Between Teheran, Paris and Berlin

NEGAR is the story of a woman, Shirin, who, after many years spent living in Paris, returns to Iran and realises that her home has changed. She falls in love with a man and a woman, and the love triangle has dramatic repercussions

How do we define ‘home’? Does ‘home’ refer to our place of origin or the place that we yearn to return to? Is it the place we remember or the place we are at the moment? And what happens if these questions get muddled up, if we return ‘home’ after years of exile? Does that home of yesteryear still exist? And more importantly: who do you become, when you’re caught between two cultures? Marie-Ève Signeyrole, author and director of NEGAR, a work of musical theatre, is acutely familiar with these questions. »I was born in Paris, my parents are Algerian and I spent part of my childhood in Algeria. My entire family is from there, which makes me more Algerian than French, yet I work in France and am known as a French director. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t addressing the issue of roots.«

The cover-up: anti-government protest is risky business. Since 2018, the photographer Newsha Tavakolian has been using dissembled portraits to document student protests in Teheran  © Newsha Tavakolian
 

For NEGAR, she runs through what happens - not when a person carries these roots around as a vague notion or memory or a feeling in her heart, but when she sets out to bring her emotional home face-to-face with reality. NEGAR locates home not in Algeria but in Iran. »The feelings associated with being uprooted and then returning home are universal; they are not specific to a particular location. And anyway, I didn’t want to write about my own case. I wanted to capture a feeling that all people who are torn between two cultures share.«

In Signeyrole’s view, directors can sometimes convey ideas better if they put aside their own personal baggage and consider the characters from the perspective of an involved observer. One of the characters, Shirin, left Teheran as a seven-year-old girl after the Islamic Revolution, has made a life for herself in France and is now returning home in her late 30s. She’s hoping to revisit her impressions of the past: the smells, the taste of things, simple, sensory identifiers. Instead, she’s confronted with modern Iran, a complex country riddled with contradictions. Her guides in this venture are two childhood friends who stayed behind in the old country: Negar and her brother Aziz. The pair fall in love with Shirin – and the three of them embark on an audacious 3-way love affair.

Signeyrole cites the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice as the base text for her story »because of the love triangle but mostly because of the theme of looking back. Orpheus flouts the ban by turning round – and forfeits Eurydice as a result. Shirin looks back in time and likewise runs the risk of triggering a chain of events that are uncontrollable.« Not just for herself, but for Negar and Aziz, too. The return of their friend forces them to fully address their past and see their country through a new lens.

On the road to an uncertain future, somewhere between the old country and a new home over the horizon. Refugees on the Iranian-Turkish border  © Emin Ozmen / Magnum Photos / Agentur Focus
 

One insight in particular emerged from the many conversations and interviews conducted with young Teheran residents by Signeyrole and her co-author, the exiled Iranian Sonia Hossein-Pour: »I was surprised at how much was actually allowed. A lot of things are officially prohibited but unofficially tolerated if they’re done discreetly.« At least, that was how it was today in big cities and in arty and musical circles. In this work Negar sings in underground clubs, even though singing in public by women is strictly prohibited. She starts a lesbian affair with Shirin, despite homosexuality being a capital offence. Aziz attempts to capture these contradictions for a documentary, to hold up a mirror to his country. Both people strike a kind of negotiated balance with the boundaries, just as the director’s interviewees have been doing.

As a foreigner exploring other people’s history, Marie-Ève Signeyrole says she approached her subject with much humility and no preconceived ideas. She was not in the business of peddling clichés but rather wanted to show the layered complexity of the lives of these young people, who, for all their individual differences, have one thing in common: their love for their country. In attempting to create spaces for free expression, they have to strike deals with the authorities. »Negar resorts to ’fixed-term marriage’, an instrument introduced by the mullahs. A man and a woman enter into a state of temporary matrimony, for a minimum of one hour, simply in order to have legal sex.« Aside from the conversations conducted, Signeyrole drew inspiration from the aesthetic and atmosphere of Iranian films. »Iranian film makers have a wonderfully subtle way of putting things across without explicitly mentioning them by name. Talking around a subject speaks volumes.«

In her work the director makes a point of immersing herself in worlds which are not her own. Taking a quasi-journalistic tack, she enlists the help of other people to gain access to the culture, distilling the eye-witness accounts to something more universal. In her words, she believes in the power of fiction while being fully aware that her methods are fragile: »You have to tread carefully. You’re on a wobbly footing. I rely on what people tell me, and there’s always a chance that a person is telling me too much or too little. It’s a risk I have to take.«

Author: Annabelle Hirsch

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Zwischen Teheran, Paris, Berlin

NEGAR erzählt die Geschichte von Shirin, die nach Jahren in Paris in den Iran zurückkehrt und feststellen muss, dass ihre Heimat sich verändert hat. Sie verliebt sich in einen Mann, in eine Frau und mit der Dreiecksbeziehung nimmt das Drama seinen Lauf

Was ist Heimat? Ist Heimat der Ort, von dem wir kommen, oder der, nach dem wir uns sehnen? Ist es der Ort, an den wir uns erinnern, oder der, an dem wir uns befinden? Und was geschieht, wenn diese Fragen durcheinandergeraten? Wenn man nach Jahren des Exils heimkehrt? Existiert der Ort von einst noch? Und vor allem: Wer wird man, wenn man zwischen den Kulturen steht? Marie-Ève Signeyrole, Autorin und Regisseurin des Musiktheaterstücks NEGAR, kennt diese Fragen nur zu gut: »Ich bin als Tochter algerischer Eltern in Paris geboren und habe einen Teil meiner Kindheit in Algerien verbracht. Meine gesamte Familie ist von dort, so gesehen bin ich mehr algerisch als französisch. Trotzdem arbeite ich in Frankreich und werde als französische Regisseurin angesehen. Die Frage nach den Wurzeln treibt mich schon immer um.«

Verdecktes Antlitz: Wer gegen das Regime protestiert, lebt gefährlich. Die Fotografin Newsha Tavakolian dokumentiert seit 2018 die Studentenproteste in Teheran mit unkenntlich gemachten Portraits © Newsha Tavakolian
 

Für NEGAR spielt sie durch, was passiert, wenn man diese Wurzeln nicht als vages Konzept oder Erinnerung im Kopf und Herzen mit sich trägt, sondern sich aufmacht, um die gefühlte Heimat mit der Realität zu konfrontieren. Diese liegt im Stück allerdings nicht in Algerien, sondern im Iran: «Die Gefühle, die mit dieser Entwurzelung und der Rückkehr verbunden sind, sind universell, sie hängen nicht an einem Ort. Zumal ich nicht über mich schreiben wollte, sondern über ein Gefühl, das alle teilen, die zwischen den Kulturen zerrissen sind.«

Manchmal vermittle man Dinge besser, wenn man sich von seiner persönlichen Geschichte löse und mit dem Blick eines teilnehmenden Beobachters auf seine Figuren schaue, glaubt sie. Eine dieser Figuren ist Shirin. Sie hat Teheran im Zuge der Islamischen Revolution in den siebziger Jahren als kleines Mädchen verlassen und sich seitdem ein Leben in Frankreich aufgebaut; nun kehrt sie als knapp vierzigjährige Frau in ihre Heimat zurück. Sie hofft, die Eindrücke von damals wiederzufinden, die Gerüche, die Geschmäcker, einfache, sinnliche Verbindungen und begegnet stattdessen dem Iran von heute: Einem komplexen Land voller Widersprüche. Eingeführt wird sie von ihren daheimgebliebenen Kindheitsfreunden Negar und ihrem Bruder Aziz. Beide verlieben sich in Shirin, sie wagen eine Liebe zu dritt.

Sie habe sich stark am Mythos von Orpheus und Eurydike orientiert, sagt Signeyrole: »Wegen der Dreiecksbeziehung, aber vor allem wegen des Zurückschauens. Orpheus dreht sich trotz des Verbotes um und verliert Eurydike. Shirin blickt auf ihre Vergangenheit zurück und geht damit ebenso das Risiko ein, etwas Unkontrollierbares auszulösen.« Nicht nur für sich selbst, auch für Negar und Aziz. Durch die Rückkehr ihrer Freundin werden auch sie gezwungen, sich mit ihrer Vergangenheit auseinanderzusetzen und ihr Land neu zu betrachten.

Unterwegs in eine ungewisse Zukunft, zwischen der alten und einer neuen Heimat, die sie noch nicht kennen. Flüchtende im iranisch-türkischen Grenzgebiet © Emin Ozmen / Magnum Photos / Agentur Focus
 

In vielen Gesprächen und Interviews, die Signeyrole und ihre Co-Autorin, die Exil-Iranerin Sonia Hossein-Pour, mit jungen Leuten in Teheran geführt haben, sei vor allem eines deutlich geworden: »Ich war sehr überrascht, dass viel mehr möglich ist, als man denkt. Vieles ist zwar offiziell verboten, wird aber inoffiziell toleriert, solange man damit nicht hausieren geht.« Zumindest gelte das für die Großstädte und Künstler- und Musiker-Kreise. So tritt Negar im Stück als Sängerin in Underground-Clubs auf, obwohl das Singen im öffentlichen Raum den Frauen strikt untersagt ist. Mit Shirin erlebt sie eine homosexuelle Liebe, obwohl Homosexualität mit dem Tod bestraft werden kann. Aziz versucht als Dokumentarfilmer, diese Widersprüche einzufangen, sein Land so zu zeigen, wie es ist. Beide tarieren die Grenzen aus, so wie es die Menschen tun, mit denen die Regisseurin gesprochen hat.

Gerade weil es nicht ihr Land und nicht ihre Geschichte sei, gehe sie unvoreingenommen und mit viel Demut an die Sache heran, meint Marie-Ève Signeyrole. Sie wolle kein Klischee bedienen, sondern zeigen, wie komplex und vielschichtig die Lebensrealität dieser jungen Menschen ist, die trotz aller Unterschiede eines eint: Sie alle lieben ihr Land. Sie versuchen, sich Freiräume zu schaffen – und gehen dabei Kompromisse ein: »Negar greift auf die Zeitehe zurück, die von den Mullahs eingeführt wurde. Man heiratet auf Zeit, mindestens für eine Stunde, nur um Sex haben zu können.« Neben den Gesprächen waren die Ästhetik und Stimmung iranischer Filme eine wichtige Inspiration: »Iranische Filmemacher haben eine wahnsinnig subtile Art, Dinge zu vermitteln, ohne sie explizit zu benennen. Es wird viel gesagt, ohne es zu sagen.«

Es gehört zum Arbeitsprinzip der Regisseurin, in Welten einzutauchen, die nicht ihre eignen sind. Sie lässt sich auf fast journalistische Art durch andere einführen und erhebt die Zeugenberichte anschließend zu etwas Universellerem. Sie glaube an die Macht der Fiktion, sagt sie, trotzdem ist ihr die Fragilität ihrer Methode bewusst: »Man muss sehr behutsam an solche Themen herangehen, jeder Schritt ist wackelig. Ich verlasse mich auf das, was die Leute mir erzählen, aber es kann immer sein, dass sie irgendwo zu viel oder zu wenig sagen. Diese Gefahr nehme ich in Kauf.«

Text: Annabelle Hirsch

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter