden, die drei Jahren zuvor als erstes gemeinsamen DVD-Projekt der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit Naxos aufgezeichnet worden war. Zu den weiteren Mitwirkenden der Produktion von FRANCESCA DA RIMINI gehörten der Dirigent Carlo Rizzi, die Solisten Jonathan Tetelman, Ivan Inverardi und Charles Workman sowie das Orchester und der Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

    Voraussichtlich im Frühjahr 2022 werden die DVDs und Blu rays von FRANCESCA DA RIMINI als dann nach DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, DER ZWERG und HEART CHAMBER bereits vierte gemeinsame DVD-Produktion der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit Naxos erhältlich sein.

  • DVD „Die lustige Witwe“

    Die Operette in all ihren Spielarten spielte, wie Aufführungszahlen und Uraufführungen belegen, in der Geschichte der Deutschen Oper Berlin von ihrer Eröffnung 1912 bis in die 50iger Jahre hinein eine wesentliche, den Genres Oper und Ballett zeitweise fast gleichwertige Bedeutung. Dies änderte sich seit Eröffnung des neuen Hauses 1961 grundlegend. Die seitdem seltene Beschäftigung der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit der Operette beschränkte sich nahezu ausschließlich auf die unbestrittenen Meisterwerke des Genres aus dem 19. Jahrhundert wie DIE FLEDERMAUS von Johann Strauß und einige der Opéras bouffes Jacques Offenbachs.

    Die einzige Ausnahme bildete Franz Lehárs DIE LUSTIGE WITWE, die am 15. Dezember 1979 in einer Inszenierung August Everdings ihre Premiere erlebte. Die Deutsche Oper Berlin näherte sich dem Werk der „leichten Muse“ wie einem Schwergewicht. Gwyneth Jones, René Kollo und Siegried Jerusalem sangen die Hauptpartien in aufwendigen, vom Ausstatter José Varona erdachten Fantasiewelten der Belle Époque. Lucy Peacock, Benno Kusche und Peter Maus gehörten zu den weiteren Protagonisten des von Caspar Richter dirigierten Ensembles. Erik Ode, gestählt durch 97 Folgen als Kommissar Keller in der Fernsehserie „Der Kommissar“, agierte in der Sprechrolle des Njegus, des Kanzlisten bei der pontevedrinischen Gesandtschaft.

    Das ZDF brachte die Pracht 1979 zwei Tage vor Weihnachten live in die deutschen Wohnzimmer. Voraussichtlich im Sommer 2021 wird die Aufzeichnung dieses denkwürdigen Projekts bei Arthaus Musik als dann 14. Aufnahme der großen Edition der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit DVD-Erstveröffentlichungen von Fernsehaufzeichnungen des Hauses aus den Jahren 1961 bis 1989 erscheinen.

  • DVD „Graf Ory“

    DVD „Graf Ory“

    2010 begeisterte der Justitiar und Medienbeauftragter der Deutschen Oper Berlin, Matthias Henneberger, das Label Arthaus Musik von der Idee, aus Anlass des 100jährigen Bestehens der Deutschen Oper frühe Fernsehaufzeichnungen von Opernproduktionen des Hauses erstmals auf DVD zu veröffentlichen. Dabei ging es um insgesamt 15 Aufzeichnungen aus den Jahren 1961 bis 1987, die scheinbar unerreichbar und mit längst abgelaufenen Senderechten in den Archiven des rbb (früher SFB) und des ZDF ihrer Wiederentdeckung harrten.

    Es bedurfte zwei weiterer Jahre intensiver und weltweiter Recherchen, bis die Aufenthaltsorte aller Künstlerinnen und Künstler der Aufnahmen oder, soweit sie bereits verstorben waren, ihre Erben in Erfahrung gebracht und die erforderlichen Einwilligungen für die Veröffentlichungen eingeholt worden waren. Den Beginn der Veröffentlichungen machte anschließend Mozarts DON GIOVANNI; die Aufzeichnung der legendären Eröffnungsinsproduktion des neuen Gebäudes der Deutschen Oper Berlin aus dem Jahr 1961, die von Carl Ebert inszeniert worden war und zu deren Mitwirkenden Ferenc Fricsay, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Elisabeth Grümmer, Pilar Lorengar, Walter Berry, Donald Grobe, Josef Greindl und Erika Köth gehörten. Bis 2014 folgten 12 weitere Opernproduktionen, unter ihnen Aufnahmen wie OTELLO (1962) mit Renata Tebaldi, FIDELIO (1963) mit Christa LudwIg sowie Korngolds DIE TOTE STADT (1983) und Offenbachs ORPHEUS IN DER UNTERWELT (1984), beide inszeniert von Götz Friedrich.

    Nach einer Pause von mehreren Jahren soll die Edition in der Spielzeit 2021/22 mit den letzten beiden noch fehlenden Aufnahmen abgeschlossen werden. Den Anfang wird die Aufzeichnung von Franz Lehárs DIE LUSTIGE WITWE aus dem Jahr 1979 in der Regie August Everdings mit Gwyneth Jones, René Kollo, Siegfried Jerusalem und dem Schauspieler Erik Ode machen. Ihr wird Gioacchino Rossinis selten gespielte komische Oper GRAF ORY folgen.

    Der GRAF ORY, eine Aufnahme aus dem Jahr 1964, ist zwar nicht die früheste Aufzeichnung der Edition, reicht jedoch in der Geschichte der Deutschen Oper Berlin weiter zurück als jede andere Aufnahme dieser Serie. Die vom damaligen Intendanten Carl Ebert inszenierte Premiere fand am 4. März 1957 noch in der Städtischen Oper statt, die nach der kriegsbedingten Zerstörung des Stammhauses an der Bismarckstraße Quartier im Theater des Westens gefunden hatte. Die Produktion der unbekannten Oper Rossinis entwickelte sich mit 40 Vorstellungen in zwei Jahren zu einem unerwartet großen Publikumserfolg, was nicht zuletzt auch an der genauso überraschenden wie hinreißenden Ausstattung Jean-Pierre Ponelles (1982-1988) gelegen haben dürfte, der damals noch ganz am Beginn seiner Weltkariere als Ausstatter und Opernregisseur stand.

    Die Inszenierung des GRAF ORY wurde, genauso wie die anderen Produktionen der Städtischen Oper, aufgrund der deutlich kleineren Bühnenmaße des Theaters des Westens 1961 nicht in das neu erbaute Gebäude der Deutschen Oper Berlin übernommen. Der Erfolg der Produktion blieb aber so lebhaft in Erinnerung, dass sich der SFB 1964 entschied, die Inszenierung und die Ausstattung des GRAF ORY für Aufnahmen in den Berliner Studios der Accord Filmproduktion zu rekonstruieren und mit dem Dirigenten Hans Hilsdorf, dem Orchester und Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin sowie den Solist/innen Martin Häusler, Stina-Britta Melander, Ernst Krukowski, Fritz Hoppe und der großen Altistin Margarete Klose (1902-1968) in der kleinen Rolle der Apollonia zu verfilmen.

    Von diesem Film, der der damaligen Praxis der Fernsehanstalten entsprechend in Schwarz-Weiß gedreht wurde, konnte in den Archiven nur noch ein einziges Exemplar gefunden werden. Obwohl ansonsten in hervorragender Qualität, wies die Filmrolle in den Aufnahmen des 2. und 3. Aktes einen durchgehenden optischen Fehler auf. Dies machte es erforderlich, die beschädigten Teile des Films in den Studios von Arthaus Musik in Halle aufwendig zu restaurieren. Nach Abschluss dieser Restaurierungsarbeiten wird die DVD im Jahr 2022 als dann 15. und letzte Opernaufzeichnung der großen DVD-Edition der Deutschen Oper Berlin erscheinen.

  • OPUS KLASSIK für „Das Wunder der Heliane“

    Die DVD von Erich Wolfgang Korngolds selten gespieltem Meisterwerk DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE ist mit dem OPUS KLASSIK, dem bekanntesten Preis für klassische Musik in Deutschland und Nachfolger des Echo Klassik, ausgezeichnet worden. Die Auszeichnung der von der Deutschen Oper Berlin und dem Label Naxos produzierten Einspielung erfolgte als beste Aufnahme in der Kategorie „Operneinspielung 20./21. Jahrhundert“. In der Aufzeichnung der Produktion in der Regie von Christof Loy wirkten Marc Albrecht als Dirigent, Sara Jakubiak, Brian Jadge und Josef Wagner in den Hauptpartien sowie das Orchester und der Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit.

    Die DVD der HELIANE befand sich bei dieser Wahl in „bester Gesellschaft“. Neben ihr gehörte auch die von der Deutschen Oper Berlin und dem Label OehmsClassics produzierte CD von Detlev Glanerts neuer Oper OCEANE zu den drei Operneinspielungen, die es bis in die Endauswahl der Nominierungen für diese Kategorie geschafft hatten.

    Die durch die CD dokumentierte Uraufführung der OCEANE, die am 28. April 2019 in der Deutschen Oper Berlin stattgefunden hatte, ebnete jedoch einem anderen Preisträger den Weg: Detlev Glanert wurde für dieses Werk mit dem OPUS KLASSIK als „Komponist des Jahres“ ausgezeichnet.

    Wir gratulieren Detlev Glanert und allen Mitwirkenden der DVD DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE zu diesen Auszeichnungen!

  • DVD-Kooperation mit Naxos

    Zwischen dem Frühjahren 2018 und 2021 entstanden bereits vier DVD-Produktionen als Ergebnis der neuen Kooperation zwischen der Deutschen Oper Berlin und dem Produzenten Naxos. Die Erfolgsgeschichte dieser Zusammenarbeit begann mit der nach ihrem Erscheinen mit dem OPUS KLASSIK 2020 ausgezeichneten DVD von Erich Wolfgang Korngolds fast vergessenem Meisterwerk DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE. Im Jahr 2019 folgten zwei weitere Aufnahmen: im Frühjahr die Aufzeichnung von Alexander von Zemlinskys DER ZWERG, die nach ihrer Veröffentlichung für den GRAMMY AWARD 2021 nominiert wurde, und im Herbst die Aufzeichnung von Chaya Czernowin neuer Oper HEART CHAMBER. Die DVD, die außer der Gesamtaufnahme von HEART CHAMBER auch einen Dokumentarfilm über die Uraufführungsproduktion enthält, ist im Frühjahr 2021 erschienen. Auch die letzte der bisherigen Aufzeichnungen galt im März 2021 einer echten Rarität, Riccardo Zandonais wenig bekanntem Meisterwerk FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. Die DVD dieser Oper, deren Premiere am 14. März live gestreamt wurde, wird voraussichtlich im Frühjahr 2022 erhältlich sein.

    Weitere Aufzeichnungen von Neuproduktionen der Deutschen Oper Berlin durch Naxos sind für die kommenden Spielzeiten geplant. Zu den gemeinsamen Plänen zählt außerdem eine Doppel-DVD mit Höhepunkten aus 26 Jahren des Bestehens der Festlichen Operngala für die Deutsche AIDS-Stiftung, die viele ihrer prominentesten Mitwirkenden versammeln und bis Ende dieses Jahres erscheinen soll.

  • „Die Hugenotten“ in HD

    Fernsehen im HD-Format gilt gemeinhin als eine technische Entwicklung der letzten Jahre. Umso überraschender ist daher das, was die Produktionsgesellschaft EuroArts bereits 1991 verkünden konnte: „Die erste Fernsehaufzeichnung in der bundesdeutschen Fernsehgeschichte in HDTV mit europäischer Norm“. Der Ort dieser technischen Neuerung war die Deutsche Oper Berlin, ihr Gegenstand Giacomo Meyerbeers DIE HUGENOTTEN in der Inszenierung von John Dew. Die Pioniertat, von der Produktionsgesellschaft als „Option für die Zukunft“ bezeichnet, geriet allerdings alsbald in Vergessenheit. Die Ausstrahlungen im Fernsehen erfolgten mangels geeigneter Sende- und Empfangstechnik im klassischen Sendeformat, für den Home-Video-Bereich kam die Aufzeichnung zuerst auf Video-Kassette und seitdem auf DVD heraus. Im Zuge der Vorbereitung der DVD-Neuauflage der HUGENOTTEN entschied sich das Label Arthaus Musik jedoch, sich auch des frühen HD-Formats der Aufzeichnung anzunehmen. Nach erfolgreicher Restaurierung sind DIE HUGENOTTEN, mehr als 20 Jahre nach ihrer Aufzeichnung, nun auch auf Blu ray Disc – und damit erstmals in ihrer ursprünglichen optischen Qualität – erhältlich.

  • DVD-Kooperation mit Arthaus Musik

    Vier Operngesamtaufnahmen der Deutschen Oper Berlin aus den Jahren 1987 bis 1995 und die Aufzeichnung der 14. Festlichen Operngala für die Deutsche AIDS-Stiftung aus dem Jahr 2007 hatte Arthaus Musik bereits veröffentlicht, als das Opernhaus und das Label 2010 vereinbarten, ihre Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen einer DVD-Kooperation noch einmal zu intensivieren. Am Beginn der Kooperation stand die Veröffentlichung der Aufzeichnung von RIENZI, DER LETZTE DER TRIBUNEN (2010), gefolgt von Richard Strauss’ Spätwerk DIE LIEBE DER DANAE (2011). Anschließend war es das Jubiläum des 100-jährigen Bestehens der Deutschen Oper Berlin, das den Anlass für ein ambitioniertes und außerordentlich aufwendiges Projekt bot, eine Edition mit DVD-Erstveröffentlichungen von Fernsehaufzeichnungen des Hauses aus den Jahren 1961 bis 1987. Die Serie begann im Oktober 2011 mit der Aufzeichnung des DON GIOVANNI, der Eröffnungs-Premiere des neuen Gebäudes der Deutschen Oper Berlin aus dem Jahr 1961. Seitdem hat sich das Projekt mit bislang 13 Opernaufzeichnungen, die sowohl als Einzel-DVDs als auch in zwei Jubiläums-Boxen mit jeweils fünf Aufnahmen erhältlich sind, zu einer der weltweit größten DVD-Editionen ihrer Art entwickelt. Parallel dazu produzierte Arthaus Musik gemeinsam mit dem RBB den 90-minütigen Dokumentarfilm „Ouvertüre 1912 – Die Deutsche Oper Berlin“ in der Regie von Enrique Sánchez Lansch, der im Oktober 2012 erstmals im Fernsehen zu sehen war und inzwischen auch auf DVD vorliegt. Zudem hat Arthaus Musik DIE HUGENOTTEN (1991) und TRISTAN UND ISOLDE (1993), die zu den weltweit ersten Opernaufzeichnungen im HD-Format zählen und bisher nur in traditioneller Technik auf Video und DVD zu erleben waren, 2013 erstmals in ihrer ursprünglichen HD-Fassung auf Blu ray Disc herausgegeben. Als weitere und inzwischen 22. DVD der Deutschen Oper Berlin bei Arthaus Musik ist im Juni 2015 die Janácek-Oper JENUFA unter der musikalischen Leitung von Donald Runnicles und in der Regie von Christof Loy erschienen, die nach ihrer Veröffentlichung für den GRAMMY AWARD nominiert wurde.

    Zu den aktuellen Plänen im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit gehört die Vervollständigung der großen DVD-Edition der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Noch in diesem Jahr soll die Aufnahme von Lehárs DIE LUSTIGE WITWE aus dem Jahr 1979 mit Gwyneth Jones, René Kollo und Siegfried Jerusalem in den Hauptrollen erscheinen. Und den Abschluss als dann 15. DVD der Edition wird Rossinis selten gespielter Oper GRAF ORY machen, der eine der erfolgreichsten Inszenierungen der Städtischen Oper aus dem Jahr 1957 zugrunde liegt, die mit dem Ensemble der Deutschen Oper Berlin 1964 verfilmt wurde. Die DVD dieser Aufnahme wird nach Abschluss der derzeitigen umfangreichen Restaurierung des einzigen noch erhaltenen Originals des Filmmaterials auf den Markt kommen.

    Über den Fortgang der aktuellen Projekte und sowie über sonstige künftige Pläne und Veröffentlichungen werden wir Sie auf dieser Website informieren

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld