Eight questions … to Sir Donald Runnicles

Sir Donald Runnicles, General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, conducts Stefan Herheim’s production of Wagner’s RING.

The RING is a tour de force spanning 15 hours. How do you stay the course?
You need to get a lot of sleep, a lot of protein, and you’ve got to be fit. The adrenalin is a help, of course, and sometimes it feels like I’ve found another gear I didn’t know was there and at the end of Act 3 in TWILIGHT OF THE GODS I’m all ready to launch into a fourth act, except there is no Act 4!

What’s your favourite character?
Wotan! The way he develops and matures and disavows his own arrogance and becomes more philosophical. There’s an entire lifetime in the journey he makes. I’d like to think I’m maturing, too, and becoming more modest.

How in synch with modern times is the RING?
It’s as if the piece had been written for our era of global warming. THE RHINEGOLD kicks off with the natural world still pristine and intact and the same can be said for the music. Then the motifs get increasingly grubby and smudged until they collapse entirely at the end of TWILIGHT OF THE GODS.

Are there lessons to be learned from the RING?
The RING is all about Who am I, What can I achieve, Who can I get to do what? As General Music Director I have to be a role model, a good boss. I have to listen but also provide the direction and the lead. Anyone in a position of leadership and responsibility can see that mirrored in the RING.

You conducted your first RING back in 1990. Aren’t you getting a touch bored with it?
Not in the slightest! The RING is always new and different. So much of what I’m about had its beginnings in Berlin. I was guest conductor for the RING in 2007, shortly before I became General Music Director. And now I’m doing my own, brand-new production – that’s a high point for me! I’ve spent years working so intensively with the orchestra. We’ve all learnt a lot from each other, so much so that words are often superfluous. Often a small gesture is enough.

THE RHINEGOLD is being done in a humorous way. Does that make the conducting easier?
My conducting benefits from good directing. A lightness of tone makes all the difference! The way Stefan Herheim tickles irony and humour out of the piece influences me as well. It reminds me of what the music has to offer, and I conduct at different tempi and the musical fluctuations become more vivid.

How has Covid affected your work?
Once we’d had our daily test we concentrated entirely on a single work. We’re never that focussed normally. We were privileged compared to most other opera houses, who weren’t even allowed to rehearse.

If we’re really honest, were there some good things to come out of the changed routine?
Yes, one positive thing was the intensity. We achieved our goal by dint of our focus. We served notice to the world that the Deutsche Oper Berlin was alive and kicking, that we’re in this for the long haul. Our VALKYRIE in the autumn of 2020 was pretty much the only Wagner going. It was a glimmer of hope – and the public got it.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Acht Fragen … an Sir Donald Runnicles

Sir Donald Runnicles, der Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, dirigiert Wagners RING in der Inszenierung von Stefan Herheim.

Der RING ist ein Kraftakt von 15 Stunden. Wie hält man durch?
Man braucht viel Schlaf, viele Proteine, muss fit sein. Das Adrenalin hilft natürlich, manchmal wachse ich über mich hinaus und will nach dem dritten Aufzug der GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG noch einen vierten dirigieren. Es gibt aber keinen!

Welche ist Ihre Lieblingsfigur?
Wotan! Wie er sich entwickelt und reift, seine Arroganz ablegt, philosophischer wird, darin steckt ein ganzes Menschenleben. Hoffentlich werde auch ich reifer und bescheidener.

Wie zeitgemäß ist der RING?
Es ist, als sei er für unsere Zeit der Klimakrise geschrieben. Am Anfang des RHEINGOLDS ist die Natur noch pur und intakt, die Musik auch, danach werden die Motive mehr und mehr verschmutzt, bis zum Zusammenbruch am Ende der GÖTTERDÄMMERUNG.

Bietet der RING auch persönliche Lektionen für das Leben?
Wer bin ich, auf wen habe ich Einfluss, was kann ich bewirken – darum geht es im RING. Ich als Generalmusikdirektor muss ein Vorbild sein, ein guter Chef, muss zuhören, aber auch den Ton angeben. Jeder, der führt, und Verantwortung übernimmt, sieht das auch im RING gespiegelt.

Sie haben schon 1990 ihren ersten RING dirigiert. Wird es nicht langsam langweilig?
Nein! Der RING ist immer anders und immer neu. Hier in Berlin fing so vieles für mich an. Ich habe 2007 als Gast den RING dirigiert, wurde danach zum Generalmusikdirektor. Jetzt ein eigener, neuer – das ist ein Höhepunkt! Ich habe jahrelang so intensiv mit dem Orchester gearbeitet, wir haben viel voneinander gelernt und verstehen uns oft ohne Worte. Da reicht oft eine Geste.

Das RHEINGOLD ist humorvoll inszeniert. Fällt das Dirigieren dann leichter?
Eine gute Regie macht mein Dirigat besser. Leichtigkeit macht so viel aus! Wie Stefan Herheim Humor und Ironie subtil herausarbeitet, das beeinflusst auch mich. Da entdecke ich neu, was in der Musik steckt. Ich dirigiere die Tempi anders, die Musik wird farbiger.

Wie hat Corona die Arbeit verändert?
Wir wurden jeden Tag getestet und haben uns dann voll auf ein einziges Stück fokussiert – so konzentriert arbeitet man sonst gar nicht. Dadurch waren wir privilegiert, die meisten Opernhäuser durften ja nicht einmal proben.

Hand aufs Herz: Gab es auch positive Aspekte an diesen Veränderungen?
Ja, die Intensität war positiv. Und durch die Konzentration haben wir das Ziel erreicht, wir haben der Welt gezeigt, dass es die Deutsche Oper Berlin noch gibt, dass wir wirklich dranbleiben. Als wir im Herbst 2020 DIE WALKÜRE aufführten, wurde sonst kaum irgendwo Wagner gegeben. Das war ein Hoffnungszeichen. Und das Publikum hat das gespürt.

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld






Newsletter