What moves me

Uncompromising to the point of death

Director Christof Loy is on a quest for system-crashing women – and exploring the biblical issue of guilt. He finds both in Francesca, the title character in Zandonai’s FRANCESCA DA RIMINI

I like egocentric characters, and that may be why I like Francesca so much, the title character in Zandonai’s FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. The consistency of her actions intensifies as the story goes on, but it is already evident in her first encounter with Paolo, the man she assumes is her future husband: she sees him for the first time, picks a rose and hands it to him without a word. She is not yet aware that she is being tricked, that the handsome Paolo, who she is in the process of falling in love with, is there on false pretences. She does not know that she is meant to marry his ugly brother Gianciotto, and yet we can already see that this is a woman who does not feel bound by bourgeois rules. Francesca is going to fight for whatever makes her happy.

The opera premiered in 1914, a period marked by stuffy, Biedermeier moral attitudes. Into this bursts Francesca – unwavering, undaunted, on the offensive, a system crasher. Francesca is proactive, not a person to react to others. We see this not only in the brief scene with the rose but also later when she resolves to cheat on her legal wedded husband. And even in the way she muses on her decision, she is being utterly unbourgeois: she does not wonder what her husband will think but instead asks herself what the repercussions will be for her. Francesca accepts some serious consequences as the price for committing to Paolo. Even when she senses in the final act that brother No.3 knows about her affair with Paolo, she still risks everything for a last nocturnal tryst with him. She knows no good can come of it and accepts that they may perish together for their love. Francesca is a gift to audiences precisely because of the consistency of her actions. She challenges us to compare ourselves to her: would we do what she does or follow a totally different path? It is unlikely that most of us would do as she does after sitting through an opera like this one. Yet Francesca has a mind-expanding effect on us, freeing up our thinking and inviting us to break with taboos. At the same time the issue of guilt hovers over her actions. Francesca husband sees only the adulteress and takes justice into his own hands. To what extent, however, is Francesca truly guilty? The question is left hanging; the answer depends on our own moral judgements.

FRANCESCA DA RIMINI forms part of my trilogy for the Deutsche Oper Berlin, which began with Korngold’s THE MIRACLE OF HELIANE. Heliane, too, has guilt issues. Her crime is to have shown herself naked to a stranger, but in her case it is society that determines her fate. Heliane’s husband, the Ruler, wants her to pay the ultimate penalty for what she did – but he secures the backing of judge and statute books. Francesca’s husband, on the other hand, cares not a jot for the law. That is one of the differences between the two works: FRANCESCA is rawer and more anarchic, more private, more introspective.

Isabelle Huppert in 2016's "Elle" was an inspiration for director Christof Loy: she plays a woman who defies bourgeois ideas.
 

The third part of my trilogy will be THE TREASURE HUNTER by Franz Schreker, one of the most-performed contemporary operas of the Weimar Republic. The piece is about a woman, Els, who displays pathological tendencies. Her way of finding happiness is by having the men that her father wants her to marry murdered. What interests me about this work is the question of the extent to which a woman like Els can be presented as innocent despite what she does – applying values that are different to those upheld by our modern-day legal system. I am actually thinking of extending my trilogy into a tetralogy. I have visions of adding LA FIAMMA by the Italian Ottorino Respighi. That 1934 work is kind of a distillation of the themes that exercise me. The subject is witch burning, the worst crime to have ever been perpetrated on women.

All these works have not only the questions of guilt and egocentricity in common; they are also all missing something - an exploration of the culpability of the men. All the operas take up the story only when women are doing something reprehensible.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

29
NOV

On 1 December, it's that time again. Our already traditional Advent calendar welcomes you with free admission. Members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin ensembles look forward to shortening the days until Christmas Eve with personalised musical programmes in which you will hear Christmas classics as well as absolute rarities, perhaps never heard before. Just come by and experience our artists up close.

Our Advent Foyer Programme
Enjoy our chamber concerts from Monday to Friday, from 5.00 p.m. to approx. 5.25 p.m., in the rank foyer on the right. Should there be any deviations in the venue or time, you will find a note in the overview. Admission is free.


1 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Dietmar Schwarz reads "The Snow Queen"

2 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
The Little Chorus of the Children's Chorus sings Christmas carols

5 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Old Russian Romances with Maria Motolygina

6 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
Father Christmas comes to visit - together with Elisa Verzier

7 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
"Ding Dong! Merrily on High" - A concert with the VoiceChangers

8 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Parquet Foyer
Caroling together with the brass band

9 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Beyond the Snow Queen" - Songs by Samuel Penderbayne and others
with Alexandra Ionis, Attilio Glaser and Henriette Zahn

12 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Songs and Arias with Sua Jo and Kyle Miller

13 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Daniel Nicholson sings and presents

14 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Ralph Vaughan Williams' "The House of Life"
with Dean Murphy and Elda Laro

15 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Four Hands" - Piano Music
with John Parr and Christopher White

16 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Tischlerei
South American Songs with Jorge Puerta

19 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Tischlerei
English and Polish Songs
with Maire Therese Carmack, Artur Garbas and Manon Gerhardt

20 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"Christmas Carols for Two Tenors”
with Kieran Carrel and Thomas Cilluffo

21 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Chamber music with members of the orchestra

22 December 2022 | 5.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
"L'ange et l'enfant" - On the occasion of César Franck's 200th birthday
with Andrea Schwarzbach and Christian Zacker

23 December 2022 | 4.00 p.m. | Rank foyer on the right
Brahms songs with Arianna Manganello
Please note the earlier start: 4.00 p.m.


All further information in the respective daily door on our homepage

Raffles at the weekends
Because an Advent calendar is of course also filled at weekends and on Christmas Eve, you will find online raffles on our homepage on Saturdays and Sundays as well as on 24 December. We would like to take this opportunity to thank cooperation partners such as NAXOS and the Yorck cinema group.

Was mich bewegt

Konsequent bis in den Tod

Der Regisseur Christof Loy ist auf der Suche nach Systemsprengerinnen – und der biblischen Frage nach Schuld. In Francesca, der Titelfigur in Zandonais FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, findet er beides

Ich mag egozentrische Figuren. Vielleicht mag ich deshalb Francesca so, die Titelfigur in Zandonais FRANCESCA DA RIMINI. Ihr konsequentes Handeln steigert sich im Laufe des Stückes, aber schon in der ersten Begegnung mit Paolo, den sie für ihren Bräutigam hält, wird es sichtbar: Francesca sieht Paolo, sie pflückt eine Rose und überreicht sie ihm, ohne ein Wort zu sagen. Sie weiß noch nicht, dass sie betrogen werden wird, dass der schöne Paolo, in den sie sich gerade verliebt, nur zum Schein geschickt wurde. Sie weiß nicht, dass sie dessen hässlichen Bruder Gianciotto heiraten muss, und doch wird sofort klar: Das ist eine, die sich nicht an bürgerliche Regeln hält. Francesca wird um ihr persönliches Glück kämpfen.

Die Oper wurde 1914 uraufgeführt, in einer Zeit, die stark von biedermeierlichen Moralvorstellungen geprägt ist. Dort hinein bricht Francesca: Offensiv, unerschrocken, konsequent, eine Systemsprengerin. Francesca handelt, sie reagiert nicht. Nicht nur in der kleinen Rosenszene, auch später, als sie merkt, dass sie betrogen worden ist. Sie ist auf eine Intrige hereingefallen, doch die Scham darüber frisst sie nicht in sich hinein, im Gegenteil: Sie redet darüber. Das finde ich sehr gesund. Francesca entscheidet sich, ihren rechtmäßigen Ehemann zu betrügen. Und selbst in der Reflexion dieser Entscheidung handelt sie vollkommen unbürgerlich. Sie fragt sich nicht: Was wird mein Mann denken? Sondern: Was tue ich mir selber damit an? Francesca nimmt viel in Kauf, um diese Liebe mit Paolo auszuleben. Selbst als sie im letzten Akt spürt, dass der dritte Bruder von ihrem Verhältnis mit Paolo weiß, trifft sie sich mit Paolo und riskiert mit dieser letzten nächtlichen Begegnung alles. Sie weiß: Das kann nicht gut ausgehen. Sie nimmt den gemeinsamen Liebestod in Kauf. Francesca ist ein Glücksfall für das Publikum, gerade wegen ihrer Konsequenz. Sie fordert uns auf, uns in Vergleich zu setzen: Würden wir so handeln wie sie? Oder ganz anders? Vermutlich werden die meisten von uns nach so einem Opernerlebnis nicht so konsequent handeln. Doch Francesca wirkt wie eine Bewusstseinserweiterung, sie emanzipiert unsere Gedanken, sie lädt uns ein, Tabus zu begegnen. Gleichzeitig stellt sich in Francescas Handeln die Frage nach der Schuld. Francescas Ehemann sieht nur den Ehebruch – und übt Selbstjustiz. Aber inwiefern macht Francesca sich wirklich schuldig? Das bleibt letztlich offen. Es hängt allein von unserer Bewertung ab.

 

FRANCESCA DA RIMINI ist Teil meiner Trilogie für die Deutsche Oper Berlin, die für mich mit Korngolds DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE ihren Anfang nahm. Auch Heliane ist mit Schuld konfrontiert. Ihr Sündenfall ist, dass sie sich einem Fremden nackt zeigt. Doch im Gegensatz zu Francesca wird Helianes Schicksal gesellschaftlich verhandelt: Helianes Mann, der Herrscher, will sie für ihre Tat mit dem Tode bestrafen – doch er sichert sich durch Richter und Gesetze ab. Francescas Ehemann dagegen schert sich nicht um das Gesetz. Das unterscheidet die Werke: FRANCESCA ist introspektiver, privater, anarchischer, roher.

Isabelle Huppert in "Elle" von 2016 war eine Inspiration für Regisseur Christof Loy: Sie spielt eine Frau, die sich bürgerlichen Vorstellungen widersetzt.
 

Der dritte Teil dieser Trilogie wird DER SCHATZGRÄBER von Franz Schreker sein, eine der meistgespielten zeitgenössischen Opern in der Weimarer Republik. Hier geht es um eine Frau namens Els, die pathologische Züge hat. Um ihr Glück zu verwirklichen, lässt sie die Männer ermorden, mit denen ihr Vater sie verheiraten will. An diesem Stück interessiert mich, inwiefern so eine Frau trotzdem als unschuldig bezeichnet werden kann – mit anderen Maßstäben als unserem Gesetzbuch. In meinem Kopf formt sich allerdings gerade sogar eine Tetralogie: Da schlummert noch LA FIAMMA des Italieners Ottorino Respighi. Dieses Stück von 1934 ist wie eine Konzentration der Themen, die mich bewegen: Es geht um Hexenverbrennung, das schlimmste Verbrechen, das Frauen je angetan wurde.

All diese Stoffe vereint nicht nur die Frage nach der Schuld und der Egozentrik ihrer Figuren – sondern auch eine Leerstelle: Denn die Schuld der Männer spielt in keinem dieser Stücke eine Rolle. Die Geschichten fangen erst da an, wo man Frauen Vorwürfe machen kann.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter

26
NOV

Adventskalender 2022

Am 1. Dezember ist es wieder soweit. Unser schon traditioneller Adventskalender heißt Sie bei freiem Eintritt herzlich willkommen. Die neuen Ensemblemitglieder freuen sich darauf, Ihnen die Tage bis Heiligabend mit persönlich gestalteten musikalischen Programmen zu verkürzen, bei denen Sie neben weihnachtlichen Klassikern auch absolute Raritäten, vielleicht noch nie Gehörtes zu Ohren bekommen. Kommen Sie doch einfach vorbei und erleben Sie unsere Künstler*innen aus nächster Nähe.

Unser adventliches Foyer-Programm
Besuchen Sie unsere Kammerkonzerte von Montag bis Freitag, jeweils von 17.00 bis ca. 17.25 Uhr, im Rangfoyer rechts. Sollte es Abweichungen im Veranstaltungsort oder bei der Uhrzeit geben, finden Sie eine Notiz in der Übersicht. Der Eintritt ist frei.

1. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Dietmar Schwarz liest „Die Schneekönigin“

2. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Der Kinderchor singt weihnachtliche Lieder

5. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Alte russische Romanzen mit Maria Motolygina

6. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Der Nikolaus kommt zu Besuch – gemeinsam mit Elisa Verzier

7. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
„Ding Dong! Merrily on High“ – Ein Konzert mit den VoiceChangers

8. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Kammermusik mit Orchestermitgliedern

9. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Jenseits der Schneekönigin“ – Lieder von u. a. Samuel Penderbayne
mit Alexandra Ionis, Attilio Glaser und Henriette Zahn

12. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Lieder und Arien mit Sua Jo und Kyle Miller

13. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Daniel Nicholson singt und moderiert

14. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Ralph Vaughan Williams’ „The House of Life“
mit Dean Murphy und Elda Laro

15. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Vierhändiges“ – Klaviermusik
mit John Parr und Christopher White

16. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Tischlerei
Südamerikanische Lieder mit Jorge Puerta

19. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Tischlerei
Englische und polnische Lieder
mit Maire Therese Carmack, Artur Garbas und Manon Gerhardt

20. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„Christmas Carols for Two Tenors“
mit Kieran Carrel und Thomas Cilluffo

21. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Parkettfoyer
Gemeinsames Weihnachtssingen mit den Blechbläsern

22. Dezember 2022 | 17.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
„L'ange et l'enfant“ – Zu César Francks 200. Geburtstag
mit Andrea Schwarzbach und Christian Zacker

23. Dezember 2022 | 16.00 Uhr | Rangfoyer rechts
Brahms-Lieder mit Arianna Manganello
Bitte beachten Sie den früheren Beginn: 16.00 Uhr


Alle weiteren Informationen im jeweiligen Tages-Türchen auf unserer Homepage

Verlosungen an den Wochenenden
Weil ein Adventskalender selbstverständlich auch an Wochenenden und an Heiligabend gefüllt ist, finden Sie an Samstagen und Sonntagen sowie am 24. Dezember Online-Verlosungen auf unserer Homepage. Wir danken schon an dieser Stelle Kooperationspartnern wie NAXOS oder der Yorck-Kinogruppe.