The explorer

Social media and politics. Snippets, sounds, ideas, found objects. Sara Glojnaric’s compositions are a journey through the world of pop

New Scenes – Burnings at the Stake
An Opera-Triptychon by von Sara Glojnarić, Sergey Kim und Lorenzo Troiani
Conductor: Manuel Nawri
Directors: Students of Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin
World premieres on 6 November 2021

»When I’m writing music, I’m translating ideas into music. The ideas come to me when I’m mobile, when I’m out walking or on the phone or eating chocolate. It might be things related to society or politics or things I’ve seen or heard in the media. I use absolutely anything around me that is making me what I am as a Croatian living in Germany. And it’s not about me; it’s all about the processes that this engagement with things triggers. My chamber opera uses sounds, noises and snippets of videos to send audiences on a trip through the history of pop culture while at the same time rejecting all trace of nostalgia.

It's really no surprise that I became a composer. Music is a thread running through our family. My grandpa’s a jazz percussionist; in the ‘60s his ›Zagreb Jazz Quartet‹ was the Yugoslavia’s No. 1 cultural export. I’m ecstatic that he’ll soon be in Berlin watching a chamber opera composed by me.«

 

As one of three award winners in the NEW SCENES composition competition, Sara Glojnarić is currently writing a new piece of musical theatre for the Deutsche Oper Berlin, which is due to receive its premiere in the Tischlerei in April 2021.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Die Entdeckerin

Social Media und Politik. Schnipsel, Klänge, Ideen und Fundstücke. Sara Glojnaric komponiert eine Reise durch die Welt des Pop

Neue Szenen V: Scheiterhaufen
Musiktheater in drei Teilen von Sara Glojnarić, Sergey Kim und Lorenzo Troiani
Musikalische Leitung: Manuel Nawri
Inszenierung: Student*innen des Studiengangs Regie der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin
Uraufführungen am 6. November 2021

»Wenn ich komponiere, übersetze ich Ideen in Musik. Diese Ideen kommen mir unterwegs, beim Spazierengehen, beim Telefonieren oder wenn ich Schokolade esse. Es können Ideen sein aus dem sozialen oder politischen Kontext oder ich schnappe sie in den Medien auf. Ich verwende einfach alles um mich herum, was mich als Kroatin prägt, die in Deutschland lebt. Dabei geht es nicht um mich, sondern um die Prozesse, die diese Auseinandersetzung wiederum auslösen. Meine Kammeroper schickt die Zuhörer*innen mit Klängen, Geräuschen und Videoschnipseln auf eine Reise durch die Geschichte der Popkultur, wobei ich versuche, jede Nostalgie unbedingt zu brechen.

Dass ich Komponistin geworden bin, ist keine wirkliche Überraschung. Musik liegt bei uns in der Familie. Mein Opa ist Jazz-Schlagzeuger, in den 60ern war sein ›Zagreb Jazz Quartett‹ der kulturelle Exportschlager Jugoslawiens. Dass er bald in Berlin sitzen und eine Kammeroper von mir erleben kann, erfüllt mich mit großer Freude.«

 

Sara Glojnaric schreibt als eine von drei Preisträgern des Kompositionswettbewerbs NEUE SZENEN ein neues Musiktheaterwerk für die Deutsche Oper Berlin. Im April 2021 wird es in der Tischlerei uraufgeführt.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter