Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

On sale now

Heart Chamber

“An inquiry about love” by Chaya Czernowin ... recorded live at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 13th, 26th and 30th November 2019

Chaya Czernowin:
HEART CHAMBER

Conductor: Johannes Kalitzke; Director: Claus Guth; Set, Costumes: Christian Schmidt; Video-Design: rocafilm; With Patrizia Ciofi, Noa Frenkel, Dietrich Henschel, Terry Wey, Frauke Aulbert, Uli Fussenegger, Ensemble Nikel, SWR Experimentalstudio, Orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin; 1 DVD, also as Blu-ray Disc; Live recording from the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 13, 26 and 30 November 2019.

Also:
I did not rehearse to say I love you; Documentary film by Uli Aumüller about the world premiere production (duration 90 minutes)
u. a. bei Amazon

The three world premieres mounted by the Deutsche Oper Berlin prior to Chaya Czernowin’s new opera HEART CHAMBER were likewise captured for posterity, but with this production the Deutsche Oper Berlin has gone a step further. Andrea Lorenzo Scartazzini’s EDWARD II., Aribert Reimann’s L’INVISIBLE and Detlev Glanert’s OCEANE were recorded on CD under the OehmsClassics label; HEART CHAMBER, which premiered on 15th November 2019, was produced on DVD and Blu ray and recently released by Naxos. In addition to a rendition of the work in its entirety, the package includes a 90-minute documentary, in which renowned Berlin documentary director Uli Aumüller, who also presided over the recording of the live opera, charts the run-up to the premiere and provides fascinating insights into the minutiae of rehearsing and a creative process that featured director Claus Guth, conductor Johannes Kalitzke, composer Chaya Czernowin, the SWR Experimentalstudio, soloists Patrizia Ciofi, Dietrich Henschel, Noa Frenkel, Terry Wey, Frauke Aulbert, double-bass player Uli Fussenegger, the Ensemble Nikel and the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

 

"With the project she’s opening up a new and subtle world of her own. None of her pieces is easy to sing, but it’s totally worth the effort! She has a microscopic approach to music, researching the transition from speaking to singing meticulously and incrementally. She also thinks of inhaling and exhaling in terms of musical notes."

Contralto Noa Frenkel on Chaya Czernowin - She appeared for the first time at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, in Chaya Czernowin's new play HEART CHAMBER
Sheets of music in Czernowin’s studio.  © Chris McIntosh
 
"For Chaya Czernowin a voice is not just for singing with; it’s for expressing emotions in a multitude of ways. So in HEART CHAMBER I’m emulating the noise of wind or the noise of a motorway, often with my mouth closed or with my tongue ... I’ve been working on HEART CHAMBER for months and I still don’t think I’ve grasped a thing. At the same time, that’s exactly the thing about it that fascinates me: I’m on a journey of discovery – to myself as well. This type of music is enchanting. It transports me to a strange and magical dimension."

Soprano Patrizia Ciofi - She returned to the Deutsche Oper Berlin and sings the female lead in the world premiere of HEART CHAMBER

 

The intensity of the Dolby Atmos system of the Blu ray lends itself to the acoustic complexity of Chaya Czernowin’s composition and has recently been deployed on international films productions. The system, which is currently being extended to the home-cinema environment, provides a 360° auditory experience with directional differentiations. For those listeners who do not (yet) have the requisite cutting-edge playback equipment, the DVDs and Blu rays can also be savoured on standard Dolby Surround and stereo.

A total of four partners were responsible for the unusually extensive audiovisual documentation of HEART CHAMBER: Deutsche Oper Berlin, which realised the premiere production and provided Matthias Henneberger as the coordinating producer of the recording project; the Berlin company Inpetto Film of documentary filmmaker Uli Aumüller, which produced the video recording of the opera and the documentary film; Deutschlandfunk Kultur, whose sound engineer Justus Beyer was responsible for the sound of the complete recording and broadcast the sound recording of HEART CHAMBER on its radio programme, and the Naxos label, which released the complete recording and the documentary on DVD and Blu ray and will see to the further exploitation of the recordings.

Later this year, the complete recording of HEART CHAMBER will also be available free of charge for several weeks on an international streaming platform for all those interested in the recording and the work (with which Naxos fulfils a request by Chaya Czernowin). We will inform you in good time about the period of this stream and about the platform.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
07. Dez

DE|EN

Jetzt im Handel

Heart Chamber

„An inquiry about love“ von Chaya Czernowin ... Live-Aufnahme aus der Deutschen Oper Berlin vom 13., 26. und 30. November 2019

Chaya Czernowin:
HEART CHAMBER

Dirigent: Johannes Kalitzke; Inszenierung: Claus Guth; Bühne und Kostüme: Christian Schmidt; Video-Design: rocafilm; Mit Patrizia Ciofi, Noa Frenkel, Frauke Aulbert; Dietrich Henschel, Terry Wey; Uli Fussenegger; Ensemble Nikel; SWR Experimentalstudio; Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin; 1 DVD, auch als Blu ray-Disc erhältlich; Live-Aufnahme aus der Deutschen Oper Berlin vom 13., 26. und 30. November 2019

Außerdem:
I did not rehearse to say I love you; Dokumentarfilm von Uli Aumüller über die Uraufführungsproduktion (Dauer 90 Minuten)
u. a. bei Amazon

Bereits die drei Uraufführungen der Deutschen Oper Berlin, die Chaya Czernowins neuer Oper HEART CHAMBER vorausgingen, wurden durch Aufzeichnungen dokumentiert. Im Fall von Andrea Lorenzo Scartazzinis EDWARD II., Aribert Reimanns L’INVISIBLE und Detlev Glanerts OCEANE erfolgte dies in Form von CDs, die beim Label OehmsClassics erschienen sind. Bei HEART CHAMBER ging die Deutsche Oper Berlin einen großen Schritt weiter. Das Medium der Wahl waren in diesem Fall DVDs und Blu rays, die das Label Naxos jetzt herausgebrach hat. Sie enthalten sowohl die Gesamtaufnahme des am 15. November 2019 in der Deutschen Oper uraufgeführten Werks als auch einen 90minütigen Dokumentarfilm zur Uraufführungsproduktion. In diesem Film führt der renommierte Berliner Dokumentarfilmer Uli Aumüller, der auch für die Videomitschnitt der Oper verantwortlich zeichnet, in die Entstehung des Werks ein und eröffnet faszinierende und sehr persönliche Einblicke in die Probenprozesse mit dem Regisseur Claus Guth, dem Dirigenten Johannes Kalitzke, der Komponistin Chaya Czernowin, dem SWR Experimentalstudio und dem Solistenensemble mit Patrizia Ciofi, Dietrich Henschel, Noa Frenkel, Terry Wey, Frauke Aulbert, dem Kontrabassisten Uli Fussenegger, dem Ensemble Nikel und dem Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin.

 

„Dieses Projekt ist ein Aufbruch in eine eigene, feinsinnige Welt. Keines ihrer Stücke ist einfach zu singen, aber die Anstrengung lohnt sich! Sie hat einen mikroskopischen Blick auf Musik, sie erforscht etwa in winzigen Schritten den Übergang vom Sprechen zum Singen. Auch das Ein- und Ausatmen begreift sie als Töne.“

Altistin Noa Frenkel über Chaya Czernowin - Sie trat zum ersten Mal an der Deutschen Oper Berlin auf, in Chaya Czernowins neuem Stück HEART CHAMBER

 

Notenblätter in Czernowins Arbeitszimmer © Chris McIntosh
 
„In HEART CHAMBER mache ich also Geräusche wie der Wind oder eine Autobahn, oft mit geschlossenem Mund oder mit der Zunge ... HEART CHAMBER studiere ich seit Monaten und denke immer noch, dass ich nichts verstanden habe. Gleichzeitig fasziniert mich genau das, es ist eine Entdeckungsreise, auch in mich selbst. Diese Art von Musik verzaubert, sie trägt mich in eine fremde, magische Sphäre.“ 

Sopranistin Patrizia Ciofi - Sie kehrte an die Deutsche Oper Berlin zurück und singt in der Uraufführung von HEART CHAMBER die weibliche Hauptrolle

 

Im Hinblick auf den komplexen Raumklang, auf den die Komposition Chaya Czernowins angelegt ist, bietet die Blu ray mit dem System Dolby Atmos zudem ein neues, besonders intensives Raumklangsystem an, das in jüngster Zeit bereits in internationalen Spielfilmproduktionen eingesetzt worden ist, im Heimkino-Bereich jedoch noch am Anfang seiner Entwicklung steht. Dieses System lässt den Klang tatsächlich aus allen Richtungen, sozusagen in 360°, differenziert hörbar werden. Von den Nutzern, die über die dafür erforderliche (und noch neue) Abspieltechnik (noch) nicht verfügen, können die Blu rays und die DVDs auch in den die bewährten Formaten Dolby Surround und Stereo erlebt werden.

Für die ungewöhnlich umfangreiche audiovisuelle Dokumentation von HEART CHAMBER waren insgesamt vier Partner verantwortlich: Die Deutsche Oper Berlin, die die Uraufführungsproduktion realisierte und mit Matthias Henneberger den koordinierenden Produzenten des Aufnahmeprojekts stellte, die Berliner Firma Inpetto Film des Dokumentarfilmers Uli Aumüller, die die Videoaufnahme der Oper und den Dokumentarfilm produzierte, der Deutschlandfunk Kultur, dessen Tonmeister Justus Beyer für den Ton der Gesamtaufnahme verantwortlich war und den Tonmitschnitt von HEART CHAMBER in seinem Hörfunkprogramm ausstrahlte, und das Label Naxos, das die Gesamtaufnahme und den Dokumentarfilm auf DVD und Blu ray veröffentlichte und für die weitere Verwertungen der Aufnahmen sorgen wird.

Noch im Verlauf dieses Jahrs wird die Gesamtaufnahme von HEART CHAMBER auch für mehrere Wochen auf einer internationalen Streaming-Plattform für alle an der Aufnahme und dem Werk Interessierte kostenfrei abrufbar sein (womit Naxos einer Bitte von Chaya Czernowin entspricht). Über den Zeitraum dieses Streams und über die Plattform werden wir Sie rechtzeitig informieren.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld