New Scenes VI – Exposed

A Chamber Opera Triptych by Juta Pranulytė, Sina Fani Sani, Germán Alonso

24
Monday
April
20:00 - 22:00
€ 20,00 / concs.* € 10,00
Free choice of seats
Information about the work

PHYSICAL EDUCATION
Music by Juta Pranulytė
Text based on interviews: Giulia Fornasier

LOVELEASE
Music by Germán Alonso
Libretto by Fabrizio Funari

D:\FACED
Music by Sina Fani Sani
Libretto by Franziska vom Heede

Premiere: 21 April 2023, Tischlerei of the Deutsche Oper Berlin

approx. 2 hours 15 minutes / one interval

In German, English and Italian with German surtitles

Introductory lecture: from 7.15 p.m. to 7.40 p.m. in the cloakroom hall of the Tischlerei

Share this post
Cast
  • Set design, Costume design
    Zoe Leutnant
  • Project Management, Mentorship Directing
    Prof. Claus Unzen
  • Mentorship Directing
    Prof. Corinna von Rad
    Sven Holm
  • Dramaturgy
  • Head of Studies
    Peter Meiser
  • Musical rehearsals
    Byron Knutson
Physical Education
Lòvelease
  • Composition
  • Libretto
  • Conductor
  • Director
  • Dramaturgy
    Caterina Szigeth
  • Elisabeth
    Isabelle Nahrstedt
  • Maggie
    Èlia Farreras Cabero
  • Carl
    Egor Sergeev
  • Brian
    Rory Green
  • bass clarinet
    Dake Li
  • Trumpet
    Florian Baccuet
  • Double bass
    Kostiantyn Kruhliak
  • Piano
    Zhifeng Hu
D:\FACED
Our thanks to our partners

A collaboration between the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin

24
Monday
April
20:00 - 22:00
€ 20,00 / concs.* € 10,00
Free choice of seats
Cast
  • Set design, Costume design
    Zoe Leutnant
  • Project Management, Mentorship Directing
    Prof. Claus Unzen
  • Mentorship Directing
    Prof. Corinna von Rad
    Sven Holm
  • Dramaturgy
  • Head of Studies
    Peter Meiser
  • Musical rehearsals
    Byron Knutson
Physical Education
Lòvelease
  • Composition
  • Libretto
  • Conductor
  • Director
  • Dramaturgy
    Caterina Szigeth
  • Elisabeth
    Isabelle Nahrstedt
  • Maggie
    Èlia Farreras Cabero
  • Carl
    Egor Sergeev
  • Brian
    Rory Green
  • bass clarinet
    Dake Li
  • Trumpet
    Florian Baccuet
  • Double bass
    Kostiantyn Kruhliak
  • Piano
    Zhifeng Hu
D:\FACED
the content

Bodies in love, in decay, under observation or on view: the three world premieres at this NEW SCENES VI – EXPOSED event have in common the relentless self-questioning of the protagonists, their self-centredness and loneliness as they at once exploit their bodies mercilessly yet sense their estrangement from them. We form part of the world through and with our bodies – yet it is a fundamental reality of the modern age that we have come to view them as an object that we handle and manhandle as if hived off from our very self.

In NEUE SZENEN VI - EXPOSED, this is the unifying element for three plays in which young artists explore these questions on stage from their own perspectives and life experiences. In Juta Pranulytė’s PHYSICAL EDUCATION, based on interviews and written in collaboration with dramaturg Giulia Fornasier, private individuals describe how they perceive themselves as people. They reveal their vulnerability, exposing themselves to the regards and rating of others. LÒVELEASE by composer Germán Alonso and librettist Fabrizio Funari is likewise about personal disclosures somewhere between mendacity and the quest for intimacy within the setting of a dystopic dating agency. D:\FACED by Sina Fani Sani, composed to a libretto by Franziska vom Heede, pursues our obsession with the body further, contriving to write it into a power system that claims to be saving mankind from a looming apocalypse.

All three works were created as part of the sixth edition of NEW SCENES, a biennial project run jointly by the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin. The project sees itself as a laboratory in which young artists can search for their own signatures in the multifaceted musical-theatre metier while experimenting with new forms of artistic collaboration. NEW SCENES always begins with a composition competition, which this year was also open to composer/librettist teams and whose international profile was resoundingly evinced by the 120 entries from over 30 countries. The respective winners are commissioned to produce a piece of musical theatre, not longer than 30 minutes in duration, to be developed with the close involvement of students from the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin and later staged, performed and sung by students in the Tischlerei of the Deutsche Oper Berlin. The biennial series is an opportunity for students, mentored by the Deutsche Oper Berlin in a professional setting, to gather experience while producing fresh, modern-day musical theatre.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field





Newsletter

10
DEC

Adventsverlosung: Das 10. Fensterchen

Before Tobias Kratzer's third production of INTERMEZZO premieres on our stage in April 2024, you can win his debut production for your home DVD collection in today's Advent calendar: Alexander von Zemlinsky's DER ZWERG.

In today's Advent calendar window, we are giving away two DVDs of the Naxos recording of Alexander von Zemlinsky's opera DER ZWERG, which was nominated for the GRAMMY in the "Best Opera Recording" category and is one of the most successful new DVD productions of recent years. If you would like to take part in the prize draw, please send an e-mail today to advent@deutscheoperberlin.de with the subject line "The 10th window".

A vain, superficial princess - a dwarf artist: the protagonists could hardly be more different, but the story only becomes a tragedy when the dwarf, unaware of his appearance, misinterprets the mockery of court society as a sign of honour and the princess's coquetry as proof of love. When he finally recognises himself in the mirror, he cannot escape the glances of the others - and collapses dead. This fairy tale about an outsider has had biographical parallels in mind since its premiere: Zemlinsky was small and rather slight in stature and suffered from his brief but passionate affair with Alma Schindler for the rest of his life. A quarter of a century of trauma management passed between the liaison in Vienna and the first performance in Cologne, during which the once renowned artist gradually found himself sidelined: too avant-garde for the traditionalists, too traditional for the avant-garde ... Experience David Butt Philip, Mick Morris Mehnert, Elena Tsallagova and Emily Magee in the main roles under the musical direction of Sir Donald Runnicles in a production by Tobias Kratzer.

We would like to thank the Naxos label for the great collaboration of recent years, which - in addition to Zemlinsky's DER ZWERG - has documented recordings of DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN, DER SCHATZGRÄBER and DIE MEISTERSINGER VON NÜRNBERG, as well as ARABELLA and ANTIKRIST in the course of 2024.

Closing date: 10 December 2023, the winners will be informed by email on 11 December 2023. The DVDs will then be sent by post. Legal recourse is excluded.

Neue Szenen VI – Exposed

Ein Kammer-Opern-Triptychon von Juta Pranulytė, Sina Fani Sani, Germán Alonso

24
Montag
April
20:00 - 22:00
€ 20,00 / ermäßigt* € 10,00
Freie Platzwahl
Informationen zum Werk

PHYSICAL EDUCATION
Dokumentarische Kammeroper
Musik von Juta Pranulytė
Text auf Basis von Interviews: Giulia Fornasier

LÒVELEASE
Kammeroper in sechs Szenen und zwei Interludien
Musik von Germán Alonso
Libretto von Fabrizio Funari

D:\FACED
Kammeroper in zwei Teilen
Musik von Sina Fani Sani
Libretto von Franziska vom Heede


Uraufführung: 21. April 2023, Tischlerei der Deutschen Oper Berlin

ca. 2 Stunden 15 Minuten / Eine Pause

In deutscher, englischer und italienischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln

Einführung: von 19.15 Uhr bis 19.40 Uhr in der Garderobenhalle der Tischlerei

Teilen Sie diesen Beitrag
Besetzung
  • Bühne, Kostüm
    Zoe Leutnant
  • Projektleitung, Mentorat Regie
    Prof. Claus Unzen
  • Mentorat Regie
    Prof. Corinna von Rad
    Sven Holm
  • Dramaturgie
  • Studienleitung
    Peter Meiser
  • Musikalische Einstudierung
    Byron Knutson
Physical Education
Lòvelease
  • Komposition
  • Libretto
  • Musikalische Leitung
  • Inszenierung
  • Dramaturgie
    Caterina Szigeth
  • Elisabeth
    Isabelle Nahrstedt
  • Maggie
    Èlia Farreras Cabero
  • Carl
    Egor Sergeev
  • Brian
    Rory Green
  • Bassklarinette
    Dake Li
  • Trompete
    Florian Baccuet
  • Kontrabass
    Kostiantyn Kruhliak
  • Klavier
    Zhifeng Hu
D:\FACED
Wir danken unseren Partnern

Kooperation der Deutschen Oper Berlin und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin

24
Montag
April
20:00 - 22:00
€ 20,00 / ermäßigt* € 10,00
Freie Platzwahl
Besetzung
  • Bühne, Kostüm
    Zoe Leutnant
  • Projektleitung, Mentorat Regie
    Prof. Claus Unzen
  • Mentorat Regie
    Prof. Corinna von Rad
    Sven Holm
  • Dramaturgie
  • Studienleitung
    Peter Meiser
  • Musikalische Einstudierung
    Byron Knutson
Physical Education
Lòvelease
  • Komposition
  • Libretto
  • Musikalische Leitung
  • Inszenierung
  • Dramaturgie
    Caterina Szigeth
  • Elisabeth
    Isabelle Nahrstedt
  • Maggie
    Èlia Farreras Cabero
  • Carl
    Egor Sergeev
  • Brian
    Rory Green
  • Bassklarinette
    Dake Li
  • Trompete
    Florian Baccuet
  • Kontrabass
    Kostiantyn Kruhliak
  • Klavier
    Zhifeng Hu
D:\FACED
zum Inhalt

Liebende Körper, Körper im Verfall, Körper unter Beobachtung, ausgestellte Körper: Die drei Uraufführungen des Abends NEUE SZENEN VI – EXPOSED vereint die unnachgiebige Selbstbefragung der Protagonist*innen, ihre Selbstsucht und Einsamkeit zwischen gnadenloser Selbstverwertung und Entfremdung im Umgang mit dem eigenen Körper. Mit ihm und durch ihn sind wir Teil der Welt. Doch zugleich zählt es zu den Grunderfahrungen der Moderne, das wir befähigt sind, den eigenen Körper als ein Objekt zu verstehen, auf den das handelnde Subjekt wie auf einen von ihm geschiedenen Gegenstand zugreift.

In NEUEN SZENEN VI – EXPOSED ist dies das verbindende Element für drei Stücke, in denen junge Künstler*innen aus ihrer Perspektive und Lebenserfahrung heraus sich auf der Bühne mit diesen Fragen auseinandersetzen. So kommen in Juta Pranulytės PHYSICAL EDUCATION, das auf Basis von Interviews zusammen mit der Dramaturgin Giulia Fornasier entstand, unterschiedliche Stimmen zu Wort, die von individueller Selbstwahrnehmung berichten. Sie zeigen sich verletzlich und liefern sich den Blicken und Bewertungen der anderen aus. Auch in LÒVELEASE von Komponist Germán Alonso und Librettist Fabrizio Funari geht es um die eigene Offenbarung zwischen Lügen und der Suche nach Intimität im Rahmen einer dystopischen Dating-Agentur. Mit D:\FACED von Sina Fani Sani, geschrieben auf ein Libretto von Franziska vom Heede, wird schließlich die Obsession nach Körperlichkeit noch weitergesponnen und in ein Machtsystem eingeschrieben, das dem Erhalt der Menschheit im Angesicht einer drohenden Apokalypse zu dienen behauptet.

Entstanden sind alle drei Stücke im Rahmen der nunmehr sechsten Ausgabe der NEUEN SZENEN. Diese werden alle zwei Jahre gemeinsam von der Deutschen Oper Berlin und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler durchgeführt und verstehen sich als Zukunftslabor für junge Künstler*innen, in dem sich das Finden und Ausformulieren einer individuellen musikdramatischen Sprache im komplexen Metier des Musiktheaters mit dem Erproben neuer Wege künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit verbindet. Ausgangspunkt der NEUEN SZENEN ist ein Kompositionswettbewerb, der sich dieses Mal erstmalig auch an Teams aus Komponist*innen und Librettist*innen gerichtet hat und von dessen internationaler Wahrnehmung die knapp 120 Einsendungen aus über 30 Ländern bei der diesmaligen Ausschreibung zeugt. An die Preisträger*innen werden Aufträge für jeweils maximal dreißigminütige Musiktheaterwerke vergeben, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Studierenden der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler entstehen und erarbeitet werden und die dann von Studierenden in der Tischlerei der Deutschen Oper Berlin inszeniert, gesungen und gespielt werden. Damit bietet sich den Studierenden die Möglichkeit unter professionellen Bedingungen und mentoriert von der Deutschen Oper Berlin Arbeitserfahrungen zu sammeln und zugleich mit den NEUEN SZENEN unmittelbar gegenwärtiges Musiktheater entstehen zu lassen.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld





Newsletter

10
DEZ

Adventsverlosung: Das 10. Fensterchen

Bevor im April 2024 Tobias Kratzers dritte Inszenierung INTERMEZZO auf unserer Bühne Premiere feiern wird, können Sie heute im Adventskalender seine Debüt-Inszenierung für die heimische DVD-Sammlung gewinnen: Alexander von Zemlinskys DER ZWERG.

Wir verlosen im heutigen Adventskalender-Fensterchen 2 mal eine DVD der bei Naxos erschienenen Aufnahme von Alexander von Zemlinskys Oper DER ZWERG, die für den GRAMMY in der Kategorie „Best Opera Recording“ nominiert wurde und eine der erfolgreichsten DVD-Neuproduktionen der letzten Jahre ist. Wenn Sie an der Verlosung teilnehmen möchten, senden Sie bitte heute eine E-Mail an advent@deutscheoperberlin.de mit dem Betreff „Das 10. Fensterchen“.

Eine eitle, oberflächliche Prinzessin – ein kleinwüchsiger Künstler: Die Protagonisten könnten gegensätzlicher kaum sein, doch zur Tragödie weitet sich das Geschehen erst, als der Zwerg, der um sein Äußeres nicht weiß, den Spott der Hofgesellschaft fälschlich als Ehrerbietung deutet und die Koketterie der Prinzessin als Liebesbeweis. Als er sich schließlich im Spiegel erkennt, kann er dem Blick der Anderen nicht entrinnen – und bricht tot zusammen. Dieses Märchen über einen Außenseiter lässt seit seiner Uraufführung die biografischen Parallelen mitdenken: Von kleiner und eher schmächtiger Gestalt war es Zemlinsky, der an der ebenso kurzen wie leidenschaftlichen Affäre mit Alma Schindler zeitlebens litt. So verstrich ein Vierteljahrhundert Traumabewältigung zwischen der Liaison in Wien und der Erstaufführung in Köln, in dem sich der einst renommierte Künstler allmählich ins Abseits gedrängt sah: den Traditionalisten zu avantgardistisch, der Avantgarde zu traditionell ... Erleben Sie in den Hauptpartien David Butt Philip, Mick Morris Mehnert, Elena Tsallagova und Emily Magee unter musikalischer Leitung von Sir Donald Runnicles in der Inszenierung von Tobias Kratzer.

Wir danken dem Label Naxos für die großartige Zusammenarbeit der letzten Jahre, die – neben Zemlinskys DER ZWERG – Aufnahmen von DAS WUNDER DER HELIANE, FRANCESCA DA RIMINI, DER RING DES NIBELUNGEN, DER SCHATZGRÄBER und DIE MEISTERSINGER VON NÜRNBERG, im Laufe des Jahres 2024 auch ARABELLA und ANTIKRIST dokumentieren.



Einsendeschluss: 10. Dezember 2023. Die Gewinner*innen werden am 11. Dezember 2023 per E-Mail informiert. Die DVDs gehen anschließend auf dem Postweg zu. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.